Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Lake Albacutya 2

lake-albacutya-regneration-bush-fires-126

When I was in the Mallee last time I took lots of photos of the areas that had been burned out in the bushfire earlier this year in January.  It still has a long way to go, but it was really nice to be able to see things sprouting.  It is always amazing to see how nature recovers from fire, I know I have said this before, but nature does do a better job of it than us, I think sometimes.

lake-albacutya-regneration-bush-fires-100

The boat ramp at Lake Albacutya.  I know this doesn’t have anything to do with the fires, but I couldn’t get over the idea that we had driven through the lake and then when we arrived on the other side, we drove up the boat ramp.

lake-albacutya-regneration-bush-fires-101

This is the track that we had driven on. Lake Albacutya hasn’t had water in it since 1982, and apparently it fills every 25 years, so it is long overdue.  It is quite a deep lake too when full, around 25 feet, but you wouldn’t know that as you drive through it.  There are even fences in it.  I have other photos taken from the banks around the lake which I will put into the gallery.

lake-albacutya-regneration-bush-fires-107

As you can see the remains of the trees from the fires are still there, fallen down trees and bare trees that you know won’t get new growth now that it is spring.

lake-albacutya-regneration-bush-fires-104

But, if you look hard enough you see other signs of spring.  Wildflowers popping up everywhere giving this barren environment some bursts of colour.

lake-albacutya-regneration-bush-fires-128

As we drove around we could also see what Parks Victoria had been up to.  They are doing more planting to stop the sand dunes from moving.  The locals are still unsure of this, sand dunes move naturally, and they don’t understand why they are trying to stop them.  I don’t have the answers. I am a bit concerned about the plastic they have around the new plants, that are blowing off and away, I really hope it is degradeable and they aren’t littering the parks.  I saw many that had blown away.

I am not going to go on much now, I think in this case the images do speak for themselves.  I have done a video slideshow of some images that I took straight after the fires, I am hoping to use it for a presentation at the end of the year, but if you would like to check out, here is the link, Lake Albacutya – A Week After the Fires.

Now a gallery, the close up of the flower, the white and yellow one is a poached egg daisy, and I think the orange one is a poppy of some sort, and I don’t know the others, sorry.

 

47 Comments
  1. The yellow flowers are a welcome sight.

    October 19, 2014
    • They certainly are, thank you.

      October 19, 2014
  2. Your photography is impeccable! Love the moodiness of these photographs :).
    -Alex
    http://believeinyou24.wordpress.com/

    October 19, 2014
  3. Wow this is an amazing report. Great images. Thanks for doing this!

    October 19, 2014
    • Thank you Charlie, as long as you enjoyed it, that is the main thing.

      October 19, 2014
  4. Amazing recovery! And beautiful shots, as always.

    October 19, 2014
    • Thanks Tiny, it is coming along really well, can’t wait to see it this time next year.

      October 19, 2014
  5. Nice video, well done. So much destruction there, nice to see it springing back.

    October 19, 2014
    • Thank you for taking a look at the video, I still have a lot to learn with making them, but I hope they are getting better. It is nice to see it regenerating, I’m looking forward to seeing it over the next few years.

      October 19, 2014
  6. A poached egg daisy? That is the cutest name!

    October 19, 2014
    • Isn’t it Lois, I think that is why I remembered it.

      October 19, 2014
  7. Ted Ryan #

    The blue flower in close-up is Ajuga australis – Austral Bugle. The yellow one is a form of Senecia – can’t remember the species -even though I have it here in the house yard.

    October 19, 2014
    • Thank you Ted, I know I was told what they were, but I couldn’t remember, there is another one that I have on my Flickr page, do you think you might know what it is? The petals curl up at the end.
      Wildflowers in the Sand 4
      I hope that works.

      October 19, 2014
  8. Great pictures. I really liked the log with the one flower.

    October 19, 2014
    • Thank you, I like that one too.

      October 19, 2014
  9. Ted Ryan #

    I’ve seen it but don’t know what it is and can’t find it in any of my books.

    October 19, 2014
    • I saw it somewhere on someone else’s blog but can’t remember now. I might try sending it to the royal botanical gardens and see if they can identify it. Thanks for trying.

      October 19, 2014
  10. 117–Wow!

    October 19, 2014
  11. Thanks Leanne .. wonderful pics. Love the spring activity. Our local council is trying to stop erosion at our beach which also means planting in the sand dunes. At least they don’t put plastic around the plants!

    October 19, 2014
    • Thank you Julie, that is good to hear, I don’t understand the whole erosion thing, but I am happy to listen, so I might try contacting the Parks people before I go up again in November.

      October 19, 2014
  12. Great images thanks for sharing

    October 19, 2014
    • You’re welcome and thank you.

      October 19, 2014
  13. Nelson #

    Photo 29 of 35 is it just me or this plant looks like an animal with a pig nose looking at me

    October 19, 2014
    • I don’t know Nelson, does it. 😉

      October 20, 2014
  14. Great skies – I really like the single yellow flower against the tree. What is the water source of the 25-year lake? Nice visit Leanne.

    October 19, 2014
    • Yes, I was a bit disappointed at first, but they do add some drama. The water comes from the Grampians, a mountain region, well mountain for us, not really high, but the problem is it runs to one lake first, which is a big lake, then the overflow fills Lake Albacutya, Hindmarsh isn’t getting enough water, so no water is heading to Albacutya. Thanks Robert.

      October 20, 2014
  15. It’s so cool that out of the glum and sadness of the land that beauty can still spring up!! Great photos!! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    October 19, 2014
    • I know what you mean Lisa, it is amazing, I love watching it come back to life. Thank you

      October 20, 2014
  16. Life returning!! These are beautiful!!

    October 20, 2014
    • It certainly is, thanks Cybele.

      October 20, 2014
  17. Your photography is inspiring and each of your posts are so elegant!

    October 20, 2014
    • Thank you Nato, what a lovely thing to say, I appreciate that.

      October 20, 2014
  18. mylittleboxes80 #

    Beautiful!

    October 20, 2014
  19. Stunning photos as always. It is nice to see some colour coming through. 😍

    October 20, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, and I agree, it is really nice to see some colour coming through.

      October 20, 2014
  20. Enjoyed the flower photos, I can relate to this post as we here in central california are now in our 6th year of drought, many of the small lakes and streams are gone as well as other water catchment and recharge areas. But as you found Nature has a way and if we look we can find the little hidden treasures.

    October 21, 2014
    • I don’t know that this area is in drought, but water is not something they see there very often, and it could be years before the lake is full again. Nature does have a way of looking after itself, that is for sure. the flowers up there were lovely this time. Thanks.

      October 21, 2014
  21. So lovely to see the brave new growth, Leanne. Great shots. 🙂

    October 21, 2014
    • Thank you, it is great to see it all, nice to know the fire didn’t kill it. 😀

      October 21, 2014
  22. Love your pics! The sky is just awesome. I’m wondering, what program do you use to put together to collage at the end of your posts? I always love those.

    October 21, 2014
    • Thank you Cheryl. I don’t use a program for the gallery, it is a feature of WordPress, you set it up in the media section, create a gallery. I love them too, they always look good.

      October 21, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wanderings – Lake Albacutya 2 | JOURNAL LE COMMUN'ART

Comments are closed.

