Skip to content

Quiet Thursday’s – The Night Sky

Jonesy-camp-night-sky-milkyway-108

Last time I was up at the Mallee, you know I took photos around Lake Albacutya, but I also got to go to Jonesy’s camp and do some night photography of the milky way from there.  It was a beautiful clear night and the burnt trees from the bushfires in January made great foreground interest.

I don’t want to talk too much today, I have a Social Snappers event this afternoon, which looks like is going to be great, the weather could be perfect for it.  So today I am going to leave you with the following gallery.

89 Comments
  1. Leanne, these are spectacular! What an incredible job you did capturing the Milky Way. My favorite is the left first big photo. I adore how you highlighted the bushes. Just phenomenal all the way around. Love, Amy

    October 23, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, I love doing that. I hope you are going well.

      October 23, 2014
      • I am. I am recovering. I am shooting in MF and in a different way. My style is slowly changing and I really like it. (((HUGS))) Amy

        October 24, 2014
      • Were you able to get anything back, I’m glad you are recovering, we do just have to move on and just get going. I like that you style is changing, that is great. Hugs back.

        October 24, 2014
      • No recovery yet, Leanne. Please, I know how busy you are, no need to reply. You will be one of the first ones to know if that HD can be accessed. xx Amy

        October 24, 2014
      • Never that busy Amy. That would be good.

        October 24, 2014
  2. Oh I adore these photos and I so long to be able to take shots like this!!!! Some day! Thank you for sharing! Simply spectacular!

    October 23, 2014
    • They are surprisingly easy Jodi, doesn’t take much to learn and then off you go. You’re welcome and thank you.

      October 23, 2014
  3. johnholding #

    Great set of photos Leanne you have learnt well.

    October 23, 2014
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I love the trees silhouetted against the Milky Way. 🙂

    October 23, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, I really like that too.

      October 23, 2014
  5. Such beautiful shots!

    October 23, 2014
  6. nice shoot Leanne

    October 23, 2014
  7. Amazing shots !!
    It would be nice if you could please give a description how you got these wonderful shots made .

    October 23, 2014
    • Thank you.
      I’ve done posts on this before, and someone else did too, if you go up to the archives section and look at the Up for Discussion, and check out the posts on astrophotography.

      October 23, 2014
  8. Amazing photos…!

    October 23, 2014
  9. They are amazing.

    October 23, 2014
  10. Congratulations–yoou’ve managed to capture some special moments of nocturnal glow and serenity.

    October 23, 2014
    • Thank you Sally, I was really happy with how these came out.

      October 23, 2014
  11. Camerallure #

    This is unreal. So beautiful 🙂

    October 23, 2014
    • Thank you, I like that, unreal.

      October 23, 2014
  12. Amazing sky! I’ve only seen the Milky Way like that once or twice in my life. Wonderful!

    October 23, 2014
    • We see it all the time Marilyn, it is fairly easy to see here. Thank you.

      October 23, 2014
  13. These photos are ridiculously stunning! I live in the city, so I do not often get to see incredible stars like you have captured in your photography. Great job!

    October 23, 2014
    • Thank you Alisha, I live in the city too, but I do get out of it a bit which is nice, and it is fairly easy to get out here.

      October 23, 2014
  14. A beautiful star river.

    October 23, 2014
  15. Nice shots. Night photography, as I am discovering, poses its own challenges… Apart from being hauled up by the cops

    October 23, 2014
    • Thank you Rajiv, what do you mean being hauled up by the cops?
      I haven’t had that problem.

      October 23, 2014
      • Well. I havent done much night photography, and decided that i would start focussing on this aspect. So, i was out on the highway late at night, with tripod and all. A police jeep pulled up, and the cops started to grill me. It took a bit of talking to convince them i was -am -an innocent soul!

        October 23, 2014
      • OMG, that would be scary, I wonder what they thought you were doing. I’ve been out on country roads and had people stopping, but more to make sure we were okay and didn’t need help.

        October 24, 2014
      • Well, i dont like cops in India. Especially North India, where I live. Rough, corrupt chaps. They are better in Bombay. But, the buzz in Delhi these days is that cops are being killed by criminals. The nexus between the cops and criminals is so strong that the crminals are no longer in awe of the cops. Talk about familiarity breeding contempt

        October 24, 2014
      • That does sound very corrupt, though I think there are corrupt cops all around the world, but I have never been stopped by police like that. Oh wow, that sounds bad, it isn’t that bad here, yet.

        October 24, 2014
  16. Thanks for the great photos!!

    October 23, 2014
    • You’re welcome, thank you.

      October 23, 2014
  17. Looks like a special place … 🙂

    October 23, 2014
    • Thanks Julie, it was a great place.

      October 23, 2014
  18. There is a cosmic journey here. Did you take these on our planet?

    October 23, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, yes on the planet, but in a very special place on the planet.

      October 23, 2014
  19. Gorgeous!

    October 23, 2014
  20. nice

    October 23, 2014
  21. Cool shots, I really like the astrophotography work and how you put something in the foreground to give the sky some scale.

    October 23, 2014
    • Thank you Ben, I like doing that too Ben, I think it makes it more interesting.

      October 23, 2014
  22. Stunning shots. 😍

    October 23, 2014
  23. So Damn good!

    October 23, 2014
  24. Fantastic gallery. Every single shot is awesome.

    October 23, 2014
    • Thank you so much Cardinal, it was a great place to get these.

      October 24, 2014
  25. Great shots Leanne! Particularly the trees and the milky way.
    They make me think of paintings of old.
    Hope SS was great for you all 🙂

    October 23, 2014
    • It was great Robyn, SS I mean, we had a great time.
      Thank you, I loved the trees against the milky way.

      October 24, 2014
      • Awesome!! The trees are fabulous. New favourites of mine 🙂

        October 24, 2014
      • Thank you Robyn.

        October 24, 2014
  26. You really are perfecting your astro photography Leanne…very beautiful images. I agree the burnt trees add additional depth and interest.

    October 23, 2014
    • Thank you Robert, I feel quite confident doing them now too, I loved the burnt trees, wouldn’t mind trying to get some more.

      October 24, 2014
  27. Amy #

    Feast for the eyes! I love all of them, but love the first one a little more…

    October 24, 2014
    • That is great Amy, thank you.

      October 24, 2014
  28. WOW! These are so stunning!

    October 24, 2014
  29. Maggie Beck #

    These photographs take my breath away, Leanne, at the same time as they propel me into my dream of someday seeing this. Thank you!

    October 24, 2014
    • You will have to come to Australia Maggie, it doesn’t take much to see the milky way here, there are some great places to see it. Thank you.

      October 24, 2014
  30. Beautiful and you saved the best til last!

    October 24, 2014
  31. Beautiful

    October 24, 2014
  32. I am so jealous of the visibility you have of looking into our galaxy. Love these posts of yours. Thanks

    October 25, 2014
    • Thank you, I think it has something to do with heaps of the country not being habitable really, and our low population, so it is pretty easy to get somewhere to see it.

      October 25, 2014
  33. So wonderful. I wish I could something like that myself!

    October 25, 2014
    • Thank you, it isn’t easy to do, but I do understand that many places in the world have trouble seeing the milky way.

      October 25, 2014
  34. I always have been fascinated by night photography,and after seeing these beautiful pictures i am more determined to focus on it.Thank you

    October 25, 2014
    • It is a great thing to focus on, I love doing the night sky and seeing what different images I can do. Though, now that daylight savings has started here, I might stop doing it for awhile, I don’t know that I can stay up that late. LOL. thank you.

      October 26, 2014
  35. Wow!

    October 26, 2014
  36. These are quite simply stunning. I will have a read at your astrophotography article in the up for discussion section. Thanks in advance for the advice.

    October 26, 2014
    • You’re welcome, I hope they help, thank you.

      October 26, 2014
  37. poppytump #

    Those skeleton trees reaching and clawing for the heavens are wonderful Leanne . You must be well pleased with these ! Jonesy’s camp looks a very convivial kind of place to stop by 😉 I just LOVE crackling camp fires .

    October 27, 2014
    • I like that too Poppytump, the trees really added to it. I was and his place is fantastic, very off the beaten track and somewhere where I would need him to take me. I love the fire too, it was so good. Thank you. 😀

      October 27, 2014
  38. Stunning, Leanne!

    October 29, 2014
  39. Superb shots!

    November 1, 2014

Comments are closed.

