Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Collins Street, Melbourne

collins-street-architecture-buildings-melbourne-115

Last Sunday I had another Social Snappers Excursion and this time we explored the architecture along Collins Street in Melbourne.  Traditionally, or maybe historically, Collins Street was the business district of Melbourne, and to some extent it still is.  As you walk along it, you can see the shopping part, which is the east end and then as you cross over Swanston Street and Elizabeth Street you start to head into the more business end, the end with the big buildings, the ornate buildings, the ones that say money is here.

collins-street-architecture-buildings-melbourne-100

We started at the Spring Street end, where Parliament House and the Treasury Building is, and one of the first buildings we came across was ANZAC House.  For those that don’t know ANZAC refers to Australian and New Zealand Army Corps, and here in Australia we remember what they did in the first world war and the second, mainly the first.  It is a terrible tale of waste of our soliders by the British in many respects, and was a time when countries like Britain didn’t think much of our soldiers and they were often sent where the British wouldn’t go.  I’m happy to say that that attitude did change.  I don’t know the whole story, but that is what I have been lead to believe.

collins-street-architecture-buildings-melbourne-107

In the first half there are also a few old churches and they have the architecture and smaller associated buildings as you would expect from older churches.  This is the Assembly Hall, and I think it is part of the Scots Church in Collins Street, one of my favourite churches.  I love the gothic style architecture, and I also love that the ties to the past have not been removed.

collins-street-architecture-buildings-melbourne-109

The corner of Collins Street and Elizabeth Street.  I thought it would be interesting to show you what our streets look like. I imagine not that much different to other parts of the world.

collins-street-architecture-buildings-melbourne-113

The entrance to the old Stock Exchange Building.  When gold was found in Australia in the mid 19th century Melbourne really benefited from it, since most of the gold was found in Victoria, Melbourne became one of the wealthiest cities in the world, and had to have the buildings to match.  Unfortunately not all the buildings remain, and there are photos of some really amazing buildings that have since been torn down to make room for out massive impersonal, ugly skyscrapers, where the developers are more interested in building the tallest buildings without much concern about how horrible they are.  It is sad to see that craftsmanship, like in this building is gone and we most likely will never see buildings like this being built ever again.  I love the detail.

collins-street-architecture-buildings-melbourne-119

This is right down the other end, and our journey was almost over.  A new building going up and by looking at it, the most interesting thing about it the reflection of the buildings in it.

It was a great excursion, we walked all along it, we went from sunshine to overcast, from being warm to being cold.  We stopped at the Lindt shop for afternoon tea, and chatted about photography, and some other things. It was a great afternoon, I really enjoyed myself and the other ladies did as well.  I have more photos to show you know, so will put them into a gallery for you.  I hope your weekend is going well.

 

 

36 Comments
  1. The wonderful thing about your blog is, it shows us here in the US the urban culture of Australia. All we see here is the outback, kangaroos and koalas. As always, great photos. 🙂

    October 26, 2014
    • That is great to know Cate, I do try and show all aspects of our life, or the visual side of Australia, and you are right, it isn’t all the outback, kangaroos and koalas. Thank you. 😀

      October 26, 2014
  2. A delightful series and thanks so much for the history lesson.

    October 26, 2014
    • Thank you, I hope I got the history right.

      October 26, 2014
      • Well, I know almost nothing about your part of the world, so I will believe you.

        October 26, 2014
      • I am fairly certain most of it is true, I do love history, did I say that already?

        October 26, 2014
  3. Wow, those buildings are beautiful, the old architecture is gorgeous.

    October 26, 2014
    • Imagine how boring Melbourne would’ve been if gold hadn’t been found here, thank you John.

      October 26, 2014
  4. Thank you for sharing our beautiful streets and buildings with the world. We are so lucky to look at this every day. Streetscapes are different all over the world and it feels very different to drive through them. For example, I am amazed how different a street feels depending on how traffic lights are placed and what line markings there are at intersections.

    October 26, 2014
    • It is something I really love doing. I love Melbourne and I love showing it off, and I love showing people that we aren’t all outback, kangaroos, etc. Thank you Lisa, and I agree, streets are different, ours have trams and lots of power lines because of them.

      October 26, 2014
  5. Wow, Really Nice!!

    October 26, 2014
  6. Thank you for the tour Leanne. I have not been down to Melbourne in quite a few years. Very much enjoyed your commentary & images.

    October 26, 2014
    • Sounds like it might be time to get down again, it has changed a lot. Thank you.

      October 26, 2014
  7. Love the architecture of the buildings, old and newer, and particularly like the imposing doors.

    October 26, 2014
    • Have you walked along there Chris, there are some amazing doorways, very imposing. thank you.

      October 26, 2014
      • I have walked along Collins St but with work in mind and no camera in hand! Your macro flowers were beautiful too. I have my eyes on a Canon EF100 L seies macro which an older guy selling his ‘now too heavy’ kit has got on the market. Fingers crossed I get it for a goid price. Chris

        October 26, 2014
      • I can understand that. I love the macro, I hope you can get one from that guy, they are so cool to have. I will keep my fingers crossed, let me know how you go Chris.

        October 26, 2014
  8. Very charming set of photos, Leanne. Love the way you captured Collins St, especially the doorways of the buildings. I’ve always wondered what the insides of the buildings looked like. Maybe one day we’ll get to go in and have a look. I hope all you ladies enjoyed the Lindt cafe – I’ve never tried that place before but it looks marvellous. Hope your weekend is great 🙂

    October 26, 2014
    • The doorways, well some of them, are really amazing. I love how big and solid they are, they say business, don’t you think. I would love to be able to go into the buildings, it would be so good. The Lindt cafe was really nice, it was my first time at the one in Collins Street, I’ve been to the one at Southbank a few times. My weekend has been very nice, thank you,I hope yours has too.

      October 26, 2014
  9. amazing architecture old and new!! I love the one with the glass and the tree reflected in it (what is it?). Beautiful Leanne!!! especially your angles!!

    October 26, 2014
    • Thanks Cybele, I don’t know exactly what is it, I think the building was an office for lawyers, once, not sure it still is.

      October 26, 2014
  10. Great post. I agree with you about the ANZAC’s being guinea pigs. They were young men who had never left their homeland before and weren’t properly trained for what they had to do. A lot of their battles were like animals to the slaughter. But hindsight is a wonderful thing and we must never forget their sacrifice.
    Great photos. I love all the details on the older buildings, but you do have some great ones of the modern architecture as well. 😍

    October 26, 2014
    • Canon Fodder, I believe the term is, what the British thought of them. I’ve heard stories that the British would send in the Aussie and NZ troops rather than send in their own.
      Thank you Raewyn, we do have some great buildings, old and new, but more old.

      October 26, 2014
  11. Amazing… what human beings can construct! 🙂

    October 26, 2014
    • So true, it is really amazing, especially the old buildings. 😀

      October 26, 2014
  12. Very nice photos. I like the buildings and the description, it makes me feel like i have already been there 😉 and if everything goes according to plan hopefully one day i can see Australia 😉

    October 26, 2014
    • That is wonderful, you will feel at home when you get here, 😉 Thank you Andrea. 😀

      October 26, 2014
      • Thats true Leanne! No danger of getting lost. 😉 I may stay for a bit 😉

        October 26, 2014
      • It is a good place to stay. 😀

        October 26, 2014
  13. I just love the architecture in your city! So gorgeous!! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    October 26, 2014
    • Thank you Lisa, we do have some wonderful architecture.

      October 26, 2014
  14. I’ll be in Melbourne early December, so a few things here to look out for

    October 26, 2014
    • Yes, a few things, Melbourne will be all done up for Christmas then, so it will look extra special.

      October 27, 2014
  15. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I love the ornate structures with all the frilly ironwork, it’s really beautiful. 🙂

    October 27, 2014
    • I love those too Jackie, the attention to detail is phenomenal, and yes, so beautiful. thanks Jackie. 😀

      October 27, 2014

Comments are closed.

