Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs

Every Tuesday I get to this post and I have no idea what I am going to tell you about, what is happening in my world of photography. There are some things so I think I can do a post on it this week.

Filters

Maxwell International Australia have sent me two more filters to play with and experiment with for the Cokin Z Pro series bracket and I will be heading down the coast in the next day or so to see I go with themgarden-flowers-macro-083.  It is good using the filters, it gives me a much better understanding of how to use them.  I think I can can see an Up for Discussion post on using graduated ND filters coming too, so for those of you that have no idea how to use them or why you would use them, it will help explain it.

Macro Lens

I still have the macro lens from the same place as above, Maxwell International Australia, and I’m still trying it out.  I was asked yesterday if I would do a post on how I am finding it, so I will prepare a post on it for you next wegarden-flowers-macro-087ek, I might do it on Tuesday.  I have used it so much, it almost feels like part of my kit now.

The photos in this post were taken with the Tamron 90 mm Macro lens and are flowers in my garden.

Workshops

I’m trying to get people interested in the workshops that I am going to be running up in the Mallee in just over a week.  I have one in Swan Hill on Saturday the 8th of November and one in Hopetoun on Sunday the 9th.  I didn’t realise that harvesting had already started and it seems that many who would like to do the course can’t, because of it.  I guess that means I will have to go back early next year to run them for the people that could’t do them this time.

garden-flowers-macro-086The workshops are really basic ones, they go right through how to use your camera, the different things your camera can do.  Then looking at how to take photos with it.  I call the courses Getting off Auto, I love the name, a great description of what the workshop is about.

For more information Click Here.

The Mallee

Of course this all means that I am returning to the Mallee and will be able to take more photos up there.  Not sure what I am going to take garden-flowers-macro-088at this point, but I am hoping that I will get to the Pink Lakes again, I missed going there last time.

Social Snappers

I don’t know if many of you have been to the Social Snappers website lately, but I have done a logo, sort of. It isn’t what I am good at, but I like it, but think it could be refined, so I will have to work on that.  If you want to check it out, it the header for SocialSnappers.com.

Gift Vouchers for Christmas

I’m also busy with Social Snappers trying to get some dates down for first term next year, so I can advertise gift vouchergarden-flowers-macro-084s for Christmas.  I should do the same for my One on One Photography Lessons.  I just think they could be a great gift from someone who knows a person likes photography, but they don’t know what to get them.  I will have to do Sample Vouchers to advertise them.

I think that is about it this week.  I am doing lots, but not a lot of anything in particular.  Today I am putting the Monochrome Madness post together, so if you haven’t got yours in yet, you better hurry. Here are my macro flowers.

 

98 Comments
  1. A beautiful and informative start to your Tuesday and a great end to my Monday. thanks

    October 28, 2014
    • Thank you, yes, the start of my day. Have a nice sleep.

      October 28, 2014
  2. Gorgeous colors

    October 28, 2014
  3. Stunning 🙂

    October 28, 2014
  4. I am blown away by your work, Leanne. These macros are stunning! You inspire me to keep doing what I am and you give me ideas on what to photograph. Thank you from the bottom of my Heart. For now, I do not have the ability to read about more accessesories, as I am in the process of deciding which new laptop to buy and which external storage to buy. I have yet to use my ND400 filter which I had bought for Niagara Falls. I am not sure if I will get there any time soon. Great post and I again really thank you. Love, Amy

    October 28, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear Amy, I like doing this sort of photography, but I also like to find different ways of doing it as well. That’s okay, but if you ever want to know, you will know where to look. I really want to get a new computer, but I just don’t have the money right now, hopefully soon. I’m sure you will get there eventually Amy, I would love to go there in winter. Take care and thank you.

      October 28, 2014
  5. Love the burst of colours from the asters and hibiscus, Leanne. But my favourite is the columbine because of the intricacy of the flower and its delicateness. Great idea about the gift voucher for one on one tuition… You could extend this to workshops too. I am looking forward to the ND filters discussion! Checking out the Lee Big and Little Stopper at the moment and also wondering about the graduated hard Vs soft filters, so that will be a useful post… Do you do use mainly your ND filters with a wide angle lens, or does it vary? Chris

    October 28, 2014
    • You are better with the names than me, I had to look up the columbine, I know it as fairy wands, or something like that. I hope people think the gift vouchers are a good idea. I think they would be great gifts. I don’t know about workshops down here, not sure where I would run them and how I would find people who would want to do them. It does vary Chris, I tend to see what I am taking photos of and what lens I am using. Though I am hoping to try the filters with my 80-200mm at the beach this week. Thanks Chris.

      October 28, 2014
      • Another question: are most of your macro shots taken on tripod?

        October 28, 2014
      • No, actually I haven’t used the macro on a tripod at all for any of the shots I’ve taken recently, well the Tamron lens hasn’t been on the tripod. It isn’t a heavy lens, so that helps. I’ve been thinking about doing it though before it goes back.

        October 28, 2014
  6. Your posts are informative, your photos exquisite. What more could a guy ask for. Thank-you for all your hard work…it is appreciated.

    October 28, 2014
    • Thank you so much, that is good to hear.

      October 28, 2014
  7. simply beautiful macro shots

    October 28, 2014
  8. What a great idea to have instructional gift cards. I had a wonderful local photographer meet with me for an hour to give me some tips in using my camera–such a great resource!

    October 28, 2014
    • I hope so, thank you, and that is wonderful that you had that opportunity.

      October 28, 2014
  9. Stunning photos. I am probably late for this weeks MM again, i was busy today and i will be able to email you only tomorrow morning 😦

    October 28, 2014
    • As long as you get it to me by tonight, that should be okay, if you send it after 6 or 7pm my time, it will probably be too late. Thanks Andrea.

      October 28, 2014
      • I will have to miss this week unfortunately 😦 i think its too late, now it must be 7 your time.

        October 28, 2014
      • It is Andrea, it is just after 8, but I am putting the final touches on it, now, so can you get it to me now.

        October 28, 2014
      • Yes just give me 2 mins Leanne. Thank you very much

        October 28, 2014
      • Okay Andrea, I will wait for you.

        October 28, 2014
  10. Love the macro images its so beautiful to see such little details of things that we so often miss…. I looked at you snapper site header and thought the thing missing was a photo… you take such great pics that they are missing… a really nice close up with bokeh would rock and always have a close look at the readability of your text. Font selection is really hard and personal but this is a great tute if you want to know more about picking good combos http://webdesign.tutsplus.com/articles/a-beginners-guide-to-pairing-fonts–webdesign-5706. If you want some help with layout give me a yell 🙂

    October 28, 2014
    • Thank you Kara for that, I replied to your email and I will take a look at that link. 😀

      October 28, 2014
  11. Amazing photos!

    October 28, 2014
  12. If I lived in your hometown Leanne I would definitely take one of those Getting Off Auto classes with you.

    October 28, 2014
    • Thank you Colline, it would be great if we were in the same city.

      October 28, 2014
  13. What a beautiful collection! Every one is so rich in color, focus and composition. Very, very nice.

    October 28, 2014
  14. Nice set of florals…

    October 28, 2014
  15. Stunning photos!

    October 28, 2014
  16. LB #

    What an incredible series of images. The clarity and color and variety are just beautiful

    October 28, 2014
    • Thank you LB, it is nice to be able to take photos in my garden.

      October 28, 2014
  17. Leanne, I am laughing so hard right now. Please don’t take this the wrong way, OK? You just liked my post “Bonus Fun Post” in which I was asking IF the person who GAVE me the flower would recognize it. Leanne, it is YOUR flower you gave me, that I changed colors on. Did you not recognize your own flower? You must shoot so many flowers you can’t keep track of them all. I still am laughing. I was really hoping you would recognize your flower and say so in a comment. (((HUGS))) Amy

    October 28, 2014
    • I left a message on your blog about his Amy and we have talked about this, LOL, I can’t believe it is my image, it looks so different. I have shot a lot in the last few weeks since I got the macro lens, I love shooting them.

      October 28, 2014
      • LOL You are like me. My macro lens I go nuts with. Today in fact I go shoot some more flowers. Yes, it IS your image and again I must thank you first for your generosity and secondly, I learned SO much by just “fooling” around with your image. And now that I am shooting MF, I can get in even closer and concentrate more where exactly I want the main focus. All is good!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

        October 29, 2014
      • I need to get out and shoot some sky lines. I need to practice and see what I can do with these filters I have. No need to thank me Amy, I just wanted to help you get started again. That is fantastic to hear. 😀

        October 29, 2014
      • I put this post on my desktop, Leanne, so that when I am ready to look at it I will. You’ve just given me another idea to practice with long shutter speeds and the sky. We have gorgeous clouds in our skies. Please I KNOW you are busy with MM today so there is no need to answer this. I am SO grateful to you, Leanne, and will never forget your kindness. Love, Amy

        October 29, 2014
      • One of the things about MM is once it is published my work is just about done, it is the day before that I am the most busy with it. Today is just approving comments and responding to a few. Nice day. I liked that image with the blurred sky, and want to do more myself. I should try putting the macro on the tripod and trying it that way, and maybe with one or two extension rings, see what I get then. No problem at all Amy, happy to help and inspire.

        October 29, 2014
  18. PS On one of my Weds. posts, I am going to announce that it is YOUR flower and that you were the first person to so generously offer help in the form of flowers for me to use on Petals. Please let me know what you think of my editing job on your flower. (smile) Thank you! (((HUGS)) Amy

    October 28, 2014
    • Okay, it will be good to see what people say. I hope others send you images as well.

      October 28, 2014
      • Leanne, I really, and I mean this, really am shooting lots of photos to replace those I lost. I went to a Nursery and got many images of flowers there. There was not a big selection but I managed to be creative. I still have flowers in my gardens. So too does my neighbor. I’ve been shooting geometric forms in leaves and getting those weeds as well. I am managing, truly. And IF I run out of images over the winter, I do have two other people who have either given me images or have offered their images to me. So I am all set. I have lots of options which I like, and I also like the fact, this has made me even more creative in my shooting style. Have a wondeful day!!!! Love, Amy

        October 29, 2014
      • It is good to hear that something positive has come out of what happened to you recently. I think it sounds like you are being driven and being forced to try new things. I love photos of snow, have you considered trying macro snow shots, or snow on things? Could be very interesting, just around your yard. I think it is great that you are getting more creative, I think that is something we all have to do from time to time.

        October 29, 2014
  19. totally inspiring and totally beautiful work!!!

    October 28, 2014
  20. Your flower images are just gorgeous….I don’t s’pose they’ll gift that macro to you. Teehee! Seriously beautiful!!

    October 28, 2014
    • Thank you Trees, no, I don’t think they will do that, but I have enjoyed having it and being able to use it.

      October 28, 2014
  21. beautiful photos, I especially love how you capture the depth of color in the flowers. so inspiring, thank you!

    October 28, 2014
  22. Gorgeous set of macro images Leanne 😊

    October 28, 2014
  23. Your flower images are gorgeous. I am sure that most readers already know this, but it takes more than just a macro lens to get shots like these. There are so many choices to make about the angle of view and with a macro lens, minor adjustments make a huge difference. I really like the way that you have chosen to look into the flowers in several of your flowers. Most of our flowers are gone and we are surrounded by colors of the autumn foliage, so it’s nice to see some bright colors.

    October 28, 2014
    • Thank you Mike, that is such a nice thing to say, I love the inside of the flowers. We have lots of colour right now, but there won’t be much around in a couple of months when it gets really hot here.

      October 28, 2014
  24. What a gorgeous collection of color and shape…
    AnnMarie

    October 28, 2014
  25. Beautiful macro work.

    October 28, 2014
  26. what a amazing collection!! really heart touching moments 🙂

    October 29, 2014
  27. Breathtaking!

    October 29, 2014
  28. These are fantastic, if my attempt at photography is even 1/10th of these then I’d be a happy chap 🙂

    October 29, 2014
    • Thank you, it is all practice, I’ve been doing this for a long time. Just keep going. 😀

      October 29, 2014
  29. Why do I feel so inclined to rate the pictures as to which one is my favorite? They are all beautiful, but I love the larger one with the delicate green and magenta.It’s stunning. 🙂

    October 29, 2014
    • Thanks Marsha, I am so surprised at how many flowers I have in my garden sometimes, there are lots there. I think the macro makes me want to have a nicer garden. 😀

      October 29, 2014
      • My husband does a great job with the yard, but there are no spectacular flowers right now. I love the spring when the trees bloom, and the bees swarm all the blossoms. 🙂

        October 29, 2014
      • There won’t be many flowers left in my garden in the next couple of months, not when the weather warms up. YOu are lucky to have a husband that likes gardening, I mention to Dave about going out and he just says no.

        October 29, 2014
      • That is my husband’s joy. When he starts feeling put upon like a gardener, I remind him that I never asked him to do any of it. Usually he’s just happy as a clam, always thinking about ideas of things he could do. He loves to be out in 100 degree weather, but as soon as fall hits and the time changes, he hibernates. 🙂

        October 30, 2014
      • They is a great way of approaching it Marsha, my garden is so overgrown, it is going to take me months to get it under control. I would like to though, it would be nice to have a good garden for flowers and other things. Winter is the best time to be in the garden here. It is too hot in the summer.

        October 30, 2014
      • We have a cool bordering on cold winter month of 1/2 Dec-1/2 January. Then it’s beautiful until about June, then its hot until mid-September, then gorgeous again until mid-Dec. However, we have the light and lack of it going on, too. Vince shuts down when the sun goes down. So when it goes down at 5:00, that’s it. I’m a little the same way, but since most of my work is inside, the dark is not my enemy.

        October 30, 2014
      • I shut down when the sun comes out. The sun here is very hot, you can feel it burning, apparently something to do with the hole in the ozone layer above us. I hate being in the sun.

        October 30, 2014
      • That’s me too! Ooooooh. Maybe Hawaii isn’t the best place for us to meet. Difference kid that its always between 70-80 and there’s always a cool breeze. 😃

        October 31, 2014
      • It should be fine, if we are going Jan 2016, won’t it technically be winter then?

        October 31, 2014
      • It’s never technically winter. It will be whale season, though. It may be a bit rainier than summer, but there’s not much difference.

        November 1, 2014
      • It looks like Queensland, I found this site https://weatherspark.com/averages/33125/1/Honolulu-Hawaii-United-States
        It looks good.

        November 1, 2014
      • That is pretty interesting. It’s about the same all year. We have been in Dec., March, May, June, and October. It was pretty rainy in Dec., but not cold. It will be wonderful.

        November 7, 2014
      • there was lots of information there, which was good. I wouldn’t mind that time, though I wouldn’t like it to rain non stop.That would be the pits. LOL

        November 8, 2014
  30. Beautiful set…

    October 30, 2014
  31. Oh these are just stunning Leanne! Always love checking out your blogs!

    October 30, 2014
    • Thank you Keli, it is going to be sad giving the macro back.

      October 30, 2014
      • 😦 I imagine so…. Maybe Santa will think about dropping one off. 😀 Well, we can always hope! ❤

        October 31, 2014
      • I got a grant from the local government and part of the grant is to get a macro. so I will definitely have one before Christmas. I can’t wait. 😀

        October 31, 2014
      • Yea!!! 😀

        November 1, 2014
  32. Looks like you’re getting hooked on macro! Beautiful images, such vibrant colors.

    Tamara

    October 30, 2014
    • I think I might be Tamara, I’m not looking forward to sending it back, but I will have my own soon. Thank you.

      October 30, 2014
  33. What floral perfection! Thank you from England on a dull, wet day. FLOWERS MAKE EVERYTHING BETTER!

    October 31, 2014
    • That is great Karen, I will try and put up more while you go through your winter. Thank you.

      October 31, 2014
  34. Great shots.

    October 31, 2014

Comments are closed.

