Skip to content

Looking at the ANZ Building on a Quiet Thursday

melbourne-myer-building-architecture-654

Today I thought looking at the ANZ Building on a Quiet Thursday seemed like a good idea.  This building is one that anyone who loves Melbourne will know and love.  For a relatively modern building the architecture is really outstanding and I wish more buildings could be built here that considered where they are and how they influence their environment.

melbourne-myer-building-architecture-654

 

This is an image I took from the top of the Myer building through a glass window.  It is a fairly typical view of the Melbourne skyline, well one from here.  The ANZ building is the second tallest in this image.  The gothic looking one and it is brown.  I love the shapes and lines in it.  It is a very distinctive building and one I’ve been chasing and trying to get an image of for a while now.

Recently when I was in the city for a Social Snappers Photography Excursion we were near this building, so I took a little detour.  It wasn’t where I thought it would be, and I can’t believe I have walked past it a couple of times and not realised. I didn’t miss it this time, and I took some photos of it and the other day decided to play with it. I was really glad that I had taken my 14-24mm lens with me, it was perfect for this shot with the Nikon D800.  I was going to do it for the post on the city in Weekend Wanderings, but I knew I wanted to do more with this one.

anz-tower-melbourne-architecture-building

So the other day I started playing.  I haven’t down a brilliant job with it, but I am happy with how it is has come out.  Of course I replaced the sky and played with the lighting in the image.  I did have the whole building, from the road all the way up to the top, but in the end cropped it a bit, got rid of the road at the bottom with the parked cars, and other buildings at the side and behind.  I think it seems to be standing tall now and is quite dominant.  I am quite happy with it.

I hope you having an easy day.  The weather here has been more rain, but the sun is starting to peek out, so hopefully off to the coast to try out the filters more this afternoon.  Have a peaceful day.

 

52 Comments
  1. I love how that turned out. Full of drama and impact.

    October 30, 2014
    • Thank you Elen, I was hoping there would be drama in it.

      October 30, 2014
  2. I like the silvery high rise and the moving sky. Very eye-grabbing!

    October 30, 2014
  3. The last photo of the ANZ Building is outstanding! Loved also the adjacent building at the right. Bravo, Leanne, and thanks so much! 🙂

    October 30, 2014
    • There are some really beautiful buildings in that area, thanks Fabio.

      October 30, 2014
  4. Jen #

    That last one is very dramatic, Leanne—I like it a lot! The perspective really adds to the feeling; the building is quite imposing already and your shot emphasizes it.

    October 30, 2014
    • Thanks Jen, I love dramatic, and I am so glad you think the same.

      October 30, 2014
  5. Oh Leanne, I love your photo of the ANZ building. The building itself is lovely but what enhances its beauty is the contrast between it and the older buildings around. Look at the fabulous clock face! I felt strangely comforted by this photo, which surprises me because it takes me out of my comfort zone. Tall buildings dont easily nestle into their surroundings. Here it does, supported by the buildings from the past.
    Perfect; thank you.
    Karen.

    October 30, 2014
    • Thank you Karen. It is really nice for a skyscraper, oh the clock face is from the old GPO building, well what was the main post office, now it is a H&M store. That is great to hear Karen, glad you found it comforting.

      October 30, 2014
  6. Yes its a striking building and blends well with the older one beside it. What a pity the tall one wasn’t designed to blend in better with the old ones surrounding it.

    October 30, 2014
    • Oh you mean in the first photo, it is a shame, so many big buildings are so ugly.

      October 30, 2014
  7. Your post production has worked well Leanne

    October 30, 2014
  8. The tallest building with its windowpane style was what I thought you were talking about at first, Leanne. Oops. It’s funny, I have always had a weakness for windowpane patterns–from the multi-paned windows in an old gymnasium or garage, to the huge window-paned doors on an old aircraft hangar–so my eye naturally was drawn to the high building. But I do see the problem with it. It distracts, drawing all attention to itself, which is detrimental if you are trying to take in the whole scene.

    Your photographic treatment of the ANZ building is classic. It is clean and uncluttered, and does not show the extra handling of the photo after you snapped it–it looks natural but better than natural. Which is just about perfect.

    October 30, 2014
    • I find the tall building quite soulless, like no thought was put into how it would look in the landscape. I like windows panes as well, but I do like them to be interesting.
      Thank you for that, I am glad you liked what I did.

      October 31, 2014
  9. Very impressive shot of an impressive structure. I was also intrigued by the one on the right – marble pillars – “Moorish” style? I remember it, but can’t recollect whether I photographed it. Des.

    October 30, 2014
    • Thank you Des, the one on the right is the old Melbourne Safe Deposit building, I think it is mainly built with concrete, no marble, not that I remember, but really impressive details, if you had photographed it, I’m sure you would have remembered.

      October 31, 2014
  10. love it I think youve done a great job

    October 30, 2014
    • Thank you Chris, and I love meeting you today.

      October 31, 2014
  11. This photo is amazing Leanne! Its a beautiful building and theres a dramatic feel to it. For some reasons it reminds me of Batman. 😉

    October 30, 2014
    • Thank you Andrea, I get that a lot, I seem to make all my architectural shots look like they are from gotham city.

      October 31, 2014
  12. Very nice Leanne !

    October 30, 2014
  13. Striking photo of the Anz building! Really imposing and the angle emphasises its stature.

    October 30, 2014
  14. A very strong image, Leanne. Great job.

    October 30, 2014
  15. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Those images are awesome! Any of them could be the opening of a movie. ❤

    October 31, 2014
  16. Great BW too. Love the movement of the sky. It contrast the building well

    October 31, 2014
    • Thank you Luis, though not quite black and white, but almost.

      October 31, 2014
  17. Bravo- what fantastic shots and angles!!!

    October 31, 2014
  18. Loved your photos, and was interested to see that here in Vancouver we have a clock tower quite similar in design to the one in the foreground left of your first shot. Thanks for the views.

    October 31, 2014
    • We have some very English architecture, and I suspect you probably do too, much of architecture pre 50’s is very English in style, Thank you.

      October 31, 2014
  19. Great photos. ;D

    October 31, 2014
  20. Fantastic image, Leanne – really iconic. It’s a great looking building.

    October 31, 2014
    • It is iconic, that’s for sure, thank you Richard.

      October 31, 2014
  21. I really love this one! You did a great job! ❤

    October 31, 2014
    • Fantastic Keli,thank you so much.

      October 31, 2014
  22. Love your perspective and post processing of this building. It looks great!

    October 31, 2014
    • Thank you Kaz, I think it is one you will see again.

      October 31, 2014
  23. Crafty work.

    October 31, 2014
  24. Beautiful pictures, lovely words, thank you for the inspiration! You are very talented and have a warm heart.

    October 31, 2014
    • That is a lovely thing to say, thank you so much.

      October 31, 2014
  25. The light in the last photograph is just exquisite, Leanne! And I love the sky 🙂

    October 31, 2014
    • Thank you Stacy, I thought the sky really added to it. 😀

      October 31, 2014
  26. Very nice treatment on that last shot.

    November 3, 2014

Comments are closed.

