Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Point Lonsdale Through Grad ND Filter

point-lonsdale-lighthouse-jetty-dawn057

Yesterday morning I got at up 3am to drive down to Point Lonsdale to get the sunrise.  My main reason for going was to try out the Cokin Graduated Neutral Density Filters that Maxwell International Australia have loaned to me to try out.  They have also sent me two extra ones, the grad ND8 and the full ND8, so I thought I could also try some stacking.

We left home at 4.30, my daughter wanted to come too, a chance for a road trip and another chance to listen to Taylor Swift’s new album 1989 in the car.  I don’t know why, but she loves listening to music in the car.  So we headed out with Taylor Swift singing in the car and me driving in the dark.  I had thought that we would be too late for the sunrise, and I was right.

point-lonsdale-lighthouse-jetty-dawn053

I could see it happening as we were driving down, so I stopped in Geelong and took this photo of it over the bay.  It was nice, not a great spectacular one, but I do want to get more of them.

We still had over half an hour to get to Point Lonsdale so I pretty much knew that I had missed the sunrise there.  I need to plan these things better. When google maps tell you that it will take 2 hours to get there, then it is a good idea to remember that and not think you know better.  I also found it so hard to get up that early so I think I am going to start trying to get up earlier each day, and once a week go somewhere to get the sunrise.  I am hoping if I get used to doing it, then I will not have as much trouble doing it.

Part of the reason for going, as I said, was to experiment with the filters I have.  I didn’t experiment with the coloured ones, just the Neutral Density Filters.

The images in the gallery above are all of the same thing, but had different filters, or different combinations of filters.  I have put a caption under each one so you will know what I did for each one. It was good to see how they all work, and I’m still trying to figure out what I am doing.  I did notice that when you stacked the ND8 filters I got some magenta colour casting, but then at the end I tried it again, but closed the eye piece on the camera and I didn’t seem to get much colour casting.

Once I did this I pretty much left the grad ND8 on the camera and just took some photos around the area.  I didn’t move off the jetty as the tide was in and I couldn’t really get down on beach, but I am happy with the images I got.

I am going to leave you with the other images today in a gallery.  It is raining here this morning, so no photos today outside, well not now.  I hope you have a good weekend.

71 Comments
  1. Excellent set of images Leanne. I’ve been look to add a set of Graduated ND Filters to my kit but boy are they expensive. Hopefully by Christmas.

    November 1, 2014
    • They are Edith, but luckily you can add them one at a time. I hope Santa thinks you’ve been a good girl! Thank you.

      November 1, 2014
  2. The shots are amazing as usual per your work, and though the filters supplied some interesting, assorted differences, I hope you won’t mind that I still like the original, unfiltered shot the best. As near I can tell, the preference has something to do with the way the sun shows with it’s reflection in the water; much more distinct without the filters, which when used almost make the whole combination look like one orb. At any rate, I love all of them, which is exactly why I follow your Blog. So once again, thanks for the beautiful images. They are very much enjoyed and appreciated.

    November 1, 2014
    • Many of these images were taken with the filter only on the sky, so the water wasn’t affected or the reflection on the water. I quite like the ones with the ND8 on just the sky above the horizon, I don’t mind what it did to the sun, because that is what you see when you look anyway. So it is interesting what you have said, and I agree it doesn’t provide lots of differences, I think I will have to get some though, I like the effect. Thank you db, and great to hear you enjoyed the photos.

      November 1, 2014
  3. Reblogged this on williamkaramkassab1.

    November 1, 2014
  4. You got terrific results! You must be pleased!?

    November 1, 2014
    • I am pleased, some interesting results, I really want to experiment more, thank you.
      Can I use your name here?

      November 1, 2014
  5. Wow really amazing photos 😀

    November 1, 2014
  6. Breathtaking images and the quality is wonderful. No tiled skies here!

    November 1, 2014
    • Thank you Marilyn, though I think I might be turning the quality down too much when I save them. 😀

      November 1, 2014
  7. These are lovely Leanne! You’ve certainly made good use of the filters! 🙂

    November 1, 2014
    • I am trying to Adrian, trying to remember what you said in your post too, thank you. 🙂

      November 1, 2014
  8. Lovely,,, well worth your trip~

    November 1, 2014
    • Yes, though would have been perfect if we had got there about an half an hour earlier, next time I hope. Thanks Sally.

      November 1, 2014
  9. Bob #

    I saw these clouds in pink this morning at sunrise. My camera was at home sleeping. I caught them in my mind! What a short lived sight. From Denver, Colorado.

    “The Fun Of It All !”

    November 1, 2014
    • I love that, the camera was sleeping, that is usually me, well my camera too. I love sunrise, I am going to have to get better at getting up. Thank you Bob.

      November 1, 2014
  10. Have a great weekend, Leanne….you’re certainly having fun with those filters!

    November 1, 2014
    • Thank you Sue, you have a good one too. I am having fun, always good to try new things and see what you can do with them.

      November 1, 2014
      • Totally agree! New ways of seeing, too!

        November 1, 2014
      • Yes, most definitely.

        November 1, 2014
  11. Stunning shots

    November 1, 2014
  12. Stunning and always my favorite scenes.

    November 1, 2014
    • I love ocean scenes too Mary, shame they are so far away. Thank you.

      November 1, 2014
      • Yes, but they are always in my mind ~

        November 1, 2014
      • I know what you mean.

        November 1, 2014
  13. Beautiful shots in a beautiful place. Noted on the use of the filters too = )

    November 1, 2014
    • Thanks, it is a beautiful place, so I am glad you think I did it justice.

      November 1, 2014
  14. Beyond beautiful and beautiful beyond belief!! Love them all!! I have to practice using mine!!

    November 1, 2014
    • Yes, do Cybele, the effects can be so dramatic, thank you.

      November 1, 2014
  15. Stunning shots Leanne, really like the jetty images and the Pt Lony Lighthouse. Now next time you want to come down on the west coast, give us a yell. We have a place in Jan Juc which you are very welcome to come and stay at – you can walk to the cliffs and get ready for sunrise shots, without needing to get up at some ungodly hour!

    Gee the filters are not exactly cheap, but I guess I’ll bite the bullet and get a set in the next fortnight! Father Christmas is being super generous with a Macro lens, so I’d better pick up this part of the kit- all in time for our big sailing trip to Lord Howe Island. Plenty of opportunities for landscape/seascapes using the ND Grads and interesting critters and plants for the macro lens there!

    November 1, 2014
    • Thank you so much Chris, I love going down there. I don’t know Jan Juc, I think we should talk! I will send you an email.

      No they aren’t cheap, but it can be good to do it slowly, just get one or two and then work your way up, so to speak. Sounds like they will be perfect for you. I really need to get some as well.

      November 1, 2014
  16. Beautiful shots, Leanne !
    Filters do help – I am convinced now. Shall try them.

    utham

    November 1, 2014
    • I am definitely convinced now, thank you.

      November 1, 2014
  17. Reblogged this on Through the Lens and commented:
    Beautiful.

    November 1, 2014
  18. Gorgeous shots

    November 1, 2014
  19. Great set – thank you 🙂

    November 1, 2014
    • You’re welcome Nigel, and thank you. 🙂

      November 2, 2014
  20. The ND filters gave some nice effects although I think I can tell on some of them there is an ND filter. I’m wondering if bracketed photos provide exactly the same effects or if doing it this way is better. I’ve always thought it would be fun to try this and seriously, these are fabulous images as usual!

    November 2, 2014
    • There is one or two where magenta starts to creep in, but that was from stacking two of them together. Bracketing would only work if you won’t to do a HDR, I’ve been steering clear of those now, I find they look too unnatural. I like the effects and I like being able to shoot into the sun without everything because silhouettes. Thank you Laura.

      November 2, 2014
      • I like HDR for certain things but not so much for landscapes. I use bracketing sometimes to compensate for the sky needing one exposure vs. the ground. They really are gorgeous shots Leanne.

        November 2, 2014
      • I bracket all the time, nearly every time I take a photo, I take at least 3 shots, you never know which will be the best exposure. Thanks Laura.

        November 2, 2014
      • You’re welcome Leanne…me too. It’s like the macro…surely one of them will be good lol.

        November 2, 2014
      • Yes, you hope so, LOL

        November 2, 2014
      • lol

        November 2, 2014
  21. Fantastic series Leanne. Now you’re tempting me to spend more cash on filters 😉

    November 2, 2014
    • That is great, I really want them to be part of my kit now. Thank you.

      November 2, 2014
  22. These are all just stunning!

    November 2, 2014
  23. poppytump #

    Good to see Point Lonsdale Jetty and light house again Leanne . Such a perfect place to be trying out those filters .. I know you had to be up early and the drive etc but so worth it .. a splendid gallery 🙂
    I need to try out more with mine not just at dawn . After yearning for a Lee Big Stopper and now lucky to have one it seems to me that there are only particular conditions when it comes into its own . I’ve yet to really test and rule the ocean into submission 🙂

    November 2, 2014
    • That is great to hear Poppytump, I love the coast, and I do wish it wasn’t so far away, and that I could get down there more, staying would be good, would make the early mornings much easier. It was great to get some good photos. 😀
      I feel the same way, would be good to see who they would go for lots of different circumstance. I would love to try them for the big skies up in the mallee, see what effect they have. I have a big stopper, and it can be a lot of fun for things, I like just trying it for lots of things. I love “ruling the ocean into submission”, I like feeling like I can control the water, kinda. 😉

      November 2, 2014
  24. very nice!

    November 2, 2014
  25. Fabulous images, Leanne! 🙂

    November 2, 2014
  26. Lighthouses are my passion – a classic framing

    November 2, 2014
    • That is great to hear Scott, I love them and I love taking photos of them as well. Thank you.

      November 2, 2014
  27. Great photos. I have given up on the sunrises for the summer. The sun rises way to early for me. I make up for it with our spectacular sunsets. 😀

    November 2, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, I am wondering if I should as well, it is too early, or if I do them, I think I might need to go to places that are closer. Summer is a good time for those spectacular sunsets. 😀

      November 2, 2014
  28. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    November 2, 2014
  29. Witch lens did you use for this? Which series are the Cokins from (Z or P)? Unfortunately the photos don’t have their exif data anymore 😦

    November 2, 2014
    • I used the 24-70mm lens, and I was using the Z series, part of the reason they were lent to me was because I have the P, but kept getting vignetting on the wide angle.

      November 3, 2014
      • Thanks, Leanne. I use Cokin-P filter with my 24-120. Until now I didn’t recognized any vignettes when using them. But, I use the Cokin version of Gold-n-blue. For ND I use screw filter. For my graduated Cokin P ND, I usually don’t use the filter holder, but I use the graduates filter only 1 or 2 times a year, while using the other ND more often (on a regular basis)

        November 3, 2014
      • I noticed it on mine when I was using the 24mm, all my filters were for the P series, so the bracket was a problem. I had to use it for my polariser too. I have a screw in polariser now which is better. I tried using the p series filter without the holder, but I kept getting the edges of the filter in the image. I think the Z series filters are better for me at this stage and would like to add them to my kit.

        November 3, 2014
  30. those are some amazing clouds…. whenever my dad goes to take pics he’s always hoping there will be good clouds in the sky… adds character he says… and it’s true…

    November 3, 2014
    • I agree with your dad, clouds can make or break a photo. They can add much needed drama. Thank you.

      November 3, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Slowly Converting to Black and White

Comments are closed.

