Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – The Road to Marysville

steavensons-falls-marysville-waterfall-morning-073

Recently a friend of mine asked if I was interested in going through the Black Spur and see if we could find some places to take photos.  It looks stunning when you drive through it, but there aren’t many places to stop.  We found a couple of places, but there really weren’t that many places to stop.  We looked around one spot and went for a short walk.

black-spur-rainforest-trees-morning-059

We got there very early in the morning, so we were treated to some beautiful morning light as it made it way through the trees.  It was a gorgeous morning. I love how places like this are always so green and you can feel the moisture in the air.

Once we realised that we wouldn’t be able to take photos like we thought we decided to head to Marysville.  We thought we would see if the road to the waterfalls was open, Lady Talbot Drive, but it is still closed.  It is really annoying.  So went looking for Steavenson’s Falls again.

steavensons-falls-marysville-waterfall-morning-068

I did a black and white image of this recently for MM, but I did take lots of other images and thought it would be a good time to share them.  It is a big waterfall, and you can walk all the way to the top, and follow it down to the bottom.  We didn’t do that, we just did some of the more popular spots.  Getting there early in the morning meant the sun wasn’t on it, we could get more blurred water, but the best part was, we were the only ones there, brilliant.

steavensons-falls-marysville-macro-morning-074

As we were walking back after photographing the waterfall I put the Tamron 90mm Macro lens back on my camera and tried to get some macro shots of the flowers we kept seeing.  I got some, but the sun was on lots of them and it wasn’t easy.

It was a lovely way to spend the morning and I was home by lunch time, even better.  I have more photos for you and will add a gallery at the end.  I hope you are having a relaxing weekend, mine is certainly going that way.

 

 

98 Comments
  1. Wow! Amazing captures! Left me spellbound. 🙂
    Just wanted to ask, what is the name of those trees in the picture 6,7,8…?? They look mesmerising… 🙂 🙂

    November 2, 2014
    • Thank you Saksham, and I am sorry I don’t know what the trees are, I like that you find them mesmerising. 😀

      November 2, 2014
  2. WE each have these intentions for a photo shoot, and often going the flow is just as fulfilling.Your adventure seemed to follow such a day. Even if you hadn’t gotten a nice set of images, the quiet and serenity of each spot would be reward in itself.

    November 2, 2014
    • I know what you mean Sally, I often find not having any expectations brings the greatest rewards. It was Sally, I really enjoyed the morning, it was a beautiful day and neither my friend nor I were disappointed, thank you.

      November 2, 2014
  3. Your photography remains exquisite. .. beyond words to tell the truth… pure brilliance

    November 2, 2014
  4. These are lovely leanne! Love the waterfall pictures.

    November 2, 2014
    • Thank you Sabrina, it was a great morning, nice to get some good photos in a relaxed atmosphere.

      November 2, 2014
  5. Lush and beautiful images – I especially love the flowers…so challenging to capture in the shadows!

    November 2, 2014
    • Yes, always a challenge, thank you.

      November 2, 2014
  6. love the contrast of dark with light shinning through. creating different tones and contrasting with light. Awesome work and love the macro flowers they are beautiful.

    November 2, 2014
    • Thank you Cattan, I love trying to get that light coming through like that, I like the idea of subject being a stage and the light being like a spotlight. Thanks for that, I think I like that macro.

      November 2, 2014
  7. I know I’ve said it before, but it’s worth repeating. You photography is more art and less photoshop than almost anything else I see. That’s SO refreshing. I appreciate you art and your restraint. It is all the more beautiful for looking natural … but magnificent!

    November 2, 2014
    • Thank you Marilyn, though I have to confess I do edit them all, and work on them, but with these I just tried to highlight areas.

      November 2, 2014
  8. awesome..Nature’s beauty…Beautifully captured..

    November 2, 2014
    • What a lovely way of putting it, thank you so much.

      November 2, 2014
  9. Wonderful post, thanks for sharing

    November 2, 2014
    • You’re welcome Irene, thanks for taking a look.

      November 2, 2014
  10. So very beautiful Leanne. Smashing photos! 🙂

    November 2, 2014
    • Thank you so much Adrian. 😀

      November 2, 2014
  11. Actually, I almost talked your ear off in the photo section, but thanks once again.

    November 2, 2014
    • That’s okay, no problem with that. Thank you.

      November 2, 2014
  12. poppytump #

    Loving those elongated shadows and your swooshy silky waters – of course – 😉
    Enjoy the rest of the weekend too Leanne !

    November 2, 2014
    • Thank you Poppytump, I love those shadows and the swooshy water too, 😉
      You have a good one too.

      November 2, 2014
  13. Stunning shots as usual I do love your macros. 😀

    November 2, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, thinking of doing a post this week on the Tamron lens and a selection of the photos I have taken.

      November 2, 2014
  14. I so often get frustrated by difficult light – or wind when I try to take photos!

    November 2, 2014
    • You and me both Gypsy, it is hard, especially the wind, why does it always seem to pick up just as I am picking up the camera?

      November 2, 2014
  15. The forest and waterfall pictures are wonderful.

    Jim

    November 2, 2014
    • Glad you like them Jim, thank you.

      November 2, 2014
  16. Amy #

    Just beautiful! Love how you capture the light in the woods. The waterfall photos, Wow!!!

    November 2, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, that light was just stunning, a beautiful time of the morning to be taking photos.

      November 2, 2014
  17. wonderful captures, as ever. leanne, did you use an ND stop filter, was it a 10? anne

    November 2, 2014
    • I did have a ND2 with me and used it for some, but the blurred water was just happening, I think because it was early morning and because the falls were in the shade, that helped a lot. Thanks Anne.

      November 2, 2014
  18. I love your soft water photos!! Gorgeous place for a weekend wander!! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    November 2, 2014
    • Brilliant place for a weekend wander Lisa, thank you.

      November 2, 2014
  19. Christine wilson #

    Wonderful light in these shots

    November 2, 2014
    • Gotta love early morning light, thanks Chris.

      November 2, 2014
  20. Great shots Leanne, so close to home too, I should take a drive up there over summer. I love the waterfall shots, beautiful and serene

    November 2, 2014
    • You will have to take a drive Julie, where are you? I’m near Heidelberg. It is a great spot.

      November 2, 2014
      • I’m in Narre Warren. I must admit i have not been to Marysville in years

        November 3, 2014
      • Marysville is definitely a different place to what it was, it is all new now, there isn’t much there that was there before Black Saturday. It is lovely going there, there is such a vibe, I don’t know how to explain it.

        November 3, 2014
  21. There are so many gorgeous ones in here. I love the dark waterfall, barely color. And looking up at those trees…quite uplifting. I like the last one of that brown and green leaf. It’s unusual.

    November 2, 2014
    • Thanks Nia, that waterfall is amazing, I think I will visit it a lot in the future. Lovely how decay can be so beautiful.

      November 2, 2014
  22. Absolutely stunning photographs!

    November 2, 2014
  23. Thank you for liking “Decorated with the Dead.” Gorgeous nature photos! 🙂 I also like the waterfall shots as well as the Black Spur rainforest pictures.

    November 2, 2014
    • Thanks for returning the visit. 😀

      November 2, 2014
  24. Lovely waterfall, that one in half shadow looks like a painting. I envy all your tree ferns, they are such a beautiful plant!

    November 2, 2014
    • Thank you Eliza, that is great to hear. I love those ferns too, they are so big, well some of them.

      November 2, 2014
      • They are right out of the dinosaur era, I love looking up into their ‘umbrella’ fronds. I have a framed pic of one I shot in Jamaica. Always makes me happy to see it. I should dig out the file and perhaps post it on a cold winter day to cheer all us northerners up.:-)

        November 3, 2014
      • I love them too and when I am there I try to get them so they are central to the image. Yes, you should see if you can dig it out. I think people would like to see it.

        November 3, 2014
  25. Jessica F. #

    Gorgeous photos!

    November 2, 2014
  26. Lovely set of photos again, Leanne. The morning light was indeed spectacular, bouncing off the greenery like that – nature never looked so alive. The waterfall looks very neat, gushing water downstream. In the waterfall close-up, the water looks sort of like smoke. I must make a trip to Marysville sometime to see it for myself. Great to hear your weekend is going well. Mine is just so busy, just like the weekdays 😀

    November 2, 2014
    • I must remember how nice the morning light is in a place like that. I love how it bounces around too. Thanks Mabel, the waterfall is so nice. Yeah, longer exposure times can give you great effects. Yes, you should go there, it is a lovely place. I’m off to Eildon on Thursday and will be stopping in to Marysville again. Busy weekends can be quite exhausting, I hope you get some time to relax. Thanks Mabel. 😀

      November 2, 2014
  27. Reblogged this on Through the Lens and commented:
    Wow!

    November 2, 2014
  28. Beautiful! Where exactly is the Black Spur? I will surely visit if I ever have the chance…

    November 2, 2014
    • Thank you, the Black Spur is basically the road between Healesville and Narbethong. It is a rainforest and a beautiful drive.

      November 2, 2014
  29. love tree photos! These are great captures!

    November 2, 2014
    • My grandmother loved tree photos too, I wonder if she would have liked these. Thank you.

      November 2, 2014
  30. Loved loved the waterfall pictures!!!
    Can you pls share what program are you using to bookmark your pics with your blogs name?

    November 2, 2014
    • Thank you.
      I use Lightroom to watermark my images.

      November 2, 2014
      • Thanks! Amazing you are in Melbourne!!

        November 2, 2014
      • Where are you Rumadak?

        November 2, 2014
      • I live in Melbourne too Leanne!!

        November 2, 2014
      • that is amazing, always good to hear from someone else here in my hometown.

        November 2, 2014
  31. wow! great pics. I love the one with waterfall 🙂 Good job!

    November 3, 2014
    • That’s fantastic, thank you.

      November 3, 2014
  32. Your falls and flowers are so beautiful! I like going with the flow too. It seems most times I think I’m going for one thing, I end up getting something else. I’m always looking around.

    November 3, 2014
    • I love it when that happens, you nearly always end up with some surprises. Thank you Laura.

      November 3, 2014
  33. Love the waterfall shots! Perfect color!

    November 3, 2014
  34. LB #

    Despite the fact that you couldn’t find a place to stop for your original destination (I get so frustrated when I see something I want to shoot and it is inaccessible because of parking constraints), you sure got some lovely photos!

    November 3, 2014
    • We were a bit frustrated too, part of the problem is that the area is a water catchment area so access is very, which is such a shame. I am happy with what we go. Thanks LB.

      November 3, 2014
  35. Love the waterfall! It looks like a really great spot for meditation. Wish I could be there listening to the water.

    November 3, 2014
    • I think at certain times it would be, but like many places like these it gets lots of visitors, you wouldn’t want to be trying to meditate when a bus load of school kids arrived. LOL. I would like to work on capturing the sounds of places I go to, it is something I am going to be working on, thanks Kelly.

      November 3, 2014
      • I went in the mountains in Zion National Park recently to capture elk on film. I was also smart enough to take my cellphone and record their bugles. I havent had a chance to post thise images yet, just keep an eye out for them.

        November 3, 2014
      • I will, they sound good. We don’t really get wildlife like that here.

        November 3, 2014
  36. a primeval forest!! I love the fern trees and waterfalls. Beautiful photos!!

    November 3, 2014
    • I like that Cybele, a primeval forest, it is like that. Thank you.

      November 3, 2014
  37. JS #

    I love the waterfall pics! Beautiful place.

    November 4, 2014
    • It is a beautiful place, and nice that, if no one else is around, all you hear is the water and the birds. Thank you.

      November 4, 2014
  38. Beautiful shots all.

    November 4, 2014
  39. Oh those waterfalls! What a beautiful part of Australia and you have captured it so well 🙂

    November 5, 2014
    • Thanks Kaz, I suspect I am going to be going to this place quite a bit, I really would like to explore it more. 😀

      November 5, 2014
  40. Simply beautiful and breathtaking!!

    November 5, 2014
    • Thank you, going on that road again today.

      November 6, 2014
  41. Wonderful photos, Leanne.

    November 11, 2014
  42. RMW #

    Beautiful photos, lovely area.

    May 30, 2015
    • It is a great spot to take photos, I’m sure I will be back. Thank you.

      May 30, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Take A Hike Day is November 17th | Free Employee Newsletter

Comments are closed.

