Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs – Looking at a Macro

macro-mallee-viv-garden-mine087

Recently a few have asked me if I would do a post on using the macro lens, so I thought this might be a good day for it.  I also thought I might talk about my plans for next year.  Seems like it is time to start thinking about what I am going to .

90mm Tamron Macro Lens

I’ve had the Tamron macro lens for a few weeks now and I’ve really been able to explore what I can do with it.  I think, through this blog and using different macro lenses throughout the year I have been able to work out how to use it.  When I first used one earlier this year I thought it was going to be impossible.  It wasn’t as easy to use as I thought it would be.  However, after several months and macro-mallee-viv-garden-mine090lots of research I feel a lot more confident using one now.

I was explaining the lens to someone the other day and one of the things that I mentioned was that it was light, I mean not really light as though it is made of plastic, but a good weight.  I asked someone at Nikon how heavy the Nikon 105mm was, as I’ve had the impression that many find it heavy.  I was told that it was almost the same weight as the 24-70mm lens I have, which is quite a heavy lens.  In comparison the Tamron 90mm is lighter at 405g, with the Nikon 105mm weighing 790g, so almost double the weight.  I found it to be a good weight, then again, I am used to using a heavy camera and heavy lenses.

Many have said that you should use manual focus, but I never had a problem with autofocus, though if I wanted to get closer than about 10cm or 15cm then you have to use manual focus.  I didn’t worry about it too much.  I enjoyed being able to just take photos.  I like hand holding the camera and I was so impressed with the quality of images that I was able to acheive with the lens with hand holding, and I know many people have been surprised that all the photos I have taken with this lens have been done without a tripod.

macro-mallee-viv-garden-mine082The quality of the images has to come into the equation, and I am sure that there wouldn’t be many of us who would be able to tell the difference, if there is any difference to tell.  I am quite certain that any of the faults in the images are because of me, not the lens.

The other question is, would I recommend it, absolutely.

Of course everyone wants to get a Nikon or Canon macro lens, the quality is supposed to be so much better, but then again so is the price. The Tamron lens is considerably cheaper than the Nikon one. I also have heard from many people here who have the Tamron Lens and love it. If you want a Macro lens and don’t think you would ever be able to afford a Nikon or Canon one, then take a look at the Tamron Lens, it is good value.

Planning 2015

This year has been a big year for me, lots of thing happening that I wasn’t quite prepared for.  It was about directions, and planning a different direction.  I had thought that I would look at doing more portraits and that type of photography, but when it came down to it I couldn’t promote macro-mallee-viv-garden-mine094doing them and didn’t really want to do it. I started realising that I didn’t want to do portraits and if I didn’t want to portraits then I had to find another way of earning a living.

One on One Photography Lessons

Teaching seemed like a logical thing to do, so I have been trying to do that all year.  I have done some teaching at Living & Learning Nillumbik, but the thing I have been pushing for most of the year are the One on One Photography Lessons.  With so many people buying DSLR cameras it seemed like a good thing to do, teach people how to use them.  I love doing them and I get to meet lots of new people. I will continue offering them to people who want to learn how to use their cameras.

Social Snappers

I think the biggest thing that has been great this year has been the Social Snappers.  Slowly they are growing, and I’m so happy with that.  I know there are lots of groups out there, but I wanted something that was mainly for women, somewhere where the social part was as important as the photography.  I like going out and having fun with my photography.  I think it is important, but I also enjoy taking photos.

macro-mallee-viv-garden-mine092I think they are a great for people who are learning photography as well.  They can practice their photography skills with a professional photography there to help out and sort out problems.  One of the last excursions there were a couple of ladies who had no idea about using their camera off auto, so I go them started.  I think they enjoyed having someone to ask questions.

I have big plans for 2015 and Social Snappers.  I am hoping to build them up, offer more days, and eventually start organising trips away.  So big plans.  If you live in Melbourne and are interested then please keep an eye on the website for Social Snappers.

I have a testimonial for you from someone who has been along to nearly all of them so far.

I have always loved photography as a hobby, but these days it seemed limited to pictures of my family and friends at birthdays and get togethers. Social Snappers has given me the opportunity to set the time aside and focus on the creative side of photography (both behind the camera and editing on the computer, after the shots are taken) – with the destinations and planning prearranged – all I do is turn up. The group lends itself to all skill levels and Leanne is always there to answer questions and provide tips for gaining better results. It is enjoyable to be ‘out and about’ as a group with common interests, and have a chat while trying new things with my camera. I have learnt a lot from these outings and highly recommend them to anyone who enjoys photography. 

– Tanya

 Workshops and Classes

Another plan, after filling nearly both classes in the Mallee is to teach more classes up there.  I think it would be good to be able to run classes in the Mallee when I go up there.  I get the feeling that there is a lack of teachers and it would be nice to do more workshops there.

macro-mallee-viv-garden-mine091I am also thinking of trying more workshops down here, I will have to see how I go with that.  I am also thinking of running some other classes on night photography.  It seems to always be the classes that I have done in the past that people liked the most.  I am acquiring tripods so people can have a go without spending lots of money on equipment first.

Anyway, I think that is enough today.  If you are interested in any classes I am running or maybe running, then please send me an email, my email address is under contact.

The photos in this post were all taken with the Tamron 90mm macro lens, and most are from my mum’s garden in the Mallee, with the last few from around here.

151 Comments
  1. May I be an early well wisher for another year of fulfillment personally and professionally.

    November 4, 2014
    • You may Sally, thank you so much.

      November 4, 2014
  2. These photos are stunningly beautiful! Just my two cents, when I’ve seen your photos, I’ve often thought you’d be awesome at book covers. I’m not sure how you’d market yourself this way, but anyway, that’s my take on your photos. Well wishes.

    November 4, 2014
    • Thank you so much, and others have said the same thing, and like you, have no idea how I would market myself, I think I will just do my own books so I can do my own covers, what do you think?

      November 4, 2014
      • That’s a great idea! How about a book about your journey into photography?

        November 5, 2014
      • Oh I don’t know that anyone would be interested in that, I am thinking of a book on my local area, with my photos of course.

        November 5, 2014
  3. I recall your struggling with macro earlier this year, so glad you didn’t give up on it! It’s a whole new world out there!

    Tamara

    November 4, 2014
    • I did struggle Tamara, you have a good memory. I couldn’t believe how hard it was. Didn’t think I would ever get the hang of it, though the people here on this blog really helped me work it out. I feel a lot more confident now. It is a whole new world, and one that I love exploring. Thank you Tamara.

      November 4, 2014
  4. Oh to be in your mum’s magical garden. These images have just stopped. my. breath! Social Snappers and your one-to-one sessions are great ideas. Wishing you all the best with your plans for 2015. Px

    November 4, 2014
    • The macro is fantastic in my mums garden, and she loves me taking the photos as well, we have a plan I think. Thank you, I am hoping for a fantastic 2015 and that my plans will be successful.

      November 4, 2014
  5. Stunning!

    November 4, 2014
  6. WOW!!!

    November 4, 2014
  7. Lovely images Leanne

    November 4, 2014
  8. Incredible macros, Leanne. Impressive and I can see how much you are enjoying this type of photography! Good for you! Love, Amy

    November 4, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, I am enjoying it, and looking forward to exploring more. I love looking at the details so much more now.

      November 4, 2014
      • The details are what amaze me, Leanne, putting me in such awe. I am just LOVING seeing you have so much fun!!!

        November 4, 2014
      • Thanks Amy, it is wonderful being able to capture that. I am having a lot of fun with it, it is amazing.

        November 4, 2014
  9. Amy #

    Gorgeous macro shots here! Thank you for sharing the tips and photos, Leanne!

    November 4, 2014
    • You’re welcome Amy, and thank you too.

      November 4, 2014
  10. I so much want a real macro lens. This has definitely upped the yearning factor!

    November 4, 2014
    • I know that feeling Marilyn, it is great fun, and I love playing around with it. I hope you can get one.

      November 4, 2014
  11. inanoctopusgarden #

    amazing!

    November 4, 2014
  12. Reblogged this on Through the Lens and commented:
    Absolutely splendid photographs. Enjoy.

    November 4, 2014
  13. Super nice macros.

    Having additional lenses is one of the reasons why I have stayed away from a DSLR. Even in the “old days” of film, additional Nikon or Canon lenses seemed cost prohibitive. Lenses by Sigma were a good alternative and less expensive.

    November 4, 2014
    • I am the opposite, I love the option of more lenses. Though I think you could go crazy, I think the macro will be my last lens for a long time. I can’t imagine needing anything else now. One of the things I like is that you can upgrade your cameras, but the lenses can be used forever, well it seems that way. Thanks David

      November 4, 2014
  14. These are great shots and I am quite impressed with your results with the Tamron lens. They are really sharp. Boy would I love your Social Snappers – what a fun and great outing they must be.

    November 4, 2014
    • Thank you Debby, it is a lot fun to play with. My Social Snappers is a lot fun, maybe one day you will be here and can do one.

      November 4, 2014
  15. Excellent results and very steady. Quite surprising that you haven’t used a tripod for that added steadiness.

    November 4, 2014
    • Thanks Mike, I have been surprised too, usually the problem I find if I can’t get the image is that it has more to do with the wind.

      November 4, 2014
      • That’s a problem if you want it to be precise. I have a slight tremor which doesn’t help matters either!

        November 4, 2014
      • That wouldn’t help, I put my camera on multiple exposures and just keep clicking, hoping as I sway that at least one will be in focus. LOL.

        November 4, 2014
      • Good thinking! I do all manner of things like holding my breath before shooting. A bit of Pilates for added core strength wouldn’t go amiss 🙂

        November 4, 2014
      • Oh yes, I do that sort of thing sometimes, I take deep breaths and try to relax. Amazing what we do to get a good image. 😀

        November 4, 2014
      • Not to mention the amount of squinting that goes on 🙂

        November 4, 2014
      • Absolutely. 🙂

        November 4, 2014
  16. Johann Briffa #

    Leanne, I really like what you’ve done with the macro lens. From what I’ve seen so far the third party lens makers have come a long way, and there is really little to tell between them and the canon and Nikon equivalents, at least for most people.

    November 4, 2014
    • Thanks Johann, I agree, they have come a long way. I doubt many would be able to tell the difference.

      November 4, 2014
  17. Hi Leanne,

    A Tamron 90mm has been in my bag for nearly 2 decades now. It is showing it’s age and I plan to replace it. Perhaps you could look at introducing macro madness next year? Macro can be quite addictive but don’t give up on portraits. Have you used the 90mm as a portrait lens?

    November 4, 2014
    • That is great to hear, I think the Tamron lens is great. I also love that idea of Macro Madness, maybe I could do it on my other blog, I will have to get my own lens first, great idea though, I love it. I could introduce here and link to the other blog, do you think that would work? I haven’t used it as a portrait lens, I’ve done some landscapes with it, but not portraits. I might have see if my daughter will let me take some photos of her. I like doing portraits, but I don’t like the pressure of doing them for someone else. I like just doing my own. Thank you.

      November 4, 2014
      • That’s interesting Leanne.

        I have always tend to focus on the subject and reducing their anxiety rather than on me. I guess there is less pressure on me because I’m not working with paying clients. Looking forward to seeing Macro madness!

        Cheers,

        Andrew

        November 4, 2014
      • I don’t mind doing portraits for fun, but not for money, too much pressure. I care too much about my images I think. I think Macro Madness could be a lot of fun. I might announce it soon and then start it in the new year.

        Thanks Andrew.

        November 4, 2014
  18. I would like to say thank you for sharing your photos I have loved seeing them and look forward to seeing more

    November 4, 2014
    • You’re welcome Shelley, I think I can guarantee lots more.

      November 4, 2014
  19. Wonderful photographs! The latest Nikon 105 is nowhere near as good as the previous d model.

    November 4, 2014
    • Oh, I don’t know that I want to hear that. That is the one my grant money was for.

      November 4, 2014
      • Sorry.

        November 4, 2014
      • Haha, I will have to find out more.

        November 4, 2014
      • The 105 VR focuses fast, too fast and loses focus fast. Close up, manual is almost a necessity, easily done, but should not have to be so difficult (especially with tubes). Also the focus limit is for infinity and not close up, really unhelpful with Macro but not a killer. The lens is sharp as a tack but most people I know have to use it with a tripod for macro. BTW VR is useless close-up, it needs to be off.
        The d lens does all of this right and is sharp.Hope you find it easier to use than I do.
        Regards

        November 4, 2014
      • I turned it off on the Macro, I don’t really use it on any of my lenses. I guess time will tell, bit worried now. I have realised I will probably have to use it on a tripod. I think if the grant wasn’t for the Nikon, I might have got the Tamron one, I’ve found it so easy to use. Thanks for the heads up, I’ll let you know when I get it.

        November 4, 2014
  20. Great shots, Leanne! I especially like the grasshoppers! 🙂

    November 4, 2014
    • Thank you Thomas, I was so happy to get those grasshoppers. 😀

      November 4, 2014
  21. Beautiful! I want to get lost in your mother’s garden. It sure looks like you have found your groove with the macro lens 🙂 How great that you were able to try your had a it a couple of times to really get a feel for it, before deciding what to purchase. Wishing you continued success in the coming months with your teaching and social snappers events. I have no doubt your classes and events are well worth the time and/or monetary investment. I honest wish I lived closer, I would find away to participate for sure.

    November 4, 2014
    • It is a large garden to get lost in. Though water is a big problem up there, she has done well. I am really happy too that I have been loaned various macros over the last year to try them out. It has been really good. Thanks Carrie, I am hoping that what I started this year continues to grow next year. Should be good. How amazing would it be if you did live closer Carrie. I am going to the states next year, but unfortunately no where near you. I would love to visit your part of the world.

      November 4, 2014
      • Well, I would love to visit yours…so maybe one day. Until then, it is great to get to know each other and our differing places we call home. I am grateful for that.

        November 4, 2014
      • Yes, maybe one day. That is true, and we are getting to know one another which is marvelous.

        November 4, 2014
  22. Beautiful photos 🙂 . I love plants and flowers and I like take a pic of my flowers on my balcony, but i have only pocket camera. I wish someday I could buy DSLR 😉 .

    November 4, 2014
    • I hope you can one day too, though pocket cameras can take some fantastic photos too. I’ve seen some great macros done with that. I have a small Canon for that sort of thing. It is really good. Thank you. 😀

      November 4, 2014
  23. Leanne, this is a wonderful post full of beautiful photos and great info. Ive really enjoyed these closeups!
    SS was always going to work. Its a wonderful idea and of course we all love company 😄
    Wishing you always every success in what you are doing xx

    November 4, 2014
    • Thank you Robyn, I’m glad that it is informative.
      As to SS, I really want it to work, I love doing them and they are so much fun. I just need to be patient.
      Thank you so much.

      November 4, 2014
      • Its already working 😉
        I really enjoyed the closeness of the 90mm.

        November 4, 2014
      • Yes, slowly, but we are getting there.
        Thanks Robyn, it has been fun playing with it.

        November 4, 2014
      • 😀

        November 4, 2014
  24. Nice images leanne. That lens seems pretty sharp. I’m going to have to take a look at it. Thanks for sharing

    November 4, 2014
    • It does, I doubt many would be able to pick the difference. Yes, do, let me know what you think, thanks Luis.

      November 4, 2014
  25. You are really good with this macro lens Leanne. Seriously…these are some gorgeous pics! i love them so much.

    November 4, 2014
    • Thank you Laura, I really love using the lens. Can’t wait to get my own.

      November 4, 2014
      • You’re welcome! You deserve one of your own. You’re too good not to have one.

        November 4, 2014
      • I think so too, soon, I should have my own soon. Thanks again Laura.

        November 4, 2014
  26. These are gorgeous Leeann – I love macro and am always fascinated with what I see once I get it on the computer. Stuff is there in the picture that I did not see while taking it. Keep doing macro 🙂

    November 4, 2014
    • I really understand what you mean Nora, a whole new world does open up. I really love it. I will, though have to get my own macro lens first. Thank you. 😀

      November 4, 2014
  27. Jen #

    You know that I of course like the bee images, but the moth is really special—we can see the fuzz on its wings!—and that orange flower at the bottom is pretty amazing as well.

    I’ve heard good things about the Tamron lens, too, and it is very tempting. I’m glad you like your macro so much and look forward to seeing what you do with it!

    November 4, 2014
    • Thank you Jen, I was surprised by the detail I got, with a lot of them really. That orange flower is so small.
      I have to say I have been really surprised at how good it is. I have loved using it. It has been easy and the images I’ve been getting have been amazing. I do, and I’m looking forward to exploring it more.

      November 4, 2014
  28. Beautiful shots as always. Can’t wait for Xmas to get my macro lens!
    Your schedule sounds enticing. Would love to learn night photography, night skies in particular. Will talk separately. Chris

    November 4, 2014
    • Thanks Chris, can’t wait to get my own either.
      Night photography is very popular. Sounds good.

      November 4, 2014
  29. Very beautiful photographs! I hope you’ll post more in the future using a macro lens.

    November 4, 2014
    • Thank you, I hope I do as well. Though once I get my own lens there will be nothing stopping me.

      November 4, 2014
  30. Pat #

    Beautiful series!

    November 4, 2014
  31. I want to be a bee in that garden !! I wish I was there , would have loved to join your classes. I have so much to learn !!
    Lovely series of photograph, Leanne 🙂 Have great week ahead !

    November 4, 2014
    • Thank you Andy, that would have been wonderful if you could join us, maybe one day, 😀
      You have a great week too.

      November 4, 2014
  32. beautiful images!

    November 4, 2014
  33. Hi Leanne,

    Great set of images!

    Around here it has been a challenge to sell prints so I have been teaching Light Room and OnOne software. I have a few students and looking into having some workshops in the future.

    Wishing you all the best on your venture,
    Steve

    November 4, 2014
    • Hi Steve
      Thank you. Teaching is a good thing to do, I’ve been thinking of teaching some stuff on editing as well. Though at the moment happy to help people learn to use their cameras. Thank you so much Steve.

      November 4, 2014
  34. As usual, great pics. I almost feel this post spoke to me after our last few mesaages. I think what you are doing is awesome and truly inspiring and I am looking forward to booking in an afternoon or two with the Social snappers

    November 4, 2014
    • Thank you Julie. That is great to hear and I am really looking forward to you joining us on Social Snappers.

      November 4, 2014
  35. I shoot with a Nikon DSLR but could not afford the price of a Nikon macro lens so a while back I bought a used Sigma 105mm macro. I have been extremely pleased with the quality of my images and use the macro all the time. If you do research beforehand, third party lenses can work out for you.

    November 4, 2014
    • Sigma are like Tamron in that respect and can be a great alternative to the brand names. That is great to hear that you have been happy with the sigma, I really love the Tamron one, it is going to be sad when it has to go back. They really can work, I wouldn’t have any problems recommending this one.

      November 4, 2014
  36. Well. I crossed Australia off my list of places to visit when I saw several pictures of spiders eating birds. However, taking a photo class there would be tons of fun. One to add to the bucket list! 🙂

    November 4, 2014
    • These spiders are not that well known about it, never heard of them before, but happy to say they are in far north queensland, so a long way from me. I think you should come to Melbourne and let me show you my town.

      November 4, 2014
  37. Fantastic macro flower images and I’m excited about your new adventures planned for 2015. Isn’t it funny how we think we’ll start doing something but then quickly find we really don’t like doing it?

    Workshops and coaching is a super idea for you and such a great fit. I wish you all the luck and success for the new year.

    November 4, 2014
    • Thank you Emily, I’m excited about it as well. Lots of ideas, just have to work out how to market them now. That is my biggest problem, marketing, no idea what to do.
      I think it is perfect for me as well. Thanks again.

      November 4, 2014
  38. Karen #

    These are very beautiful shots Leanne. It’s good to be able to make a living out of something you enjoy doing. Have a lovely week.

    November 4, 2014
    • Thank you Karen, it is good, but also very hard work, especially with something like photography. You have a great week too.

      November 4, 2014
  39. sunsetdragon #

    beautiful photos and I just bought a nikon D3200 and am taking a class at the local community college for senior citizens on how to use it.

    November 4, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear, I love teaching, I hope you have a good teacher. Thank you.

      November 4, 2014
  40. I think its great that you have praised the Tamron, not everyone can afford the Canon and Nikon!

    November 4, 2014
    • thank you Gypsy, well, I can’t really fault the Tamron, I couldn’t think of any negatives really.

      November 4, 2014
  41. All the best with your teaching, love the plants and the direction you are taking with your creativity, through mentoring others.

    November 4, 2014
    • Thank you Pearlz, I am really happy with the direction I am going and really want it to be successful.

      November 4, 2014
      • If it has the same dedication and passion as your blog I think it will be successful.

        November 5, 2014
      • Thank you Pearlz, I think I can guarantee that.

        November 5, 2014
  42. I love the grasshopper shots Leanne! I didn’t realise they were so colourful and patterned!

    November 4, 2014
    • Thanks Linda, I know, I had no idea either, they are really amazing.

      November 4, 2014
  43. Just stunning Leanne .. 😀

    November 4, 2014
  44. Great use of DOF Leanne 🙂

    November 4, 2014
  45. Wow, those images are just magical. Leanne, I can’t remember I have seen so many of your macro shots before. The bee one is my favorite – I have tried to capture bees and butterflies, but before I got the fucus right they have moved away.
    The purple flower is fantastic …. just magical, Leanne … every shot.

    November 4, 2014
    • I have done a few posts, not may but a few. I’ve been playing with the Tamron Macro for a few weeks. I was surprised at how I got the bees, I think that is one thing I love about the DSLR it does focus very quickly.
      Thank you so much Viveka.

      November 4, 2014
      • I had a friend he loved Tamron Macro or really any of their lenses.
        Going to visit my friend David who has his studio in Belfast, last week in this month – brilliant photographer. http://www.thestudio-photography.com/ – I will ask him who do good marco with Oscar.
        David has done photos for UK stamps .. and god knows what. Fantastic website too.

        November 5, 2014
      • Good luck with that, I hope your friend can help you work it out. Steady hands. He has a great website and his work is wonderful.

        November 5, 2014
  46. Forgotten to say that you seem to have a lot going on for 2015 – I really hope this one on one will take off, because I think it’s a brilliant concept.

    November 4, 2014
    • I hope so Viveka, I hope it is my most successful year yet. Thank you, I think it is a brilliant concept too, just need to find my customers.

      November 4, 2014
      • Leanne, what about contacting amateur photo courses and camera and photo equipment shops. I would love to have somebody recommend a course when I bought my camera. Maybe put and add into one of the glossy photo magazine. If you work Canon they have their own magazine, EOS or at least they had. I had that magazine for years. Sure that Nikon has the same.

        November 5, 2014
      • Most of those places here run their own, I will need to build up my own student list. Might take a while, but I think it will happen eventually, I just need to be patient. I had thought of putting an add in a magazine, but they cost so much money, way more than I have, so I will have to wait. Thanks for the suggestions.

        November 5, 2014
      • Leanne, it’s tough going to start up a business. I know you will make it work, but as you rightly say … it takes both money and time.
        I think it’s such a brilliant concept you have

        November 5, 2014
      • That’s for sure, and trying to find something that is unique almost impossible, but I think this is a good idea too, patience is what I need, and I am sure it will take off.

        November 5, 2014
      • You’re a smart cookie, you will get it going

        November 6, 2014
      • Thanks for the vote of confidence Viveka, I think I will.

        November 6, 2014
  47. These photos are stunning Leanne! All the best for 2015 😉

    November 4, 2014
  48. May I ask what camera you use? i am interested in upgrading my Panasonic Lumix GF1 with a camera that has an interchangeable lens.

    November 5, 2014
    • Of course you can ask, I use a Nikon D800, though a Macro lens would be good to use on any camera, well a DSLR, so like a Nikon D5300. New cameras are always exciting, good luck with your choice.

      November 5, 2014
      • Ahh, okay thank you (;

        November 5, 2014
      • I guess it depends on whether you want to go that way or not, I think the mirrorless cameras are great, don’t have one myself, but I keep hearing good things about them.

        November 5, 2014
      • Yeah, I do love macro phptography, simply because I ind its the simplest form out there. At least flowers an insects arent camera shy. I will have a browse at the mirrorless cameras (:

        November 5, 2014
      • I don’t know how they go with macro, I’m afraid I have no experience, but lots of people do it, so it must be okay. Good luck, I love your reasons for liking macro, it is great.

        November 5, 2014
      • thank you, it is a comment that tends to make people smile when I mention my love for macro photography (:

        November 7, 2014
      • Macro is the best.

        November 7, 2014
      • I could not agree more (:

        November 7, 2014
      • 🙂

        November 7, 2014
      • (:**

        November 5, 2014
  49. Stunning Leanne! What a great way to start my day 😀

    November 5, 2014
    • Thank you Keli, what a lovely thing to say. 😀

      November 5, 2014
  50. They are just awesome….

    November 5, 2014
  51. Great macros, Leanne! So much fascinating detail…and congrats on your big year this far!

    November 5, 2014
    • Thank you Tiny, I am becoming quite addicted to the macro. Thanks, my biggest I hope.

      November 5, 2014
  52. Wishing you all the best for 2015, Leanne!

    November 5, 2014
  53. thank you for this post Leanne. As you know I got a Canon EF 100m f2.8 macro lens with stabilizer. It’s going to take practice! The weather here is not cooperating!! I think you once considered online classes or tutorials. Have you ever thought further on it? I’m sure people would pay something for these? If it would be worth your while of course!

    November 6, 2014
    • I think it does take a lot of practice with a macro, but just keep going. I do offer online courses, but no one ever wants to do them with me. Thanks Cybele.

      November 6, 2014
  54. The macro lens is always a wonderful lens to have in your kit. I’ve recently been neglecting it but have some ideas for winter shots with it so it’ll hopefully get some use this winter. I’ve got bigger plans for my wide angle though, but still not disappointed in the macro.

    November 18, 2014
    • I can’t wait to get my own, it should be great to be able to take heaps of macro images, and I have the extension tubes so I will be all set.

      November 18, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Quiet Thursday’s – Farewell to the Tamrom Macro | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

Comments are closed.

