Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays – Robyn’s One Four Challenge

southern-cross-station-trains-2

Robyn, from Captivate Me, has started a new challenge and I thought I might participate.  I will do it on this blog this time, but think I will continue it on my other blog after this week.  I think I will also start telling you about other challenges that I might consider doing.

So today, I have the original image for you.

southern-cross-station-trains-1

This is an image I took recently at Southern Cross Station on a Sunday afternoon as Social Snappers was finishing an excursion and we were getting ready to get on the train to go home.  I loved the symmetry of where we were, and as we were standing there a train came in and it meant that all the platforms had trains, a full station.  Perfect.

I haven’t done much to this one above, just the usual normal processing.

southern-cross-station-trains-2

Here is my first attempt at processing it.  Well doing further processing.  I’ve been trying something and I haven’t quite worked it out, but I’m not too disappointed. I still have three more weeks to work it out.

If you would like to see more, then follow this link ONE FOUR CHALLENGE – NOV WK 1 and look at the pingbacks to see others.  If you would like to participate, then follow the same link to see what you have to do.

46 Comments
  1. Susan Portnoy #

    Interesting.. I will have to check it out. Thanks, Leanne. 🙂

    November 6, 2014
    • Thanks Susan, should be really interesting.

      November 6, 2014
  2. Great shot, I love the symmetry. This is definitely an improvement on the original, the colour and lighting have a really interesting feel and the light has created a better sense of movement of the people in the foreground. I look forward to seeing what you do next with it. 🙂

    November 6, 2014
    • I love that symmetry too Katie. Thanks, it is going to be interesting to see what I come with next. 😀

      November 6, 2014
  3. Ah, now that’s an interesting starting point!

    November 6, 2014
  4. sunsetdragon #

    Great shot

    November 6, 2014
  5. Welcome aboard Leanne!!
    Glad to have you playing along in our challenge and I do love your image this week…and yes the symmetry.. wonderful!
    What I love about this challenge is that we are going to try different things!

    November 6, 2014
    • Thanks Robyn, nice to be aboard.
      Yes, the symmetry is great, worked really well.
      That’s for sure will be interesting to see what everyone else does.

      November 6, 2014
  6. lensaddiction #

    Im going to do this challenge too but I need to find the right image!

    November 6, 2014
    • That can be the thing, finding the right image. Good luck Stacey.

      November 6, 2014
  7. Great distance and perspective on the image–the processing works well.

    November 6, 2014
  8. Hey Leanne … love this pic and processing. Great challenge!

    November 6, 2014
    • Thank you Julie, I think it will be a great challenge.

      November 6, 2014
  9. love the cross-processing type of tones… great shot!!

    November 6, 2014
  10. Awesome photo!! I love all the trains there!! Have fun with your challenge!! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    November 6, 2014
    • Thank you Lisa, how lucky was I to get all those trains, I was so happy. I will.

      November 6, 2014
  11. I was thinking about joining Robyn, but I don’t think I’ll have the time for it this round…

    November 6, 2014
    • I’m sure Robyn won’t mind, we all know what it is like to be busy. Maybe next time.

      November 7, 2014
  12. poppytump #

    Like swimmers racing to the finishing line ! Great composition Leanne . Looking forward to see where you take us with it 🙂

    November 6, 2014
    • Thank you Poppytump, I like that, swimmers racing. I have some ideas, time will tell what I come up with. 😀

      November 7, 2014
  13. I’m loving the picture 🙂

    November 7, 2014
    • That’s wonderful, thank you.

      November 7, 2014
  14. Sounds like fun! Count us in, starting today. Will let you know when we have published the post. Please do be kind….we are new to this and remain mystified by Photoshop.

    November 7, 2014
    • That is wonderful, though you need to send your pingback to Robyn’s blog that is where everyone is doing it so everyone else can go and look at what everyone is doing. Did that make sense at all? Thanks

      November 7, 2014
      • Thanks. Yes, I think so. Stay tuned, and we will see if I did it correctly.

        November 7, 2014
      • Okay, will look out.

        November 7, 2014
  15. Amy #

    Great shot of the grand station, Leanne!

    November 7, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, this is a new station for us, it is a bit different.

      November 7, 2014
  16. Should be fun Leanne,- and I love train stations!!

    November 7, 2014
    • Thanks Cybele, I think so too.

      November 7, 2014
  17. Done! Ping backs enabled, both to your blog and to Captivate Me. Hope it worked. More importantly, I hope I finally figure out Photoshop. Thanks for the inspiration. http://exploretheworldwithyourkids.com/2014/11/07/shutterbug-notes-taking-the-one-four-challenge-week-1/

    November 8, 2014
    • It certainly worked this way, so I am sure it worked to the other blog as well. You’re welcome.

      November 8, 2014
  18. lensaddiction #

    Im not sure why but the green toning really works in this image, makes it feel slightly futuristic perhaps, like you see in shiny magazines 🙂

    November 8, 2014
    • I was going for that look, well it is something I’ve been working on, thanks Stacey.

      November 8, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. SHUTTERBUG NOTES — Taking the One Four Challenge (Week 1) | BWLE: Explore The World Wth Your Kids!
  2. Robyn's ONE FOUR CHALLENGE – NOV WK 2 - LEANNE COLE - Fine Art Photographer

Comments are closed.

