Skip to content

Weekend Wandering – Day Trip to Eildon

socialsnappers-eildon-back-road-120

Really what it should have said was Weekend Wandering – Day Trip to Eildon with a quick stop in Marysville, but then it wasn’t so quick.  It was a Social Snappers outing and it was decided that we should go to Marysville and Steavensons Falls.  It was good for me because I had the Cokin Filters with me and my tripod, which I didn’t have last time.

socialsnappers-marysville-steavensons-falls101

I hope you aren’t getting sick and tired of seeing these falls.  We hoped we would get there before the sun got on them, but we weren’t so luck.  It was interesting, I put my ISO down to 50, and my aperture to f/22 so I could get as slow a shutter speed as I could, but I could only get silky water by using the Cokin ND8 filter.  It is such a big waterfall.  You can walk all the way to the top, but we decided that it really was for another Social Snappers Excursion, the whole day at Marysville, so we moved onto Eildon.

socialsnappers-eildon-back-road-106

We did the back road again.  It is so nice.  We found quite a few places to stop to take photos.  I love the hills, they are so bare, almost like mounds of dirt.  Still quite green, though I am sure it won’t be long before that changes.  We were talking to a woman about her garden and she said that you can see the top of the hills are starting to turn golden.  She said soon the whole country would be golden for summer.  I loved the way she said it was golden, sounds so much better than brown.  So as I was driving up to the Mallee yesterday I noticed the countryside up here has already turned golden.

socialsnappers-eildon-back-road-120

I know they are photos of cows.  They were so friendly. We were trying to take photos of them in the paddock and then they slowly came up to us.  It was so funny.  I loved the way they were checking us out.  Possibly hoping we had a treat for them to eat.  I love the portrait of them.

socialsnappers-eildon-back-road-124

This is one of the photos I took in the woman’s garden.  It was just taken with my 24-70mm lens, as were all the photos in the post.  I loved the back light and how soft it looks.  I don’t photograph roses much, so it was nice to see some, and some with great lighting.

It was a beautiful day for wandering around the countryside of Eildon and we had a great time.  Must remember my hat though, I keep forgetting to take it.  It is so different there to where I am now.  The Mallee is very dry, and golden.  It is a busy time of the year, the crops haven’t been great and harvesting has started early.  I will have to see if I can get some photos of the activity that is going on.  I have my first workshop for the weekend today in Swan Hill.  It filled up, so a full class.  It is going to be fun.

I will leave you now with a gallery of the above images and more that I took.  They are working on the mobile phone tower here, so my internet connection can be a bit iffy, but I will do my best, they said it would be fine on the weekend, I hope so. On that note, it would be great to get your Monochrome images now.  I don’t know if I will be able to do the post much during the week.  Well update it anyway.   I hope you have some great things planned, perhaps a workshop.

 

 

35 Comments
  1. Wow, the falls are beautiful.

    November 8, 2014
    • Thanks Matt, they are quite stunning and quite large.

      November 8, 2014
  2. Amy #

    I love your waterfall shots, Leanne!

    November 8, 2014
  3. Lovely shots of the waterfall. I have taken a few myself recently, but don’t have nd filters and my camera (canon 100d) only goes down to iso100, although if I use the kit lens at 55mm it will go down to f/36

    November 8, 2014
    • I think it is best to try and photograph waterfalls when the sun isn’t on them. I would love to go back to this but get there really early in the morning, and see what I can. Thank you.

      November 8, 2014
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Love the photos, especially the cattle. ❤

    November 8, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, I am so glad someone else loves them, I love them too, probably my favourite shots.

      November 8, 2014
  5. Rural bliss.

    November 8, 2014
  6. Wonderful pictures. I love the river and they blue water

    November 8, 2014
    • The water was quite amazing in the river, thank you.

      November 8, 2014
  7. What a great day you had!! I love the pics of the cows!! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    November 8, 2014
    • Thanks Lisa, I love the cows too.

      November 8, 2014
  8. I love the cows too! and more beautiful countryside – such scenic variety from forest to pasture and ocean! Like British Columbia!!

    November 8, 2014
    • Oh yes, we certainly have it all, and all within a drive, or day trip. Thanks Cybele, how cute are those cows?

      November 8, 2014
  9. I am certainly not tired of the waterfall images. Love them and love how you’re taking us with you on your journey around Victoria. Agree with you that the water looks silky. So smooth, great capture. It looks marvellous. The herd of cows is hilarious – I suppose they are tired of munching on the green grass all around them. Or maybe your group just seemed a very friendly bunch 😀 Hope your week went well, and your weekend is going great too.

    November 8, 2014
    • That’s good to know Mabel. That is great that you are enjoying the journey. I think the cows thought we had something for them. LOL It did go well, thanks, I hope you did too, the weekend has been good so far, one workshop down, one to go.

      November 8, 2014
  10. Very nice photos indeed! The cattle and the falls are excellent! 🙂

    November 8, 2014
    • Thank you so much Thomas. 😀

      November 8, 2014
  11. Beautiful photographs as always. I am a real sucker for waterfalls!

    November 8, 2014
    • I think many are, I love them too, thank you.

      November 8, 2014
  12. poppytump #

    That’s a beautiful cascade of tumbling water Leanne … I never tire of waterfall pictures .
    The rose is so perfectly dreamy … the colour of gentle happiness …
    Hope you’ve had a brilliant time with your workshop group * envious 😉

    November 9, 2014
    • Thanks Poppytump, I am glad, I think I like doing them and there are lots to do in my state.
      I like that description, lovely.
      I did yesterday, photos soon, it was intensive, but I think they all enjoyed it.
      thank you, well you will have to come and do one one day. 🙂 not that I could teach you anything.

      November 9, 2014
      • poppytump #

        wanna bet 😀

        November 9, 2014
      • Okay, you’re on, 😉

        November 9, 2014
  13. Great photos, but my favourite has to be your rose. A strong colour yet so soft. 😀

    November 9, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, the rose turned out so beautiful with that lighting, glad you like it. 😀

      November 9, 2014
  14. cows are so cute & curious….which is why I don’t eat them!!…a bit of political comment there – I am vegetarian… and again, they are so cute!!

    November 11, 2014
    • I don’t know, maybe, though these ones were. thanks Dawn, I’m not a vegetarian, but I don’t eat beef, for other reasons.

      November 11, 2014
  15. I did especially love the cows.

    November 11, 2014
    • So did I Elen. they were so funny.

      November 11, 2014
  16. Makes me want to say ‘moo’! 🙂 Nice work, Leanne.

    November 13, 2014
    • LOL I know just what you mean, thanks Distan.

      November 13, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Phonography Around Eildon | Melbourne, Australia

Comments are closed.

