Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Lake Charm

lake-charm-trees-pelicans-piers138

Yesterday I was in Swan Hill to do a workshop teaching people how to get their cameras off auto.  Afterwards we went out to Lake Charm, which is on the Swan Hill to Kerang road and took photos of the lake around the back.  The back part has lots of dead trees sticking out and all along were some rickety old piers that I assume were there for fishing off.  For me the highlight were all the pelicans.

lake-charm-trees-pelicans-piers129

There were so many of them, but of course as soon as we got close they moved further down.  I wished I had bought the 150-500mm lens with me. It would have been nice to get closer to them.  I do like pelicans.  I put my 80-200mm lens on to get some photos and when they moved away I put the 24-70mm back on.

lake-charm-trees-pelicans-piers130

It was quite an extraordinary place.  I loved all the dead trees.  It would have been good if I could’ve used my ND400 but I left it at home in Melbourne.  I will have to bring it back sometime and go over there again.

It was really windy and the lake was very choppy, and there were even little waves in it.  Once I had changed to the 24-70 lens, of course, the pelicans started flying overhead.  They were trying to fly into the wind, or were enjoying the way the wind just pushed them. I want to get photos so put the 80-200 back on, and of course, they stopped flying, so I had to wait.

lake-charm-trees-pelicans-piers135

Waited I did and then I got what I was waiting for.

lake-charm-trees-pelicans-piers136

At the end of the class a few us decided that it might be worth coming back for the sunset, the sky was looking promising.  Everyone was invited, but only a few could stay.  We decided to head into Kerang to have some dinner at a pub, and then head back for the sunset.  As we were driving to Kerang a dust storm hit us.  I know it isn’t a massive dust storm, but still, I had to get out and take photos of it.  It isn’t something you see a lot.  It was like fog, but brown.

 

lake-charm-trees-pelicans-piers141

It wasn’t the best Mallee sunset I have ever seen, but it was still pretty good.  We stayed here for about an hour taking photos of it.  It was nice with the lake.  One of the women goes there a lot to take photos.

I am a bit tired, it was a big day yesterday and I have another workshop this afternoon in Hopetoun.  Hopefully it will be just as good, though no reason why it wouldn’t be.  I love being with people who love photography and are keen to learn more.

I have a gallery for you now, but first can I say thank you to those that have sent their MM images in already, I really appreciate it.  Means I can get a lot of done while I still have the internet.  I hope your weekend is going well.

86 Comments
  1. I love the sense of drama in all these shots, Leanne. The piers are man’s efforts at utility and order, but alongside the wilds are doing as they like.

    November 9, 2014
    • that is wonderful to hear Tish, I like how you have described it all as well, thank you.

      November 9, 2014
  2. Great photos of the choppy waves. Big lake. 🙂

    November 9, 2014
    • Thank you John, it is a fairly big lake. 😀

      November 9, 2014
  3. Beautiful shots!

    November 9, 2014
  4. Haunting and beautiful …xx

    November 9, 2014
  5. Swan Hill, Lake Charm and that sunset -its all so romantic!

    November 9, 2014
    • I hope that is good Gypsy, thank you.

      November 9, 2014
  6. A set of images that evoke calm and tranquility.

    November 9, 2014
    • Thank you Sally, I like that too, it is great to hear people describe what they see.

      November 9, 2014
  7. With every post I am still astounded by the beauty of your photos Leanne. Stunning!

    November 9, 2014
    • Thank you Colline, I do think I am very lucky that I have access to a country that offers so much diversity with which to take photos.

      November 9, 2014
  8. A great set of shots. I hope your group made the most of having such a competent teacher.

    November 9, 2014
    • They were great, lots of questions, and most of them I could answer. Funny how different all the cameras can be. Thank you.

      November 9, 2014
  9. I love the pelican photographs. The pelicans where I live seem to have vanished over the last few weeks.

    November 9, 2014
    • I think they all came here Gary. Thank you.

      November 9, 2014
      • We must have all the ducks then because there are more here than I’ve seen before.

        November 9, 2014
      • Well, I have to say I don’t recall seeing any of those, so maybe.

        November 9, 2014
  10. Great images of Lake Charm and the Mallee sunset, Leanne. Good to hear your workshops are a hit. Makes the trip particularly worthwhile! 🙂 Chris

    November 9, 2014
    • It does Chris and means that they want me to do more, so guess I will have to come back, my mum will be happy, I hope.
      Thank you Chris.

      November 9, 2014
  11. Your photography delights me! I love the bird photo! Awesome catching him in flight!! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    November 9, 2014
    • What a lovely thing to say Lisa, I thought the same about getting him in flight. When I saw the first one flying over, I knew I would have to try and get some shots. Thank you.

      November 9, 2014
  12. Love the minimal tree pictures – how annoying to miss pictures because of a lens change! I mostly use my 80 -200 and my Lumix which is in my pocket most of the time and will print to A3 size. Went to take Autumn colours with a small group of Improvers – results were mixed – rather difficult some have point and shoot,or bridge cameras or SLRS

    November 9, 2014
    • I am glad they did more flying, didn’t miss any after that, though once you have one, they all look pretty much the same.
      You’re outing sounds nice, I love going out with people to take photos and it never matters what they choose to use. Thanks Diana.

      November 9, 2014
  13. Gorgeous! I loved seeing the pelican in flight. 🙂

    November 9, 2014
    • Thank you Laura, I loved watching them trying to fly into the wind. 😀

      November 9, 2014
      • Aww lol. I love it when they dive bomb the water to catch fish.

        November 9, 2014
      • They weren’t doing unfortunately, but they were having a good time, annoying us by staying away.

        November 10, 2014
      • haha yes they know you want them to perform don’t they. I love their angular shapes when they fly.

        November 10, 2014
      • Apparently they are shy, but they like to tease. I do too.

        November 10, 2014
  14. Beautiful scenary

    November 9, 2014
  15. Beautiful!!! 🙂

    November 9, 2014
  16. Sensational.

    November 9, 2014
  17. I just love the trees in the water!! Beautiful charm!!!

    November 9, 2014
    • Same Cybele, do you get the feeling if the two of us went out we would always enjoy photographing the same sort of things.

      November 10, 2014
      • Yes!! But I have miles to go so to speak- both literally and figuratively!!

        November 10, 2014
      • I don’t think so, I don’t think you are giving yourself enough credit.

        November 10, 2014
      • thanks Leanne- I’m trying to try out different things! Sometimes I’m very happy with things but more often than not I feel need for improvement without the aid of photoshop lol!! Though I do love the creative process and how I can create a story to go with my stories!! If that makes sense!!

        November 10, 2014
      • That is always good to hear Cybele, I love playing around. I think that is a good way to be, I often feel exactly the same way. that makes perfect sense. I completely understand. I’ve been thinking about what you said the other day too, the email, so I will get back to you soon about it.

        November 10, 2014
  18. Leanne, what wonderful images! I love the stark beauty of the trees, and the lighting. The sunset is fabulous. Thanx for sharing these.

    November 9, 2014
    • Thank you, I love those trees too, I just wish the water hadn’t been so choppy, it would have been wonderful with still water, might have to go back. Thank you.

      November 10, 2014
  19. Beautiful sunset photos Leanne. I really like the lake i think i could just sit there for ages and look at the water and the birds.

    November 9, 2014
    • I know what you mean Andrea, would be wonderful. Thank you.

      November 10, 2014
  20. Reblogged this on zoltangreenwood.

    November 9, 2014
  21. Great shots! I love how the dust storm shots look – almost a hazy effect – naturally!

    November 9, 2014
    • It was, like fog only brown. I’ve seen much worse dust storms, but not for a very long time.

      November 10, 2014
  22. beautiful shots

    November 9, 2014
  23. I appreciated the dust storm photos, not something I get to see. Much like fog, but with more colour.

    November 10, 2014
    • It is like fog, but brown. We used to get ones that were so bad you couldn’t see, but the farmers have changed the way they work the land now and they don’t lose all their soil in dust storms now. Thanks.

      November 10, 2014
  24. poppytump #

    Sounds like a very good workshop session Leanne at a great location with many photo possibilities . So many lens changes .. definitely need nimble unclumsy fingers I’ve found !
    Oh those pelicans .. that one in flight looks almost terrified with his tightly clamped beak 😀

    November 10, 2014
    • It was a great session, very tiring for all of us, but so worth it, we got some great photos. Yes, I used to be so lazy when it came to changing my lenses, but I am getting better, LOL.
      I hadn’t thought of them as being terrified, maybe they have to be careful that their beaks don’t act like a sail in the wind. Thanks Poppytump.

      November 10, 2014
  25. Beautiful pictures Leanne! I especially love the sunset ones, but then I’m partial to sunsets. 😀 It looks like it would be an amazing place to visit and see in person! You get some rest, no point in overdoing… You are so talented and blessed to be so good at your craft, and to share your knowledge with others. ❤

    November 10, 2014
    • Thank you Keli, I think lots of people are partial to sunsets. They are wonderful to watch. I really hope I can get back there, I would love to go first thing in the morning as well. I will Keli, I am going to take it easy today, I have to admit I am feeling really wrecked, but I am sure a day of not doing much will help. Oh what a lovely thing to say, thank you so much. You take care too. 😀

      November 10, 2014
  26. Just wonderful Leanne !

    November 10, 2014
  27. If that is an example of a not very good Mallee sunset, I would be interested to see what a good one looks like!

    November 10, 2014
    • The colours didn’t go right up into the sky, I have seen some much better ones, I will get to photograph one one day. thank you.

      November 10, 2014
  28. great images! looks like a gret place to spend the day! 😉

    November 10, 2014
    • Thank you Steve, it was, I would love to go back there and try some more. 😀

      November 10, 2014
  29. More beautiful shots…..it sounds like a great day out Leanne. That sunset was definitely worth going back for…I love the pink light reflections on the wave crests

    November 10, 2014
    • It was Seonaid, and one I would like to repeat I think. I’m glad we decided to stick around for the sunset, it was brilliant. Thanks

      November 10, 2014
  30. LB #

    Leanne, what a wonderful series!

    November 10, 2014
    • Thank you LB, it was a great place to take photos.

      November 10, 2014
  31. Love the sunsets so rich and vibrant!!

    November 10, 2014
  32. Thank you for liking “After a Halloween Rain” and “Zoomorphic Pareidolia.” Lake Charm has a bewitching charm! 🙂 Years ago, I would not have enjoyed looking at dead trees, but now I am fascinated by them. Perhaps it is because they are reminders of the passage of time and how life constantly changes. I especially like the last three sunset photos that include a view of the piers. I enjoyed seeing the wonderful contrast between the fiery sunset and the dark clouds in these pictures.

    November 10, 2014
    • You’re welcome. Lake Charm is a great place to take photos. That is wonderful, I love dead trees it is always a reminder here of how harsh this country can be, and hard life is. Thank you and thanks for stopping by.

      November 10, 2014
  33. Such beautiful pictures of a beautiful place, Leanne…Lake Charm it is…

    November 11, 2014
    • It is Sue, it is a great place, along that area there are so many lakes, I would like to explore them all a lot more. My mum is just a little bit too far, might have to make the effort though. Thank you.

      November 11, 2014
  34. the sunset photos are great !!

    November 11, 2014
    • Thank you Dawn, have you been up to the area around Swan Hill?

      November 11, 2014
      • no, haven’t been up that way…. on the ‘to do’ list!

        November 11, 2014
      • It is a great place, and there are so many thing to take photos of, which is why I love it.

        November 11, 2014
  35. These are great, I can appreciate the use of ND filter in the opening image. Getting it right is something I find really tricky. I also struggle to keep them clean throughout use, leading to smears on the final images. I was disappointed with my recent attempts due to this. Looking toward to the next post.

    November 12, 2014
    • Thank you. I am still getting used to the filters, but am sure with time I will get it. I know I have to be very careful with how I used them, so I have tried to be very careful with handling them. I also have a cloth for cleaning them with me which helps. Good luck.

      November 12, 2014
  36. Breathtakingly beautiful!

    November 18, 2014

Comments are closed.

