Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bit and Bobs from the Mallee

Most of you know that I am in the Mallee again this week.  It is hot up here, and it doesn’t make me want to get out and take any photos really.  It is tough as I really don’t like the heat, not at all.

Workshops

I did the two workshops over the weekend, one in Swan Hill on Saturday and then another one on Sunday in Hopetoun.  I find them really intensive, so I can imagine the students find it even harder.  I could see at the end that many hopetoun-workshop-lake-lascelles145of them were a little overwhelmed with all the information I had given them, but I hope they learned a lot and feel a lot more confident about using their cameras now.

One of the things that did come out of the workshops was that people wanted, or seemed interested in me coming back and running some workshops on photo editing, I think that is a great idea and will start planning that for early next year.  We also thought we might organise a weekend of photography around Swan Hill, which would be fantastic.  Would love to do that.  It has always been something that I have wanted to run, photography weekends for people who want to take photos.

Visiting the Mallee

I am hoping to get back to the Pink Lakes while I am here, though this trip seems to be more about working than taking photos, but I am hoping to get some done while I am here.  I might be hopetoun-workshop-lake-lascelles147doing some bird photography tomorrow which would be good.

I would love to get some images of the activity that is going on around here at the moment.  Harvesting is a busy time and there are trucks and trains and all sorts of things happening. I do want to get some images of that,.

Robyn’s One Four Challenge

I have done my next image for Robyn’s challenge, and you can see my image on my blog, Robyn’s ONE FOUR CHALLENGE – NOV WK 2, and if you want to see more of the images that other people are doing, then you need to go to Captivate Me.

Social Snappers

The next Social Snappers Excursion is this coming Sunday and we are off to the Docklands to take photos.  The weather looks like it will be really good.  I know there is a lot more there than I know about it,

woomelang-harvesting-header-grain151That is about it for this week, it has been busy, but also quiet.  The photos in this post were taken during the Hopetoun Workshop, though the header ones were taken on the way home.  I saw it in the paddock so I pulled over and waited for it to come down to where I was standing again.  I couldn’t get over the amount of dust that it brought up with it.  Incredible.

 

 

42 Comments
  1. I’m in for the photo editing 🙂 just wish I could join you for the photo excursions!

    November 11, 2014
    • Sounds good Julie, maybe you can join us for one one day. 😀

      November 11, 2014
      • I would love to!

        November 11, 2014
      • You will have to let me know when you are planning on coming again, maybe you could come when we are having a weekend away or something.

        November 11, 2014
      • Now that’s a great idea! 😀

        November 11, 2014
      • Done 😀

        November 11, 2014
  2. Very nice pix.:)

    November 11, 2014
  3. Great photos. 😀

    November 11, 2014
  4. Love the angle of that building shot!

    November 11, 2014
    • Thank you, I love getting interesting angles.

      November 11, 2014
  5. I was just in South Dakota. All you see is farms. Just like your pictures here. Nice

    November 11, 2014
    • Farms can be so good to photograph. Thanks Luis.

      November 11, 2014
  6. Morning Leanne – another wonderful post and gorgeous images.
    I guess it would be very hot out there.
    Very glad your lessons were a success. I think the editing classes are a good idea too.
    Have un at the docklands 😊
    Thanks for linking up on the One Four Challenge… Popping over to your other blog now to check it out.

    November 11, 2014
    • Commenting here as I cant reply on your other site – just me Im sure.
      Love the no 2 edit. Will try again later, not on my device 😉

      November 11, 2014
      • I am not sure what happens over there, but I did your comment, 3 times, LOL, it be that it doesn’t show it to you, I don’t know. Might have to get you to check for me sometime.
        Thanks again.

        November 11, 2014
      • oh dear… that’s hilarious!!
        Yep am happy to check that out sometime…

        “It’s like that joke about the light switch – a lady flipping a switch and it isn’t working – she gets a call and someone says, cut it out! You’re turning my light on and off!” 😛

        Yeah ok, bad but funny… ha ha

        November 11, 2014
      • Yes, bad, but yes, funny too. Thanks, that would be good. We will have to organise another yak session soon, but when I get home.

        November 11, 2014
      • Will look forward to it 😀

        November 11, 2014
      • 😀

        November 11, 2014
    • Afternoon Robyn. Thank you.
      It is getting hot, it was on the weekend, but the last couple of days have been good but apparently 39 predicted for Thursday, I’m planning on going home that day.
      they were a great success and I agree, editing would be good.
      I know I will have fun there thanks.
      You’re so welcome, I hope it helps promote it. Thanks

      November 11, 2014
      • Ewww, it’s warming up!
        Travel safely. I’m heading to Sydney later this week and they’re expecting up to 40.
        Yes your posts always help – thank you xx

        November 11, 2014
      • It certainly is, I hope it isn’t a sign of what the summer is going to be like, I don’t want a long hot summer.

        November 11, 2014
      • Unfortunately things are too dry and hot, too quickly.

        November 11, 2014
      • I agree, especially up here in the Mallee, it is so dry, and getting too hot.

        November 11, 2014
  7. Lovely photos….. I dream of those beautiful blue skies.

    November 11, 2014
    • You would have loved the blue skies here this morning Maxine, they were so blue and covered with white fluffy clouds, I couldn’t stop taking photos. thanks

      November 11, 2014
  8. you do pack a lot into a week! love the photos.

    November 11, 2014
    • I try to when I come up here, I want to make the most of it. It is a long drive.

      November 11, 2014
  9. Heat? Oh yes, you’re going headlong into summer right about now aren’t you?

    November 11, 2014
    • Oh yes we most definitely are Allan, it is getting too hot here already, and it isn’t even summer yet. I don’t like it.

      November 11, 2014
      • We’re heading for winter here. We ought to trade spaces!

        November 11, 2014
      • I would love to, I hate summer.

        November 11, 2014
  10. Jen #

    Love all the photos of the beautiful, opalescent water! And harvest at the same time…fascinating. We’re all bundling up here now, and the harvest is well over. 😉

    November 11, 2014
    • That’s great Jen, thank you. Oh yes, we are heading into summer here, so while you are freezing, we will be boiling.

      November 11, 2014
  11. My bucket list wish is to come visit you and your beautiful country and learn some photography from you!! I love the farm equipment!! Have a super week!M Hugz Lisa and Bear

    November 11, 2014
    • I like your wish, I really hope it comes true one day Lisa. It was would so wonderful to show you around my lovely homeland.

      November 11, 2014
  12. poppytump #

    Photos .. happenings ..and buzz all here on your page Leanne . Brilliant 🙂 Good to see it all coming together so successfully . Mind how you go in all that heat ..

    November 11, 2014
    • It has felt like that this week Poppytump, has been a very busy week, looking forward to going home and just chilling. Thank you. I will, the best thing to do in the heat is avoid, so don’t be out in the middle of the day if you can avoid it.

      November 12, 2014
  13. Love the harvester shots. They’re pretty awesome. 🙂

    November 12, 2014
    • I love them too Suz, would love to get more. Thank you. 🙂

      November 12, 2014

Comments are closed.

