Skip to content

Quiet Thursday’s – Big Sculptures

This week I’ve been going to some towns in the Yarriambiack Shire taking photos.  For today I thought I would show you one of my favourites so far.

patchewollock-mallee-fowl-statues

These sculptures are in Patchewollock, in the State’s north west.  They are of the Mallee Fowl and they are so big.  You can get a sense of how big they are by the picnic table in background.  They are so good.

One of things I’ve been doing when photographing these places has been playing more with my 14-24mm.  I think I got a little lost with it, but I am really starting to see how to use it to it’s best now.  I love the images you can get with it and hopefully over the next couple of weeks I can show that to you as well.

I leave the Mallee soon and it will be back to Melbourne and home.  It has been a very busy week here, and not much recreation, but that is good, means it will give me more excuses to come back.  Next trip is planned for February or March.  I better go and pack.

94 Comments
  1. Stunning!! O_O

    November 13, 2014
  2. Becky Field, Artist #

    Would love to see these. What a scale! X

    November 13, 2014
    • They are big Becky, you will have to come to Australia.

      November 13, 2014
  3. they are enormous never knew they even existed very nice shots of them great perspective

    November 13, 2014
    • I’ve seen them a couple of times, but it is the first time I’ve photographed them, they are amazing. I have more images that I will show, but have to work on them first. Thanks Christine.

      November 13, 2014
  4. nerdycanuck #

    Sounds like a great trip.. the sculptures against the blue sky made the picture pop:) great photo.

    November 13, 2014
    • It has been, very busy and very tiring, but a great trip for me. The sky was great for them. Thank you.

      November 13, 2014
  5. This is so cool! I love your blog, I always feel like I could be someone who looks at artwork and appreciates itt when I come for a visit!

    November 13, 2014
    • That is great to hear, these are amazing. I am sure you would love them if you saw them in person. Thank you.

      November 13, 2014
  6. Help me, Rhonda. I hope you are going to be showing us some more of these sculptures.

    November 13, 2014
    • Who’s Rhonda Elen? I will be showing some more photos, I need to get home and work on them first.

      November 13, 2014
      • Help Me, Rhonda is a song by The Beach Boys. That phrase is used like “Have mercy!” LOL Sorry. As in: Have mercy, that image is killing me. I like it so much.

        November 13, 2014
      • I haven’t heard it before, LOL, I get it, thanks for explaining it Elen. That is wonderful. Love it, your response I mean.

        November 13, 2014
  7. These sculptures are amazing! The sky is as BIG as they are. Hope you have a safe trip back.

    November 13, 2014
    • Oh yes, we have big skies here, in most places of Australia we have big skies. Thanks Carrie.

      November 13, 2014
  8. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Those sculptures are huge… and absolutely adorable at the same time. They give the area a prehistoric look. 🙂

    November 13, 2014
    • They are and they are Jackie, they are pretty amazing. I hadn’t thought of that, but I like it. 😀

      November 13, 2014
  9. Those sculptures look fantastic, especially in that setting. I love the composition and the lighting.

    November 13, 2014
    • The do don’t they, so perfect for them, lots of space. Thanks Papict.

      November 13, 2014
  10. I love the birds. The sky treatment with the clouds tapering back really helps them stand out.

    November 13, 2014
    • I wish I could take credit for the clouds, but alas I was just very lucky, they worked so well. Thank you.

      November 13, 2014
  11. I love it!

    November 13, 2014
  12. What an interesting sculpture Leanne.

    November 13, 2014
    • It is Colline and they are so big. Thank you.

      November 13, 2014
  13. Wow. Fascinating. Would love to see them some day.

    November 13, 2014
    • They are fascinating, I really hope you get to see them Marie, there are some great places to take photos around there as well.

      November 13, 2014
  14. Peter45 #

    Reblogged this on onaccountof.

    November 13, 2014
  15. Great shot, Leanne! It seems that you are visiting another planet! The giant birds, the soil, and the spectacular sky add up to create a scene almost out of our world! Great job, my friend! Have a safe trip back home! 🙂

    November 13, 2014
    • Haha, I think a lot of Australia is like that. Thank you so much Fabio, home now all safe. 😀

      November 13, 2014
  16. This is great, I loved it so much. Thank you dear Leanne, love, nia

    November 13, 2014
    • You’re welcome Nia, glad you like it, thank you so much.

      November 13, 2014
  17. Great shot! Birds evolved from Dinosaurs… and T-rex feet were also very huge and totally bird-like. 🙂

    November 13, 2014
    • I like the comparison Thomas, that is great, thank you. 😀

      November 13, 2014
  18. Wow, I love sculpture.

    November 13, 2014
  19. So cool. They reminded me of the Cabazon Dinosaurs in the California desert. Passed them many a time while on vacation with my parents. Unexpected (and gigantic!) art in unexpected places is always a good thing. Fond memories.

    November 13, 2014
    • Someone else just said something about dinosaurs too. It is a good thing, and great in this place, they are amazing. Thank you.

      November 13, 2014
  20. Very nice lighting and very unusual subjects.

    November 13, 2014
    • Thank you Cris, you have to love it when the conditions are just perfect for taking photos.

      November 13, 2014
      • Agreed, although I haven’t done much in the realm of taking photos lately. Just haven’t felt up to it. Haven’t done a challenge in quite awhile.

        November 20, 2014
      • I know that feeling, though it tends just to be for a day or so. Maybe it is time for a challenge Cris.

        November 20, 2014
      • My biggest challenge is to survive the winter which is fast upon me. It kind of dims my desire to be outside. My bones are getting too achy. 🙂 That being said, you are exactly correct in your assessment. 🙂

        December 2, 2014
      • I have heard of what your winters are like, I don’t think I would like going out in them, too cold. Thankfully we don’t have winters like that, but out summers can be really harsh and it is usually best to stay in with the air conditioner on. 😀

        December 2, 2014
      • 🙂 I hear you. Same problem here in the summer.

        December 3, 2014
      • It has been very humid here the last few days, that makes it even worse, yuck.

        December 3, 2014
      • It’s humid here all year round for some reason. It rarely gets below 50% humidity. The cold’s colder; the hot’s hotter; so you know about that. 🙂

        December 5, 2014
      • I think that would be horrible, I really hate humidity, the only good thing about it is that it usually means we don’t get really high temperatures when it is there.

        December 5, 2014
  21. Stunning sculptures…would be quite something to see them in person. I am completely enamoured with your work. Thus am honoured you liked my freshman post here on WordPress. Thank you. I look fwd to learning much from you. Best, j

    November 13, 2014
    • They are big Julia, that is what I found, really big, they definitely dominate the landscape. What a lovely thing to say, thank you so much, I hope you continue to enjoy my blog. I look forward to getting to know you Julia.

      November 13, 2014
      • Wow…sounds cathartic like I imagine Stonehenge or Easter Island would be. And, likewise 🙂

        November 13, 2014
      • Maybe, although I found them funny, maybe not the right word, but they were fascinating, it was good to photograph them and try some different things. I will show more photos either this weekend or the following one. 😀

        November 13, 2014
      • Wonderful. Looking fwd to them x j.

        November 14, 2014
  22. lensaddiction #

    Nice use of the UWA lens here, these sculptures are lovely and SO photogenic. Great lighting, you captured them with a nice composition.

    November 13, 2014
    • Thanks Stacey, I am really starting to understand how to use it now and was really happy with what I got with it while away.

      November 13, 2014
  23. Great find Leanne! Thanks for sharing. As part sculptor I love seeing a range of work which is in a way off the radar! or as Fabio says, out of this world> 🙂

    November 13, 2014
    • That is great Dean, I will have to try and find more for you as I travel around, or when I do. Thanks Dean.

      November 13, 2014
  24. These are awesome. I’m just going to Google maps Patchewollock and see how long the travel time is. I wonder if I’ve passed by and never known they were there? 🙂

    November 13, 2014
    • You will have to let me know, it really isn’t on the way to anywhere, though there are roads that go close to it. It is a small town. Thanks Lisa.

      November 13, 2014
  25. Nice capture, and what fun!

    November 13, 2014
    • Thanks Katrina, oh yes, lots of fun.

      November 13, 2014
  26. What lovely Australian sculptures. I love the old corregated iron. Lovely photos Leanne 🙂

    November 13, 2014
    • So do I, there is a guy in a town in the Mallee that does lots of sculptures with corregated iron, some really amazing stuff. thanks Kaz. 😀

      November 13, 2014
  27. Amazing!

    November 13, 2014
  28. Those are very unique and awesome.

    November 14, 2014
  29. I sooo want to see these sculptures… the cloudscapes you have captured in the pics are great too 🙂

    November 14, 2014
    • You will have to take a trip to the Mallee Dawn. Maybe we can organise to be up there at the same time Dawn, and I can show them to you. 🙂

      November 14, 2014
      • that would be cool…meeting somewhere other than cyberspace!

        November 15, 2014
      • It is rather cool. I love meeting people in person who I have met through here.

        November 15, 2014
  30. Amy #

    Love how you took the shot of the sculpture! Beautiful via your lens, Leanne.

    November 14, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, it is always good when have a great subject to photography.

      November 14, 2014
  31. Outdoor art installations – temporary or permanent seem to be a growing trend – and long may that trend continue. We’ve had a number in the UK which I’ve seen this year – they always offer a challenge and a wide-angle lens like yours can really enable you to get in close. Nice shot, Leanne.

    November 14, 2014
    • they are Andy, and here as well, we are seeing them more and more here. I liked the ability to get in close, I like how the wide angle can really give you a point of focus. Thank you Andy.

      November 14, 2014
  32. fantastic – I hope the real birds aren’t that big!! No wonder no one is picnicing there!! 😀

    November 14, 2014
    • Hahaha, apparently they are big, but not that big, I think, from what people have told me, I’ve never seen one, that they are a little bigger than real chooks. Thanks Cybele. 😀

      November 14, 2014
  33. These are great…..I want one in my back garden, although they maybe a little big.

    November 14, 2014
    • Yes, maybe a little big, maybe you could get one that is slightly smaller. Thanks Mark.

      November 14, 2014
  34. I love the wide angle shots. It makes the sculptures more dramatic. 😀

    November 14, 2014
    • Thanks Raewyn, I think I am finally getting the hang of the wide angle lens. 😀

      November 14, 2014
  35. Reblogged this on David Juster's "Imagination".

    November 14, 2014
  36. poppytump #

    These are so surreal .Leanne .. kind of Daliesque .
    I wonder how they will weather over the years … over here those ridges on the corrugated metal would soon be covered in mosses and lichens on account of the climate .. love how they’ve chosen rusty ones for the markings .

    November 14, 2014
    • Aren’t they, they are amazing.
      I think they will continue to rust and get a lovely rusty colouring over them, though how fast that happens, I think, will depend on how much rain they get. Not much here goes like that, with the mosses and lichens, well not the same way, we don’t get enough rain.

      November 14, 2014
  37. Amazing sculptures. Australia gave us “Sculpture by the sea” – every 2. year I love visiting this great exhibition here in Århus (http://truels.wordpress.com/2013/07/21/sculpture-by-the-sea-arhus-2013-2/) 🙂

    November 15, 2014
    • I didn’t know that Truels. They have Sculpture by the Sea in Sydney and now down here as well, though don’t know what it is like down here. Thanks for sending the link it was good to see.

      November 15, 2014
  38. Looks like a scene from a movie!

    November 17, 2014
    • That sounds interesting, would make a great movie.

      November 17, 2014
  39. I love the huge sculptures! What a gorgeous photo!

    November 19, 2014
    • Thank you Tiny, they are so amazing.

      November 19, 2014
  40. These are great fun 🙂

    November 25, 2014
    • they are Noeline, thank you.

      November 25, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Wanna go here | NOMADICLES

Comments are closed.

