Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Around Warracknabeal

While I was up at my mums I was given an opportunity to go and take photos of some of the more historical places around Warracknabeal.  One of the things I’ve found about the country is how they are tied to the past.  I always thought that was a bad thing, but now I’m not so sure.  Melbourne is about the future and changing things, and there aren’t many places that have been left the way they were.  Progress they call it, they leave the outside of the building, but then gut the inside and rebuild.  I don’t like it, but unfortunately people don’t listen to me.  I got some lovely surprises when I went to Warracknabeal.

warracknabeal-water-tower-town-154

I went early in the morning, well I got there at 8am, and the light was just stunning, and not to mention the clouds.  It was a perfect morning for taking photos and long before the heat of the day set in.  This is the water tower, it is near the train tracks.  It is a great tower, I didn’t go inside this one, no need to really.

warracknabeal-court-house-historical-society-156

Then it was onto the court house.  As with many places one of the biggest problems I had was with power lines, they were all across this, so I had to spend quite a bit of time removing them, they were too distracting.  It is a lovely old building.  It is no longer a court house and is used by the Warracknabeal Historical Society, but when you walk inside, there is a little surprise.

warracknabeal-court-house-historical-society-157

It still looks like a court house.  They could have a judge there tomorrow and start using it as a court house again, they wouldn’t have to do anything.  It was really amazing to see it all set up like this.

warracknabeal-state-bank-historical-centre-159

The old State Bank is now the Historical Centre and when you walk inside it, you can see the bank as it was, how banks used to be.  You can walk around this and look at it.  There are ledgers open on the benches behind the counters.  In the rooms behind the bank and above you can see how they lived.  They are full of wonderful old things.  I have more photos and will put them in the gallery.

warracknabeal-wheatlands-second-hand-dealer-168

I don’t know a lot about this building, it is the Wheatlands Warehouse, and now is used as a secondhand dealership.  Inside you will find so many things, and it seems to go on and on.  I have more photos  of the inside in the gallery.

Victoria-map

I have a map for you of Victoria and you can see where Warracknabeal is.  I don’t know if this helps, please let me know if it does, as I just used google maps and if you would like to know where I am going, I would be happy to do more maps for you.

It was a gorgeous morning, I am going to put the above images and some more into a gallery for you now.  The file names should give you an idea of what building you are looking at. Of course, I was able to go in to many of these buildings thanks to the Yarriambiack Shire and the Wimmera  Mallee Tourism Association, so I would like to say thank you to them.

 

55 Comments
  1. Stunning! 😀

    November 15, 2014
  2. lensaddiction #

    Looks like a great day out, both the destination and the weather 🙂 I liked the dog on the grain sacks sculpture, esp from the front with the building in the background.

    I like the maps, I dont know Victoria very well so it really helps and it looks like this was quite a long drive too.

    November 15, 2014
    • It was a great morning Stacey, I like that sculpture too, there are some others too that I would like to take photos of, but they will have to wait until I am up there next.
      It is a long way from Melbourne, but only about an hours drive from my mums place, so not too bad really.

      November 15, 2014
  3. Great photos. It was like going back in time. 😀

    November 15, 2014
    • I know just want you mean, I loved that too. Thanks Raewyn. 😀

      November 15, 2014
  4. I especially love your interior photos …how lovely they all are with your writings xx

    November 15, 2014
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you so much.

      November 15, 2014
  5. more wonderful historical sites and buildings!!

    November 15, 2014
    • Oh yes, I love buildings like these. I am already thinking of future photos. Thanks Cybele.

      November 15, 2014
  6. Some very nice photos. I like how you left the water tower leaning. I assume the lean is from the camera? Like with the real estate images, not straightening it gives it a lot more meaning.

    November 15, 2014
    • Yes, it was because of the wide angle lens which tends to do that. I did straighten it a bit, but I liked the lean, seemed to draw you into the image, like a comforting arm, if that makes sense. Thanks John.

      November 15, 2014
  7. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Very elegant! 🙂

    November 15, 2014
  8. I am with you, Leanne. Not a fan at all of the ‘gut and rebuild.’ Something about that is so very wrong. The courthouse is wonderful–thankfully!

    November 15, 2014
    • I agree, I know they say it is progress, but so many of those buildings were so beautiful with how they were made, it is such a shame to see that disregarded. I love the court house, oh and the bank. Thanks Lois.

      November 15, 2014
  9. Lovely photos. Looks like going back in time. I love the sky too.

    November 15, 2014
    • Thank you Andrea, it was a great sky at that time. About an hour later all the clouds were gone and it was getting warm.

      November 15, 2014
      • You took the photos at the right moment then. 😉
        I like places like this you can feel the history and theres a certain atmosphere

        November 15, 2014
      • Oh yes, I was really lucky, so glad I made the decision to head over early.
        I know just want you mean Andrea I like that too. 😀

        November 15, 2014
      • 😉 there is a spooky feel to one of the rooms. I went to York to a victorian museum last year. It is a really good place you can walk on the streets, go into shops, to prison etc. Its like time travelling. 😉 I may post some photos to show you.

        November 15, 2014
      • Sounds like an interesting place to visit, we have some places like that here too, though ours are more about gold rush and that sort of thing. I will have to go out and looks for photos. 😀

        November 15, 2014
  10. I appreciate the map a lot.

    November 15, 2014
    • That’s good, I might have to start including more.

      November 15, 2014
  11. What fascinating buildings, inside and out. I’m sure you were finding things to photograph everywhere you turned. I would desperately like to visit Australia some day and I have cousins in Victoria (Frankston) so perhaps some day I will have the opportunity to visit some of the places in real life that I am very much enjoying viewing through your wonderful photography.

    November 15, 2014
    • I was Papict, I think we have little gems everywhere which is so nice. I hope you get to come one day, and look at that free accommodation when you come. Frankston is lovely. I hope you get here, don’t forget to look me up when you.

      November 15, 2014
  12. I love the photos with the shadows of all the goodies on the glass shelves – also I think I’d like to visit that place! The bank building must be the same vintage as the old State bank in Ararat – it’s quite similar in style.

    November 15, 2014
    • I am sure it is the same vintage Sukie, they were probably all made around the same time. The place with the shadows was amazing, I wish I had spent more time looking, rather than taking photos. It wouldn’t be that far from you would it, a couple of hours.

      November 15, 2014
  13. It’s amazing how you look at the ‘ordinary’ in a different way with a camera in hand! Those cloud formations are very dramatic in the water tower photo – would make a stunning book cover. I lived very briefly in Warracknabeal, half a century ago now. We moved there from Minyip and then moved on to Balmoral. I remember the silos and the railway track, the trotting track was behind us. I could spend all day in that secondhand shop! The town has some spectacular buildings with all those colours in the brickwork. I don’t recall the log jail, it’s a wonder I didn’t end up there. My dad was a bit of a kleptomaniac, and I remember standing lookout for him while he rummaged through a gypsy-style caravan left unattended. Yep, that is about the extent of my memories of Warracknabeal, apart from attending Sunday School for the first time and loving the little Jesus sticker stamps. Thanks Leanne, for prompting my memories with these wonderful photos.

    November 15, 2014
    • How wonderful Christine, I love hearing stories like this. Thank you so much for sharing them. I don’t really know Warracknabeal, I lived in Birchip for a couple of years as a kid, but we never went there.

      November 15, 2014
  14. Wow! I just love old buildings and venturing indoors to see what treasures there are. The old bank’s interior is amazing! And the crystal and cups .. Delightful! The pooch is pretty special too Leanne.:)

    November 15, 2014
    • You would love country Victoria then Julie, there are so many of them. I loved the bank, it was amazing and the court house. Thanks Julie, sounds like you would love the place.

      November 15, 2014
  15. How much fun was that?! Really appreciate our history and these photo’s are a perfect example of why we need to preserve some of it….thank you for sharing!!!

    November 15, 2014
    • Thank you Debbie, I agree, it is nice to preserve some of it and not forget what we had. You’re welcome, I’m glad you found it fun.

      November 15, 2014
  16. “Warracknabeal” Bit of a mouthful and it’s a bit of an odd sounding town 😀 Another great set of weekend wandering photos. I love the shot of the water tower, what lovely cloud cover you captured there. Although I love the city, I have to admit I don’t like it either when longstanding buildings are refurbished inside. I feel it takes a bit of the rustic charm and history away from the structures. Hope you get to travel around Victoria more and visit places like these 🙂

    November 15, 2014
    • Lots of Australian country towns have odd sounding names, many of them are aboriginal in origin, or partly. The water tower is quite amazing. I agree, I hate the whole refurbish forget the past, at least they keep the outside of them. I am sure I will, I really want to, that is my plan. Thanks Mabel. 😀

      November 15, 2014
  17. Sonel #

    I just love your weekend wanderings Leanne and as usual, you took the most stunning shots! I don’t know about you but if I was there, I wouldn’t have been able to leave. Too much to see and capture. Such beautiful architecture and I love the water tower. Oh, and that book shop. Divine! 😀 ♥

    November 15, 2014
    • Thank you Sonel, I leave with the knowledge that I will be able to go back, so that is good. I am glad you liked the tour around Warracknabeal. 😀

      November 15, 2014
  18. Lovely pictures and writing! Thank you for taking me along on your trip via your blog 🙂 I did like the map that you added as I am not from Australia and it gives me a better understanding of the location. Irene 🙂

    November 15, 2014
    • You’re welcome, I’m glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for letting me know about the map Irene, I will have to try doing more of them. 😀

      November 15, 2014
  19. I love your posts so much! May I know what camera settings you used for these?

    November 15, 2014
    • What a wonderful thing to say, thank you so much. I’m not good on the camera settings, probably around f/8 or f/9, the ISO was about 100, I used aperture priority so it was a fairly fast shutter.

      November 15, 2014
  20. Great post .I love #153 The Water Tower.That would look good converted for “Monochrome Madness”

    November 15, 2014
    • I might have to keep that in mind Rob, thank you.

      November 15, 2014
  21. Wow, those are some wonderful images. What a great job you did. Thank you for sharing.

    November 16, 2014
    • You’re very welcome, glad you enjoyed them. Thank you.

      November 16, 2014
  22. I’m a bit of an architectural buff, and I so enjoy the structure, history and interiors of old buildings. Thanks for these lovely photos.

    November 16, 2014
    • I’m the same, and I love photographing them, so I am so glad you enjoyed looking at them. Thank you.

      November 16, 2014
  23. We have so little history here in Australia, compared to other countries of the world, so I always enjoy seeing towns where some of the old buildings have been preserved. Love these photos, Leanne, thank you. 🙂

    November 16, 2014
    • I think that is part of the reason why they preserve what they have so it is nice to see, I agree with you. Thank you so much Joanne. 😀

      November 16, 2014
  24. poppytump #

    All highly polished and so formal ! Many of our institutions and departments of course are in faceless buildings which will be forgotten in a flash ,I guess there are many youngsters who’ve never stepped into a bank nowadays .Who wouldn’t like to see history like this preserved – lots of enthusiastic volunteers involved too I’ll bet .Wonderful .
    Love that water tower Leanne .. you must have been smiling behind the lens there seeing that perfect sky 🙂

    November 16, 2014
    • It is Poppytump, it is in pristine order. I agree, that is what is happening here as well.
      I think so to, I love that it is being preserved.
      Thank you so much Poppytump, and you are so right, I was so happy to see that sky through the lens, made me feel so good for getting up so early. 😀

      November 16, 2014
  25. Jen #

    Very cool, Leanne—I have enjoyed this tour! Wonderful photos; I appreciate the light AND the shadows. This makes me feel as if I can step right into your photo and look around. 🙂 All of the details, such as that fabulous old phone, are nice to see too. It gives us a closer look at the way life was.

    And you know how I feel about architectural “progress”, so we needn’t discuss that at all. 😉

    Really nice!

    November 17, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear Jen. What a great thing to say, thank you.
      No we don’t need to discuss, I hear you.
      Thank you so much Jen. 😀

      November 17, 2014

Comments are closed.

