Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Patchewollock

patchewollock-train-buildings-goods-184

The other day I showed you a photo of the Mallee Fowl sculptures in Patchewollock and quite a few of you said that you would like to see more photos of them, and I said I would on the weekend, so here we are it is the weekend and I have more photos of them, plus of Patchewollock.

patchewollock-mallee-fowls-178

I just love these, they are so big, and so well made.  Of course they are not the same size as the real ones, but they are, apparently quite large birds, so even though these are oversized, they give you the impression the birds are big.

patchewollock-train-buildings-goods-184

This is an old goods shed that is next to the train line, or near where the train line used to be.  If you dig down you can find the tracks, but they really aren’t used now, obviously.  The shed is quite old and apparently they are going to be restoring it, so it was nice to get some photos of that before it happened.  I don’t know when the restoration will happen, but it was nice to get some before shots.

patchewollock-hotel-pub-192

The local pub is a great art deco pub, not at all what you would expect in a country town like Patche, a lovely surprise.  Not so sure about the seat in front of it, but still, the pub is a great building.

LC3_3843 as Smart Object-1

This is a fairly typical scene in most country towns, they are big spaces, and the silos are often the most dominant thing in the town.  The building on the right is the local shop.

patchewollock-patchwork-mural-hall-194

I was taken into the local hall to see the patchwork mural that was made locally and put up on display in the hall.  Great quilt.

After a few of you said you liked seeing where I was or had been with the map I have worked out how to embed a map into a post, so I  hope you can work out where Patchewollock is on the map.

I am going to put up a gallery for you now of more photos, I  hope you enjoy a quick look around Patchewollock.

71 Comments
  1. What a fabulous place! Thanks for the map!

    November 16, 2014
    • It is Olga, and I’m glad to hear the map was helpful.

      November 16, 2014
  2. wonderful!!

    November 16, 2014
  3. i really love you sculpture photos!

    November 16, 2014
    • Thank you, that is wonderful.

      November 16, 2014
  4. I looked where it is too, that is quite a drive. Fantastic photography though. Love these 🙂

    November 16, 2014
    • It is a drive from Melbourne, but luckily for me only 45 mins because I was staying with my mum and we went for a drive. Thank you Lisa. 😀

      November 16, 2014
  5. I love these sculpture shots (and all your photos!)

    November 16, 2014
    • Thank you Elaine, the sculptures are quite amazing, so glad you like them.

      November 16, 2014
  6. Christine wilson #

    Very impressive sculptures they look awesome in your shots

    November 16, 2014
    • Thank you Christine, I think I’m getting better at using my ultra wide angle lens.

      November 16, 2014
  7. Love these.

    November 16, 2014
    • Thank you Maxine, that’s wonderful.

      November 16, 2014
  8. Wonderful ! …especially the General Store …wish I could enter that door ! …but I will enjoy imagining it ! Xx

    November 16, 2014
    • That is wonderful, it is a great place to visit. Thank you.

      November 16, 2014
  9. Great pictures. Thanks for the map! It really helps!

    November 16, 2014
    • Thank you, that is wonderful. glad it helped.

      November 16, 2014
  10. Lovely photos. Enjoyed the bird subjects. The weather is lovely, and the sky such a deep, clear blue. Clouds are high and “flutterly.” I really enjoyed your catching the whole “feel” of the area.

    November 16, 2014
    • thank you, that is wonderful, the birds are so good to photograph and the sky was fantastic. Thanks again, glad you enjoyed it.

      November 16, 2014
  11. So great having a look around – such a funny name for a town.
    Love those birds and the old buildings 🙂
    Wonderful post Leanne!

    November 16, 2014
    • It is a funny name Robyn, I think the name is from some Aboriginal words.
      The birds are so cool, thank you so much Robyn. 😀

      November 16, 2014
  12. I absolutely love the bird sculptures!! Happy weekend my friend, Hugz Lisa and Bear

    November 16, 2014
    • I love those sculptures as well, thank you so much Lisa, hope you’ve had a good weekend too.

      November 16, 2014
  13. they are marvelously creative pieces!! Love the old shed!!

    November 16, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, what a wonderful thing to say.

      November 16, 2014
  14. As an art lover, I can appreciate these sculptures. Great Photos !!!!

    November 16, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear, thank you.

      November 16, 2014
  15. great photos, your wide angle shots are very effective. well done.

    November 16, 2014
    • thank you Janice, I think I am falling in love with that lens again.

      November 16, 2014
  16. I love the bird!

    November 16, 2014
    • It is a great bird to love Gypsy.

      November 16, 2014
  17. Dangerbird!

    November 16, 2014
  18. You go to such interesting places! Is the sky really that blue? Makes English skies seem very pale.

    November 16, 2014
    • They are fairly blue, but the colour does get a little saturated, we do have very blue skies though and big skies. I am lucky with where my mum is that she is surrounded by some fantastic places. Thank you.

      November 17, 2014
  19. The bird sculpture photos are very interesting, you were lucky with the sky again 😉 It feels like time has stopped in this little place.

    November 17, 2014
    • Yes, very lucky with that sky again, it is something I might have to start checking out. I don’t know that time has stopped, but it does seem to have slowed down. 😀 Thanks Andrea.

      November 17, 2014
  20. Very cool images. And a great idea to embed the map right in the post. Thanks!

    November 17, 2014
    • Thank you Robin, I just learned how to do that, I hope it helps people work out where I have been, I will try and do more.

      November 17, 2014
  21. Ever been on the enchanted highway in N. Dakota? There are Pheasant, deer, a man fishing, and more! Highway 18.

    November 17, 2014
    • I’ve never been to the states, hoping to next year.

      November 17, 2014
  22. stoked on your photos! These are awesome!

    November 17, 2014
  23. gaiainaction #

    Always enjoy your Weekend wanderings.

    November 17, 2014
    • I do like to hear that, thank you.

      November 17, 2014
  24. Great photos. Love the idea of the quilt. 😀

    November 17, 2014
    • Thanks Raewyn, the quilt is quite amazing. 😀

      November 17, 2014
  25. These are lovely photos….I’m especially in love with that giant bird…..such big drama 🙂

    November 17, 2014
    • I can understand the love for the large bird, I love them too, they are so amazing, they look great where they are too. Thank you Seonaid.

      November 17, 2014
  26. I really love these Leanne! They really belong in that landscape too 🙂

    November 17, 2014
    • They do Sarah, they look fantaastic there, thank you. 😀

      November 17, 2014
  27. nice pix … what wide angle lens do you use?

    November 17, 2014
    • Thank you, I use the Nikon 14-24mm wide angle lens.

      November 17, 2014
  28. What an interesting place to take pictures! 🙂 I enjoy the sheds too. I ran into a lady about a month ago who called herself a documentarian. That is basically what you did with the shed. You documented it before it changed. Too bad more people don’t do that. We don’t think of ourselves as the recorders of history.

    November 17, 2014
    • Thanks Marsha, it is amazing. I am glad you enjoyed the photos, I loved the sheds too, I love old ones like that and you are so right about documenting them as well, someone else was telling me the same thing recently, that you should document what is around now for the future. I agree we don’t think of ourselves that way.

      November 17, 2014
      • But you are really already doing it, just not considering that is what you are doing, and not marketing yourself for that.

        November 18, 2014
      • I guess that is true, though I still only photography stuff that I want to photograph. I should start marketing myself that way.

        November 18, 2014
      • There you go! You have several available markets, and then you follow the one you enjoy the most and that gets the most calls. 🙂

        November 19, 2014
      • I think the area I want to work is teaching, I like doing that, I love just going out with people and taking photos, and helping them learn. So I am working on that, but it is taking time. 😀

        November 19, 2014
      • I think that is really you, too. You draw people in and teach them on your website like no one else! You have kind of a down home feel about you that makes everyone comfortable. That and you are always learning and experimenting with something yourself, and sharing that! I love that! Do you teach out of a college or community college. My dad did that for several years. He also tried writing some photography manuals and selling them mail order. I don’t know how he ever did with his books, but his classes went well. He was even interviewed on TV one time. 🙂

        November 19, 2014
      • What a fantastic thing to say Marsha, I hope it is true, I would hope that my love of photography is infectious, though meeting me in person might be different. Who knows. I don’t teach anywhere like that, I would like to do more things myself, then I have more control over it. I have thought about writing books, but there are so many out there, though I would like to do books on particular areas, especially ones that are important environmentally. How cool that your dad was interviewed on the tv.

        November 19, 2014
      • I was proud of him. I think teaching is a great idea, and whatever you need to do to be qualified to do that at a university level, or even high school would be an excellent investment of your time.

        November 20, 2014
      • It is something that is very hard to get into here, there are courses you can do to teach, but they cost quite a bit and then there is almost no job at the end. I want to run them myself, just short courses, then I have more control over what is happening. Well I hope I do.

        November 20, 2014
  29. Amazing!

    November 18, 2014
  30. Excellent collection of pictures – and the bird is just incredible!

    November 20, 2014
    • Thank you, I love those birds.

      November 20, 2014
  31. Beautiful photos of a beautiful place. Your pictures make me want to visit Australia!

    November 25, 2014
    • You will have to come then John, it is quite an amazing place. thank you.

      November 25, 2014

Comments are closed.

