Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs More About Snapping

australia-murray-sunset-nationalpark-pinklakes-203

I thought today for Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs More about snapping for the title could mean that really this post is going to be mainly about Social Snappers.  I have to get things ready for Christmas and also next year.

Social Snappers Photography Excursion

One of the biggest things I’ve been trying to do is organise dates and places to go for Social Snappers.  I have a couple of people who have been to many of them and so I find out what they would be interested in as well.

Sunday Excursions

australia-murray-sunset-nationalpark-pinklakes-1971st of February – Bourke Street, one end to the other

15th of February – Hanging Rock

1st of March – Healesville Sanctuary

15th of March – Cape Schanck

29th of March – Fitzroy Gardens

For Thursday’s Excursions

29th of January – Melbourne Zoo

australia-murray-sunset-nationalpark-pinklakes-20712th of February – Sorrento

26th of February – St Kilda

12th of March – Swantston Street, one end to the other

26th of March – Kyneton

Now that the dates and places have been sorted I need to get things ready on the website for Social Snappers and I also want to get some gift vouchers made up so people can buy vouchers for Christmas.  I will do the same with my One on One Photography Lessons, the perfect Christmas present for someone who wants to learn photography.

Tamron 90mm Macro Lens

australia-murray-sunset-nationalpark-pinklakes-202The lens is being returned this week to Maxwell International Australia and I have to say I am very sad to see it go.  I have loved having it and loved using it.  Though I will be getting a new macro lens myself in a couple of weeks, when my money for the grant comes through.  I am looking forward to trying out more Tamron lenses in the future, thank you to Maxwell International Australia for giving me this opportunity.

Welcome to New York

Another thing I have been busy doing is tying down my dates for New York.  It is going to come around fast.  Looks like I will be around San Francisco for about 10 days, then Pennsylvania for 3 days, and onto New York.  I will get to meet a few bloggers I hope.  It is going to be so exciting.  Looks like it is all set for around mid April to early May, so I will be away for around 3 weeks.

In New York we thought we might plan a day where anyone who knows me through the blog can come, meet me and we could have a photo walk, or just go out and take photos together.  So if you live around New York, keep tuned, we will let you know when we have a day organised.

australia-murray-sunset-nationalpark-pinklakes-198I called this welcome to New York because my daughter is obsessed with Taylor Swift, and when I asked her what present she wanted from New York, she told me that she wanted me to bring Taylor Swift home.

Robyn’s One Four Challenge

I’ve done another image for Robyn’s Challenge and you can see it on my post, One Four Challenge November Week 3 and if you want to see more posts from others doing it as well, check out the pingbacks and Robyn’s photo in her post, ONE FOUR CHALLENGE – NOV WK 3.

That is about it this week.  I am incredibly busy, but it seems not doing a lot.  I am making lots of plans for classes and such next year too, so I better get back to it,  The photos in this post are from my recent trip to the Pink Lakes in the Murray Sunset National Park.  We went there the same day we went to Patchewollock, so it was getting late in the day for taking photos, but I like the fact that the sun is beating down, really that is exactly how it is there.  The lakes have dried up so the lakes aren’t really pink anymore, but you can see some pink.

 

56 Comments
  1. we are 1200 miles from New York, so i probably won’t be seeing you, but it sure would be fun to do a photo walk with you in that city! I’ve only been there once, but i loved it, as well as San Fran

    November 18, 2014
    • That’s a shame that you are so far away, but I understand, maybe another time. I can’t wait to see it.

      November 18, 2014
  2. Great photos. Looks like exciting times ahead for you. 😀

    November 18, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, I hope so. 😀

      November 18, 2014
  3. Wow I think your next year will be the best yet. What a wonderful idea to catch up with other photographers in New York, that will be a fantastic day! 🙂

    November 18, 2014
    • Oh yes, I hope so, and we will meet too. I hope so, I hope some people will want to meet me, haha. 😀

      November 18, 2014
      • They surely will 🙂

        November 18, 2014
      • Haha, we will see, 😉

        November 18, 2014
  4. I hope you have a great trip in the States, Leanne. I would love to meet you if you were coming to Las Vegas, but that’s a long drive from Frisco. 😄

    November 18, 2014
    • Thank you John, would be great to meet, one day maybe, I might get there again, would love to photo Las Vegas at night.

      November 18, 2014
      • The Strip at night is an amazing light show, you would love it. 😎

        November 18, 2014
      • I think I would too John, it must come up so well in photos.

        November 18, 2014
  5. Good luck with your plans and trip for next year Leanne. You are a busy girl.. a good busy 😊
    Such beautiful images Leanne – love them all. Always enjoy your landscapes and the Pink Lakes photographs.
    Have fun with your new macro lens.. I know you will and many thanks for the link to the challenge.
    Have a fantastic day 😊

    November 18, 2014
    • Thanks Robyn, I hope it is a good year, it would nice to get things off the ground.
      Thanks, the pink lakes are great.
      I can’t wait to get the new macro, still have a couple of weeks to wait, but it should be good.
      YOu have a great day too.

      November 18, 2014
  6. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    That is a beautiful blue as a background for the trees and landscape.

    November 18, 2014
    • The sky came out so well, so beautiful. Thanks Jackie.

      November 18, 2014
  7. I live in Texas, not New York. There is a Taylor Swift concert in New York on Dec., 12th. Her tour schedule can be found: http://www.taylorswift.com/events. Now is in November. The radio has already started to market her tour here in October 2015.

    November 18, 2014
    • I’m impressed, you know when her concert will be, though long over by the time I get there Meay. My daughter loves her concerts.

      November 18, 2014
  8. You’re not doing a lot, you say???? What’s it like when you’re busy! lol

    November 18, 2014
    • Haha, well, I am right now, but it will go quiet soon.

      November 18, 2014
  9. Hey Leanne, I have bookmarked this post if I’m in Melb over any of the Social Snappers dates I would love to join you. Gosh, the NY trip is coming round quickly isn’t it? You must be super excited! 🙂

    November 18, 2014
    • It would be wonderful if you could come on one Julie. Though you might be better booking marking the Social Snappers site, as that is kept up to date.
      It will come around so fast, and now we are actually planning instead of just talking, so even better. I am really excited.

      November 18, 2014
  10. Hey Leanne, I tried to leave my comment on Robyn’s challenge … I couldn’t for some reason. Love the image process by the way. Oh I wish I had the confidence to do this 🙂

    November 18, 2014
    • I got it Julie, the blog over there is quite strange and I don’t know what the problem is, but I have got it and I have responded, thanks Julie.

      November 18, 2014
  11. Lovely shots – such drama in that landscape.

    November 18, 2014
    • It is a very dramatic place to take photo Maxine, thank you.

      November 18, 2014
  12. poppytump #

    … hardly feels or reads like bits and bobs Leanne 😉
    Glad that lens will be with you soon , how great to have had the loan of the Tamron one though as you’ve said . Phew .. it does look hot in your pictures .. it feels like the sun has bleached the pinkness out of the lakes
    Lots of fun to be had planning this trip to the States !

    November 18, 2014
    • I can’t wait to get the lens Poppytump, it will be great when I get it. It was a warm day and it was taken in the middle of the day, so I was hoping it would look hot.
      I am really looking forward to the trip, hopefully there will be one coming your way in the not too distant future.
      Take care Poppytump. 😀

      November 18, 2014
  13. Taylor is doing Dick Clark’s Rocking New Year’s Eve so you can bring your daughter a TV? It looks like Tokyo is currently the closest she will be to you on the tour…
    I will follow your plans as they develop. NYC in mid spring can be beautiful (or wet). Either way, it sounds fun.

    November 18, 2014
    • We won’t see that here, they don’t show things like that. I am sure she will include Australia, she usually does, but often doesn’t announce it until much later.
      I think NY is going to be fantastic, and I don’t think I will mind, as long it doesn’t rain all the time. Thanks Robert.

      November 19, 2014
  14. I love the area around Hanging Rock. It’s so pretty there and very scenic. I can imagine you will all have wonderful photos after spending some time there.

    November 18, 2014
    • Did you notice the date for the trip Carol, the day after Valentines day, maybe we will find some lost people. I have only been there once, driven past it many times, but I am looking forward to going back. Should be wonderful.

      November 19, 2014
      • Now that is a bit creepy. I have climbed to the top and I must admit my imagination got the better of me. It’s easy to believe that someone could get lost up there. I love that movie.

        November 19, 2014
      • I wonder if I should put the music onto my ipod and listen to it as I walk around, now that would be creepy too. It is so disappointing that the story wasn’t real, if you know what I mean. Will be great to go there though and take photos, I’m looking forward.

        November 19, 2014
      • You might creep yourself out too much with the music going. All you need is for someone to start calling out, “Miranda!” and you’ll be running down the hill.

        November 19, 2014
      • LOL, yep that would be me. I would love to get some girls up there in white dresses to take some photos one day. That would be great.

        November 19, 2014
      • That would be very cool. I love the idea of recreating the movie…what fun.

        November 19, 2014
      • So do I, I just need to find some girls with white dresses.

        November 19, 2014
  15. I am in awe of your Social Snappers group and your planned excursions! I have been looking for something similar here in Paris and have not found one yet. New York my old home town and San Francisco one of my favorite cities – how wonderful! Looks like 2015 is going to be lots of fun for yourself!

    November 19, 2014
    • Thank you Debby, I think it is a great idea, will be good if it really takes off. I agree, it is great thing to do and it is something I love doing. I hope so, a busy and productive year.

      November 19, 2014
  16. Beautiful Leanne – by the way I visited your other website to see the One four challenge but it wouldn’t post a comment from me. I love your train station. The vintage is my favourite but I must sometime try the reverse image you mentioned.

    November 19, 2014
    • Yeah, the comments over there work very strangely, it seems. I got them, but deleted two of them. It looks like you have posted anything, but you have, I don’t know why it is like that. I responded to your comment over there.
      Thank you Cybele.

      November 19, 2014
  17. Thank you for sharing! Your photos are stunning! I take all my blog photos off my iPhone at the moment, but can’t wait till I can invest in a decent camera as I would love to learn more about photography! Looks like your blog will be one I need to continue to follow when I get my camera 😉

    November 20, 2014
    • Thank you, and you’re welcome. The cameras in phone these days can be pretty good. I just got a Samsung Note 4 and I love the camera in it, and I love how the screen shows my images as well. If you love photography it isn’t a bad idea to get a great camera, something you can have more control over. I hope so, I like to be fairly open about my thought processes and what I’m trying to achieve. Good luck with your photography.

      November 21, 2014
      • Thanks so much for the info! Loving your blog. Take care 🙂

        November 21, 2014
      • Always good to hear, thank you. 😀

        November 21, 2014
  18. I can’t wait to see what pictures you take of New York and California!

    December 18, 2014
    • I can’t wait either, it is going to be amazing, I hope I get some good shots.

      December 18, 2014
      • Give me a break! I’ve been on a shoot with you. You don’t even have to hold the camera up to your eye to take a great shot!!!!

        December 19, 2014
      • Haha, don’t say that you will give me a big head. LOL

        December 19, 2014
      • You Aussies are so modest!

        December 19, 2014
      • Oh I don’t know about that. Many of us were brought up that way, not to brag, not to seem to be full of yourself, I was.

        December 19, 2014
      • Love you the way you are! (((hugs)))

        December 19, 2014
      • ❤ ❤ ❤

        December 19, 2014

Comments are closed.

