Skip to content

Quiet Thursday’s – AB Fridays

docklands-channel9-building-southerncross-after

For today’s post I thought I might highlight another challenge that has been going on, some of you know about it, others not, but the challenge is being held over on Stacy’s blog, Visual Venturing.  The challenge is called After-Before Friday, the idea being you show a before image and then the after.  The results can be great.  You put the images on your blog, and send them to Stacy where she puts them up in a post on Fridays. I’ve done it a few times, but over on my other blog.  I thought it would be nice to show some support and do it here this time.

docklands-channel9-building-southerncross-before

This is my before photo, it is one I took last Sunday at the Docklands.  I see this building all the time when I catch the train, and I’ve tried photographing it before, with mixed results.  I love how it sits, the layers of the floors and the vertical lines in the glass.  It is an interesting building.  So I wanted to take some images of it, especially with the crane reflected in the glass, there is always new things going up around Melbourne.

I never have any idea what I will do to an image until I start playing with it. So I started playing and a couple of hours later I had this.

docklands-channel9-building-southerncross-after

I put in a new sky and gave it some blur.  I tried to bring out the glass in the building.  I darkened parts and lit some up more. I saturated some parts, and desaturated others.  I tried to bring the focus to where I wanted it to be.  I hope you can see the difference, according to my daughter there isn’t much difference.  I like the change, I like how the building comes out.

If you are interested in being involved in Stacy’s challenge, then check out the After-Before Friday Forum where you can find a list of other weeks, and more importantly you can find out how to participate and what you need to do.  I hope you will read them better than me, sorry Stacy, I should have read it more closely.

The next AB Friday is tomorrow, well it is Friday here, and if you want to see what is happening you can go to Stacy’s blog, Visual Venturing.  For now the link is just to her blog, but as soon as I know it is published on Friday I will change the link. Here is the link to the actual page, After-Before Friday Week 27

Thanks Stacy for another great challenge.

 

63 Comments
  1. I like the after photo. It looks like a storm coming or a picture from a science fiction movie!

    November 20, 2014
    • Thank you Maria, the storm was over by that stage, but I like that.

      November 20, 2014
  2. Much more dramatic Leanne, I like it.. Thanks for showing us… Perhaps one day you can show how you change the sky, I vaguely remember doing it once in Photoshop but couldn’t remember how 😀

    November 20, 2014
  3. Looks great Leanne! Always nice to have sky photos working on our hard drives. 🙂

    November 20, 2014
    • Thanks Laura, it is nice, I need to collect more though, I seem to be using the same ones over. 😀

      November 20, 2014
      • I have the same issue.I have my favorites.you’re welcome. 🙂

        November 20, 2014
      • I need new favourite ones.

        November 20, 2014
      • lol change is good 🙂

        November 21, 2014
      • Apparently,

        November 21, 2014
      • 😀

        November 21, 2014
  4. yes the second emphasizes the shadows and the brooding sky!!

    November 20, 2014
    • That’s great Cybele, thank you.

      November 20, 2014
  5. Fantastic building! And you Leanne prove once again that you know how to edit a photo! Bravo!

    November 20, 2014
    • thank you Fabio, I do love doing it, so that is good to hear.

      November 20, 2014
  6. It often amazes me when I look at structures such as this. I guess I’m too much of a traditionalist to appreciate something like this. I’m okay with the pyramid building in San Francisco, California; the Space Needle in Seattle, Washington; some of the oddly shaped buildings in Dallas, Texas, and other places; but this one taxes my sensibility. LOL Or is it my senility? 🙂

    November 20, 2014
    • Oh I like this one Cris, I like that it isn’t just a glass box, which so many new buildings are these days, I like that they have tried to be different, and I think it is interesting. Sorry you don’t like it.

      November 20, 2014
      • You don’t need to be sorry I don’t care for it. We’re all different. We all have different likes and dislikes. You don’t have to like what I like and I don’t have to like what you like. God made us all different so that we hopefully don’t become bored with one another. 🙂 The photograph is fine.

        December 2, 2014
      • Couldn’t agree more Cris, we are all different. 😀

        December 2, 2014
      • 🙂

        December 2, 2014
  7. Very catchy and effective processing, just loved the way you have done it, Leanne 🙂

    November 20, 2014
    • Thank you Sreejith, I am happy to hear that. 😀

      November 20, 2014
  8. I love your after photo! Very nice building! Very pleasing architecture. Hugz Lisa and Bear

    November 20, 2014
    • Thank you Lisa, so glad to hear you like the architecture too, I love this building, I don’t like many modern buildings, but I like the way this one has been put together.

      November 20, 2014
  9. poppytump #

    Subtle but important differences in the process Leanne . Really effective ….
    .. not least is the fact I now see some sort of huge mechanical Rudolph in the window …
    I must look into this sky replacement and take a look at your link 🙂 far too many blown outs languishing and needing to be rescued in my files .

    November 20, 2014
    • Thank you Poppytump, I am glad you think they are effective.
      the sky replacement is a good thing to learn to do, can make lots of images so much better. I hate blown out skies. 😀

      November 20, 2014
  10. Pat #

    Nice work on the sky and on the reflections !! a dynamic contrast – Beautiful day

    November 20, 2014
  11. This is a great way to show how an image is treated by a photographer – most good shots require some bit of work and it is good to illustrate this to viewers. I’ll check her site out.

    November 20, 2014
    • I think so too Robert, I used to show the before shots a lot, but I got so sick of people telling me they prefered the original, though it was usually people who hated anything being done on an image. There are lots of great things over there.

      November 21, 2014
  12. It’s a huge difference and a great difference too! The after photo is awesome and dramatic, while the before photo is a bit too bland.

    November 21, 2014
    • Thanks Cardinal, I think the same I think, I like that we can make a bland image a bit more dramatic.

      November 21, 2014
  13. Alex Roan #

    Hi Leanne,

    I saw a similar building in Japan. I had the same problem, while the building had an interesting shape, shooting upwards it left an issues of a fairly plan sky in the background.

    I don’t normally do a lot of editing other than just basic developing, but I like what you have done here and I think it’s a great solution to adding interest and bringing out more drama but without stealing too much focus from the original subject.

    Will definitely be giving something similar a go.

    Alex
    http://www.alexroan.com

    November 21, 2014
    • It is terrible when you find a great building, but the sky lets it down so much. I love being able to still get my photo, but then change the sky, it is great. I do do lots of editing, it is just as important to me as the image. My goal is always to let the building shine. Thanks Alex.

      November 21, 2014
  14. I like the one you edited. That cool stormy sky is perfect on the glass building.

    November 21, 2014
    • Thank you Mary, I thought it fitted the mood too, it was overcast, and it had been raining, just couldn’t really see that in the sky.

      November 21, 2014
  15. It’s a great challenge. Thank you for sharing.

    November 21, 2014
  16. great results! I love the sky as well. I am think i might have to consider doing that to a few of mine!

    November 21, 2014
    • Thanks Janice, I do it all the time, whenever I am out and there are great skies, then I photograph them for my skies folder. I don’t just do moody though, I do bright and cheerful too, and other types, good to have all sorts.

      November 21, 2014
  17. Great work. It looks so much more dramatic. 😀

    November 21, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, glad you think so. 😀

      November 21, 2014
  18. Thanks for sharing. I have seen the challenge before and I like the different views people come up with… I also like the after photo, more contrast and punch. The sky definitely helps. Some day I will do that to one of my images.

    November 21, 2014
    • It is quite interesting to see how each person approaches images. Thank you, glad you felt the second was better. It is a good thing to do, of course you have to have lots of sky images, you might have to start collecting them. I do.

      November 21, 2014
  19. I like the transformation, Leanne. Great post!

    November 21, 2014
  20. What a great building….and the reflection of the crane really makes the shot.

    November 21, 2014
    • That’s great to hear Mark, thank you, I love that building, glad I finally got an image of it.

      November 21, 2014
  21. Great Before and After, Leanne. And thanks for the shout out to Stacy’s After Before Friday Forum. It’s still a small group but it’s growing and hopefully others will join the party. I know Australia time makes it tough, but it would be great to see you as one of the regular participants.

    November 21, 2014
    • I hope I got some more attention for it, when I did Robyn’s challenge here, I realised that while I had participated in Stacy’s a couple of times, I’d never said anything here, I will do so again, not sure when though. I will try and do it more often. I will do it on my other blog, but try and mention when I do in my Tuesday posts. We should do an up for discussion post on challenges and how they can be.
      Thank you Robin, glad you liked what I did.

      November 21, 2014
  22. Hi, Leanne! Thanks so much for the shout out. With your incredibly crazy, hectic schedule, I really appreciate you taking the time not only to bring attention to ABFriday but to participate in it as well!

    As for your photo, I absolutely love what you did with the sky. (Your video on how to do the replacement is still sitting in my “to be watched” queue – I really MUST take a look at it.) And the depth of detail and highlighting in the building matches the drama you’ve created in the clouds. From the before to the after is an amazing transformation, which is what makes seeing the original so much fun 🙂

    Again, many thanks!

    November 21, 2014
    • No thanks needed, I like the challenge so I am happy to help you out.

      Thank you so much for what you said about my image. You will get around to it when you are ready to do it, that is what I am like too.

      You are so welcome Stacy, I hope you get more people participating. 😀
      ps did the deleting. Will add the link when your post is published.

      November 21, 2014
  23. A big improvement, I like it.

    November 21, 2014
    • That’s great, thanks Gypsy.

      November 21, 2014
  24. Amazing edit, I like how you manage to make your images dark, without losing any details and adding so much character.

    November 24, 2014
    • Thank you, it is all done in layers, lots and lots of layers.

      November 25, 2014
  25. This is really good, I like the after image. The patch of blue sky in the reflection popped more in the after image. Plus I’m heading over to the link to find out how to replace a sky. I’ve been dying to know that!

    December 18, 2014
    • Hahaha, it seems to be a common thing that people want to know, it is fairly easy, it can just be fiddly. Thanks Nia, I’m glad you like it.

      December 18, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. After-Before Friday Week 27 | Visual Venturing

Comments are closed.

