Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Snaps Around the Docklands

australia-melbourne-docklands-128

Last Sunday I had to go into the city for another Social Snappers excursion.  There are so many aspects of these that I love, one is that a trip is organised and I know I will be able to get some photos.  The other thing, which really stood out for me last week, was that I can get ideas from watching the others.  We can all feed off each other.  I’m sure if I had gone there alone many of these images wouldn’t have happened.

australia-melbourne-docklands-101

 

It is good to take photos of an area, and just photograph what’s happening and what you see.  I love Melbourne trams and I love the old ones that they are running for the City Circle.  Trams are a big part of who Melbourne is, and the extensive public transport system for trams is amazing.

australia-melbourne-docklands-108

The night before and that morning it had been raining, but by the time we got to the city all the rain was gone.  The sky was still overcast and there were still puddles on the footpaths with reflections.  I love reflections in puddles.

australia-melbourne-docklands-113

We found a heap of statues, they are great, but this one, well, we thought it was Kylie Minogue, but it isn’t very flattering and I think if I was Miss Kylie I wouldn’t be too happy with it.

australia-melbourne-docklands-118

I love photographing the Melbourne Star.  I’ve never noticed these letters on the poles before.  One of the ladies in the group pointed them out so we went over to take a look.  I had the wide angle lens on and when I stood right in front so you could see all the letters, but then the actual wheel looked straight up and down, not good.  I used the wide angle to do it slightly from the side. I think this worked much better.  It is one of the things that I teach my students all the time, walk around and try things from different sides.

australia-melbourne-docklands-124

There was also a little amusement park there that had up their decorations for Christmas already and I took this shot and thought it would be a good one to demonstate the Christmas theme for Monochrome Madness, well what we could do for it, or you.

The sun came out a couple of times, but the light was really nice, especially when it was raining all morning and I thought the weather was going to be dark and horrible.  It was great walking around just taking photos and seeing what we could see.  I have a gallery for you now of more images and things you can see when you wander around the Docklands.  I hope you have all been doing your own Weekend Wandering.

87 Comments
  1. Love the upside down buildings reflected in the water. Great perspective on these and the Melbourne Star!

    November 23, 2014
    • Thank you Chris, I like reflections in wet pavements and puddles.

      November 23, 2014
  2. estaz #

    Reblogged this on estaz's Blog.

    November 23, 2014
  3. I do love Kylie’s red shoes, though! What a great photo.

    November 23, 2014
    • They certainly stand out Lois, thank you.

      November 23, 2014
  4. Reflections are striking and engaging…great city to shoot.

    November 23, 2014
    • It is a great city to take photos of, I never tire of it and I am always finding things to photograph. thanks Sally.

      November 23, 2014
  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I like in some of those how it is the reflection and not the actual image that is the focus. 🙂

    November 23, 2014
    • I agree Jackie, it is nice to get good reflections, thank you, 😀

      November 23, 2014
  6. Leanne just lovely, you have wrapped Docklands up in a pretty package of energy and fun and each one just tells a story of the place.

    I love the idea of Christmas in black and white and a colour….. scared, but like it a lot 😀 lol

    November 23, 2014
    • Thank you Kaz, I like that, it was a great afternoon to explore and take photos.
      Glad you like the idea, but why scared? 😀

      November 23, 2014
      • scared because I might not come up with anything but I’m up for the challenge! 🙂

        November 23, 2014
      • I’m sure you will, when you see all the Christmas things around, you will see monochrome images everywhere and bits of colour I’m sure. 😀

        November 23, 2014
      • Ill keep my eyes open 😀

        November 23, 2014
      • Me too, 😀

        November 23, 2014
  7. Wow! I just love Melb, and used to live just around the corner from Docklands. Your photos are amazing Leanne! What a place ..:)

    November 23, 2014
    • How much has it changed since you lived there Julie? Thank you so much.

      November 23, 2014
  8. I love the puddle reflection photos in particular.

    November 23, 2014
    • That’s great Papict, thank you.

      November 23, 2014
  9. I love the buildings reflected on the puddle of water and it is so beautiful. The sculptures look amazing but love the dock with reflections on the water… Wish you guys have a wonderful times wandering around the city.

    November 23, 2014
    • I love those docks too, it was a great afternoon, there is so much down there to take photos of, great place for photography. We certainly did have a good time, I can’t wait to do it again.

      November 23, 2014
  10. Christine wilson #

    Great shots of the Docklands 🙂

    November 23, 2014
  11. wonderful reflections and I love the ferris wheel ones!!

    November 23, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, I love those ferris wheel ones, I took so many.

      November 23, 2014
  12. Amazing snaps, great colors, great job… Well done!

    November 23, 2014
  13. Great shots Leanne. Did you ‘post’ that cloud in over Kylie? Looks fantastic

    November 23, 2014
    • Thank you Rob, no, I didn’t do anything to the background. All the images were processed in Lightroom, and just minimal processing really.

      November 23, 2014
  14. Great images. I love the use of selective color. I’m looking forward to that challenge!

    November 23, 2014
    • Thank you, I have been surprised at how many people would like to do it, I am so glad, should be interesting.

      November 23, 2014
  15. Hi Leanne, great shots, some look a little familiar :-), it was a great day out again thank you. The shots in the amusement park are great! look vibrant with lots of pops of color in the montage!

    November 23, 2014
    • Oh I can’t imagine why Julie, LOL, so glad to hear you enjoyed the day, I love going out and taking photos like that. I hope you will join us again. I liked the Amusement for photos, they are always full of lots of colour. Thanks Julie, your photos turned out well too.

      November 23, 2014
  16. Nice collection. I really like the reflections. I’m curious about the pilings in the water, do you know what they’re there for? I thought at first they were to dock small boats, but when I looked closer, it seems that they’re all blocked so it doesn’t look like they can be used for that. Do you know the story on them? Like I said, I’m just curious.

    November 23, 2014
    • I think they were covered over and were part of the dock, and they have take the top part off and just left the stumps, I think it is like art, or to give the area something attractive, they are quite eye catching. I don’t really know anything about them, except that they are new, well have been done recently. Thank you Jill.

      November 23, 2014
  17. These pics are beautiful! I can’t pick my favorite!

    November 23, 2014
    • I like that, wonderful, thank you.

      November 23, 2014
  18. Leanne,

    Greetings form the other side of the globe!
    37* 39′ 20″N 77* 51′ 59″W
    Fantastic Images! Cogent insight!

    I find it quite true about the social aspect and the impact on creative endeavors! I have found that reading other people’s writing stimulates and nurtures my own. I have found this to be true in my photography and my sculpting as well. In fact, now that I cast my mind to it, the company of other clinicians and observation of their technique enhances my own. Perhaps this is true of all human pursuits. Maybe a strong case against Isolation!

    Thanks for the stimulation!

    Andy

    November 23, 2014
    • Hello back to the other side of the world.
      I can’t work out coordinates like that.
      We really are social beings and I think the fact that people if they have no social contact go insane is a good reminder that we need to be social. I love going out and taking photos with other people, I find it relaxing and very rewarding.
      Thanks Andy.

      November 23, 2014
  19. lensaddiction #

    So much colour Leanne! Colour and brightness 🙂 I really like that wide angle shot of the ferris wheel with the words on the poles, nice creative angle which really captures whats happening there.

    I see these posts and I have to restrain myself from immediately buying a ticket to Melbourne!

    November 23, 2014
    • Thank you Stacey. The wide can be so good for this type of photography, I need to play with it more.
      Well if you come you better say hello. 😀

      November 23, 2014
  20. I love seeing Melbourne through your eyes, I imagine you’re Phryne Fisher and have taken up photography! What an interesting city —

    November 23, 2014
    • Thank you, what a wonderful compliment. I love Melbourne and am so happy to hear that other people saying they like it too.

      November 23, 2014
  21. ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

    November 23, 2014
  22. Love the reflections too, lovely look at the docklands, BW with colour is also fantastic.

    November 23, 2014
    • That’s wonderful, the reflections have been very popular. Thank you.

      November 23, 2014
  23. Fine work! Particularly enjoyed the reflection in the car park puddle.

    November 23, 2014
    • Thank you so much, that is wonderful.

      November 23, 2014
      • That’s my favourite one too – but love the others as well, as always

        November 23, 2014
      • That’s great to hear, though I think the reflections have been very popular.

        November 24, 2014
  24. Loved the photo of puddle reflecting the city scape.

    November 23, 2014
  25. Jenny Trozell #

    The Kylie statue is awesome 🙂

    November 23, 2014
    • Fantastic Jenny, thanks. 😀

      November 24, 2014
  26. Nice photos! Some of these pictures look familiar! 🙂

    November 24, 2014
    • Thank you, I’ve only just taken these, so it must be the scenes in them. Very typical shots of Melbourne.

      November 24, 2014
  27. leftavg #

    Your talent Leanne is breath-taking 🙂

    November 24, 2014
    • What a fantastic thing to say, thank you so much. 😀

      November 24, 2014
      • leftavg #

        It’s the truth you have a talent and you should never leave it unexploited 🙂

        November 25, 2014
      • I will do my best to exploit it as much as I can, thank you again. 😀

        November 25, 2014
  28. Nice set of these places, I like reflections and desaturation pictures !! A fun side of the Day -Super Leanne

    November 24, 2014
    • That’s great to hear, it was a fun day, so I am glad it has come out in the photos. Thanks

      November 24, 2014
  29. Ohh…Very beautiful!))

    November 24, 2014
  30. Reblogged this on طبيب حر الى آخر العمر.

    November 24, 2014
  31. Reblogged this on JOURNAL LE COMMUN'ART.

    November 24, 2014
  32. Jen #

    Really neat shots, Leanne. I like the docklands photos especially—of what look like old dock posts, and the game with the clown faces (even though I do find clowns kind of creepy). You are right about moving around when shooting to get the right angle. It is amazing what a difference even just a step or three can make, isn’t it? That and moving up and down. A lot of people are not willing to get down onto the ground, or maybe they just don’t think of it. If I can do it in a skirt….! 😉

    November 24, 2014
    • I like those dock posts as well, they are new, well, I think the posts have been there for a while, but they have taken the dock part off the top. I used to love that clown thing when I was a kid, I never won anything, but I liked it. So true, it is best to try out different angles and such. I’ve been composing with the camera in my face, I have to be careful I don’t run into anything or fall off anything, but I like the results a lot better. I don’t like getting down on the ground, I will put the camera down, but I rarely go down, I find it easy to get down, but the old I get the harder it is to get back up. LOL. thanks Jen.

      November 24, 2014
      • Jen #

        It’s hard for me to get back up too, so if my husband is not with me to help me, I’ve trained Ben to come over and help drag my old self upright! Collies really are useful. 😉

        November 25, 2014
      • Maybe I need to get one of those too, I have the husband, but he doesn’t like coming out with me. I’m learning to take photos from the ground but just point the camera, it is a bit hit and miss, I will get right down if I absolutely have to, but I don’t do it much. 😉

        November 25, 2014
  33. Love the reflection shots in the puddles! You know, after looking at your blog for awhile, i think I need to add a new location to my bucket list!

    November 24, 2014
    • You would love it here Nato, the landscape can be the same as other places, but it can also be very different, melbourne also has some really amazing architecture, I never tire of photographing Melbourne. thank you.

      November 24, 2014
  34. These shots are fantastic. I never thought Docklands could look so good.

    November 24, 2014
    • Thank you Michelle, I think it photographs well, it is a great place for photos, there are never too many people around.

      November 24, 2014
  35. You’ve inspired me to go down there and look at it through different eyes.

    November 24, 2014
    • that’s great to hear Michelle, I’m sure you will get great photos too.

      November 24, 2014
  36. Lovely, Leanne. Beautiful reflections especially.

    November 25, 2014
    • Thank you Chris, the reflections are good, I would like to do more.

      November 25, 2014
  37. What fun shots, Leanne. I love the tram.

    November 25, 2014
    • Thanks Elen, I love our trams.

      November 25, 2014
  38. LB #

    What a day you had! The sculpture is great and those amusement park shots are wonderful!

    November 25, 2014
    • It was a good day Laurie, it is a great place to wander around, except when it is cold, the wind howls around down there. Thank you.

      November 25, 2014
  39. I do like wandering around that pat of Melbourne. I am really impressed with the variety and the awesome reflection shots you have. I especially like the puddle reflection. It shows a broken landscape, which I always enjoy. Nice collection.

    November 27, 2014
    • Thank you, it is a great part of town, well except on rainy day when the wind is howling around, LOL. The reflections came out really well, it is great sometimes, you just have all happen in front of you.

      November 27, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Docklands #2 | Photographic Jewells

Comments are closed.

