Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bit and Bobs

melbourne-banyule-flats-birds-112

Again, I’ve been busy, but not a lot has been happening.  Funny how some weeks can be like that.  I am trying to get things put into place for next year, but don’t have a lot to report at this time.

ONE FOUR CHALLENGE – NOV WK 4

There are lots of people doing their final image for Robyn’s One Four Challenge again.  It was the final week, and I found the hardest.  It seemed easy to come up with three things, but four, well it did take me a bit to work out what to do.  I played with things, deleted things, in the end I wasn’t so sure, but if you would like to see the image I came up with, and the others I have done as well, then you will need to go to this post, One Four Challenge November Week 4.

melbourne-banyule-flats-birds-102I just need to let people know too, that you can comment on it, and while it doesn’t look like anything happens when you do, it does.  I get all the comments, though I haven’t had time to approve and respond to them yet.  I don’t know why that blog is so weird to leave comments on.  I will have to get onto the developers and see what they can work out.

Don’t forget to go to Robyn’s Robyn’s One Four Challenge and check out all the other great images, there are pingbacks there you can click.  She has also has instructions for next month as well, so if you missed out on the challenge for this month, then you can participate next month.

After-Before Friday

Last week I showed you the before and after of the image I had done for Stacy’s After-Before Friday, and the link I gave at the time of the post was quite right, but Stacy sent me the correct link, and I thought it would be good to give it to you again.  You can melbourne-banyule-flats-birds-105go there and see what others have done, as well as get instructions if you want to do it try it too.

Grant Presentations

I have to attend grant presentation this week to get the money for my grant.  I hate going out in public like this, getting up in front of people, I hope there won’t be too many people there.  We have to go up and shake a councilors hand and they hand us a cheque.  I think the cheque is fake, because my understanding is the money will be deposited into the bank. The best part is that it means I will get the grant money, so I can start the project in earnest, but also I can get my own macro lens.

Tourism in Victoria

melbourne-banyule-flats-birds-111I had had enough yesterday and finally got around to sending a feedback email to Tourism Victoria.  I have sent them so many emails about posts that I have done about Melbourne and Victoria, and have never received a reply.  No acknowledgement at all.  I don’t really expect much, but is it too much to expect a reply for your email.  I love taking photos of where I live, and I love sharing them with you all, and I had hoped that it helped people to see what a beautiful country I do actually live in.  I did get a response this time, but it was for the add that I have on their website, that I paid money for and has never got me any work.  I just can’t believe they don’t have a page somewhere where you can register things like websites or blogs that have information on places to visit or information, photos, something, but you have to have an event.  It seems crazy to me.

Social Snappers

The final excursions for Thursday and Sunday are coming up.  I’m looking forward to these.  We are going into the city to photography the Christmas decorations.  We will get there before dark and see it in daylight and then we will stick around until melbourne-banyule-flats-birds-106the sun goes down so we can take photos of the Christmas lights.  Should be fun, if you want to come along with us, then go to Thursday’s Excursion, or Sunday’s Excursion.

Finally

There isn’t much more going on really.  I did go out last week and take some photos of birds.  I don’t think I am very good at bird photography, but I do have a few photos for you.  There weren’t many birds around, but I managed to see some Tawny Frogmouths, and some Butcher birds, I think they are called.  I thought I would share those photos with you here. Oh I want to say the one hanging upside down is a Minor bird, think it is called, apparently pests and do a lot of destruction to the native birds, and most people don’t photograph them, but it was hanging upside down, I had to get a couple of shots.  I hope you have lots going on right now too.

 

63 Comments
  1. Once again congratulations on the grant!

    November 25, 2014
  2. For someone who “isn’t good at birds,” those are pretty good birds! I’m not good at wildlife of any kind, but water fowl are easier because they don’t fly away as soon as they see you. My problem is I take too long to frame shots. My granddaughter is always poking me to work faster — and I hate to admit it, but she’s right. Yours look fine to me 🙂

    November 25, 2014
    • Thanks Marilyn, though I didn’t show the ones I took up in the mallee where I used the wrong settings and they were all out of focus, I really need to practice. I think those little birds are impossible, they move too quickly. I get lots of birds in my garden, so I really should try taking some photos sitting outside. I can hear them now. Yes, I think you have to be quick, I’m not good at that either. 😀

      November 25, 2014
  3. That’s a native Myna Leanne, they are very acrobatic when chasing insects.I have difficulty shooting these- they are hard to photograph unless perching. The ‘pest’ ones are common or Indian myna- they have a brown body with yellow legs and beak.the Tawny frogmouths look like chicks.nice shots

    November 25, 2014
    • I have no idea Rob, it is shocking to say, but I know a few birds, but not many. so the one I got being acrobatic isn’t a pest? The Tawny Frogmouths, the two sitting on the branch, the one on the left is the young one, and the other the parent. I would like to try and get more of those. I love those birds. Thanks Rob.

      November 25, 2014
  4. Fantastic interpretation with the motion blur and lightness of the trains coming out of the darkness. My favourite. I must have missed last week’s edition – may be because it was part of your other posts.

    November 25, 2014
    • Thank you Chris, I wasn’t so sure about it, but I found it hard to move the blur off, I like the way it looks when you first look at it. Yes, maybe, nice to know that people like the last one, Thank you.

      November 25, 2014
  5. lifewithlelah #

    GOOD LUCK with your grant work! Thank you, as always for sharing your photography! I love the upside down bird grabbing at some tea fruit. The overcast nature scenes are what I am seeing here in Portland, OR also. LOVE!

    November 25, 2014
    • Thank you, I’m looking forward to the project. I loved the bird too, it was so cute and didn’t seem to care at all for us. I think overcast days are great for photographing birds, the light seems better, well to me it does.

      November 25, 2014
  6. These are all amazing! I’m not exactly good with birds but the bird in second photo is gorgeous.

    November 25, 2014
    • Thank you, I hope I get better at it, I just need to start learning what they are called now, that is one part I am atrocious at.

      November 25, 2014
      • I feel the same way — If my camera could just automatically detect wild animals as I take the picture, thatd’ be great.

        November 25, 2014
      • Wouldn’t that be amazing. I know there are sites to identify them, but you seem to have to already know what they are, which is hard.

        November 25, 2014
  7. Love the bird hanging upside down 🙂

    November 25, 2014
    • Thank you Jodi, I had to take a photo of that one. 😀

      November 25, 2014
  8. Hi Leanne, all the best with the grant presentation. Those Tawny Frogmouths are awesome!

    November 25, 2014
    • Thank you, I love the Tawny Frogmouths, such great birds.

      November 25, 2014
  9. Seems the fellow with the yellow beak performing his anti-gravity maneuver is the favorite, and I have to agree 😀 I have the darnedest time capturing wildlife – probably because of their erratic movements and I have yet to get a handle on my camera’s autofocus function!

    Congratulations on the grant, Leanne. That’s huge! And thanks for the updated pingback to ABFriday #27 (and, again, for participating)!

    November 25, 2014
    • I know the feeling Stacy, I get lots of birds in my garden, so I might have to start practicing there.
      Thank you, the grant will be a great experience. You’re welcome, I love your challenge and will promote it as much as I can. 😀

      November 25, 2014
  10. Meho #

    Wow, great set here. Perfect pictures! 🙂

    November 25, 2014
  11. I think you did great for not doing birds too well! My favorite is the two chubby little birds sitting together. I think they are adorable.

    November 25, 2014
    • Thank you Lois, some that I took on another day I think I will have to chuck, got my settings all mixed up. The two you like at the Tawny Frogmouth, one is the young one, on the left, and the other is the parent. They are so cute, I love those birds.

      November 25, 2014
  12. Hey Leanne … best of luck with the public do 🙂

    November 25, 2014
  13. If it is any consolation Leanne, Tourism NSW is not any better. Through your blog Is have seen parts of Victoria that I never knew existed, and I have been more than 200 times (family, work, and play).

    November 25, 2014
    • It is terrible isn’t it. So crazy. I don’t understand why they can’t have a page on their site for approved site where people can go and find blogs and websites that are relevant to what they are looking for. thank you, that is great to hear. I will keep trying to show other places.

      November 25, 2014
      • International tourism sites have started figuring out that if they can act also as a portal to other local sites that promote each other and the town/city/region in a “social” fashion then it is win/win for everyone. That is what I found when I recently went to Hawaii. It would appear that Australian tourism is still catching up, with too much focus on silly misguided campaigns (and did not write Lara Bingle – oops I just did)

        November 25, 2014
      • Maybe we should get together, a few of us and tourism victoria, NSW and Australia catch up with what is going on, it wouldn’t cost them anything, except a bit of time to set up something, and then we would all benefit.
        That is what I am finding, the campaigns they are using are actually putting people off coming here. They only show one of Australia, and if I hear one more person talking to me like Steve Irwin, well, I don’t know what I would do. He was not a good representative of who Austalians are. Let’s work together and do something, what do you think?

        November 25, 2014
      • Happy to, though my profession (project management is my work life – travel and photography are my leisure life) does not leverage tourism like yours. But I am happy to work on something like this. I must admit I get frustrated seeing what small countries like NZ or Finland can achieve in promoting a diverse culture – not an ocker stereotype.

        November 25, 2014
      • I think it would be a great idea, though not sure how to go about it. I think the image of Australia overseas is cringe worthy. People are often shocked when they hear me speak that while I have an accent I don’t sound like what they expect an Australian to sound like, that is sad.

        November 25, 2014
  14. It really is funny we both had bird shots. I love the upside down bird . :). Good luck with the grant money meeting. I’m sure you’ll do great. It’s exciting that you are helping the area you live in or at least visit.

    November 25, 2014
    • I know, we will have to see if we can organise more similar trips. Thank you, I think I just get up shake hands and run with the cheque then order my lens. It is, though it is the area I live in, next time we skype I should show you. Thanks Laura.

      November 25, 2014
      • Oh yes, I’d like to see. When you visit you’ll see why I’d like a longer lens. Our deck is perfect for it! Although not an 800mm. Sheesh. That’s like an observatory! lol

        November 26, 2014
      • I know what you mean, not to mention the hefty price tag, aren’t they about $20,000, maybe more. I don’t think I will ever get one, even if I thought I needed it.

        November 26, 2014
      • $20K???? I’ll pass, lol.

        November 26, 2014
      • LOL me too, well unless I get very rich, then I might get one.

        November 26, 2014
  15. The rule is the same whether you are contacting a tourism board or a company for whom you’d like to work. You need a name. You need an email address with an actual staff member’s name attached. The higher up the chain of command the better. Then you can start conversation with a person, not a site. Getting those kinds of contacts is like gold.

    November 26, 2014
    • Yes, I can relate to that, having a name, but it is so hard to get a name, especially when they don’t take much notice of what is going on. doesn’t help their cause really. thanks Ray.

      November 26, 2014
      • What cause? They have what they need. When they need something they reach to people they know

        November 26, 2014
      • Well not really, we aren’t getting the tourists that they want, but the problem is they are also a big short sighted and from what some others have said, they should be using people who are doing things for the state on their own, help them, then they help the state as well.

        November 26, 2014
      • What tourists do they want? Tourism is business. How should tourism boards help freelancers aside from making occasional assignments and licensing a pictures when they need them? It is incumbent on freelance photographers to sell themselves just like any other business would do.

        November 26, 2014
      • Well when the freelancers are doing lots to highlight how great the state is and to encourage people to come here, who help people see a different side to the country than the one they present, and I get it all the time, people telling me that because of my blog and what I show, they want to come to Australia. There has to be a way that can help one another, and it doesn’t have to be about money. Other countries do it. they have somewhere where you can register, costs money to do it, but you have to have a service, so you can’t just register, say my blog, I have to offer tours or something. How hard would it be to have a page on their site where people can register their sites, so people who are looking to come here can get different views than the one that victorian tourism give.

        November 26, 2014
      • People travel to foreign countries for aspirational reasons. They come to see what they believe a place to be. Most tourists are not looking for something so different… not on a first trip. For instance, people don’t come to New Orleans to look at swamps or even my neighborhood (well, some do). They come to see The French Quarter, specifically Bourbon Street. I’m not aware of any countries using a registration system especially since most tourism boards are local or regional. That said, there is still no reason to do it. Traveling is a economic business except with a certain group of very young people. At end of the day, photography and tourism are both businesses. You have to treat them that way.

        November 26, 2014
      • Well I think we might have to disagree on a lot of this Ray. Australian tourism is all about kangaroos, beaches, the outback, and yeah, like we are all a pack of bogans that talk like Steve Irwin, I’ve never met an australian that does, except for him. I hear from people through my blog that say, they didn’t want to come here because of how it is shown, but after seeing the type of things I show, they have changed their minds, so I am helping Australian tourism and why can’t I expect something back. Photography might be a business, but there is more than one way of doing business as a photographer, and I’m exploring that. I think it would be short sighted to think that people who do things to promote the love of their own country can’t beneficial. I have heard from other people that say other countries do. Australia and the government are really about mates, we see it here all the time, unless you are a friend of someone in government, don’t expect any help from them.

        November 26, 2014
      • Well, we’ve traveled to just about most places. All for one kind of work or the other. When you and I met, we had just been in Australia… unfortunately too quickly; 5 cities in about ten days. What said, what percentage of the people who read your blog will actually travel to Australia? People say a lot of stuff, they very rarely actually do it. The bottom line with anything we do is that there is an 20-80% ratio. We do what we do — photography, cook, art, music, law… anything — about 20% of the time. The other 80% of our time is spent doing business and marketing. The sooner a person comes to grips with that, the less personally they take all of these issues and the better off they’ll be.

        November 26, 2014
      • Though I have to say, you have your opinion, I have mine, we can go backwards and forwards and never agree. I am talking from my personal experience and what I see with the Australian government, a very cynical view. Whether I would ever change anything, who knows, but I am allowed my opinion on it. I am trying something that is what I want to do, I don’t know where it will lead me, if it will lead me at all to anywhere, but it is an interesting journey. I am so sick and tired of seeing our government giving away billions of our money to a few people at the top, doing nothing for the rest of the country, except 6 to 12 months before an election, and if you try and justify that, as you are justifying being igored, then I will be very upset indeed. What is happening here should be criminal. capitalism sucks big time, unless you have lots of money of course.

        November 26, 2014
      • It is a very sensitive topic here at the moment, we have a state election coming up this Saturday and well, we are all sick of the BS that our politicians are giving us. There is a cat fight going on between the two major parties, one won’t continue doing something because the other one started doing it. This is on a state and federal level and the people are in the middle. They lie constantly, and then do things like guarantee a company two billions dollars for a project whether the project happens or not, it is criminal. I am so sick of our government, and government agencies that only have their best interests at heart, while the rest of us can go to buggery.

        November 26, 2014
  16. I love seeing your part of the world. it is so beautiful and interesting. Birds are tricky but you manged to get lots of photographs. I think it is also tricky to make money from creative gifts which is a shame.

    November 26, 2014
    • That is so good to hear, I love showing it off as well. Birds are, I find the bigger ones easy, they don’t move as quickly. It is very tricky, but sometimes you have to give it a go. thank you

      November 26, 2014
  17. Did you tell Tourism Victoria that you have more than 30 000 followers? They need to realise that you are doing them a service by promoting your state so well.

    Great news about your grant and your new lens. Does this mean we will soon be seeing more amazing macro photography?

    November 26, 2014
    • Haha, I sort of told them, I get the feeling they don’t care.

      It is great news, I can wait for the presentation, but I can’t wait to get the lens, LOL. It is going to be great, will be amazing to see what else I can do. I want to experiment more. thanks Carol.

      November 26, 2014
  18. I guess shooting birds does teach us to be quick, I tend to be done shooting a scene while others are still framing their first shot, so I usually go out by myself. It didn’t occur to me that it was shooting birds that taught me that until you commented on being too slow for the small ones. It just looks like you need more telephoto for little birds, not a lack of anything. I don’t have that now either, since I took to the road.

    As for getting up in front of crowds, just imagine the worst that could go wrong and anything not as bad is good to great No worries that way. 🙂

    November 26, 2014
    • Yes, I think you could be right Robert. I often take photos faster than other people as well. I just take a lot more, I like going out with other people though. I would love more telephoto, but not something I can afford and not sure I want long term. Will have to see.
      Thanks for that, though I think I will be okay getting up, at least I don’t have to make a speech. 😀

      November 26, 2014
  19. I love this post!

    November 26, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear, thank you.

      November 26, 2014
  20. As always, thanks heaps for the mention and I love hearing all that youre doing!!
    I really like your birds…a lot 😀

    November 26, 2014
    • You’re welcome Robyn, anything I can do to help get some more attention to it.
      Thank you, I have to say I am getting to actually like photographing them.

      November 26, 2014
      • Thanks 😀
        I love birds too and watch them constantly. They never sit still long enough for me.. He he
        One day though… Until then I enjoy watching and listening.
        I loved seeing these!

        November 27, 2014
      • I keep thinking I should set the camera up outside the house, there are so many birds in my garden and I could practice on them. I will have to do that I think.
        I know what you mean, and the smaller they are, the more they seem to bounce around.

        November 27, 2014
      • Ive thought the same – perhaps an experiment in the making 😀

        November 27, 2014
      • Oh yes, I think so.

        November 27, 2014

Comments are closed.

