Skip to content

Quiet Thursday’s – Farewell to the Tamrom Macro

malleeviv-flowers-macro-mums-garden-35

It is a sad day today, it is time for the Tamron lens to be returned to Maxwell International Australia, no really.  I have absolutely loved using this lens and out of all the lenses I have borrowed from various people, it is the one that I am really sad is going back.  It is such an easy lens to use.  I like the weight, I like how it takes photos.  I know if I hadn’t got the grant to buy the Nikon Macro lens I would have been getting this one.  I hope the Nikon Lens is just as good and easy to use.

To say farewell I thought I would do a final gallery on my favourite photos that I took with the Tamron 90mm Macro lens.  You have seen them before, but I hope you enjoy seeing them again. If you want to read again, what I thought of the lens go to this post, Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs – Looking at a Macro.

110 Comments
  1. Tamron 90mm + Leanne Cole = receipt for success! 🙂

    November 27, 2014
    • Thank you Fabio, I hope so.

      November 27, 2014
      • prescription for success! have a great day, Leanne! 🙂

        November 27, 2014
      • My day is basically over now, but you have a good day. 😀

        November 27, 2014
      • Have a great weekend, Leanne!

        November 28, 2014
      • 😀

        November 28, 2014
  2. I am hoping to get a macro lens sometime in the next few months. Other things took priority, but I think I’m just about ready 🙂 You’ve inspired me!

    November 27, 2014
    • That’s great to hear Marilyn, it seems to be catching on, I do really enjoy doing macro photography. I look forward to hearing what you get and how you like it. Thanks Marilyn.

      November 27, 2014
  3. Lovely photos. I don’t know about the new Nikon macro lenses, but I had a 60mm Nikon macro lens back in the days when I had Nikon F2 bodies, and that lens was incredible.

    November 27, 2014
    • I am sure the 105mm will be good too, I’m looking forward to getting it, it will be so nice to have my own and I’m sure it will be incredible too Timothy, thank you.

      November 27, 2014
  4. So sad for you that it had to go back. This felt like a celebration of life…a good thing.

    November 27, 2014
    • I know Lois, but I have ordered my own and with luck it might arrive tomorrow, so I won’t be without one for long. thank you.

      November 27, 2014
  5. Oh the bittersweet surrender of the much beloved macro lens…I get it. You built a relationship with this beauty that helped you achieve these ridiculously stunning photos ☺ sigh…parting is such sweet sorrow…

    November 27, 2014
    • Oh yes, it really was Julia. I did, though I think I always knew that it wasn’t mine and would have to go back. I have ordered my own macro lens, not a Tamron, though I am looking forward to getting it. Thank you so much Julie.

      November 27, 2014
  6. These are fantastic Leanne.

    November 27, 2014
  7. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    These are stunning! 🙂

    November 27, 2014
    • Glad you think so Jackie, thank you so much. 😀

      November 27, 2014
  8. Aww.. too bad. Those pix are lovely. 🙂

    November 27, 2014
    • Oh yes, but I will have my own soon, thank you.

      November 27, 2014
  9. Your macro shots are amazing! And I know they are not easy!

    November 27, 2014
    • Thank you Doug, that is wonderful to hear, they are not easy, that’s for sure.

      November 27, 2014
  10. Your set shows that you were able to put the lens to the test. All the images have clarity and demonstrate the way in which macro can reveal the unnoticed.

    November 27, 2014
    • I was Sally, it was great to use, thank you so much, it has been good to see that people liked them.

      November 27, 2014
  11. I hope you manage to replace it. Lovely shots.

    November 27, 2014
    • I will Victor, I have ordered the Nikon 105mm and fingers crossed it might arrive tomorrow. Thank you.

      November 27, 2014
      • Looking forward to hearing how it compares and hoping you love it.

        November 27, 2014
      • Thanks Victor, I am sure I will, I am really looking forward to seeing what I can do with it.

        November 27, 2014
  12. What a wonderful send off. Tamron should use your photos to sell this lens. Stunning!

    November 27, 2014
    • Thank you Kaz, Haha, wouldn’t that be something.

      November 27, 2014
  13. beautiful – I look forward to getting a macro lens some day 🙂

    November 27, 2014
    • I really hope you can get one Jodi, they are wonderful to have in our kit, thank you. 😀

      November 27, 2014
  14. it really does work great. maybe they will let you purchase it monthly. 🙂

    November 27, 2014
    • I don’t think they do that here, I have ordered my own John, but not the Tamron, I got a Nikon one, it was part of the grant that I got. Thanks John. 😀

      November 27, 2014
  15. These are wonderful.

    November 27, 2014
  16. Nelson #

    I am in the process of choosing a macro lens and the Tamron 90 mm is one of the 3 choices I have, the Sigma and the Nikon 105 mm being the other 2. You just showed me good examples of the quality this Tamron lens can gives for final results

    November 27, 2014
    • I haven’t tried the Nikon or the Sigma, but I am hoping to get the Nikon tomorrow, I have ordered one. I can’t wait to try it out, will be interesting. I think the Tamron was great and I think if I hadn’t got the grant for the Nikon, I would have got the Tamron. Thanks Nelson.

      November 27, 2014
  17. Reblogged this on Giai01's Blog and commented:
    xem

    November 27, 2014
  18. Some beautiful images. OK, not some, but all! I keep hearing that it is not the equipment but the photographer, the artist, who makes the image. So I doubt I could get the same results with the same lens!

    November 27, 2014
    • Thank you Emilio. I am sure you could Emilio, I didn’t do anything special, I did love using it.

      November 27, 2014
  19. Amazing work you did with this lens! Loved seeing these images again and hope you’ll get your new lens soon so we can see more of them!

    November 27, 2014
    • Thank you so much Tiny, I am hoping that it arrives tomorrow, fingers crossed.

      November 27, 2014
  20. I am really enjoying following your work…inspiring stuff… 🙂

    November 27, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear, thank you so much for letting me know. 😀

      November 27, 2014
  21. I think I will miss it too 🙂

    November 27, 2014
    • Thanks Julie, though I have ordered a new Nikon one, which might arrive tomorrow, so I will have another one soon, will be interesting to compare it.

      November 27, 2014
  22. Great gallery of images, how did you find the Tamron compared to the nikon macro you had earlier in the year. I am saving up for a 100mm macro and am swinging between Tamron and Canon.

    November 27, 2014
    • I loved the Tamron Ben, the Nikon one I had earlier was different because it was only a 40mm, but I got my grant money so I have ordered the Nikon 105mm, so if you give me a few days, well I have to get it first, but if you wait until I let you know what I think.

      November 27, 2014
      • Thanks,I have been looking at Tamron because it is cheaper but then again I am worried that the this means a lack of quality compared to the Canon lens. I will be patient and see the out come of the Nikon lens.

        November 27, 2014
      • I think the Tamron is fantastic, really, I do, I loved it, if I hadn’t got the grant money for the Nikon, I would have got the Tamron. I will let you know how I find the Nikon one though.

        November 27, 2014
  23. I’m looking forward to seeing what you take with the Nikon.

    November 27, 2014
    • Thanks Gypsy, will be good to see what it can do. 😀

      November 27, 2014
  24. What a really stupendous gallery … hope you find the Nikon up to par … will be looking forward to seeing what it does! 🙂

    November 27, 2014
    • Thank you Georgia, I hope so too, I’m sure I will, I will have to see.

      November 27, 2014
      • And so, I hope will we!

        November 28, 2014
      • It arrived this morning and I’ve had a little play, but so far, it seems good. I will go out with it tomorrow I think.

        November 28, 2014
      • 😉 it’ll be interesting to se what you come up with ..

        November 29, 2014
      • Yes, can’t wait to really get out with it, today or tomorrow I hope.

        November 29, 2014
      • 🙂 whilst wandering on the weekend … 🙂

        November 29, 2014
      • Absolutely.

        November 29, 2014
  25. Lovely and pleasing to the eye…

    November 27, 2014
    • That’s wonderful, thank you.

      November 27, 2014
  26. Reblogged this on Poplar Culture and commented:
    This photographer’s close-ups are magical.

    November 27, 2014
  27. Ahsan Rehmani #

    Great

    November 27, 2014
    • Thank you.

      November 28, 2014
      • Ahsan Rehmani #

        welcome

        December 2, 2014
  28. Obviously a really nice lens and was in the right hands, for sure. Beautiful photos, Leanne.

    November 28, 2014
    • Thank you Robert, it was such a pleasure to use.

      November 28, 2014
  29. Beautiful closeups, Leanne, although I must say Columbine has always been a favorite of mine. The unusual shape of the pedals is mind-blowing, and I see you have have managed to capture it well. 🙂 Good job on all. 😉

    November 28, 2014
    • Thank you, but I am going to sound terrible now, because I don’t really know what the flowers are, which one is the columbine? sorry.

      November 28, 2014
  30. these are really beautiful..!

    November 28, 2014
  31. Beautiful. Thanks for reviewing this lens, I now have it on my wish list, I love macro!

    November 28, 2014
    • You’re welcome, that is wonderful, it is a great lens and I know when you can get it you will be happy with it.

      November 28, 2014
  32. beautiful shots you have taken with it

    November 28, 2014
  33. It’ll be interesting to see how you feel the Nikon compares. I’ve had mine for a couple of years now and, personally, I think it’s a great lens.

    November 28, 2014
    • I do think the Nikon will be a great lens and I don’t think I will regret my decision, but I also think the Tamron is a great lens and for that can’t afford the Nikon, I think the Tamron is a great alternative. Thanks Noeline.

      November 28, 2014
  34. Johann Briffa #

    Good luck with the new lens. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it and i look forward to seeing what you do with it!

    November 28, 2014
    • thank you Johann, I think I will too, I can’t wait to get it.

      November 28, 2014
  35. Sweet shots…I hope to get one…when I can afford it

    November 28, 2014
    • I hope you get to get one, I loved it and I really love macro. Thanks Andre.

      November 28, 2014
  36. I do love what you have taken with this lens. 😀

    November 28, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, it is good when you have a wonderful lens to take them with. 😀

      November 28, 2014
  37. Alex Roan #

    Hi Leanne, Lovely set of pictures. I actually picked up a Tamron 90mm macro myself a while back, but I have hardly used it. I did struggle a bit in the half hour I had it out with depth of field, in fact I just posted the couple of shots I took with it, if your interested and if you have any tips on using it:
    http://alexroan.com/2014/11/27/tamron-macro-shots/

    November 28, 2014
    • Oh yes, depth of field works so differently on a macro, you have to use large ones, like f16, it is very shallow. I will take a look, I loved the lens, so I hope you do as well. Thanks Alex.

      November 28, 2014
  38. I’m just echoing all those who commented before, but they’re right! These shots are lovely. 🙂

    November 28, 2014
    • Thank you so much Angela, you are the first to know, that my very own macro just arrived, exciting. 😀

      November 28, 2014
      • Oooh, congratulations! You’ll have great fun with that, I’m sure! 🙂

        November 29, 2014
      • Oh yes, I think so too, I can’t wait to take lots of photos with it. 😀

        November 29, 2014
  39. wonderfull shots — making me warm to invest

    November 29, 2014
    • Thank you, it is a great lens, my Nikon macro arrived yesterday, so will be interesting to compare, I’ve only played with it once and so far my thoughts are, not a lot of difference between them.

      November 29, 2014
  40. I’ve never tried a macro lens. You seem to master this good, but I don’t know if I’d get any interesting photos with a macro lens. .

    November 29, 2014
    • I don’t think everyone would like one, and for a while I questioned whether I wanted one myself, but I like that I will have choices now, and I loved using the Tamron and it made me realise how much I wanted one. Perhaps you shouldn’t try and borrow one.

      November 29, 2014
  41. Absolutely gorgeous!

    November 29, 2014
  42. It’s great to see that you are staying with the macro world, Leanne, albeit with a Nikon macro lens. You sure were able to readjust your eye to shooting macro and to overcome some initial hurdles (like depth of field issues). As you may recall I shoot with a Tamron 180mm macro, which gives me a greater standoff distance that is great with insects, but can actually be a hindrance sometime when shooting flowers, because you may have to back up too far to get the composition that you want. Now that we are in our winter, I am shooting with another Tamron lens, a 150-600mm telephoto zoom. I am pretty impressed by the job that Tamron does with their lenses (and they are quite a bit more affordable than the Canon equivalents).

    November 29, 2014
    • Haha, I like Nikon Mike, my camera is a Nikon and I love it. I have to say, I thought I wouldn’t be into it as much, but I love it, I love seeing the world through it. I like trying to get odd compositions as well. Now that I have my own and I really looking forward to exploring more, and will continue trying things. I wouldn’t mind getting my extensions tubes out as well. We are going into summer, so there won’t be many flowers to photograph now, still, I will be able to play around with other things. I did ask about the Tamron 180mm, but they said they don’t get it in very often. I am hoping to get a lend of the 150-600mm next year for my book project, so I can photograph the birds the local park, that will be interesting. I agree they are often more affordable. Thanks Mike, good luck with the winter shots.

      November 30, 2014
  43. so lovely!

    November 30, 2014
  44. I’m sure you are going to love the Nikon 105mm macro as much as the Tamron. I owned the DX 85mm macro and was happy with it but when I got the 105mm macro I couldn’t believe how much sharper my photos were with that over the 85mm macro. The camera change may have had a little to do with it as well but I’m very pleased with that lens and am always happy with the results when it’s on the front of my camera. I’m sure you’ll be able to create just as good photos with the 105mm as you were with the 90mm. The only thing I don’t like about it is that it doesn’t have a 77mm thread for filters as my other lenses do.

    December 2, 2014
    • I must say, I’ve only used it a couple of times so far, but my fears of not being able to hand hold it are gone, and I am quite happy with what I have got with it so far. I found it great to use and can’t wait to explore a lot more with it, I have lots of plans. The 77mm thread doesn’t bother me, I only have two lenses with that, but I believe you can get step up or step down filter things so you can use a 77mm filter on a 62mm thread. Have you looked into those Justin, I haven’t yet, but I know Laura uses them.

      December 2, 2014
      • Yes. I recently got a 10 stop ND filter to test it out and the 77mm one was out of stock so I went with an 82mm one and had to get a step-up ring in order to use the filter. I’ll be hopefully doing a post on that ND filter as it is a much cheaper alternative that gives good results than diving into the more expensive name brand filters if someone just wants to do a few shots here and there. But right now I don’t really have a need to use any filters with my macro lens so I haven’t looked into getting the step-up rings for that lens.

        As far as hand holding the lens goes, I think it does a remarkable job at capturing the photo. But I seem to be not so great at staying steady so I find that even using my tripod as a monopod makes a huge difference for me. But I’ve made it a habit to always have my tripod with me whether I use it or not now. It’s usually when I don’t bring it that I wish I had and since I’ve bought a strap for the tripod so I don’t have to deal with taking it in and out of the case and mine is very lightweight, I don’t really have any good excuse not to bring it. It’s now quick to setup and I don’t even need to take my gloves off in the winter to use it which is nice. Can’t wait to see your photos with your new lens! 🙂

        December 2, 2014
      • Though you do have to be careful with the filters, the cheaper ones will give you horrible photos, well if you go too cheap. found that out the hard way, haha. I can’t imagine using filters on the macro either, but I guess you never know. I tend to use my filters on two lenses I have and that is about it.

        It does do a remarkable job, I sway, I can feel myself doing it, so I have it on continuous, and then hope that one of them is in focus and one usually is, luck really. I haven’t used the tripod yet with it, but think I will try it this week. See how I go. I need something other than flowers to photography, I have a few ideas. I just need to stop being so lazy. I don’t always take my tripod, it is quite large and heavy, but I have told my husband I want a lighter one and more compact one for christmas, one that it easier for walking around the city. When I drive somewhere it is nearly always permanently in the boot, which is good, so I always have it, if I decide I need it. Thanks Justin, hopefully soon.

        December 2, 2014
      • Yes, I have found out that cheap filters tend to give sub-par photos. But based on all the great reviews and the low price I decided I had to see for myself. So far the color casting is less than the Hoya filter I have. As far as IQ, with the wide angle lens I don’t notice any less IQ but I may give it a try with the 20mm f/1.8 once I get it (should be sometime this week or next) as it’s got such a close focusing distance. Otherwise I was thinking of using them on the macro since I can take a photo of something with a lot of detail to test the IQ between the filters and compare it to a photo with no filter. But so far for wide angle landscape shots I think it’s a very good deal.

        December 2, 2014
      • I have the Hoya one, which I am quite happy with, but would like to get some really good ones, but just don’t have the money right now, hopefully soon. I don’t know what you mean by IQ, it isn’t something I’ve heard before except for intelligence.

        December 2, 2014
      • Image Quality. I didn’t know what it meant at first either but seen it used in forums quite a bit when searching for the difference between lenses and filters. Some people use PQ for Photo Quality but it seems that IQ seems to be used the most. What I really want to get is the 10 stop, 15 stop, and 20 stop Singh Ray filters. I’d also like to get a Lee set with the Big and Little stoppers and a set of hard grad filters. But after the cost of all that I could buy the 14-24mm lens as well. I don’t know if I’d be completely happy with the 14-24mm anyways because you are very limited on filters and to date I think Lee is the only one that makes a holder to use filters with that. I think I’d rather go with all the filters over the lens though. I’m happy with the 16-20mm range for all my shots.

        December 2, 2014
      • Okay, that makes sense, I stay away from forums, my experience with them hasn’t been great. I would love the Singh Ray filters too, but you can’t buy them in Australia, so I would have to get them from overseas, and though the prices are already high, when you add in postage, it makes them way too much. I love my 14-24mm and have started using it more and more, I just accept that I can’t put filters on it, and go from there. I use my 24-70mm when I want to use filters. I have seen some photographers who have made their filter adaptors, but sometimes you just have to go with the no filter on that lens. I think Cokin does an filter holder for it as well, not totally sure.

        December 2, 2014

Comments are closed.

