Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Dog Rocks

batesford-dogs-rocks-australia439

The other day I was sitting around home and I got a text message with a very interesting invitation.  Christine Wilson had decided at the last minute to go to Dog Rocks and wanted to know if I was interested. My response was where is that, but at the same time, I was thinking new place to take photos.  I loved the spontaneity of the invitation, and hope it happens again.  I was to find out that Dog Rocks a small place near Bateford, and near Geelong.  I googled it before I went, got something about something for dogs, but then I started to see some incredible images. When we go there it was bright and sunny, and our hopes of lots of clouds for some long exposures were dashed, but I was so pleased to have been introduced to this place.

batesford-dogs-rocks-australia435

So, what is it?  It seems to be a paddock that is now a park, but the land is very barren.  There are lots of rocks, and big rocks on it, and a few weird shaped trees.  There was a cluster, or group, or what a group of trees is called, just looked up google and maybe a copse.  Our hopes of a cloudy sky disappeared as the clouds all went, so no chance of long exposures.

It was probably the wrong time to be there, and as I looked through my photos I wondered what I would do with them.  There is something I have been pondering on for some time now, about doing images and using the Australian summer light to make my images, to use the harshness of the light.  I don’t quite know how yet, but going to this place gave me some ideas and I played around with them with that idea in mind.

batesford-dogs-rocks-australia440

So I played with the colour and actually used some over exposed images.  The summer light here is very very harsh, and it flattens everything and it does seem to take the colour out.  Everything around the country is brown, or golden, so I thought why not emphasis that.

batesford-dogs-rocks-australia442

I also thought about trying some in black and white, see if they would come up better.  I was having trouble with the sky, so put in a cloudy sky.  It was interesting as it was obvious where the sun was so I had to be careful which sky I choose.  I hope this is the right one.

batesford-dogs-rocks-australia445

Again another replaced sky.  The rock formations were quite incredibly too.  I have no idea what sort of rock it was, but you will see more in the gallery.  Some of the bigger ones had little ponds in them, and even overflows.

I was so happy Christine had invited me.  Of course people go there to photograph the trees, well specially the tree in the black and white image above.  I preferred the tree in the second image.  It wasn’t too bad a drive, so I know I will go back at different times of the year, especially now that I know about it. I have a map of roughly where it is.

I hope that helps you.

I am going to put the rest of the images that I spent yesterday processing into a gallery for you now.  We have a state election here today, it is turning out to be a big thing, a sign of things to come.  I really hate the state of politics here and the cat fights that continue to happen between the two parties, and would really like to see them getting back to making Australia a better country for everyone, rather than a few.  Anyway, no place for a discussion like that here and I think I will be spending a good part of the weekend playing with the new macro lens that arrived here yesterday, my own at last. I hope you have a good weekend, and take care.

 

 

84 Comments
  1. Sometimes images are just fine right out of the camera – other times they need a bit more “help” – great illustration of how to handle a less than optimal day.

    November 29, 2014
    • Thank you Robert, it was nice to start experimenting with images like this, I think I want to do more. MIght have to take a trip to my mums in the height of summer.

      November 29, 2014
  2. woow

    November 29, 2014
  3. I think they are great. I actually like monochromatic images, with all the subtlety of working more with texture and tone than contrast and form … but inevitably, I like the results better than anyone else. I see subtlety. Other people see “flat.” I guess it’s a matter of taste, but I like them!

    November 29, 2014
    • I like them too Marilyn, though I like colour too. It is all a matter of taste and very subjective, so I think I know exactly what you mean. Thank you.

      November 29, 2014
  4. Really stunning photos Leanne, I love the look of that place through your images

    November 29, 2014
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you Mike.

      November 29, 2014
  5. A powerful set.

    November 29, 2014
  6. Oh. My. Goodness. I haven’t heard of Dog Rocks since LAST century when a friend had her wedding photos taken there. All I remember is the uniqueness of the setting and the difficulty of climbing those rocks in high heels. Oh, and that only one bottle of champagne had been packed compared to the two six-packs. Wouldn’t have been so bad if the boys hadn’t begun the day with a glass of bubbles, lol! 🙂

    November 29, 2014
    • I love that, last century. It is rather a unique place, surprise choice for wedding photos. not bad. Unfortunate about the Champagne. Great story Joanne, thanks for sharing it.

      November 29, 2014
  7. Those wonderful windswept trees and vast open spaces remind me of the moors in Devon and Cornwall!

    November 29, 2014
    • Yes, it is a bit like that Sarah, though I don’t think the Moors would be as hot, LOL. Thank you.

      November 29, 2014
      • No, BIG temperature difference 😉

        November 29, 2014
      • Yeah, thought there might be. 😦

        November 29, 2014
      • The moors are so beautiful though! Windswept wilderness 🙂

        November 30, 2014
      • I can imagine, I always think of Heathcliffe and Cathy, LOL. I really would like to see them one day. 😀

        November 30, 2014
      • It’s very much like that!! I so want to return to Australia one day to see where I was born and visit all my family.

        December 2, 2014
      • I really hope you can Sarah, and we can meet, I love meeting people I’ve got to know through the blog.

        December 2, 2014
      • I’m hoping to meet up with a few people over the next year! Do you think you’ll manage to visit our little islands sometime?

        December 2, 2014
      • I really hope so Sarah, my husband always says, how are you going to pay for it, since I don’t really earn a lot yet, I don’t know, hopefully things will change over the next year.

        December 2, 2014
      • Same problem Leanne! Simon’s the bread winner and that’s enough to live on but not much more.

        December 3, 2014
      • Yep, makes it hard, I am earning more and more all the time, and hopefully with the classes that will help, but still, Dave expects me to start contributing to the house, haha, but I do want to get there, maybe in a couple of years.

        December 3, 2014
      • Simon’s very understanding thankfully! I was “medically retired” from work over ten years ago and it’s very hard to make commitments to the kind of photographic work that actually makes money. Fatigue is one of the biggest problems for me 😦 I never know how I’m going to be on any particular day. I need a PA to actually get things done for me I think 😉 We muddle through though!

        December 3, 2014
      • It is hard when only one works, sorry to hear you had to retire because of health, that is hard. I stayed home with my girls to bring them up and while he didn’t mind that, since they have got older he has wanted me to work, though I do make more money from the photography than I would if I got a part time time job, it is hard, very inconsistent and such. It is hard, I don’t have the fatigue issues, but it is so competitive out there, everyone wants to be a photographer, I do like teaching, so I hope that will end up being a good one for me. I would love a PA, someone to kick me up the bum and make me do things. 😀

        December 3, 2014
      • I wanted to teach so very much Leanne! The Crohn’s was diagnosed when I was trying to get a university place and surprise, surprise, they all had reasons why they felt their course wasn’t right for me. This was before we had disability discrimination legislation! The heartbreak of it made me really very ill indeed. I want to run some adult learning classes at our cultural centre. I have people lining up for it but I’m terrified that I won’t be able to commit fully because of the fatigue. I hate letting people down! I’ve promised a few people that I’ll try to sort something out next summer after our wedding. Inconsistencies in earnings and work routines is hard to deal with! Totally understand your frustration. Here’s hoping that this next year brings more good things our way 🙂

        December 4, 2014
      • This disease is quite debilitating, so I can understand how hard it would be. I love teaching, though I haven’t done a course for doing it, I just go with the flow and try to remember all the mistakes I’ve made previously and hope I don’t make them again. Maybe do some private ones, or something like that. I have discovered that running them at an adult centre doesn’t guarantee students and you get paid less. I am going to start running my own, I am just trying to find a place now. I hope you can sort it out, or find a way of doing them. The inconsistencies can be hard, never knowing if you will start to get money again or not. Thank you Sarah, here’s that for both of us. 😀

        December 5, 2014
      • It’s a very frustrating illness! This week is actually worldwide Crohn’s and Colitis awareness week. I really wanted to teach art therapy or College level art so I would have needed my degree and post grad! I know I will really enjoy teaching some photography skills at the Phoenix Centre, it’s just a bit nerve wracking making such a commitment!

        December 5, 2014
      • What about doing one off classes Sarah, just know say one class for 3 hours, then if you find it was hard, it is only 3 hours. Could be a good way to gauge how you go. Just start small. It is a good thing to do that anyway, just start small. I would love to teach at that level too, but I don’t think it would ever happen, I would probably have to go back and do post grad work as well, I do have the degree, but not really sure I want to put myself through that now.

        December 6, 2014
      • That’s a pretty good idea Leanne! I do have a bad habit of trying to take on too much in one go. Just start small should be my new mantra!! Thank you 🙂

        December 6, 2014
      • Yep, baby steps is always the best way, just do small things and then build up. good luck Sarah, I hope you do at least one. 😀

        December 6, 2014
  8. I love the drama of the trees in the wind ! One can almost feel the wind..

    November 29, 2014
    • Thank you, the trees were amazing.

      November 29, 2014
  9. I love the tree shots.

    November 29, 2014
    • And the google map. From here it’s 1 day and 7 hours flight with 3 or more stops 🙂

      November 29, 2014
      • So do you think we should meet there one day 😉 it really isn’t that far, it is an hour and half from my place. 😀

        November 29, 2014
    • Thanks Cardinal, I loved them too.

      November 29, 2014
  10. tenacious trees. very haunting and beautiful images.

    November 29, 2014
    • I like that description, thank you so much.

      November 29, 2014
  11. Leanne, how I enjoyed these images SO much!!! I LOVE how you are playing around in the editing room. NICE JOB! What a fascinating place this is you brought us to view! Australia truly has some incredible landscape I have never seen. I still have yet to learn how to replace a sky. LOL I also tried to comment the other day from my iPad about your Tamron lens, but I lost it all. So I want to extend to you a HOPE that you fall in LOVE with your new Nikon macro lens just like you did with the Tamron lens. Every image I saw of yours on that post put me in awe. I know you can do as well IF not better with your new lens. I know you can! Thank you again for such a beautiful post. How lucky you are to have people to go with you on photo shoots. That is exactly what I have been trying to do lately. Wish me luck PLEASE. (((HUGS))) Amy

    November 29, 2014
    • Oh Amy so good to hear from you, and I am so happy to hear that the floods didn’t happen, that is wonderful. I am sure I will love the NIkon Macro, can’t wait to really get out with it. I love playing around, and it has been good to get back to it. I used to enjoy it so much and then I hurt my back and couldn’t sit at the computer for long, I’m so glad I can sit longer now. I am lucky, I have quite a few people I can get out and take photos with. Again, Amy so glad the worst didn’t happen, take care and thank you.

      November 29, 2014
      • Leanne, to this day, I feel stunned regarding this storm. Seeing solid walls of snow 6-7 feet high, and then that snow just disappeared without flooding? … Truly I am in amazement over this! The snow removal teams who worked around the clock should all be awarded medals, for I know without them, we would have been in huge trouble. And back to you … I’m so happy your back is better and that you are able to play in the editing room. I’m getting “hooked” on the very same thing. LOL I really do thank you for giving me some of your flower photos, Leanne … that act of friendship will remain with me all my life. I was able to retrieve some photos that I thought were forever gone, and I have a theory as to why only certain ones were retrieved while others were not. I have a very important post coming up as I share not only this theory, but other things I have found out what NOT to do with my camera and photography. Keep up the playing because you really present amazing photos in a country that fascinates me. As for the politics …. same thing is happening here in America. I pray things change soon for I have watched our great country fall to its knees. May your weekend be a great one!!! Love, Amy

        November 30, 2014
      • It was an amazing storm and you know it is a really big storm when it hits the news here, so we were hearing about it here. I am glad the floods didn’t happen, I really do hope that is the worse thing to happen for you this winter.
        I’m glad my back is better too, I missed playing with my photos, and now that I have played with these, so many more ideas are coming. I look forward to reading about your story. I will do my best to keep playing, and you do the same. Have you heard about the one four challenge, you would love that. Our country is falling apart too, it is sad to say, but I really do believe the best years are now behind us. It is hot here today, and humid, we are expecting a storm, which is normal for this time of the year, nothing like a massive downpour after a few days of heat. I hope you have a good one too Amy.

        November 30, 2014
  12. Beautiful natural photos. Things which usually people ignore are really great to see through the eyes of an expert photographer.

    November 29, 2014
    • Thank you, that is lovely thing to say.

      November 29, 2014
  13. Very nice!!!

    November 29, 2014
  14. Such a wonderful gallery Leanne. You must feel very happy with such a successful outing. I think you had Ansel Adams with you in spirit. 🙂

    November 29, 2014
    • Thank you Andrew, I am quite happy, I was sure what I would end up with, but I feel good about them, and certainly inspire me to try more in that sort of weather. I like that last part, thank you so much.

      November 29, 2014
  15. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    These were beautiful. I like how you experiment; it takes a little fear out of me.

    November 29, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, I think experimenting is a good thing, you just never know what will happen, and I like how I discover new things.

      November 29, 2014
  16. Your experiments worked rely well. I particularly love the “bleached sun” effect !

    November 29, 2014
    • Thank you Tiny, I was really pleased with that one, I might have to that sort of thing a bit more.

      November 29, 2014
  17. AMAZING!

    November 29, 2014
  18. Very nice indeed! Very “far from civilization” looking and very different from the U.S. Midwest.

    November 29, 2014
    • Oh yes, it does seem very far from civilization, though it isn’t that far from it really. Thank you Thomas.

      November 29, 2014
  19. amazing pictures !

    November 29, 2014
  20. a very interesting location. It was a good decision to go with your friend.

    November 29, 2014
    • I was so happy to be invited, and even better that I got to know a new place, thanks.

      November 29, 2014
  21. Reblogged this on Oddities and commented:
    True meaning of beauty..beautiful photos

    November 29, 2014
  22. Great shots Leanne! It is always fun to discover new places! Looks like this spot was a fun one with some great photo ops!

    November 29, 2014
    • It is Debby, I love it, opens up a new world of possibilities. Thank you.

      November 30, 2014
  23. I thoroughly enjoyed the day out 🙂 love what you’ve done with your shots Leanne , they look surreal ,there’s actually a lot to work with there , I haven’t had a chance to look at mine yet ,maybe next week

    November 29, 2014
    • Fantastic Christine, can’t wait for us to go out again. Thank you, I wasn’t sure what to do with them, but I like what I did, and would like to do more like that, so will be looking for other places like that now. I bet you got some great ones too, can’t wait to see them. 😀

      November 30, 2014
  24. Fantastic shots and love the single tree standing alone with the wind blowing and the leaves moving and also the great beautiful texture of rocks…thanks for sharing…

    November 30, 2014
    • Thank you Cattan, it was an amazing place, that was our favourite tree, can’t wait to go back and photograph it again.

      November 30, 2014
  25. Great photos. We have a harsh light here in New Zealand too. But it is quite different to your light. It also depends what it reflects of as well – brown sand, or green scenery. I like the overexposed image as it conveys a sense of isolation. 😀

    November 30, 2014
    • Thanks Raewyn, yes, I imagine it would be different too because the landscapes of each country are also different, I love the scenery of your country, I would love to get there one day, it is on the list. I really like what you said about the overexposed image, might have to play with that idea some more. 😀

      November 30, 2014
  26. Thank you for liking “Happy Thanksgiving.” Beautiful landscape photos! 🙂 I find the dead fallen tree logs just as fascinating as the living windswept trees. There are so many wonderful textures on them. I am glad you were able to make the most of the harsh light in this place.

    November 30, 2014
    • I agree, I love the old weather logs, and what erosion does to them, quite amazing. Thank you, it was a challenge, but something I am keen to explore, there will be so much of it soon. 😀

      November 30, 2014
  27. Gorgeous Leanne!

    December 1, 2014
  28. Hey Leanne … what a fantastic place. The photos are stunning! 🙂

    December 1, 2014
    • It was Julie, I loved it, I really want to go back. Thank you. 😀

      December 1, 2014
  29. poppytump #

    You really made the best of an already great location with your transformations Leanne . Love windswept tree hairdos… rocks… and just the open feeling of this place . How smashing to have an impromptu invitation which worked out so well .
    Imagining now you’ve been playing hard with that new lens over the weekend 😉

    December 1, 2014
    • It was wonderful Poppy, I really hope she does it again. I would like to be playing hard with the new lens, but it is so hot outside, I am going to have to find some ways to play indoors with it.
      Dogs Rocks was amazing place, and it was fun to take photos that you know were at the wrong time of the day, but then the challenge becomes how to make them work for you.

      December 2, 2014
  30. Amy #

    These tree photos are inspiring! Love how to capture the shapes of each tree.

    December 3, 2014
    • I loved those trees, they were amazing, can’t wait to go back and try doing them again, and again. thanks Amy.

      December 3, 2014
  31. Brilliant photos, Leanne

    December 5, 2014

Comments are closed.

