Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Around the City of Melbourne

melbourne-hosier-lane-graffiti-452

Yesterday afternoon I spent some wonderful time wandering around the city with a couple of people just taking photos.  It is the best thing to do on the weekend.  We had no set agenda, and we really did just wander.  We started with coffee at Brunetti’s and were going to go to St Paul’s Cathedral, but we were shocked to find that it was closed.  So we thought we would head down to Hosier Lane and see what was happening there.

melbourne-hosier-lane-graffiti-451

This weekend they are having an art event on there, so you can go down there and do some of your own spray painting, I think.  They were handing out masks, rubber gloves, paint and stencils to anyone who wanted to have a go.  There were also lots of graffiti artists there working on their own pieces.  Great place to go if you want to see it happening.  Though be prepared, it smells a bit from the paint fumes.

melbourne-atrium-building-459

We wondered into this building and took quite a few photos of the middles of it. It is quite amazing.  I wish I could tell you what the building was, but I’m afraid I don’t really know.

melbourne-royal-arcade-macarons-461

We walked through the arcades again, the Block Arcade and Royal Arcade.  I’ve photographed these arcades so many times that it isn’t always easy to find something new. I didn’t have my macro lens with me, but I have to say getting close to things is definitely something I’ve been doing a lot more.  The woman at the macaron counter was very lovely, she didn’t seem to mind us take photos of what she had.

melbourne-bourke-street-mall-christmas-465

Then it was onto the Bourke Street Mall and looking at the Christmas decorations and watching people.  The day was perfect, really, the sun was out, but it wasn’t really hot, and there was a lovely breeze.  I got lots and lots of photos of the city, too many to show today, so I have narrowed the Bourke Street Mall ones to the Christmas decorations, but will show more another day.

The city was full of people, so much going on.  All the decorations for Christmas are up now, though they are exactly the same as they were last year, and the year before it seems.  I have to say, I’m not as keen to photograph them again.  Will see how I go.

Here is a gallery with more images.  I am going out with my macro this morning, so excited to really try it.  Election was yesterday and it seems we have a new party in Government, I wonder if they will make a difference, the last party didn’t, so I’m not hopeful.  I hope the weather is perfect where you are for taking photos.

 

84 Comments
  1. Very nice photos of a great city!

    November 30, 2014
    • I think it is too, thank you.

      November 30, 2014
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    These were a welcomed departure from your usual fare. 🙂 And I do not expect comments because I know how busy you are. The street artists are a genre in themselves; we have them in the U.S. as well and their works are amazing.

    November 30, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, it was nice just wandering, I even saw some new things. 😀

      November 30, 2014
  3. Mega jealous 😄

    November 30, 2014
    • Sounds like a trip is needed and some wandering of our own. 😉

      November 30, 2014
  4. Interesting shots with the network of lights-I had never noticed them before!

    November 30, 2014
    • They put them up for Christmas and at night lights go on and off, it is quite pretty.

      November 30, 2014
  5. Great photos. Love the Christmas decorations – puts our city to shame. There are some really talented artists out there. Have fun with your new macro. Look forward to seeing your work. 😀

    November 30, 2014
    • Melbourne does put on a great show. I know some really good ones, I love watching them work too. Thank you, I took it to my favourite nursery this morning and took lots of photos of flowers.

      November 30, 2014
  6. Wow you really captured Melbourne at its best and most energetic. Fabulous gallery and will head back again for another look. A lot to be said for no plans just looking around! ! How lucky the graffiti artists were about too. Added bonus 🙂

    November 30, 2014
    • Thanks Kaz, you will have to see it for yourself next year. So much happening and going on, it has become a very busy city. I think the just wandering was fabulous, I must do it more often, I saw so many new things.

      November 30, 2014
      • Cant wait! 🙂 Somehow just wandering seems to open up avenues not thought of before because there is no agenda and I know if its me, I have a goal and sometimes have to remind myself to look about more and focus on everything not just what I wanted to take a picture of.

        November 30, 2014
      • I was surprised I saw things yesterday that I had never seen before, I think I need to do this sort of wandering a lot more often, we can do some when you are down here. I am the same, I often do that as well. Looking forward to it. 😀

        November 30, 2014
  7. Enjoyed this!!!!

    November 30, 2014
  8. Those graffiti artists do some amazing work Leanne. Enjoyed the walk around the city with you.

    November 30, 2014
    • They do Colline, it was wonderful watching them creating as well. Glad you enjoyed the wander with me. Thank you.

      November 30, 2014
  9. Melbourne is a lovely city to wander in.

    November 30, 2014
    • I think so too, I like to do it every chance I get, thank you.

      November 30, 2014
  10. Reblogged this on The Purple Album.

    November 30, 2014
  11. I was just there last weekend and your photos really capture the city right now. Thank you!

    November 30, 2014
    • Thank you, the really is buzzing, glad you agree.

      November 30, 2014
  12. msmithj567 #

    Reblogged this on Mohit – The caretaker.

    November 30, 2014
  13. msmithj567 #

    wow…..

    November 30, 2014
  14. Lovely pictures captured in a beautiful way!

    November 30, 2014
    • Glad you liked them, thank you.

      November 30, 2014
  15. Great to see you wandering the city again, Leanne. These are some very cheery shots for the festive season. Yes, you are right – the Christmas decorations are the same as the last few years. Maybe the city is keen on recycling the decorations to save finances or something, I don’t know. It’s disappointing. But everyone seems to be enjoying the Myer windows and the tree in City Square 🙂 Love, love the upwards shot of the building, what crystal-like glass.

    I was in the city yesterday and today. Very packed along Bourke St. Hope you’re having a good weekend 🙂

    November 30, 2014
    • thanks Mabel, it does seems to have been a while since I did it. When I told my husband they were the same, his reaction was, well who cares, so maybe only some of us care. They do.
      Thank you, it was packed, I wonder if we saw one another and didn’t realise. Yes, I’ve had a good weekend, been playing with my macro. I hope you’ve had a good one.

      November 30, 2014
  16. Brunetti’s…my favourite place to meet! Great photos.

    November 30, 2014
    • Really the best place to meet, we will have to go there again Carol. Thanks.

      November 30, 2014
      • You’re on Leanne!

        November 30, 2014
      • When is that wedding in Melbourne, I hope not our long weekend.

        November 30, 2014
      • In mid March. The weekend after the long weekend I think.

        November 30, 2014
      • oh good, I am going away up to my mums for the long weekend.

        November 30, 2014
  17. Great city – great photos.

    November 30, 2014
  18. I love the graffiti! They are talented artists indeed! 🙂

    November 30, 2014
    • That’s great to hear Thomas, they certainly are very talented. 😀

      November 30, 2014
  19. A nice set of shots – made me feel quite nostalgic ! A few years since I last saw Melbourne . Christmas decorations make a difference – cut out otherwise blank spaces. Is that a “modern” tramcar in Bourke St? Hope they haven’t done away with all the old ones. Des.

    November 30, 2014
    • I hope not too nostalgic, maybe you will need to come back Des. Yes, most of the old ones are gone now, though they do use them around the city for the city circle tram, the free one. Thanks Des.

      November 30, 2014
  20. A refreshing break from the ordinary. Glad I clicked.

    November 30, 2014
    • Wonderful, thank you Jonathan

      November 30, 2014
  21. I love finding street art. I was just in Melbourne but was rushing around so not enough time to explore.

    November 30, 2014
    • That is a shame, there is a lot of great street art in Melbourne, I really hope you can get back to explore it one day.

      November 30, 2014
  22. So many wonderful images!
    This just reminds me that I have to make the time to do this more often myself. Every time I do I come away with a lot of great shots.

    December 1, 2014
    • You can also find new stuff too, I think we walked up one of the smaller streets, one that I didn’t would be any good and I saw so much, I think I need to do it more often too Norm. Thanks

      December 1, 2014
  23. LB #

    what is it about macaroons? They make the best images!
    Sounds like a wonderful day, Leanne. Fun!

    December 1, 2014
    • They really do, haha, I don’t like to eat them though. It was a wonderful day Laurie, thank you.

      December 1, 2014
  24. Nice!

    December 1, 2014
  25. Alex Roan #

    Hi Leanne, nice post! I only recently found your blog, but it just so happens I went out to take some pictures of graffiti and street art around London yesterday too, I posted it earlier and then I saw your post, coincidence!.. Unfortunately being in London, I had no chance to capture that beautiful blue sky that you have though 🙂

    December 1, 2014
    • We often get that beautiful sky, we see it too much sometimes, especially in summer. What is the link to your site again, it doesn’t come up, I know I’ve seen your site before. Graffiti is great to photograph, especially when it is good. Thanks Alex.

      December 1, 2014
      • Alex Roan #

        Hey Leanne,

        I can relate to that. I spent most of last winter in Thailand, and this year I am actually enjoying the crisp cold here, although too many grey days can be a struggle. I agree we definitely need some weather variety.

        My site, and the post I mentioned was:

        http://alexroan.com/2014/11/29/streetart/

        I’m not super proud of the photos, but thought you might like to see the art here in comparison with your day out. Having said, that I was really happy to see a girl creating some art while I was out, and had a chat with her and got a nice shot of her spraying.

        Alex

        December 1, 2014
      • We had an unusually grey winter and it was horrible, it was really depressing, we just wanted to see the sun. It was strange, our winters are not usually that grey.
        can I let you in on secret, none of us are ever super proud of shots, you did well, and you got some great images. That’s wonderful, it looks like it is getting cold there.

        December 1, 2014
      • Alex Roan #

        Thanks Leanne, I appreciate your kind words 🙂 Yes, we just had a week or two of greyness, then I went out one morning and there was blue sky, I was filled with joy – it’s amazing the effect it can have!

        December 1, 2014
      • Oh yes, it is amazing how a bit of blue sky and the sun can make you feel so much better, though we are about to get way too much of it, so while you are not liking your grey skies, we will be wishing for them. 😀

        December 1, 2014
  26. Reblogged this on Life Through 18 MP.

    December 1, 2014
  27. Wow Leanne ..just glorious! Love that city 🙂

    December 1, 2014
    • Me too Julie, I think it is the best, thanks Julie. 😀

      December 1, 2014
  28. The Christmas lights suspended above look most beautiful. I’m sure they are lovely at night. Wish I could see them in person. Thanks for sharing your wanderings! Irene

    December 1, 2014
    • They are even better at night, it is like twinkling stars then, just beautiful. I wish you could too, they are wonderful. thanks.

      December 1, 2014
  29. I was in teh city to with artwork at fed square for the ART+MEL event… i may have walked right past you….

    December 1, 2014
    • We may have Kara, how funny would that have been.

      December 1, 2014
  30. All very awesome shots!

    December 1, 2014
  31. Fantastic city and photos Leanne. I love going out without plans. Always an adventure. 🙂

    December 1, 2014
    • Thank you Raquel, it is a fantastic and vibrant city, I love it. It is a great way of doing things, I really want to do it more. 😀

      December 1, 2014
  32. Love street art, nice pictures.

    December 1, 2014
  33. poppytump #

    A lovely selection to wander through here Leanne , can’t quite believe it will be my third year seeing Melbourne at Christmas time … I have to say the tea rooms really take my eye 🙂 although I’m like you macaroons beautiful to look at but …

    December 1, 2014
    • Thank you Poppytump, oh yes, it will be, though I won’t be doing as much this year as I have previous years, but there will be some, especially with plans to go in twice in the next week to take some photos of it all. Oh yes, macarons, good to photography but . . .

      December 2, 2014
  34. Some great shots Leanne. Wandering around a city can be lots of fun and if you keep your eyes wide open offer some amazing photo ops.

    December 2, 2014
    • Thank you John, I agree, it was a great thing to do, it was great seeing some things I hadn’t seen before, which was wonderful, I need to do it more.

      December 2, 2014
  35. lmarea3070 #

    If I ever make it to Australia, we’re going shooting! ❤

    December 2, 2014
  36. Thank you for the wonderful tour. I’m drooling over your tea cups.

    December 3, 2014
    • I wish they were my tea cups, aren’t they beautiful, they belong to the macaron place, I would love to walk off with them. thank you.

      December 3, 2014
  37. PHOENIX #

    December 5, 2014
  38. I’ve been in that building too, and looked up and saw that great view as well. But like you, I have no idea what it’s called…

    December 19, 2014
    • It is shocking, I know where it is, but no idea what it is. I like the centre bit, would be good to do more photos in it. Thanks

      December 19, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. SHUTTERBUG NOTES — One Four Challenge, week 4 — Graduation? | BWLE: Explore The World Wth Your Kids!

Comments are closed.

