Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs

macro-nikon-baag-nursery-478

This last week has been great, not a lot happening around here, but as we run up into Christmas I’m sure that could change.  December already, and I suppose I should start thinking about Christmas a lot more.

New Macro Lens

Well I was at the grant presentation last week for my grant and got my envelope, so the next day I ordered my new macro lens.  It arrived on Friday and the two of us have been out a couple of times now.  Part of the grant was for a Nikon micro 105mm lens, so that is what I had to get.

macro-nikon-back-yard-476

Backyard

The lens arrived in  a lovely gold box, as all Nikon lenses do.  My first impression of it was that it was cold, the metal around the lens was cool to the touch and then it was heavy, it felt good, it was a good weight in my hand.  The next test was to take it out into the garden and see what I could get with it.  There isn’t much left in the garden to photograph now, as we are heading to summer the flowers are disappearing and the plants are conserving what they have for the summer ahead.  Still I found a few things, and was photo bombed by a bee when I was photographing one of the flowers on the raspberry plants I have.  I will include some of those photos in this post.

On Sunday morning my daughter and I went to Bulleen Art and Garden Centre to look at some plants, and of course I took the macro with me and took some photos of the flowers.  It was hard as the sun was out and it was hot.  We’ve had a few

macro-nikon-baag-nursery-483

Bulleen Art and Garden

days of heat now and humidity, I don’t like humid days.  I will include some photos from there as well.

Social Snappers

The last two excursions for Social Snappers is on this week, one on Thursday and then another on Sunday.  It is unusual that both are doing the same thing, but we will be this week.  The excursion is into the city and we will be taking photos of the Christmas decorations before and after sunset, which should be great.  I love doing this, but marketing them is proving to be challenging.  I think I am going to have to start thinking of different ways of doing it.  This blog, facebook, and social media

macro-nikon-back-yard-474

Backyard

really aren’t doing anything, unfortunately.  Hopefully they will pick up next year.

Teaching Photo Editing

After being asked about Photo Editing in all my classes I’ve decided to try teaching it.  I am going back up to the Mallee in March, on the long weekend, to do more workshops and a big component of those is going to be teaching people about putting their photos on the computer, organising them and then how to do some basic editing.

macro-nikon-back-yard-475

Backyard

I love editing, and it is one area that I think I know quite well, so I feel it is something that should do a lot more of.  I would like to offer some classes down here, but I will need to find somewhere to teach them, so I will be looking into that soon.

Facebook and Privacy

It seems Facebook is doing the rounds again about what they can use of your information and such that you put on there.  Everyone is in an uproar, though I have to keep wondering why, as this has all happened before.  Basically if you put your personal information, photos, videos, etc up then you give them a royalty free license to use it as they wish too, however, you still own your images.  Those are the conditions you agree to when you sign up to it. People have been putting notices up, saying they don’t give FB permission to do that, but it is hoax, and there is nothing you can do about it.

macro-nikon-baag-nursery-480

Bulleen Art and Garden

I have made the decision to put a massive watermark across any images I post on Facebook, that way if they use the images and try to remove it, then they are tampering with my copyright, which I am fairly certain is illegal.  I also read

Facebook adds, “[t]his IP License ends when you delete your IP content or your account unless your content has been shared with others, and they have not deleted it.”

So I would think if you continued to delete your photos after they have been there for a while then Facebook can no longer use them, that is how I read that.  IP refers to Intellectual Property.  It is something I have been doing, going through and deleting all my old photos, not easy, there are a lot on there, but if it helps to protect my work then I will.

I think that is enough for today, I hope you have a good Tuesday and there is a lot going on in your world right now.

 

109 Comments
  1. Phenomenal macros, Leanne. I KNEW you would fall in LOVE with this lens. How exciting to see magic already happen through you. And I really believe you have what it takes to teach editing and yes do it! You are so good at what you do … I wish you all the very best!!! Love, Amy

    December 2, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, it is funny, I still feel like it is on loan, so weird to know that it is mine. You know, I do think I can teach editing too, it is something I have a good grasp on. I just have to work out where to find the students to teach. Thank you so much Amy, you are such a wonderful spirit, take care.

      December 2, 2014
  2. Lovely.

    December 2, 2014
  3. The raspberry is perfect!

    December 2, 2014
    • Thanks Gypsy, it didn’t last long, I took the photo and then ate it, it was very nice.

      December 2, 2014
  4. These are stunning macros leanne, love the detail and depth of field in these images. I’m very keen for my next lens to be a macro! I will have to treat myself soon 🙂

    December 2, 2014
    • thank you Sabrina, I think depth of field with the macro was one of the hardest things to learn, but happy that I am finally getting a handle on it. I really hope you can get one, they are a lot of fun, and they open up a whole new world. 😀

      December 2, 2014
  5. Some awesome snaps…

    December 2, 2014
  6. Your work keeps inspiring me to get the best I can out of my gear. Love, love, love the bee shot (and the photo bombing one too 😉 )

    December 2, 2014
    • What a wonderful thing to say Lynn, thank you so much, I love the bee too, was so happy to have it photo bombing my image. 😉

      December 2, 2014
  7. Excellent macro shots! It’s a sweet lens! 🙂

    December 2, 2014
    • It certainly is Thomas, thank you. 😀

      December 2, 2014
  8. Very nice images, Leanne. Looking forward to your workshop program in the Melbourne area… I’ll gladly be one of your students:) Woohoo on the macro!

    December 2, 2014
    • Thanks Chris, that would be wonderful, I just need to find somewhere to teach them now. I know, the macro is wonderful. 😀

      December 2, 2014
      • Have you thought of the Darebin Council. Not sure of costs but here is the link http://www.darebin.vic.giv.au/venues

        December 2, 2014
      • No I hadn’t, there is a place in Banyule I thought I might try, it is the old shire offices and would be perfect, but I need to find out costs. I would need access to a data projector as well.

        December 2, 2014
  9. Best way to protect photos on FB is to delete them and close the account. Instagram has got users in an uproar last year or something like that over this same issue. It seems anything we put online, be it photo, video or text, once there, it seems to be in the public domain, no matter. Always the thieves.

    December 2, 2014
    • Yeah, but so many are on FB John, it is too hard to delete it, I think you have to use it with the acceptance that they will use it, so you have make it hard for them to do that. I put up very low quality images, and now I put a massive watermark across them, which hopefully will mean they won’t want to use them. I also think, from my reading of the terms and conditions, that if you delete the photos, then you stop them from being able to use them. However, they can’t take photos from links, so if you put your wp links on their with a photo, the photo isn’t on FB so they don’t have access to that. I think Instagram is exactly the same, it is owned by FB, I don’t put anything important on Instagram, only fun things. I think google+ is looking better and better. Maybe FB is putting themselves out of business. Remember My Space

      December 2, 2014
      • Good point. I have never had a FB account and don’t like what I hear about goings on there on many levels. I have never seen your FB site! 🙂

        December 2, 2014
      • I think it just pays to be vigilant about the rules, as it is with all things. I think if you are trying to get a business going, it can be too hard not to use FB.

        December 2, 2014
  10. Welcome home Macro ☺. The BEE. Spectacular. Leanne, how do I put a watermark on my photos if I only have a smartphone camera? Thanks in advance xo jules

    December 2, 2014
    • Thank you Julia, I don’t know how to do it on a phone Julia, sorry, I do all my photos on the computer. Not sure you can, you might have to see if you can write on the images.

      December 2, 2014
      • Okay thanks Leanne, appreciate it.

        December 2, 2014
      • Sorry I couldn’t really help. I tried seeing if I could do it on Snapseed, but couldn’t. If I ever figure it out I will let you know.

        December 2, 2014
      • You’re a doll to try that Leanne! God bless yer cotton socks ☺ I’ll haveca Nikon D90 this week I’ll be able to do it with that ☺ will figure something out for Samsung pics xxxooo

        December 2, 2014
      • You’re welcome, how exciting a D90, nice. You will need to get some software for the computer then you will be able to watermark no problem.

        December 2, 2014
      • Yay! I know I’m busting over it – my new mentor is gifting it to me, her first camera. We’re going to blog about my mentorship and the impact it has on mental health – i live with Bipolar II Disorder. Awesome project I’m so psyched to get my hands on it and learn learn learn!!

        December 2, 2014
      • Wow, you are so lucky, that is wonderful, I know you will have a wonderful time. I know what Bipolar is, and I studied it, but I have no idea what it would be like to live with. So it sounds like an amazing project, I look forward to hearing about it. Good luck.

        December 2, 2014
      • It’s…interesting & challenging to say the least lol. My shrink & i are still in process of figuring out my meds & dose levels…I’ve come a long way tho’, I would not be here otherwise. Literally. Not just on WP. I thank my lucky stars every day for modern science and the deep respect and support I receive, from my family especially.

        December 2, 2014
      • I understanding sorting out meds can take a while and the side effects of them can be horrible too, that is great to hear you saying that, and I admire, really admire how open you are about it, it is wonderful to meet someone who is dealing with it head on, as the saying goes. I really hope you get things sorted and everything works out well for you, wonderful too that you have a lot of support, that has to be fantastic.

        December 3, 2014
      • I’m humbled by your words. Thank you Leanne.

        December 3, 2014
      • Oh I hope I didn’t sound patronising Julie, so not my intention.

        December 3, 2014
      • Not at all!! I’m humbled & speechless, really, by your kindness and support ☺

        December 3, 2014
      • I’m glad that my words didn’t upset you Julia.

        December 3, 2014
      • Honestly I’m emotional at the mo’. My daughter had dental surgery today. I’m knackered. Was REALLY hard to meet her angry mouth in the Recovery room…so much blood. She’s fine it’s normal…just wasn’t expecting it…and she so vulnerable and upset…so your words really hit me…deeply. tearing up now. I’m such a suck lol

        December 3, 2014
      • I’m glad I’ve made you feel good, sorry to hear your daughter had to have surgery, my daughter had to have surgery right before she had braces to remove an impacted tooth. All good now. I love the last part, haha, I am too.

        December 3, 2014
      • ☺☺☺

        December 3, 2014
      • You really did. It’s been a rough few years. How old is your daughter? And hey! I just found an editing app for Android that does watermarks ☺

        December 3, 2014
      • My daughter is 20 now, her braces came off a while ago. that’s fantastic, about the app.

        December 3, 2014
  11. You saw some beautiful flowers on your trip Leanne.

    December 2, 2014
    • Thank you Colline, I certainly did.

      December 2, 2014
  12. Congratulations on the Micro – its been a long time coming and I know you will make good use of it. Nothing like the feel of fresh glass…

    December 2, 2014
    • Thank you Robert, it has been, I was just thinking that myself, after being loaned various ones over the last 12 months, it almost doesn’t seem quite real that it is mine. I know what you mean.

      December 2, 2014
  13. Awesome macros, Leanne! Congratulations on your new lens!! Lots of good stuff coming 😀

    December 2, 2014
    • I hope so Tiny, thank you so much. 😀

      December 2, 2014
  14. Wonderful macro shots.

    December 2, 2014
  15. Ahhh, lens envy. Man, these are gorgeous. I love the subtle colors too. Lovely! And, you will be great at teaching editing, good for you.

    December 2, 2014
    • Thank you Carrie, I totally get the lens envy, that has been me for quite a while. thanks for that too, I love editing, maybe more than taking photos, so I think I will be really comfortable teaching it.

      December 2, 2014
  16. Each has its own personality made evident by your captures.

    December 2, 2014
    • thank you Sally, I like that description, wonderful.

      December 2, 2014
  17. The images are exceptional. I love the description of the lens as you opened the box and the weight of it in your hand. Now, all I have to do is find its equivalent in Canon!

    December 2, 2014
    • Thank you Emilio, it isn’t often that you have vivid memories of opening something up, but I did with this lens. Canon do a 100mm, which I believe is quite good too, though I don’t know that Canon lenses come in a gold box.

      December 2, 2014
      • So I have to switch to Nikon if I want a gold box? Can I reuse the box to wrap my wife’s Christmas present in so it looks more expensive than it is?

        December 2, 2014
      • Haha, yep, I love their gold boxes, maybe see if you can nick one from some one. they do look expensive. Does that mean you aren’t getting your wife something expensive, LOL

        December 2, 2014
  18. Gorgeous photos. Facebook is so annoying. That’s like saying anyone who buys your book owns your copyright. They don’t. They have the right to own the book and read it, but not to make money off of it. Anything you publish to Facebook should not be used to make money for anyone else without consent and payment to the author or artist. Anything else is copyright violation.

    December 2, 2014
    • Thanks Brenda, and you are right, though facebook have royalty free use, they don’t own the images, that would too hard for them to do. I agree, it shouldn’t be used by them, I think there are ways around it though. Maybe make a watermark that says hands off facebook. If they try to remove the watermark that would be copyright violation.

      December 2, 2014
      • Publishers shouldn’t own copyrights. Authors should. We make little enough money as it is.

        December 2, 2014
      • I totally agree Brenda. It is the same with photographers.

        December 2, 2014
  19. Some very nice shots with your new lens Leanne. Imagine what you’ll be doing when you get comfortable with it! Thanks also for the reminder about Facebook. I make it a point to include a watermark on just about everything I post on the web. I think the one place I forget to is Monochrome Madness, but then again yo do attract a better class of participant than a lot of Facebook!

    December 2, 2014
    • Thank you John. I know what you mean, I have plans and things that I want to try. I think knowing I have lots of time to try things will make a difference, I don’t have to worry about the lens going back too soon. I do the same with the watermark, though the one on facebook images now I am making much much bigger, I don’t care if it detracts from the image. Thank you, you haven’t done Monochrome Madness for a couple of weeks, I hope you decide to do it again soon.

      December 2, 2014
  20. Pat #

    Beautiful images.

    December 2, 2014
  21. I love your posts! My mom told me about your blog and I really enjoy it! Can’t wait to see more of your work! 🙂

    December 2, 2014
    • You will have to thank your mum for me then Emily, thank you so much. I will keep posting, so lots more images I hope, and lots of new ones with the macro as well. 😀

      December 2, 2014
  22. Macro heaven :)) these shots are fantastic, hope the weight is not off putting something to get used to I giess as with all new toys , looking forward
    to more great shots

    December 2, 2014
    • Most definitely, we will have to have some macro outings when you get yours Chris, lots of fun. The weight wasn’t too bad, it is still lighter than some of my other lenses, so that is good. It feels nice. Thank you.

      December 2, 2014
  23. fncounter #

    awesome macro effect

    December 2, 2014
  24. Congrats on your new glass. Love the in-flight bee photo and thanx for the info on FB.

    December 2, 2014
    • Thank you Nora, that was a lucky shot, not sure how I manage it, but might have to try again. You’re welcome, hope it helps.

      December 2, 2014
  25. Beautiful images Leanne. Getting closer to nature makes you realise how beautiful these things really are. I have just started using a Dioptre (er) lens for some small flowers, all for learning, a few great shots (mostly terrible), but thoroughly enjoyed taking the photos. I think a macro is my next lens…just after the other next thing.

    December 2, 2014
    • It really does, and you also start to appreciate how detailed they are, I never knew bees were so hairy before. That is great to hear, as long as you enjoyed and I’m sure the more you do it the better you will get, and yes, sounds like a macro should be your next lens, I’m so glad I got one. good luck with it, and thank you.

      December 2, 2014
  26. lensaddiction #

    Looks like the Macro fits well into your hand nicely Leanne 🙂 I really should get out with mine sometime, I have the Canon 100mm (no it doesnt come in a gold box but it does have its own carry bag).

    Good luck with the teaching, I think you will do well with that too. Re FB one of the MANY reasons I am not on it 🙂

    December 2, 2014
    • It does Stacey, very nice, I really like it. I think you should too, I’ve heard the Canon macro is good too. All Nikon Lenses come in gold boxes it is how they package them, and they come in bags too. Which is nice.

      Thank you, I think editing would suit me really well, looking forward to finding some places to do it. Unfortunately it seems if you want to advertise a business or market it, FB is the place to be, well I hope so. 😀
      Thanks Stacey.

      December 2, 2014
  27. Wow wow wow!!! This is a beautiful serie!!! Stunning!

    December 2, 2014
    • Thank you Guilhem, so happy to hear that, nice to see what my first images with my own macro lens are like.

      December 2, 2014
  28. poppytump #

    These must feel – and are – super special macros from your very own lens Leanne ! It’s so good to be able to let eyes wander at leisure over such photos taking in those minute details often missed at the time or mistakenly ignored . Brilliant.
    Hope you find those premises for the new year , I really can’t think of one reason why your teaching classes wouldn’t have an enthusiastic response 🙂

    December 2, 2014
    • They do Poppytump, so nice to get my own to play with. I love the details too, who knew raspberries were so fuzzy, or bees so hairy. I’m sure I will, there will be somewhere, then I just need to find the students. Thank you, the ones up in the Mallee do well, word spreads, but down here it is different. Thank you so much, it has been too hot and humid here to get out and take photos, we need a big storm to cool everything down, and hopefully that is coming later today. Take care. 😀

      December 3, 2014
      • poppytump #

        … and meanwhile we just popped the fire on 🙂
        Big storm …. whoo … now wouldn’t that be a cool opportunity for some monochrome madness with a touch drama . Hope so 😉

        December 3, 2014
      • I wish I was there, I love fires, cold weather, bring it on.
        It could be, but mostly like not, it is looking a bit boring out there. Yeah, I know I’m being lazy, LOL 😛

        December 3, 2014
      • poppytump #

        *Lazy* !! .. not a description I associate with you Leanne Lol … I’ll just take that as read then that it’s just NOT going to be a – happening in the sky this time 😉

        December 3, 2014
      • Oh I can be, I love having people to work with, it makes me work and makes me get out. I hate leaving the house. LOL. No it’s not going to happen, I think the rain is going to creep over, the sky has gone grey and is very blah.

        December 3, 2014
  29. Ah! I do love this macro photography!

    December 3, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear, thank you so much.

      December 3, 2014
  30. Amy #

    Stunning macro shots! What a capture of the bee, Wow!!!

    December 3, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, I know the bee was the best, happy time to be photo bombed.

      December 3, 2014
  31. Beautiful macro photos. Especialy struck by the raspberry and the fly(?) in flight.

    December 3, 2014
    • Thank you, yeah I don’t know what that thing was in flight, it wasn’t a bee, not really a fly, but a bug of some sort, how’s that, haha, I loved the raspberry, it tasted really good too.

      December 3, 2014
  32. Glad you received the grant and were able to get a lens as per of it. I am very careful in what I put on Facebook, or Instagram. They can use anything in your feed and we gave permission to it. Thanks for the reminder….. By the way great images!!!

    December 3, 2014
    • Thanks Luis, it was nice to finally get my own macro, so nice. I agree about facebook, I never put anything personal up, not in a public forum like that, I do put up photos, but have started putting big watermarks across them and might make them smaller as well, well they are already small, but even smaller, really render them useless.

      December 3, 2014
  33. Great macros. You will have a lot of fun with this lens. Love the bee hovering. 😀

    December 3, 2014
    • I think so too Raewyn, I am going to have a blast, so many things planned for it. the bee was great. thank you, you’ve changed your profile photo, I saw it on your blog, much nicer photo, can I say that.

      December 3, 2014
  34. Great shots! I loved how you described your “box opening”! I was the same with my Nikon 105mm f/2D – I was like a little child! I love when a lens is heavy and metal. Enjoy your new toy!

    December 3, 2014
    • Thanks Debby, I think I was a little surprised how cool it was to touch, but you have to love the gold boxes that Nikon packages them in, haha, I am getting quite a collection.

      December 3, 2014
  35. Great macro shots. The unexpected, being photo-bombed by the bee, fantastic shot.

    The gold box – I remember a few years back, in the news, someone was successfully selling pretty boxes on eBay.

    FB – Besides a larger watermark, you may also want to go to a smaller image size – no larger than 525 pixels wide. Small is the best countermeasure.

    December 3, 2014
    • Thanks David, I know, I loved how the bee just flew into the shot, so much better than chasing them.
      I don’t know that I think the Nikon boxes are pretty, but I like that they are gold, and contain precious cargo, always exciting to get new toys, now the weather just needs to cool down and stop being humid so I can get out and really try it.
      thanks for that tip, I might do that as well. I already make sure they are quite small, but that might be better as well.

      December 3, 2014
  36. I LOVE that last photo of the bee…it is amazing.

    December 3, 2014
    • Thanks Carol, good photo bombing, I hope it happens more.

      December 3, 2014
  37. Leanne .. Firstly congratulations on getting that envelope. I’m so excited for you. Well deserved and I’m sure you will do wonders .. As for Facebook, I agree might be time for watermarks .. I can’t imaging anyone wanting my pics, but it is always nice to be asked isn’t it. If we want to use Facebook then this is one of those catches. As for your new lens .. You have made my morning special! Truly wonderful pics Leanne, thank you!

    December 3, 2014
    • Thank you Julie, it was quite exciting, and my grant proposal is quite different to anyone else’s, so that was good. Yes, definitely time for big watermarks, I don’t care if they are distracting, that is just how they have to be. You never know Julie, you take great images, and so many people I know have had images stolen, I wonder what it says about me, as far as I know, it has never happened to me. I agree with that as well, if you want to use FB then you have to agree to their terms and conditions, if you don’t, then don’t use it. What a lovely thing to say, thank you so much Julie. 😀

      December 3, 2014
  38. Your Bits and Bobs posts are fast becoming my second favourite feature on your site (second, of course, only to Monochrome Madness). I don’t know why, but I find them so cathartic to read. Love the photobombing bee, by the way 😀

    December 3, 2014
    • Oh wow David, you don’t know how good that is to hear, I often thing that the Tuesday posts are not that well liked, so I am glad people like to hear what I’m up to. Thank you, I loved the photobombing as well. 😀

      December 3, 2014
  39. I’m always a fan of macro photography and these are wonderful. Enjoy your new lens.

    December 4, 2014
    • Thank you, I didn’t used to think I would be, but love it now, always looking for new challenges to do with it.

      December 4, 2014
  40. Wow, I love these photos! I can’t believe you caught that bee in midflight.

    December 18, 2014
    • I know, I couldn’t believe it either, thanks Nia.

      December 18, 2014

Comments are closed.

