Skip to content

Quiet Thursday in December

It is getting here, summer has definitely arrived and December is bound to be a very busy month, what with Christmas and most of us, well in Australia, not wanting to go out much in the heat.  I like these quiet Thursdays, it means a peaceful day.

melbourne-architecture-buildings-fine-art

This is an image I took last weekend while I was in the city wandering the streets.  I loved the way the sun was hitting it, but I also liked it in black and white so much more.  It did have a beautiful sky, but I replaced it, and part of the reason for doing that was to get rid of some of the distractions that were around it.

Just quickly, I have started the one four challenge again, well my entry for it, though it is over on my other blog, go here, One Four Challenge for December Week 1.

I have also done another image for Stacy’s AB Friday, well I have sent it to her but it won’t be published for another day or two, so keep an eye on my other blog, and Visual Venturing.

 

52 Comments
  1. Your choice to convert to monochrome brings out the details and splendor of this architectural wonder. You are in the throes of summer and we’re experiencing dropping temps as winter approaches (although I must say that it’s been one of the colder autumns).

    December 4, 2014
    • Thank you Sally, glad you thought it was a good decision too. We certainly are, we have already been using the air conditioner a lot. I hope your winter is really bad, keep warm.

      December 4, 2014
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The sky in the background makes this perfect. 🙂

    December 4, 2014
    • Thanks Jackie, that’s great to hear. 😀

      December 4, 2014
  3. Lee #

    Architecture Photography at its best. I see many b/w photos everyday and this one is certainly one of the best I have seen in awhile.

    December 4, 2014
    • What a great thing to say Lee, thank you so much.

      December 4, 2014
  4. shandryss #

    Reblogged this on Sparkling Shoes Girl.

    December 4, 2014
  5. I am very proud of your photos! This one only increases my sentiments. Thanks so much, Leanne! Take care! 🙂

    December 4, 2014
    • Thank you so much Fabio, that is a lovely thing to say. 😀

      December 5, 2014
  6. Very striking photograph in black and white. Just written a post comparin colur and black and white for photos.

    December 4, 2014
    • I saw your post, the other thing too is that it is all subjective, and what you think works well in monochrome I might think works better in colour, we are all so different, thanks.

      December 5, 2014
  7. Fantastic angle and post processing Leanne. Have a great day. 🙂

    December 4, 2014
  8. Yes, for sure B&W works for this one – great whips of clouds in the sky.

    December 4, 2014
    • Glad you agree Robert, thank you.

      December 5, 2014
  9. I love the image. Yes it definitely has some great impact. I also love how you’ve left in the distortions that make the buildings look like they are tilted. The new sky is a definite help, accentuating the tilt, just a bit.

    If you don’t like the heat, feel free to send it to us here in the north eastern U.S.!

    December 5, 2014
    • I like that towering really high look, I have to say, I know others would say it looks distorted, but really when you look up them they do do that, I’m glad you like it too John. Oh yes, the new sky was a must. Thank you.
      You can have it all if you like John, if I can work out how to package it up, consider it yours, do you want the humidity as well?

      December 5, 2014
  10. Leanne, your energy and output continue to astound. Have a lovely, restorative day!

    December 5, 2014
    • Thank you, it is good to find some time to do some images like this.

      December 5, 2014
  11. Lita Pixel #

    Love what you did here… 🙂

    December 5, 2014
    • That is wonderful, thank you Lita. 😀

      December 5, 2014
      • Lita Pixel #

        You are so welcome! 🙂

        December 6, 2014
      • 😀

        December 6, 2014
  12. Love this image! It is so foreboding and I think B&W works really well here too.

    December 5, 2014
    • Thank you Laura, I thought it worked too, though there wasn’t much colour in the building, so all good.

      December 5, 2014
      • Definitely more than good. You’re welcome 🙂

        December 5, 2014
      • thanks Laura 😀

        December 5, 2014
  13. I am always startled when someone from your side of the planet says “SUMMER” and for us, it’s the onset of winter. It’s a reminder that where I am is just a dot on a big world, reminds me that life is different elsewhere. Love the architectural shots you take. GREAT skyscraper!

    December 5, 2014
    • Oh yes Marilyn, especially at this time of the year I think, the way you celebrate Christmas with the cold can be so different to us, I love seeing the winter Christmas photos. Thank you, I am trying to get back into the architecture, so I hope you continue to enjoy them.

      December 5, 2014
  14. Nice shot Leanne…..I really like the sense of movement in the sky

    December 5, 2014
    • Thank you Mark, I have to admit I like that look with the sky.

      December 5, 2014
  15. It’s hard for me to imagine December, Christmas, summer and heat all working together. But that’s because I’m so used to seeing snow just about every year around Christmas. We do have sales in the States that they call Christmas in July though. I’m hoping to use my macro lens this weekend to try and get some winter shots. I’m hoping for some sunrise photos if it’s not too cloudy. Lately there’s been a lot of overcast days.

    December 5, 2014
    • We are the opposite Justin, I have only ever experienced one cold Christmas and that was in Denmark, I loved how it got dark early and all the Christmas lights shone brightly, here we have to stay up late to see them. We have people who do Christmas in July, so you are cooking the traditional fare and it isn’t too hot to do it. that would be great, it has been too hot to get out much here, but I want to set some things up inside to see if I can do some macro photography. sunrise is so early here at the moment, and we have been having lots of overcast days too, hot and humid ones, I hate humdity, it really sucks the life out of you.

      December 5, 2014
  16. Leanne, this is a wonderful shot. Love your architectural work and I really like the sky.
    Compliments the building so well, without being the focus.
    It really is hot here presently. We’re getting big storms most afternoons. Hope youre staying cool.

    December 5, 2014
    • Thank you Robyn, I’ve been getting so many compliments on the architectural shots, starting to think I should get back into it.
      It has been hot here too and so humid, everything feels so sticky. the air con has been going almost non stop, we are going to have to save for the electricity bill. 😦

      December 5, 2014
      • You are very good at the architectural shots Leanne and your style stands out as your own. Will you be doing some Melb Christmas again this year?
        I know, the heat. It is horrible!! Yes sticky and unbearable. It is a pity we cant afford to run them anymore. We run ours when need intermittently and have fans going all day and night. Summer’s just begun. Eww!

        December 6, 2014
      • Thank you Robyn, so I hope you are glad to be seeing more of it? I just did a post with some christmas photos, I went in there the other night to take photos. I am doing them for the Council again though.
        I know what you mean about running it and expense. We put in a split system last year, so we wouldn’t have to use the big one so much, we tend to use the central one now only just before we go to bed to cool the bedrooms down. I know, summer has just begun and it is going to get worse. We had a thunder storm early this morning, took the power out briefly, shock the house, woke me up.

        December 6, 2014
  17. Such a powerful image. I love your choice for the One Four challenge as well. I look forward to seeing what else you come up to. 😀

    December 5, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, oh yes, the one four, yes, not totally sure yet, but thing I should be able to think of some things, I hope. 😀

      December 5, 2014
  18. poppytump #

    You make something ordinary – into extraordinary Leanne !
    Fantastic sky and monumental building 🙂

    December 5, 2014
    • I don’t know about that, but thank you Poppytump, it is nice to hear. 😀

      December 5, 2014
  19. Reblogged this on Random Shots.

    December 5, 2014
  20. wow to the angle and the rush of the sky!

    December 6, 2014
    • thank you, I want to get into the city and do more.

      December 6, 2014
  21. Leanne, the tonal contrasts in this photo are just gorgeous! And the replacement sky you chose with its wispiness is perfect – adds just the right amount of interest without being distracting. Do you use most often use a tripod for shots like these?

    I love reading all the comments that are before mine, as I always seem to learn something new – like now I know Melbourne is humid in the summer. It gets humid in Washington DC too – my least favorite time of the year here. The only saving grace is that come August, most Washingtonians leave town (including the US Congress) so the traffic (or relative lack of it) is a dream 🙂

    December 9, 2014
    • Thank you Stacy, I thought the sky needed replacing the original was just blue and blah. I rarely use a tripod Stacy, I tend to just go for it, I use a tripod if I want longer exposures, or I am doing work for someone, but generally, I just take photos.
      I hadn’t thought of the comments being useful like that, but I guess you are right. Though Melbourne isn’t usually humid, it has been that way this last week, but that is unusual, normally we have more of a dry heat here, though I have found over the last few years that it is getting more and more humid. that would be nice, everyone leaving town. 😀 That doesn’t really happen here.

      December 9, 2014
      • Thanks for the info on your tripod use, Leanne. You must have very steady hands 😉 As for dry heat, I once visited Las Vegas (considered to be a desert climate here) and when I got off the plane at 11pm and stepped outside, it was like breathing in air directly from a hair dryer! Hot and dry or hot and sticky – neither for me, please. I’ll take cold and snowy any day over that 😉

        December 9, 2014
      • I don’t know Stacy, maybe, it is just the way I’ve always taken photos, I find the tripod cumbersome, so if I can avoid using it I do, though I have paid the price for not using it as well. 🙂 Oh yes, we get days like that really hot, with a strong northerly wind, and it is like that, horrible, best place to be is indoors with good cooling. I don’t love the cold, but prefer it over the heat, so I might come join you. 😉

        December 9, 2014
      • Any time 🙂

        December 9, 2014
      • 😀

        December 9, 2014
  22. This is stunning Leanne. Happy Holidays to you and your family!!!🎁

    December 24, 2014
    • Thank you Gail, and Merry Christmas to you and your family too.

      December 24, 2014

Comments are closed.

