Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Christmas in Melbourne

city-melbourne-christmas-lights-decorations-498

The other night I had a Social Snappers Excursion in the city and part of the reason for it was to photograph the Christmas decorations and lights into the city. Everything is up now in the city of Melbourne, and it is almost the same as it was last year, and the year before.  It was a little disappointing.  Last year I was given the job of photographing the display for the City of Melbourne, and this year, they said they would contact me, but I never heard from them, and perhaps it is because nearly everything was the same.

city-melbourne-christmas-lights-decorations-487

The Elves look the same in the City Square, but the tree doesn’t look quite as good, it was nice, but it wasn’t the same as it was in previous years.  We came back when it was dark and I got no inspiration at all, I didn’t even take a photo. There was no maze for the kids, and not even sure if they had activities for them.  Compared to previous years it was a bit boring.

city-melbourne-christmas-lights-decorations-492

We tried to get the sunset alone the river with the mistletoe bridge in the foreground, It wasn’t much of a sunset, but I’m okay with it.  I did enhance the sunset quite a bit.

city-melbourne-christmas-lights-decorations-495

One of the things I do like is how I don’t have to worry about getting images for the council, so I can play, I like that.  I’ve been trying to think of different ways of getting images of the Christmas lights and such.

city-melbourne-christmas-lights-decorations-499

The lights are on the Melbourne Town Hall again, but they are different lights from last year.  I did really enjoy them this year.  I just set my camera up to take a photo every few seconds, and then I could just watch.  It was a great way of doing the shots.

I took a video with my phone, wasn’t so great, but if you want to see it, here is a link to it, Melbourne town hall Christmas 2014. As I said I did it with my phone, so it isn’t great, but it does give you an idea of that is there.

I have some images for you now, I will put them in a gallery for you.  It was a great night for taking photos, I have to go again on Sunday night with another group of Social Snappers, so it was good that I have been there before, so now I can get a better idea of what we can do in there.  Have Christmas arrived where you are?  I hope you have a good weekend.

 

66 Comments
  1. Yay, Christmas!!

    December 6, 2014
  2. This looks so wrong….! Not your pictures, obviously. But shorts and Christmas Decorations? I think I’ll never get those two together 😉

    December 6, 2014
    • LOL, I know just what you mean, but this is our Christmas, shorts, T-shirts and thongs. It really isn’t the same, it is like we are pretending. 😀

      December 6, 2014
  3. Great photos! Love the colours on Town Hall. 🙂

    December 6, 2014
    • Thanks John, they did like a Christmas around the world theme this year, it was very colourful. 😀

      December 6, 2014
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I like the Big Benish clock tower through the street bells. I don’t think your pictures are boring at all. 🙂

    December 6, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, I like that one as well, I really wanted to get that shot, I just wanted very red bells though, but they never went all red again. 😀

      December 6, 2014
      • I love that one! 😀

        December 11, 2014
      • That’s wonderful Robyn, thank you. 😀

        December 11, 2014
  5. Beautiful Christmas photos! I love the Town Hall photo!mhugz Lisa and Bear

    December 6, 2014
    • Thank you Lisa, the town hall looks great with the light show, it is amazing to watch.

      December 6, 2014
  6. So beautiful and festive! You just need a little snow! 🙂

    December 6, 2014
    • Wouldn’t that be amazing, but alas, it has never snowed in Melbourne, and definitely never in summer, LOL. When the sun goes down we like to pretend we are some where else. Thank you.

      December 6, 2014
  7. The beauty of colorful Melbourne

    December 6, 2014
    • Thank you, Melbourne is definitely beautiful.

      December 6, 2014
  8. I’m so enjoying wandering around Australia with you. If I never get there, I will have your photos to remember.

    December 6, 2014
    • Thank you lulu, I love your comment, part of the reason why I started doing these posts.

      December 6, 2014
  9. Lee #

    Love that town hall! Merry Christmas!

    December 6, 2014
    • It looks fantastic for Christmas Lee, thank you and Merry Christmas to you too.

      December 6, 2014
  10. Beautiful lights and decorations. Great perspectives in your shots!

    December 6, 2014
    • Thank you Tiny, it was good trying to find a different way of doing things.

      December 6, 2014
  11. colourful and fun! I can’t imagine Christmas without snow though!!! 🙂

    December 6, 2014
    • thanks Cybele, I couldn’t imagine christmas with snow, I’ve only ever experienced one cold christmas, in Denmark, it is nearly always hot here. 😀

      December 6, 2014
  12. Have a lovely weekend Leanne.

    December 6, 2014
  13. You’ve found really creative ways to capture Christmas time in Melbourne! I especially like the shots with those big bells in foreground and the clock tower in the background. Really great and inspiring photos Leanne!

    December 6, 2014
    • thank you Elina, it was great to try some different things, I think after photographing it before, I’ve had time to think about it. I love that shot too, I really planned that one. Hoping to get it with the bells all red tomorrow night. Thanks again Elina.

      December 6, 2014
  14. Great shots Leanne, but for me Yule is not the same without snow. 🙂
    We’re going to a Yule market at the folk museum today. I’m bringing the camera of course. Have a great weekend.

    December 6, 2014
    • Thanks Cardinal, it funny because I can’t imagine it with snow. I’ve spent a lifetime of Christmas shorts and t-shirts, and being very hot.
      I hope you get some great photos at the market, you have a great weekend too. 😀

      December 6, 2014
  15. Great shots, Leanne! I guess people there don’t sing “I’m dreaming of a white Christmas…”!

    December 6, 2014
    • Thank you Thomas, we do, we would like a white Christmas, but we also know it will never happen, not here. 😦

      December 6, 2014
  16. Lovely set of photos, I enjoyed the Town Hall ones the most. It does look like a big wrapped up present! As you mentioned in a previous post, yes, the decorations are the same this year. Pity there isn’t a maze in City Square, I was expecting that and this year it looks bland. So glad you can take photos at your own leisure this year. It’s always fun when we’re doing what we love just for ourselves and we don’t have to live up to expectations. Have fun in the city tomorrow night 🙂

    December 6, 2014
    • Thanks Mabel, have you been down to see it yet? I liked it, thought it was great. I know the city square is quite boring really, even the tree looks sad. I am glad too in a way, means I can do what I like and have fun with it all. thanks you have a good weekend too. 😀

      December 6, 2014
      • “…even the tree looks sad”. You summed it up well. I’ve passed by a few times City Square and I didn’t feel the need to stop and look.

        Have yet to see the Town Hall lights. Will do so in the next few weeks when work wraps up and I have all the time in the world. Can’t wait, finally all this busyness is coming to an end 😀

        December 6, 2014
      • Yes, it is quite uninspiring this year, compared to the last couple.
        The light show on the Town Hall is great, my only criticism is the music can be hard to hear. I hope you get in to see it.

        December 7, 2014
  17. Oh wow Sweet pix! I like the town hall

    December 7, 2014
    • Thank you, the town hall does look great when they are doing this.

      December 7, 2014
  18. lovely photos…but like other commenters, Christmas without snow????? The town hall looks amazing

    December 7, 2014
    • Yep, no snow, hot, hot days, that is what Christmas is in Australia. Santa should be in shorts, LOL. Thanks, the town hall is great to watch, I love the light show they put on it.

      December 7, 2014
  19. Amy #

    Remarkable! Love the town hall image, Wow!!

    December 7, 2014
    • Thanks Amy, it does look amazing, I mean the town hall.

      December 7, 2014
  20. Reblogged this on Covey View.

    December 7, 2014
  21. Beautiful photos.

    December 7, 2014
  22. Great photos. A lot more festive than here in Hastings. I should go in at night to see if there are any lights but I doubt it. People do up their houses so maybe one night my daughter and I will do a tour of the different houses for photos. 😀

    December 7, 2014
    • I guess because Melbourne is a big city, well for Australia, they like to put on a show. They do that sort of thing around here, the houses I mean. Our local council doesn’t do much, you would hardly know it was Christmas, and what they do put up I don’t know that anyone really notices. Thanks Raewyn. 😀

      December 7, 2014
  23. in this case the lyrics of the famous song would be something like “I’m dreaming of a green Christmas… ” 😀 lovely set, Leanne!! 🙂

    December 7, 2014
    • Yes, they could be, LOL, it is different, the hot weather for Christmas, well compared to many others, but it is what we are used to here, it is always hot. Thank you Alex.

      December 7, 2014
  24. Very beautiful at this time of year.

    December 7, 2014
    • Oh yes, it is Carol, wonderful.

      December 7, 2014
  25. Love the colors and the Christmas spirit all around.
    Not much going on around here yet…….
    Been raining here for a few days, putting a damper on things.
    Probably not going to see anyone wearing shorts, that for sure.

    December 7, 2014
    • Thank you Mary, the colours in the city are so good.
      I hope things start happening, it is still very early in the month.
      Oh yes, rain, we are getting a bit of that now.
      Haha, oh yes, it has been shorts weather around here lately.

      December 7, 2014
  26. So beautiful dear Leanne Cole, Thank you, love, nia

    December 7, 2014
  27. poppytump #

    Well it looks looks jolly and Christmassy to me Leanne – all packaged up and be ribboned . Not overly colourful here locally I feel , many people are not putting up their trees or lights until later and later all down to the increasing electricity prices . Hope you’ve had a good Sunday 🙂

    December 7, 2014
    • I’m glad to hear that Poppytump, I think so too. Oh yes, I am not as many people are doing here either, electricity is getting so expensive. I did have a good Sunday, I went back into the city to do the Christmas ones again, it was great. I hope you did too. Thanks Poppytump. 😀

      December 8, 2014
  28. This is something I would love to experience one day: spending Christmas in shorts and T-shirt! Lovely pics!

    December 8, 2014
    • I hope you get to do it too Vasilis, it is different, though very laid back and relaxed too. Thank you.

      December 8, 2014
  29. what a festive treat Leanne! thank you for sharing Melbourne at Xmas…do plan to visit one day 🙂 i especially love the clock with hanging lights in the foreground – it captures me. best, j

    December 8, 2014
    • I hope you do Julia, Melbourne is fantastic, well I think it is. The image you liked has been liked by many, it is my favourite too. Thank you.

      December 8, 2014
  30. I love the one with the clock tower and purple lights!!

    December 8, 2014
    • Thank you Sabina, I think that one has been one of the most popular, and also my favourite.

      December 8, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. City Lights – Social Snappers | Photographic Jewells

Comments are closed.

