Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: From Bourke to Spring in Melbourne

city-melbourne-architecture-sights-512

Last weekend when I was wandering around the city with those people and taking photos, I showed you some of the images last weekend, but we did wander from the Bourke Street Mall all the way up to Spring street.  Last weekend I stopped the photos with the Christmas decorations, so today I thought I would show you more of what were taken at the Mall and to just before I left the city.

city-melbourne-architecture-sights-504

Being the first weekend of the 2014 Christmas Festival the city was packed with people, and there were buskers everywhere. Some on their own, or small groups like this entertaining the people.  Some are good, some aren’t, but it is nice to hear and see them.  I have to start making sure I have money or change when I go in so I can give them some.  I think if I’m taking photos I should leave some money.  These guys didn’t last long, well in this set, they had been there for a while and just after they started playing their power was cut off.  They were good too.

city-melbourne-architecture-sights-505

We ended up walking up Little Collins Street.  I haven’t really done that before, so it was great to see some new architecture.  One of the buildings I showed you the other day, and in the gallery I will include the original image with only minor adjustments.

city-melbourne-architecture-sights-509

When you come to the top of Little Collins Street, at Spring Street, you seeParliament House.  I loved the way the light was hitting it.  The glow from the afternoon light was beautiful.  I haven’t been down this way in a while, and the last time I was here they were working on the steps and they were all blocked off.  It is a great building, I have plans for more photos.

city-melbourne-architecture-sights-515

I have some photos of the fountain that I used for the AB Friday challenge.  It is hard to photograph, but I didn’t have my tripod with me and I think I would like to try some long exposure on it at some point.

city-melbourne-architecture-sights-522

In this image is a statue of Pastor Sir Douglas Nicholls and his wife. Lady Gladys Nicholls, he was the first Aboriginal person to be knighted and also the first appointed to vice-regal office, serving as Governor of South Australia from 1 December 1976 until his resignation on 30 April 1977 due to poor health. (from Wikipedia) I think it is a great statue, I love how they look like they are wandering down the street.

I have more photos for you, which I will put into a gallery.  Hopefully the problems WordPress were having yesterday are all fixed up and won’t happen again today.  I don’t think I have ever experienced WordPress breaking down that badly before, it was almost funny, couldn’t do anything on it.  I hope you all have a great weekend, it is raining in Melbourne this Sunday morning, it is refreshing after the heat and humidity we’ve had.

38 Comments
  1. Thanks for taking my eyes through a visual feast of Melbourne… I have loved the journey 🙂

    December 7, 2014
    • My pleasure Kaz, can’t wait to do it for real.

      December 7, 2014
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I love the Parliament House, it’s brightness astounds one. The variety is great and that statue is amazing. 🙂

    December 7, 2014
    • The lighting was fantastic for that shot, I will have to remember that and see if I can get some more. Thank you so much Jackie 😀

      December 7, 2014
  3. Barry Morrison #

    Great stuff!

    December 7, 2014
  4. A very enjoyable tour, and some great images.

    December 7, 2014
    • That’s great to hear, thank you.

      December 7, 2014
  5. Beautiful images as always. I agree with you about that statue being charming.

    December 7, 2014
    • Thank you Papict, I know that is such an unusual statue, the people in them are usually so stiff and formal.

      December 7, 2014
  6. Loved it. Was the ‘statue’ man in the mall at all? He is totally fascinating.

    December 7, 2014
    • He may have been Suz, but I didn’t see him, it was pretty crowded. Thanks

      December 7, 2014
  7. Love your black and white photo of he guitarist Leanne.

    December 7, 2014
  8. Street musicians (you call them buskers?) have always fascinated me. Melbourne seems to be beautiful a place.

    December 7, 2014
    • Yes, any street performers we call buskers, unless the name has changed and no one told me. It is a beautiful city, and it is thriving with life these days, a busy city.

      December 7, 2014
  9. Wonderful street photos!

    December 7, 2014
  10. Amy #

    Thank you for this fabulous tour, Leanne!

    December 7, 2014
    • You’re very welcome Amy, so glad you liked them, thank you.

      December 7, 2014
  11. Can’t imagine Christmas in summer – your great photos are helping.

    December 7, 2014
    • You might have to come and try it one day Maxine, it is different, but also the same in some ways.

      December 8, 2014
  12. poppytump #

    Super pictures Leanne – busking in the sunshine how lovely … and Sir D really looks like he is mid sentence as he strolls along Lol
    Parliament building does look splendid in that honeyed light . I suddenly thought of wedding cakes in the old days when the numerous tiers were held up by tiny pillars … cupcakes and cheese rounds seem to be the thing now 🙂

    December 7, 2014
    • Lovely Poppytump, I love what you have written and the vision you have created with your words. thank you so much. 😀

      December 8, 2014
  13. Fantastic! I was actually in Melbourne last weekend, too! I was also hanging out around Bourke street – who knows, we may have walked past each other. It had been over 10 years since I visited and I was floored by all the amazing architecture around, especially a lot of the banks.
    Actually, it’s pretty funny because I saw this amazing building on Collins Street and I stood there staring at it, thinking “I’m pretty sure Leanne took a great photo of this building”.

    December 7, 2014
    • How come you were in Melbourne, and why didn’t you let me know David. It would have been great to meet up. Melbourne would have changed a lot in ten years, it keeps changing. I hope you weren’t too disappointed with it.
      Which building in Collins Street David? I did recently photograph a whole heap of buildings there.

      December 8, 2014
      • I wasn’t disappointed at all. In fact, I was pretty blown away by how beautiful everything was. And I’m just looking up the building now, and I think it’s called the Manchester Unity building. It’s absolutely gorgeous, with a touch of gothic to boot. Sorry I didn’t let you know I was in Melbourne, but it was more of a romantic getaway, so I made a conscious effort to put my photography and camera aside (it was hard!). I did get a chance to wander around snapping away when my fiancee went to a day spa though, which worked out well for both of us. I have a huge backlog of photos to sort through before I even touch the ones I took in Melbourne, but keep an eye out – I’ll upload some photos eventually.

        As an aside: The ANZ on Collins street (the one with the banking museum inside) is absolutely gorgeous. They just don’t put the same amount of effort into modern architecture.

        December 8, 2014
      • That’s good to hear David, and I understand, and you are right it wasn’t the right time. I love the Manchester Unity Building, I have done many images of that.
        I have been to the ANZ place, will have to check it out, thanks for the heads up. They really don’t.

        December 8, 2014
  14. Great photos. You really do bring Melbourne alive. 😀

    December 8, 2014
    • Oh thank you Raewyn, what a lovely thing to say. 😀

      December 8, 2014
  15. What a wonderful city your Melbourne is, Leanne. I love seeing it through your eyes! All wonderful photos, bit I especially love the B&W guitarist 🙂

    December 9, 2014
    • Thank you Stacy, I love it, Melbourne that is, so I love showing it off when I can. 😀 That guitarist was so weird, but you could get good photos of him.

      December 9, 2014
  16. Hi Leanne,

    More great shots! Whenever I “shoot” street performers, I try to get their email address and share the pictures with them. Their reactions are always extreme gratitude as they cannot afford to pay to get good images for their PR work. To me that’s a combination of paying them back for their music and paying it forward.

    December 9, 2014
    • We didn’t really hang around long enough, to be honest, but I have done that in the past, or given them my business card so they could contact me, so far haven’t heard from any. I agree, a great way of doing it. I am happy to share, but I know people can be funny about giving you their email addresses.

      December 9, 2014
  17. A fantastic wander through Melbourne – thanks Leanne – I’ve never done that before and what a great time of year to do it.

    December 11, 2014
    • It is a great thing to do, I loved it, it is a great time of year, so many people. 😀

      December 11, 2014

Comments are closed.

