Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs

my-garden-macro-flowers-rain-533

Tuesday is here again and for me, Tuesday usually means getting Monochrome Madness ready for another week.  I tend to spend the afternoon doing it and then I scheduled the post to publish while I am asleep, so I can just wake up to it.  Nice to know when I go to sleep on Tuesday night it is done.  It isn’t a big week again this week, though I expect more emails will arrive today as well.  If you haven’t got yours in yet, there isn’t much time left.

Introductions and Websites

It was great to see how many of you really enjoyed the introductions post last week for Alex Bihlo.  At the time I did the post on Alex he only had his Google+ page, but he and I started talking and he thought it might be good to look into getting something.  I received an email from him the my-garden-macro-flowers-rain-525other day and he told me he has put one together, so I thought I would tell you.  It is a website, ALEX BIHLO PHOTOGRAPHY, and you can find many of Alex’s amazing images there.

Interviews

I had a wonderful experience this week when I received an email from Julie Powell wanting to know if she could interview me for a project she is working on.  I rarely get interviewed, actually almost never, so it was wonderful to have someone asking me and wanting to showcase my work.  I was emailed a list of questions and I answered them, and then emails went backwards and forwards.  Then I was sent a link to the interview, so I have it here for you as well, An Interview with Leanne Cole, Photographer.  Some of the questions were really interesting and it was quite a comprehensive look at my photography.  I want to thank Julie for thinking I was interesting enough to interview.

New York

My trip dates are starting to get finalised with the hope of buying the tickets soon.  Thanks to everyone for the help on what gear to take, I think I have a better handle on that now.  I am not going to say too much on it now, but I do plan on starting a regular part of these my-garden-macro-flowers-rain-535posts on my lead up to it next year.  I am hoping to meet many of  you that live in those areas when I am there as well.

Social Snappers

We had our last Social Snappers Photography Excursion for the year the other night.  We went back into the city to take photos of the Christmas Decorations.  I love how organic these can be.  I like that there is a rough plan, but if everyone wants to go somewhere else then we do and it isn’t a problem.  Because I had been on Thursday night, I didn’t take a lot of photos, but I did spend time trying to get one ladies camera to cooperate, it wasn’t behaving.  I might need to download the manual and have a proper look.  Another lady forgot her tripod plate, which is the same as mine, so we spent time sharing our plates.  It was a great evening, and that is what it is about really.  I like being asked to help, it was good to feel usual.  I am looking forward to them starting up again next year.

Macro

my-garden-macro-flowers-rain-531The weather has been shocking here, we have been getting a bit of rain, and lots of humidity, yuck.  Not what we are used to here in Melbourne.  I haven’t been using the macro lens as much as I would like, but I have plans for some things.  I did go out yesterday just after the rain to take some photos of the flowers in my garden, and they are the photos in this post. I will be trying out the macro a lot more over the next few weeks.  So far, I can’t tell the difference between using the Nikon or the Tamron, except the Nikon is a little heavier.  All the images in this post were hand held, so I can use it like the Tamron as well. I will test it out more and let you know what I think.

One Four Challenge

I have done my image for the week and if you would like to see what i have done, then you will need to go to my other blog,  One Four Challenge for December Week 2.

That’s it for today, remember to get your MM images in straight away. I just wanted to add, if you have a major announcement or something, and I know you, then please let me know, I don’t mind telling others about it.

 

 

57 Comments
  1. Hope the weather improves for you soon Leanne.

    December 9, 2014
    • Thanks Colline, I’m sure it will, then we will be complaining that it is too hot. 😉

      December 9, 2014
  2. I love the agapanthus and I posted some similar photos last year!

    December 9, 2014
    • I saw some, were they yours, and that inspired me to go and photograph mine.

      December 9, 2014
  3. I’m surprised the you can get such clear images without a tripod. You must have a steady hand, or are supported by a wall or…well done.

    December 9, 2014
    • Thank you Sally, I have it on continuous clicking and I take several shots and hope one is in focus, usually one is, LOL.

      December 9, 2014
  4. Lovely photos Leanne. Thanks for the heads up on Alex. I am so glad he now has a website and I am heading over there now 🙂

    December 9, 2014
    • You’re welcome Kaz, I am glad he does too, it will be a great place for people to see his work collectively. Thanks 😀

      December 9, 2014
  5. PS Congrats on the interview, you deserve it 🙂

    December 9, 2014
    • Oh thank you, it was a lot of fun.

      December 9, 2014
  6. Beautiful!

    December 9, 2014
  7. lensaddiction #

    I have booked my tickets to Tasmania!!!! Going in April next year 🙂

    December 9, 2014
    • I want to get there, but I will be in the US then, I might wait for the winter time, I don’t know why, but I want to see Tasmania in winter. 😀

      December 9, 2014
      • lensaddiction #

        I might get a chance of some snow on Cradle mountain hopefully 🙂

        December 9, 2014
      • You might, I think it will depend on what sort of summer we get, if it is long, maybe not, but if it fizzles and isn’t much, you might get it. 😀

        December 9, 2014
  8. Christine wilson #

    Our garden is full of the agapathus andi have been taking some shots , loving your floral shots with the macro , congrats on a great interview 🙂

    December 9, 2014
    • That is great Chris, I hope you get lots of shots, have you got the macro yet? Thank you, I am enjoying having my own, and thanks for that too, great experience. 🙂

      December 9, 2014
  9. I love your photography 🙂

    December 9, 2014
    • that is wonderful to hear, thank you.

      December 9, 2014
      • You’re welcome. I love that your photos are all in focus. I recently bought a new camera so hopefully I’ll be able to take better photos like yours 🙂

        December 9, 2014
      • How exciting, new cameras are always fun, and I’m sure you will get wonderful shots, it is all about practicing and just keep doing it. Good Luck. 😀

        December 9, 2014
  10. Great interview on Julie’s site. And these macros are just beautiful!

    December 9, 2014
    • Thanks Laura, it was fun doing it too, thanks about the macros, it is shame there aren’t more flowers in the garden, might have to plant more. 😀

      December 9, 2014
      • You’re welcome 🙂 Yes! Plant plant!!

        December 9, 2014
      • Haha, I will have to work on my garden, now that I have the macro, I am finding I want a better garden. 😀

        December 9, 2014
  11. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I may not know much but I know pretty. 🙂

    December 9, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie. That’s wonderful. 😀

      December 9, 2014
  12. Nic #

    I don’t know why but your other blog wouldn’t let me comment… but I wanted to leave you a note about your one-four-challenge…

    Wow, that’s neat how you made that tree grow out and give the photo such movement. I really felt like there was a strong hot gust of wind blowing that tree about. Nice job!

    December 9, 2014
    • It does Nic, and I got your comment, it just looks like it isn’t working, but it does, so I will reply to the comment you left there.

      December 9, 2014
      • Nic #

        Oh sorry, then you must have gotten several… because I kept clicking on comment. Apologies.

        December 9, 2014
      • No, only one came through, I know it is the weirdest thing, I don’t know why it is like that. It very strange. Really no need to apologise, it is a pain.

        December 9, 2014
  13. Congratulations on a fabulous interview, Leanne – may fame be quickly followed by fortune, so that you can buy all the camera gear you long for! 😉

    And I love Alex’s new website – it’s perfectly suited to the vast scale of his photos; looking at them makes me feel calm and peaceful, like catching a glimpse of the eternal within the moment.

    December 9, 2014
    • Thank you Reggie, that would be wonderful if it happened.

      His new website is fabulous I agree, he did a great job getting it together so quickly as well. I like how you have described it, I hope you told Alex as well. 😀

      December 9, 2014
  14. beautiful denizens of the garden!! I will be reading your interview! congratz!

    December 9, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, I hope you enjoy my interview.

      December 9, 2014
  15. Hey Leanne .. I popped on over to Alex’s website. Wow! His work is amazing. Congrats on the interview 🙂

    December 9, 2014
    • Oh yes, I agree Julie, it really is amazing, and the site is so good too. Thank you on the interview too. 😀

      December 9, 2014
  16. Great interview, Leanne! I also enjoyed checking out the photos on Alex Bihlo’s site. I hope the weather clears up a bit for you. I know that hot, humid summers can be brutal (central Florida!). Love your macro photos.

    December 10, 2014
    • Thank you Linda, and that is great, thanks for taking a look at Alex’s website. I am sure it will, just a matter of time, though last December was quite grey too, so maybe it is becoming the norm here. We don’t usually get much humidity, more the hot, hot summers, hot winds that sort of thing. Thank you.

      December 10, 2014
  17. gaiainaction #

    WOW! lovely shots!

    December 10, 2014
  18. WE have rain today and it is welcome, though the humidity isn’t. Love your macros. 😀

    December 10, 2014
    • I know what you mean, you also need a lot of rain to get rid of the humidity and then it doesn’t quite rain enough. Thank you. 😀

      December 10, 2014
  19. Thanks for the inspiration and ideas that you give to me through your blog.

    December 10, 2014
    • You’re welcome Steven, that is wonderful to hear you find inspiration here. Thank you.

      December 10, 2014
  20. Gorgeous photos Leanne – hope you’re enjoying the macro a little bit even though the weather isn’t playing nice. The droplets do add a nice touch though.
    Great that Alex now has a site and so good you finished a year of Social Snappers. Congrats!!
    Saw Christmas pics on Julie’s blog and btw, congrats on the Interview – I haven’t read it but I know it’s well deserved. Off to read it after this.
    Not sure if I’ve missed anything – but great post and interesting read 😀

    December 11, 2014
    • A great interview Leanne – like the informality – I said to Julie, it’s like talking on the phone 🙂
      Keep doing what you are doing – it’s inspiring!

      December 11, 2014
      • thanks for taking the time to read it Robyn, it was great fun doing it. 😀

        December 11, 2014
      • Usually youre on the other side – I enjoyed reading your thoughts and answers 😃

        December 11, 2014
      • I know, it was nice to be interviewed for a change. That’s great to hear Robyn.

        December 11, 2014
    • I am Robyn, trying to get it worked out, I do rather enjoy using it.
      Oh yes, his new site looks fantastic.
      Thanks about the interview, I was quite chuffed getting asked.
      I’m sure you got it all Robyn, thanks again. 😀

      December 11, 2014
  21. Great interview 🙂

    December 12, 2014

Comments are closed.

