Skip to content

Up for Discussion: Getting a Touch of Colour for Christmas

Since Monochrome Madness 43 is going to be Christmas images with a touch of colour, and quite a few people said they wanted a tutorial on it, I’ve tried to do that.  I mentioned on Wednesday that I had written a tutorial a while back on how to do it,  Colour Coming Through, My Way.  It is one way of doing this, but I am sure there are other ways.

block-arcade-touch-of-colour

I have done two tutorials showing you how to do this, one in Photoshop 2014 and on in Photoshop Elements 12. I am sure the one for Elements would be the same with GIMP, and both require you to work with layers.  I don’t know how to do it without layers, though I am sure there are ways.

I decided that since I did it a couple of weeks ago, perhaps we can open this conversation up.  So if you have a tutorial that you can send a link to, then please add to the comments and I will add it to the post.

If you know a different way to do this, then please leave an explanation that I can cut and paste into the post.  All suggestions will be considered.  It would be great to get some ideas from you.

Rainbow Junkie has sent a link to a tutorial she has done, Monochrome with a touch of colour and she used Coral Photo Paint.

theinbetweendream has sent a link for how to do this in Lightroom, Use this selective color Lightroom trick to make your photos pop.

I have done a few images for you to give you some ideas and inspiration for some things you could do.  Of course what you can do is endless.

 

75 Comments
  1. Madiha Hussain #

    wow brilliant! you’re so talented. if you want you can have a look at some of my photography on my blog 🙂

    December 12, 2014
    • Thank you, it is not something I tend to do, as I don’t have a lot of time, and I do get to look at work all the time. I can’t make promises. 🙂

      December 12, 2014
  2. I know you are busy, but since we are getting in the Christmas mood, check my holiday wreath collection. Are there any candidates there for potential monochrome treatment?

    December 12, 2014
    • You will have to decide, I wouldn’t know which to pick, I am always very bad at doing it. I’m sure whichever one you choose will be wonderful.

      December 12, 2014
  3. Oops, the wreath collection can be found on my blog at: http://reninassancemusings.wordpress.com/2014/12/11/williamsburg-christmas-holiday-wreaths-a-photo-essay/

    December 12, 2014
  4. teggers #

    Oh great, this is something I’ve been wanting to try my hand at!

    December 12, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear, try it and if you are happy do it for a Christmas image and send it in for MM43, 😉

      December 12, 2014
  5. These 2 tutes are great Leanne.
    Love these Christmassy photos and the touch of colour makes them even more Christmassy 😀

    December 12, 2014
    • Thanks Robyn, I tried to make them short, and to the point. Glad they came out okay.
      Oh yes, I like that touch of colour, nice about the monochrome.

      December 12, 2014
      • I like the way you have opened this up for discussion too – a great way of doing it.

        December 12, 2014
      • Thanks Robyn, something I want to do a lot more.

        December 12, 2014
      • 😀😀

        December 12, 2014
  6. And why not 🙂 I love a bit of selective colouring!

    December 12, 2014
    • Oh yes, why not, thanks Sarah. 😀

      December 12, 2014
  7. Thank you.

    December 12, 2014
  8. Great photos. Love the hint of colour to show the Christmas spirit. 😀

    December 12, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, I like that hint of colour, gives it something else. 😀

      December 12, 2014
  9. I love the contrast and how the color directs you eye through the frame. Awesome work!

    December 12, 2014
    • Great observation, I like that thank you.

      December 12, 2014
  10. Christine wilson #

    The selective colouring is so effective Leanne my
    fave is the tea rooms ,love them

    December 12, 2014
    • I was quite surprised about it as well Christine.
      I like that one too, thank you.

      December 12, 2014
  11. I chose fairly simple examples but just for fun I wrote a post on this a few weeks ago when I was thinking about how I would do it. The post is here. http://rainbowjunkiecorner.wordpress.com/2014/11/20/monochrome-with-a-touch-of-colour/

    December 12, 2014
    • Thanks for that, I just added a link to the post, and you used a different program, so even better.

      December 12, 2014
  12. Amy #

    Great gallery here! Thank you, Leanne!

    December 12, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, I really enjoyed doing them. Now I don’t know what I will do for MM43 but I am sure something will come up. 😀

      December 12, 2014
      • Amy #

        MM is getting better and better every week. 🙂

        December 12, 2014
      • I agree, I can’t get over how good the work is, it is amazing. 😀

        December 12, 2014
  13. Nic #

    Leanne, Great tutorials… I’m not sure how else to do selective color, that is the way I do it too! 🙂

    December 12, 2014
    • That’s okay Nic, it is just that people often do them differently, and there are usually other ways, or different programs, someone just sent one using Coral Photo Paint, so that is good.
      Thanks 🙂

      December 12, 2014
  14. The photos are even more stunning with a touch of colour.

    December 12, 2014
    • I am really surprised how well they came out Colline, it does add a touch of something, glad you think so too, thank you.

      December 12, 2014
  15. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Whoa! That is cooler than cool. 🙂

    December 12, 2014
    • Isn’t it Jackie, thank you. 😀

      December 12, 2014
  16. Good Post. I have a number of Images that I did using my PSPX7 program, but since I have had to purchase another computer I’m having trouble recovering my work. I’ll keep trying.

    December 12, 2014
    • what is that program, I don’t know it? It is terrible getting new computers and having that problem. Good luck and thank you.

      December 12, 2014
      • That would be paint shop pro version x7, I would guess.

        December 12, 2014
      • Okay, I have Paint, but don’t know if it is the same, it is a bit weird and I couldn’t work out how to do it, so gave up.

        December 13, 2014
  17. I’ve always wanted to learn this technique. I do not use Photoshop software. I did purchase it years ago, but never taught myself. Then I simply removed it. Sometimes that splash of color can infuse a monochrome image with a poignancy. It simply gives it a punch that makes all the difference.

    December 12, 2014
    • Do you have GIMP Sally, I am fairly certain that the steps you use for Photoshop elements would be the same with GIMP, and GIMP is free, so maybe you could try that. I agree, it does give it a extra punch, thanks.

      December 12, 2014
  18. Thanks for the nice tutorial, Leanne! Loved you images too, and will try my hand on a few of my own 🙂

    December 12, 2014
    • That sounds great Tiny, hope you have some fun, would be good if you could send in a photo for MM43. 😀

      December 12, 2014
  19. love love love!!! and yes GIMP is a good program for those without photoshop. I used it a lot before!!

    December 12, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, I agree, I used GIMP for years before I got Photoshop.

      December 12, 2014
    • That’s great, thank you for sending the link.

      December 12, 2014
  20. Of course the selection of what to colour pop rests with the individual, always subjective don’t you think?

    December 12, 2014
    • Yes, it is, though I suspect that as it is a Christmas challenge, there will be lots of greens and reds.

      December 12, 2014
  21. Colour popping works really well for Christmas decs.

    December 12, 2014
    • I agree Gypsy, it surprised me how good it did look.

      December 12, 2014
  22. Super super, Leanne! 🙂

    December 12, 2014
  23. I somehow missed the Christmas theme point… I hope my picture is fine even if it si not directly Christmas related…?

    December 12, 2014
    • It is fine Sarina, though if you want to try one for Christmas you still have plenty of time.

      December 13, 2014
  24. Leanne,
    These b/w holiday pics with enhancements tell more than a story – they capture the spirit of the season – reflecting the bright color of hope in a sometimes monochromatic world.
    AnnMarie 🙂
    Happy Holidays

    December 12, 2014
    • I think you are right AnnMarie, one of the things I’ve notice from doing these photos is that because it is summer here and Christmas, the Christmas bit can be almost overlooked, but by making everything else monochrome it stands out more.
      Merry Christmas to you too, and thank you. 😀

      December 13, 2014
  25. Great post – I love these pictures

    December 13, 2014
  26. i so look forward to your posts…thank you – this one in particular is brilliant! 🙂

    December 13, 2014
    • That is great to hear, thank you so much, and glad you really liked this one. 😀

      December 13, 2014
  27. Thanks so much for this post Leanne .. I’m a novice at photoshop, but will certainly follow the link through to Lightroom tutorial. Love these pics by the way. 🙂

    December 13, 2014
    • The one for Lightroom looks good, I didn’t watch it all the way through, but it is good and you should be able to follow it. Good luck, would love to get an image from you for MM43.

      December 13, 2014
      • Oh boy .. Not sure if I’m up to it yet 🙂

        December 13, 2014
      • I think have a go Julie, see how you go, it really isn’t that hard. 😀

        December 13, 2014
  28. lmarea3070 #

    Usually I don’t like this because it’s been over done, but you took the time to choose what you wanted to colorize. It’s very intricate. And I like your use of light. 🙂 I gotta save up and come see you in Australia! 🙂

    December 14, 2014
    • I did Lisa, it was important to have a little bit of Christmas coming through. thank you, and I really hope you do, would love to show you around my city. 😀

      December 14, 2014
      • lmarea3070 #

        I have to get a job first! If you’re every my way you’re always welcomed.

        December 16, 2014
      • I’m sure I will still be here. I will remember that. thank you for the offer.

        December 16, 2014
  29. lmarea3070 #

    P.S. Will you be writing a book someday?

    December 14, 2014
    • I am planning on writing some books, but not photography ones, more coffee table sort of ones. I have just got a grant to do one on my local area.

      December 14, 2014
      • lmarea3070 #

        Congratulations!

        December 16, 2014
      • Thank you.

        December 16, 2014
  30. Bob #

    Merry Christmas!

    December 14, 2014
    • Thank you Bob and Merry Christmas to you as well.

      December 14, 2014

Comments are closed.

