Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Looking Back at the Photos of Melbourne Part 1

This last week has been busy and tiring, very tiring, and I haven’t been able to get out and take photos like I would have liked, actually if I am truthful, I haven’t been out at all and now I find myself with the weekend being here and no photos for Weekend Wanderings.  I had hoped to get out and take some photos, but it hasn’t been possible, so I thought I might start looking back on the year that has almost ended, seems like a good time to do that sort of thing.

I have been into the city so many times this year to take photos of Melbourne, so this weekend I thought we might just look back on some of the photos I have taken.  This post is going to be the first six months of the year.  I love going back and seeing what I have taken, I have usually forgotten half them, so it is good to see them again.  Tomorrow I will put up the second half of the year, and then over the weekend I will have rounded up the year and my photos of Melbourne.

I am just going to put the images into a gallery for you to look at. I am going to take it easy this weekend, and I hope you get a chance to do the same.

49 Comments
  1. Karen #

    Your arcades remind me of some we have over here, great images. Rest and have a wonderful weekend.

    December 13, 2014
    • Our arcades are very English, in fact a lot of our older architecture here in Melbourne is very English, and some pretty much copies, they were trying to create another England here, the mother country. Thank you Karen, I will, I hope you do too.

      December 13, 2014
      • British Leanne, British 🙂

        December 13, 2014
      • They may refer to them as British now, but it was very English back then, and they were trying to recreate London here. It really was Mother England, and we had no identity of our own. It really is interesting, the history and how we started to realised we could stand on our own, have our own identity, that we didn’t have to feel inferior because we were Australian. It still exists to some extent, but really is very recent, it has happened in my lifetime.

        December 14, 2014
  2. Excelente set Sir !

    Looking back is always a great exercise to keep going forward 😉

    December 13, 2014
    • Thank you, it is also good to remind yourself of what you have taken, I had forgotten a lot of this. 🙂

      December 13, 2014
  3. Thanks for sharing Melbourne, then I can visit this way 😉

    December 13, 2014
    • My pleasure Irene, I love sharing my city, thanks. 😀

      December 13, 2014
  4. Amy #

    An amazing gallery! What a beautiful city through you lens, Leanne!

    December 13, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, I do love my city.

      December 13, 2014
  5. Reblogged this on Hollywood Pop Candy.

    December 13, 2014
  6. Great selection of photos. Sometimes it is nice to go back over old photos and you see them differently second time around. 😀

    December 13, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, I agree, and it is nice to be reminded of ones that have been forgotten. 😀

      December 13, 2014
  7. Get some rest! Love the photos.

    December 13, 2014
  8. I loved looking at your photos of Melbourne. I will have to get over again soon!

    December 13, 2014
    • That’s wonderful Trishagale, thank you, and I hope you get here soon.

      December 13, 2014
  9. Enjoy your weekend, Leanne! I love the first B & W photo and the ferris wheel spokes. Take care! 🙂

    December 13, 2014
    • I plan to Marsha, it has started well. Thank you, glad you liked them, you take care too and I hope you are taking it easy too.

      December 13, 2014
  10. Hey Leanne .. Melb is such a wonderful city, your photos capture everything it is. 🙂

    December 13, 2014
    • I think so too, I do love it and I do love taking photos of it. Thank you Julie, we must go out and do some the next time you are here. 😀

      December 13, 2014
  11. Your city is so beautiful and full of character! I would love to visit some day! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    December 13, 2014
    • I hope you get to come one day Lisa, I am sure you will love it, thank you.

      December 13, 2014
  12. I particularly like the bridge images.

    December 13, 2014
  13. Beautiful photos of Melbourne, Leanne. I loved every single one, thank you for sharing. You’ve certainly captured Melbourne from high up in the sky and down below on the ground 🙂 I can’t wait for part two tomorrow. Is there a favourite part of Melbourne that you like to take photos of? Hope you rest well this weekend. I just came back from the city, it was buzzing with people. Gorgeous weather too 🙂

    December 13, 2014
    • That’s fantastic Mabel. What a question, I think I love doing things around the river the most, certainly an area I keep going back to. thanks Mabel, I’m looking forward to taking some time. I was in the city this morning too, my husband and I went to see Hunger Games at Melbourne Central, then lunch and back home. It is great weather. Have a good one too Mabel. 😀

      December 13, 2014
      • Ah, the Yarra river. I love it too. It looks different in the day and night. Hope you come down again soon. I was in Melbourne Central this morning for an early lunch, we might have passed by each other at some point. I hope you enjoyed the movie 😀

        December 13, 2014
      • I agree, I want to do some more along there, just trying to organise when. How funny, we probably did. 😀 I did enjoy the movie, they have been a great series.

        December 13, 2014
  14. I enjoyed the various images. Having never been, it was nice to see the city through your lens. I did have to chuckle at the architecture, architecture, architecture, tart, architecture… 🙂 (Darn nice looking tart!)

    December 13, 2014
    • Hahaha, I do like the architecture, I also like the cakes from that teashop. Thank you Laura.

      December 13, 2014
  15. Oh Melbourne looks so beautiful through your eye. Because I’m a bit perverse Flinders’ street appeals to me and I want to eat that cake.

    December 14, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, and that part of Flinders Street appeals to me too, but it is fast becoming a place for the homeless, so best to be careful going down there now. When you come to Melbourne we will go and have tea and that cake.

      December 14, 2014
      • sounds good to me Leanne!!

        December 14, 2014
      • We will have to get to the tearooms early though, the queues can be very long.

        December 14, 2014
  16. Good images, Leanne, and here’s to a bit of well earned down time and rest. 🙂

    December 14, 2014
    • Thank you, oh yes, I am enjoying the rest, it is nice. 😀

      December 14, 2014
  17. Inlove with these photos, hope to see more of them soon!
    Makes me want to visit Melbourne when i will have a chance to! ^^

    December 14, 2014
    • Thank you, that is great, so glad you liked them, Melbourne is a great city, I’m sure you would love it.

      December 15, 2014
  18. These photos are so very nice! I especially like the first Flinders street photo with the gray sky in the background. What camera do you use?

    December 22, 2014
    • Thank you, I use a Nikon D800, though, I have learned to use it and hope you don’t think the camera has the skill and not me.

      December 22, 2014
      • Oh, no. I totally realize that the camera, the instrument or the brush can do nothing without the artist!

        December 23, 2014
      • Oh that is good, so many people think that the camera does all the work, it can be rather annoying, as if I don’t do anything.

        December 23, 2014

Comments are closed.

