Skip to content

Tuesdays Bit and Bobs

Tuesday is here again, though there is only 8 days to Christmas and everything does seem to be winding down for the end of the year.  People are working out Christmas presents, putting up trees, and getting into the Christmas spirit.  It hasn’t hit our house this year, I’m sure it will in the next few days, but so far, we all seem to be carrying on as usual.

Social Snappers

I have made a gift voucher for Social Snappers, so that people can buy 5 excursions for people for Christmas.  I thought it would be a nice idea, you know for that pleannecole-ripponlea-20140325-9246erson that loves photography and you don’t know what to get for them.

However, I think I left it too late, and then when I tried to use Facebook to advertise it, well, I just couldn’t believe what they do.  I have done it in the past, boosted a post, I’m sure those that have FB have seen that you can boost posts, but now, if you have anything that looks like an image, and you have lots of writing on it, you know like a poster, well, they won’t approve it.  My image for the gift voucher, was a gift voucher, there were no photos on it, no images, just writing, and it wasn’t approved.  They are LeanneCole-exttubes-9500making it harder and harder, so I won’t be doing that anymore.  I will need to find another way to advertise what I am doing. I should stick with google ads.

One Four Challenge

I have done my Week 3 image for the One Four Challenge that Robyn is running from her blog, Captivate Me, and if you want to see my image here is the link, One Four Challenge for December Week 3.  I was really proud of what I did with this image, and it exceeded my expectations.  I did some new things, and what I did I suspect I will try more of in the future, that is if I can remember what I did.

The Macro

I have been trying out some new things with the macro, and thinking about how else I can use it.  A few years ago I had a an exhibition of sleannecole-macro-20140530-0006ome work I had done with ceramic pieces that I made.  The pieces were made from molds that I had done of everyday items.  I wanted the exhibition to reflect how we are turning our homes into rubbish dumps with consumerism.  For the exhibition I had some perspex boxes made.  They cost me a fortune at the time, but seemed worth it for the exhibition.  Since then they have been sitting around the house, and then I realised they would make perfect light boxes for doing macro photography.

So yesterday I set up the largest one I had to start trying some macro photography. I was trying out photographing jewelry.  I’ve been told that one of the biggest problems with people trying to see work on Etsy is that they don’t have good photos, well not all, but some, so I thought maybe I could do some of this, I mean I already have everything I need.  I like the idea of doing photography that LC3_3231fits in a box, be it a perspex box. I have put a few samples of what I did on Flickr.

News from Others

Last week when I did the post, Introductions: Ken Bennison, and introduced you to Ken he told me he had done a video of his photos and I thought I would share it with you, My Home In The North. It looks amazing and I am sure many of you would enjoy it. There is also a radio interview with Ken, and you can listen to it here.

Back in March I introduced you to another wonderful artist Anja Matko and it looks like she is having an exhibition, there leannecole-typewriter-1403311403319453are photos of it on her blog, so I hope you will go and take a look at that.

Remember if you have news you want to tell people about, let me know and I will add it to this section.

I don’t have any other news now, for the photos for this post, since macro has been a big part of my learning curve this year, I thought I would share some of the early macro photos I took, when I was working it all out.

 

74 Comments
  1. So beautiful 🙂

    December 16, 2014
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Wow, these are great. Some I remember from a while back, or maybe they are just similar, the cats, the cup and saucer, the typewriter and the dandelions – all memorable. I don’t remember this particular waterfall, this effect is stunning. Do you have a picture of your “light box”?

    December 16, 2014
    • Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

      PS: The music was awesome!

      December 16, 2014
    • I have shown all of these before, so you probably do remember them. I don’t have a picture of it, I didn’t even think of taking one, I was trying to find a photo on my blog of the exhibition but couldn’t find one.

      December 16, 2014
  3. Love the type writer images and very much enjoyed looking ay Anja Matkos exhibition on blog. Unique and amazing work.

    December 16, 2014
    • I had forgotten about the type writer, and I am glad you enjoyed her exhibition, her work is amazing. Thanks Wendy.

      December 16, 2014
  4. Beautiful macros and I love the pics of the pussycat. I was trying to catch our cat Bengie licking herself last night, with her pink tongue … I need to get closer like you did!

    December 16, 2014
    • Thanks Chris, it is hard to do it, he was sitting in the perfect spot for taking photos. I like doing macros of Tiddles.

      December 16, 2014
  5. Love the puddy-tat. Just want to kiss that nose.

    December 16, 2014
    • He would let you too Cate, and then kiss your nose, he likes doing that.

      December 16, 2014
  6. Reblogged this on bgalleryart.

    December 16, 2014
  7. Great to see you having fun with the Macro 🙂 I did try to comment on your other blog, but it didn’t like it so I shall post it here:

    Oh I love this Leanne 🙂 What wonderful movement and mood! Really speaks to me on a poetic level 🙂

    When the west wind blows
    Tumultuously, daily,
    Carving the landscape

    Sculpting the mundane
    Twisting limbs and leaves of trees
    Into living art

    December 16, 2014
    • Thanks Sarah, I do love the macro. The comment did work, so I will reply over there, I don’t know why it seems like it doesn’t work, but it is there.

      December 16, 2014
      • Well I’m just trusting that the comments are working when I press send even though it doesn’t appear to do anything 😉 I’m sure my Simon would be able to tell you what the problem is! He speaks computer. He’s building a website for Kos and our wedding at the moment 🙂

        December 19, 2014
      • Yes, they are, there is one there from you waiting now, I believe, I keep forgetting to respond, sorry, I was exhausted yesterday and couldn’t seem to face anything. I think it is something with the way that theme was developed, I should tell the developers, but will wait until after Christmas. 😀

        December 20, 2014
      • Oh gosh don’t worry about it for now Leanne!! I totally get the exhaustion factor. I rather wish that I was just able to sleep right through the weekend. I will have a fun time in the end but my brain is currently shouting SLEEP at me 😉 Take a break Leanne and enjoy the festive season xx

        December 20, 2014
      • No problem Sarah, all done now. Sometimes I just need a bit of a push. I have to say I woke up this morning wishing I could stay asleep. Thank you Sarah, I am planning to continue blogging, but the posts will be more refective, and I think I will take it easy. You take it easy too and don’t overdo anything.

        December 20, 2014
      • I think I’ll stick to overdoing the eating 😉

        December 20, 2014
      • Oh yes, always a good choice at this time of year. LOL

        December 21, 2014
  8. Your work is always stunning! We appreciate the incredible level of beauty you ceaselessly share 🙂
    Wishing you an early Happy Holidays and New Year. May 2015 continue to inspire you as you inspire us.
    hugs,
    o and om

    December 16, 2014
    • thank you so much O and OM, and I hope you have a very Merry Christmas and wonderful new year. All the best. 😀

      December 16, 2014
      • Thanks. You too.
        Please give hugs and kisses to the kitties:)
        O and om

        December 16, 2014
      • My pleasure, Tiddles loves lots of cuddles and kisses. 😀

        December 16, 2014
  9. LB #

    Love those typewriter shots!
    and I’m so glad that I’m not the only one hasn’t been able to start Christmas, yet!

    December 16, 2014
    • Thanks Laurie, I know, I don’t know what it is, but I think I am hoping if I ignore it it might just go away.

      December 16, 2014
  10. It’s always a pleasure looking at your photos… if they are your early macro shots then I can’t wait to see more. They’re brilliant.

    Facebook can be tricky to work around for promotion but maybe you could get people to share it and promote it for you. Perhaps offer a voucher or other prize for people who share. Like, “go in the draw to win” for everyone who shares… ? I’ve seen a lot of photographers do that quite successfully and if you are going to be spending money better its better spent on rewarding customers/ clients then FB.

    December 16, 2014
    • Thanks DeeGee, it is nice to see the difference, looking forward to seeing what I am doing after 12 months with the macro.

      I like your ideas, I have probably left it too late for this year, but certainly something I will keep in mind for next year.

      December 16, 2014
  11. Love the cat! I never thought of taking macros of the cat……something to try

    December 16, 2014
    • Oh yes, it is a lot of fun, best to do it when they are asleep, otherwise they move too much, LOL. Thanks Julie.

      December 16, 2014
  12. Really beautiful images! You are a macro pro already. They are gorgeous. Not to mention Tiddles of course, but that’s a given. 😉

    December 16, 2014
    • Thank you Laura, I am liking my macro, but think there is still a lot more to learn with it. Tiddles is fantastic, asleep right now and snoring away. 😀

      December 16, 2014
  13. wonderful mix!! I love the dew drops on the dandelion puff macro!!!

    December 16, 2014
    • Confession time, I sprayed it and stuck it in the freeze, great effect, LOL, so I am pleased you liked it. thanks Cybele.

      December 16, 2014
      • oh!!! most excellent and brilliant literally and figuratively!!

        December 16, 2014
      • Haha, well sometimes you have to cheat, how you are going with the macro? Did you decide to buy it?
        I’ve been taking photos of cupcakes with mine.

        December 16, 2014
      • I still don’t have all my motivation back yet. It seems to come and go and I have some nice and peaceful days and some very sad days. I try to look to the light! Christmas lights especially are so cheering. I did take the poinsettia ones in my previous post- not sure if you saw that. And yes I’m buying it though I can’t afford it! I already put some money down and bit the bullet as they say. Now I must make payments!

        December 16, 2014
      • It is a horrible thing to go through, but I hope you will use your photography to get you through it. I can’t remember if it snows there? If it does, will you do something for me? I would love to see some macro shots of snow, or that sort of thing, snow on things. I’m glad you are buying it, we can learn to use them together. I’ve been given lots of great advice, so anytime you want some advice, just ask, okay.

        December 16, 2014
      • I certainly will try if it does snow!! Or we go up to mountains. It did briefly but mostly here all winter it rains and storms!! 😦 and thanks I will take you up on the advice thing!

        December 17, 2014
      • That would be wonderful, I love macros of snow, I really just love photos of snow. We have to travel quite a distance to see snow, so I understand. Anytime Cybele. 😀

        December 17, 2014
  14. Beautiful macros

    December 16, 2014
  15. I am loving your macro shots. Dandelion puffs are favourites of mine but I am even more drawn to your studies of typewriter keys among this selection. They’ve made me come over all nostalgic for my trusty old typewriter that saw me through my undergraduate years.

    December 16, 2014
    • Thank you PA, I think your favourite is a popular one, and the type writer is amazing, I must get it out again some time and see if I can do more more. It is nice when something takes you back.

      December 16, 2014
  16. Jen #

    Despite being violently allergic to dandelions, I love your dandelion shots! The detail is just fabulous!

    Also, cute bathing cat. 😉

    December 16, 2014
    • Lucky you only have to look at it then Jen, thank you.
      Oh yes the cat, Tiddles Cole, relaxing, what he does best, doing right now and snoring away. 😀

      December 16, 2014
  17. @St-Manuel #

    My my…the work you did with the One Four Challenge…love it.

    December 16, 2014
    • Thank you, and thank you for going and taking a look, it is much appreciated.

      December 16, 2014
  18. Hi Leanne .. I think the FB ratio with text is something like 20%. Hmm this could be why they aren’t being approved. Oh I would love to buy the social snappers for myself – if only I lived closer! Loving your macro ..

    December 16, 2014
    • Yeah that sounds right Julie, but it is crazy, the gift voucher is a sample of what it is, so it is crazy, it isn’t an image at all. The biggest problem is you can’t talk to anyone about it. It should be more about what you are advertising, it seems logical for a photographer to use an image for a poster, I think I will have to start doing more google ads. Thanks Julie, I think the macros are coming along.

      December 16, 2014
  19. PS You would love Butchart Gardens!

    December 16, 2014
    • I think you are right, I think I would love them too.

      December 16, 2014
  20. Very nice macros, Leanne! Merry Christmas!
    The way Australians have been reacting regarding that crazy nut – by being kind to Muslims, realizing it’s not caused by them – is very admirable!

    December 16, 2014
    • Thank you Thomas and Merry Christmas to you too.
      It’s funny you saying that, we were thinking how the media totally overreacted and went too crazy. I think we have enough Muslims here now to understand that just because there are a few that are crazy, doesn’t mean they all are. If it was a white person, or Anglo Saxon we wouldn’t think all of them were crazy. I like to think there is tolerance here, but I know it isn’t true.

      December 16, 2014
      • Interesting! There sure could be improvement here in the U.S.!

        December 17, 2014
      • Yes, here too really, if I’m honest, there is a whole heap of people that believe the propaganda our Government feds them, unfortunately.

        December 17, 2014
  21. Oh I’ve always loved your blog Leanne! These photos are all so beautiful …. I’ve been very busy lately and not able to get online, but hopefully I’ll get time soon, perhaps after I move, when I’ll be able to actually be able to do some of the things I personally want to do. Haha… Right now I’m in the maelstrom of “doing for others” (primarily my mom)…LOL I hope you have the most wonderful of Holiday seasons! I’ve heard of bad weather there, but hope it has not been your way. ❤

    December 17, 2014
    • Keli, don’t ever worry about me, I know you are there and I know you look when you can. Sounds like a very busy time ahead, and moving can be so stressful. Thank you for what you said about my blog and you have a very Merry Christmas and trying and take some time for yourself. I will still be here when you get some time. Take care. 😀

      December 17, 2014
  22. Great photos. Just love your cat. Sorry about FaceBook. They are turning into a law unto themselves. 😀

    December 17, 2014
    • Thanks Raewyn, we love him too, he is too cute sometimes. Facebook, who can work them out, I think they are turning people away, which can’t be a good thing, as soon as something better comes along, they will be like My Space. 😀

      December 17, 2014
  23. I love your macro images Leanne. My favourite from this collection is the lady beetle. So subtle and sweet.

    December 17, 2014
    • The lady beetle I didn’t realise I had until I got home, it was a lovely surprise. Thank you Carol, I think I like macro.

      December 17, 2014
  24. My friend I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award ☺ for details please see my link here:

    http://mamamaitri.wordpress.com/2014/12/17/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    Much love, jules

    December 17, 2014
    • Thank you so much Julia, I don’t do awards, but I have added a link to your post on my awards page.

      December 17, 2014
      • Thank you Leanne! I very much appreciate that ☺☺☺ I wasn’t sure if you do awards yet either way I wanted you to know how much you inspire me 💜

        December 17, 2014
      • Thanks again Julia, I used to do them, but then they got too much after a while, so I decided to stop, but still wanted to acknowledge the people who had nominated me, so the awards page seemed a good compromise.

        December 18, 2014
      • That’s a great idea! They are rather involved lol and if you have a few in the queue? Yeah, would be too much for sure lol.

        December 18, 2014
      • They can be, when I was doing them, there was a time I seemed to be getting them every week, but they have slowed down now. It is nice that people think your blog is worth the award, but, yes, they are rather involved.

        December 18, 2014
  25. poppytump #

    What lovely brightness this morning opening this up and seeing your macros Leanne . It’s been a great year being taken through what you might call your learning curve with that lens . Flowers can take on such a sculptural look and details jump forward beautifully . I hope you can work round your social snapper gift cards – what a great idea . Boo to FB and the like 😀

    December 17, 2014
    • Thank you so much Poppytump, it has been a good year for that, I’ve a lot about using a macro lens, and it has been a bit learning curving. I know FB, I don’t know what they are doing, oh well, I will have to find another way. I really want Social Snappers to work, I love doing them. 😀

      December 17, 2014

Comments are closed.

