Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Eating Cupcakes

Isn’t that what you do after you photograph them?

I’ve been out all day, going to new places and taking photos.  Both places I went to were fantastic and I am looking forward to looking at the photos, hopefully I got some good ones.

The other day I tried some new things with the macro lens.  Something that I might try doing more of, and I have to admit, I really enjoyed doing it.  So today, I thought I might share with you some of the photos I was taking.  I tried photographing some jewellery that I had, see how I would go photographing it.  Then I saw a website for cupcakes and thought how bad the photos were for the wonderful cakes they were making, and thought I could do better, so I got my daughter to get me some cupcakes for me to photograph.

Here is a gallery with some of the jewellery imgaes and the cupcakes.  We did eat them after the photos and they were very nice.

73 Comments
  1. Delicious, edible photography, yum!! 🙂

    December 18, 2014
    • Thank you John, the cupcakes were amazing. 😀

      December 18, 2014
  2. macro cupcakes for my micro diet!! Oh humbug!!!! so be it!! pudding and a stake of holly though my heart!! Fun shots Leanne.

    December 18, 2014
    • Oh yes, LOL, bugger the diet, it’s Christmas, plenty of time for that in the new year. thanks Cybele.

      December 18, 2014
  3. Very enticing, Leanne! Macro is such fun.

    December 18, 2014
    • Oh yes, it is, I’m loving it, thanks Sukie.

      December 18, 2014
  4. Those cupcakes must have been really hard to work with !!!

    December 18, 2014
    • Yes, most definitely, but worth it in the end!!

      December 18, 2014
  5. All so gorgeous!!
    Now I need to go make some.. Ahem, buy some jewellry 😜 and eat cupcakes!!
    Glad youre enjoying it. It shows 😃

    December 18, 2014
    • Thanks Robyn, let me know when you’ve made them, might have to drop by, LOL.
      I am enjoying it, so many possibilities.

      December 18, 2014
      • He he will do 😜
        You are so right – endless possibilities!

        December 18, 2014
      • Endless and I plan to explore as many as I can.

        December 18, 2014
  6. Excellent work, Leanne, as always! The cupcakes got new life in your pictures and they seem to be delicious! 🙂

    December 18, 2014
    • They were delicious Fabio, thank you so much. 😀

      December 18, 2014
  7. I love the owl. I’m really into owls. And I’m really into cupcakes.
    I bet they were yummy and your photographs are fabulous. Thanks for sharing and now I need a cupcake.

    December 18, 2014
    • I love that necklance, it has a very long chain and the middle bit of it moves, I have another one somewhere too. I was really happy with those cupcakes, the photos turned out well.
      They were very yummy, thank you, you’re welcome, I hope you don’t have to wait too long for one. 😀

      December 18, 2014
  8. Oh I’m eating them … 🙂

    December 18, 2014
  9. Great work. You definitely have potential as a product photographer.

    December 18, 2014
    • I’ve been wondering that, if I could do that sort of photography, would be good, I like that kind of photography. thanks PA.

      December 19, 2014
  10. hi leanne,
    the jewellery looks cool and the cupcakes so tempting, especially the ones with the gingerbread man on it. mmmmmmmmmmmm.
    best regards,
    ken

    December 18, 2014
    • Thank you so much Ken, it was nice doing some work inside.

      December 19, 2014
  11. Looks yummy! 🙂 nice pictures!

    December 18, 2014
    • They were yummy, thanks Sarina. 😀

      December 19, 2014
  12. Really nice job Leanne. Getting really good shots of food is not that easy…just look at the dinner shots people put on FB. You really nailed it. The cupcakes look good and tempting. The jewelry shots are wonderfully simple, showing off the details without distractions. Great shots, thanks for sharing.

    December 19, 2014
    • Thank you John, it was easy doing the cupcakes, well, the styling, that is probably the thing I don’t really know about. It is a good start I hope, I would like to do more, so will how I go.

      December 19, 2014
  13. It amazes me the rage for cupcakes and how pricey they are. Food photography is really a challenge, and you’ve done justice to these small edible gems.

    December 19, 2014
    • I know what you mean, I don’t get it either, they are nice, but give me a nice cake any day. Thank you Sally, it was great to try photographing them and I’m looking forward to doing more.

      December 19, 2014
  14. Reblogged this on Benji's Food Blog.

    December 19, 2014
  15. Anne Bonney #

    Love the cupcakes. Nice jewelry photos – that is so hard (for me) to do!

    December 19, 2014
    • thank you Anne, I did a bit of research first, and I have some great boxes that I can use for lightboxes, so a good set up, I hope.

      December 19, 2014
  16. What? You didn’t make those cupcakes?? On a serious note, the photos are really great! Makes me want to eat them. I’ve always thought what I’ve seen of your food photography is excellent.

    December 19, 2014
    • I know, shocking isn’t it, LOL. I can make them, but no good at decorating. I need practice styling, might have to try doing more, I quite enjoyed it. thanks Laura.

      December 19, 2014
      • The tiny gingerbread gave it away haha. You’re welcome 🙂

        December 19, 2014
      • Oh well, haha, 😀

        December 19, 2014
  17. Beautiful photography Leanne… you have made me hungry now 😀 😀 😀

    December 19, 2014
    • I hope you had some cupcakes handy. thanks Bren. 😀

      December 19, 2014
      • I didnt Leanne, so i had to settle for a bowl of chocolate custard. 🙂

        December 19, 2014
      • Oh chocolate custard, I haven’t had that for years, yum. 😀

        December 19, 2014
  18. Did you use only available light? Nice rendering of each regardless. I especially like how you shot the earrings on the branch (I think it’s a branch).

    December 19, 2014
    • Yes Robert, just natural light, thought I have a couple of flashes for doing it as well, but didn’t set them up, will try that next time. I saw the branch, or a branch used somewhere else, so I borrowed it. Thanks.

      December 19, 2014
  19. Jewellry and cupcakes – the perfect combination! And I might add that during the holidays cupcakes and other delicious edibles are calorie free!

    December 19, 2014
    • Thank you so much Debby, I think the same, calorie free.

      December 19, 2014
  20. leecleland #

    Yum, yum, yum, yummy 🙂

    December 19, 2014
    • They really were Lee, 😀

      December 19, 2014
  21. The macro is brilliant for the cupcakes and for the jewelry. 😀

    December 19, 2014
    • It is Raewyn, I’m looking forward to playing around with it more, see what else I can do. 😀

      December 19, 2014
  22. NicoleE #

    Love the photos! Now I want cupcakes… 😉

    December 19, 2014
    • You will have to go and find some Nicole, thank you. 😀

      December 19, 2014
      • NicoleE #

        Ha not difficult to find some around Christmas, only I shouldn’t. lol

        December 19, 2014
      • Someone else said that there are no calories this time of the year.

        December 19, 2014
  23. Absolutely! Always eat the evidence 😉

    December 19, 2014
  24. Leanne, I love all of your photography and the jewelry appeals to me since i do that as well as the baskets I weave. As you know I cook and do photograph those things as well. I will be posting some new recipes this weekend as I have been Christmas baking to give as gifts, wish you were just down the road and not like 10,000 miles away I would bring you some as well.

    December 19, 2014
    • Thank you, they were new things for me to photograph, and I think I will do a lot more it in the future, I hope. That would be nice, I love it when people bake for christmas.

      December 19, 2014
  25. I love your cupcake photos. I totally agree with you that so called professional food photos are not always so good. I love photographing food too and really enjoy. I can’t say that I have ever read how to do it properly, I just do it by instinct and have no idea what I am doing….but it seems to work out ok. Sometimes I have issues when I need to have enough depth of field to show detail in more of the photo, then it is not possible to have that lovely macro effect where much is soft other than a small area. My dream would be to do the photos for a cookery book and wish I could get into that kind of work….ah dreams!

    December 19, 2014
    • Thank you Karen, I was happy with how they came out. I agree, so many photos that people use for photography isn’t really any good. I hope you get to have your dream come true, it is nice if they can. Good luck with that. thank you.

      December 19, 2014
  26. Beautiful photos Leanne, a nice change for you. one complaint thought… those cupcakes are so real and the icing so inviting that I cant help but want one or two or three……

    December 19, 2014
    • thank you Kaz, it is a nice change, hopefully will do a lot more, would like to. They were real and you are gonna hate me because they were really good. I want more. 😀

      December 19, 2014
      • I want more and I haven’t had any…the icing lures you in 🙂

        December 19, 2014
      • it does, thought the icing can often be very sickly.

        December 19, 2014
  27. Fantastic macro and it look yummy cake cup…

    December 20, 2014
    • Thank you Cattan, they were yummy.

      December 20, 2014
  28. I want a cupcake !! Great series Leanne.

    December 20, 2014
    • Sorry Emily, but they are all gone, next time maybe I can keep one for you, but you will have to be quick. 😀 Thank you.

      December 20, 2014
  29. Superbly professional (and yummy!) product shots. There’s a whole new career awaiting for you! Leanne, you are so versatile! Maybe you could approach the baker or cafe and ask if they would be interested in using the images for marketing?

    December 20, 2014
    • Thank you, I was happy with the outcome, will have to see what else I can do. It would be nice to do more of this sort of thing, I like photographing small things. The people who made them have wonderful photography, but there are some other places that don’t, so I am hoping to approach them.

      December 20, 2014
  30. Crystal clear shots, and the cupcakes, oh yummy!

    January 20, 2015
    • They were yummy SueBee, I think the best thing about photography is that you get to eat it afterwards. Thanks.

      January 20, 2015

Comments are closed.

