Skip to content

Up for Discussion: Up for Discussion

This week I thought we could talk about these posts, what is good about them, what you like, and maybe what we can do with them next year. It is the time of year to be winding down, so I didn’t want to do anything heavy today, I know many are very busy getting ready for Christmas next year, so I thought we could have a post here on Up for Discussion.

Guest Posting

I have loved having people guest post.  It has been interesting and gives you all more diversity having others come in and discuss things that I don’t know anything about.  IMG_20140921_231953

It is also a great opportunity for me to learn something new as well. They are something I would like to continue next year, though finding people to guest post isn’t always easy.

It has been wonderful when people have come to me with an idea of what they would like to guest post about and then we can talk about it.  Many of the guest posts I’ve had have been from people approaching me.  I will continue to allow people to do guest posts next year, so if you have an idea of something you think would be good, send me an email.

Topics

IMG_20140924_112930I would also like to hear from you what topics you would like covered.

I am at a loss sometimes, and don’t know what to write about.  I do these posts for you, so I wouldn’t mind at all if you told me what you want me to post about.  Doesn’t mean I will be able to do it, but then again, I might be able to find someone else who could do a post on that.

Do you want more photography posts, or would you like to see some more posts about blogging?  I think both those topics are fine for a photography blog.  I know some of the previous posts on blogging have been very popular, but I don’t quite know what to post about, so your input and ideas would be valuable.

Travel PostsIMG_20140903_154442

One thing I thought we might start are some travel posts.  Maybe once a month we could do a city from around the world, where we can talk about places that people can go and take photos.  Where you are and aren’t allowed to go, if tripods are practical, that sort of thing.  I want them to be interactive, so people can add to the post.  That probably doesn’t make sense, but it is something I want to try.IMG_20140828_180756

Your Say

I’m going to leave it there for this week.  Lots of things to think about, but I would really like to hear from you and see what you would like from these posts.  Maybe you have an idea that I haven’t thought of, or you think some of my ideas are great and want me to go ahead with them.  All things would be welcomed.

Photos Today

For this post I have got many of my Instagram photos and thought I would share them with your here.  I don’t do Instagram much, but try to do it when I go somewhere to take photos.  The idea being if you follow me on Instagram you get an idea of what posts will be coming up.  The photos here are from the last six months.

 

69 Comments
  1. lensaddiction #

    I would be interested in the Travel posts and even just view points from different people from different countries and cities around the world. I would be happy to contribute to something about the South Island for those kinds of posts.

    I also enjoy your Introducing posts and many of your guest posters have been extremely interesting as well.

    Doing a great job!

    December 19, 2014
    • That is what I am hoping for, I want to do it like I did the newbie mistakes posts, so one person starts it off with a few then others can add to it. I would love you to do that for the South Island, so I will be in touch next year Stacey.
      That is great, I am glad people like the introductions, I do hope to continue doing them next year.
      Thank you Stacey, that is great to hear.

      December 19, 2014
  2. Can you please bring Tiddles when you visit? 😀 I’m wondering if this has already been discussed, but I’m curious as to find out why people starting taking photographs in the first place and why they keep doing it.

    December 19, 2014
    • 😀 If only!! I wish I could, it will be hard to be away from him for so long. That is an interesting idea, how do you think we could do it?

      December 19, 2014
      • Put him in a suitcase with a kitty oxygen mask? LOL

        December 19, 2014
      • Oh no, poor Tiddles, on 17 hour or 20 hour flight, no, you are just going to have to get well enough to come and visit him. LOL

        December 19, 2014
      • Haha guess so! I think he’s probably worth it. 🙂

        December 19, 2014
      • Well we think so, he is well loved. 😀

        December 19, 2014
  3. I always love seeing your photos on Instagram Leanne.

    December 19, 2014
    • Thank you Colline, I appreciate your support.

      December 19, 2014
  4. Reblogged this on Giai01's Blog and commented:
    xem

    December 19, 2014
  5. Hi Leanne! I love everything you’ve done here. Yet there is one thing I’d like to see — I’d like to see the settings you (and your “guests”) use to create all those wonderful photos. I’m not sure how feasible this may be, but since you asked … 🙂

    Happy Holidays!
    Svetlana

    December 19, 2014
    • Thank you Svetlana, that is great. I don’t tend to add the settings because I don’t see that they are relevant, as the only thing that really means anything is the aperture, as the shutter speed and ISO would all be dependent on the conditions on the day. I also don’t like have to go and find out, I know I’m lazy, there are facebook pages I don’t post on because you have to add that information, and I usually can’t be bothered. I tend to work very, I don’t know how to put it, but I am not a technical person, so I tend to work very haphazardly, so what aperture I might use for a place might be completely different to the next time I go, and then everything is different, even if the conditions are the same. Does that make any sense?
      Merry Christmas to you too. 😀

      December 19, 2014
  6. Albert Park lake! It’s so nice to run or cycle along there. I love Melbourne

    December 19, 2014
    • Are you suggesting this for a post on Melbourne? I am going to do one early next year. I love Melbourne too.

      December 19, 2014
      • I dont know why I thought the picture of the lake was of Albert Park in Melbourne must have been somewhere else 🙂

        December 19, 2014
      • Oh sorry, I misunderstood, the lake in the image is Lake Eildon. I haven’t actually been to Albert Park to take photos, do you think I should?

        December 19, 2014
      • Oh right! Sorry. Yes you should it’s lovely. I have had a few wines today so my bad 🙂 🙂

        December 19, 2014
      • Hahah, tis the season for it, so all forgiven and misunderstanding cleared up, I will have to put it on the list for next year. 😀 😀

        December 19, 2014
  7. These are lovely!

    December 19, 2014
    • Thank you, Instagram can be fun and you can get good results at time.

      December 19, 2014
      • I am not much at doing photography but I do enjoy the view 😛

        December 19, 2014
      • That’s great too.

        December 19, 2014
  8. Reblogged this on Raindrops and commented:
    Beautiful Photography From Leanne Cole

    December 19, 2014
  9. Love the idea of travel and the kitty is beautiful:-)

    December 19, 2014
    • That’s good to know Nora, thank you, and tiddles is very cute.

      December 19, 2014
  10. I much prefer nature photos rather than photos of large metropolitan areas with their buildings. (And, personally, I am much more appreciative of photos taken locally – in one’s immediate area – rather than photos that involve a lot of traveling and distance. Most airlines and terrestrial vehicles use crude, polluting fossil fuels; we photographers would benefit others more by being good examples regarding not being so dependent on such modes of transportation.)

    December 19, 2014
    • I always preferred the metro ones, I like architecture, always have. I agree to a certain extent about travelling, my husband thinks what you are saying is true, and I do too, but I have an opportunity to go overseas, and it will be my first time in twenty and only the second time in my life, so I really want to go. It isn’t something I want to do a lot, so I am trying not to feel too guilty about it.

      December 19, 2014
      • By all means go! If its only the second time in your life… it’s no bad habit! 😉

        December 21, 2014
      • That’s what I think, I don’t really like travelling, so there is no chance it will become a regular thing, and I am aware of the environment impact, so I do try to minimise it.

        December 21, 2014
  11. I love the idea of the Travel posts, reading about and seeing photos of life in other places always gets me inspired to travel and also think about how to capture life in my city differently. I’m very amateur but would be happy to contribute photos to show Hobart or even Tasmania in general. 🙂

    December 19, 2014
    • That is wonderful, I like the idea of the travel posts as well, will keep you updated. It would be great to have someone from Tasmania, one of the places on my list to come and take photos of. Thanks lifekitt. 😀

      December 19, 2014
      • No shortage of photo opportunities down here in Tassie!

        December 19, 2014
      • I have seen photos and would love to come down there, the thing I’m short on is money right now, but it is on the list, I really want to come down and take photos at some point. Thank you.

        December 19, 2014
  12. I love the travel idea as well and I would be willing to give an introduction to Hamburg, Germany, if there is interest in it. For all other major european cities I am not familiar enough with them to really feel like I can help 🙂

    December 19, 2014
    • That sounds great Sarina, I would really like that, I will have write everyone’s details down so I don’t forget. I am sure we can find people all around the world, which will be great. Thank you, this is going to be wonderful, I think. 😀

      December 19, 2014
  13. leecleland #

    Really like your introductions posts, Leanne I’ve found some great blogs to follow that way. To add travel would be interesting particularly with you going to the US next year. If I’m still in Grafton, Far North Coast NSW next year, I could do a post on the area around jacaranda time when the whole city blooms purple jacarandas. There is much more to the area than that though 🙂

    December 19, 2014
    • That’s great Lee, some others have said they like the introductions post and I plan on continuing them, as long as I can find people to introduce. I am getting lots of wonderful offers, so don’t let me forget your offer Lee, sounds good. I’ve been hearing a bit about that area lately, so it sounds good.

      December 19, 2014
  14. Hi Leanne – really enjoy your intro posts so would love them to continue. Would also like to see some more technical – how to topics are useful, eg ND fliters, macro, astro… By the way, you are doing a fantastic job and act as a mentor for many of us. So thank you all heartedly Leanne xxx Chris

    December 19, 2014
    • Hi Chris, the intro posts are very popular so they will continue. That is good to hear, just between you and me, I am hoping to have a post on ND filters in the new year, so stay tuned. Great suggestions, and thank you so much for saying that, it is wonderful. Thank you too Chris, help me to keep going.

      December 19, 2014
  15. I do like these up for discussion posts – part of why I enjoy the blogging experience is the sharing of information with other photographers in a non-competitive way. Your ideas are good and should be an interesting read. A topic I would like to hear about is how people name and then locate images (finding images in your photo archive).

    December 19, 2014
    • I like that too Robert and I’m glad you have said you enjoy them. Oh the naming and cateloging, that could be a good one, I will put down on the list for next year. Maybe I can get my husband to write something about it. thanks Robert.

      December 19, 2014
  16. I read everything you blog about so Im no help but I do like the travel idea. Its a great topic for those that have travelled and also anyone that hasn’t travelled can live vicariously through the blog 🙂

    December 19, 2014
    • Thank you Kaz, the support is wonderful, and I like the idea of travel posts as well. Yes, I agree, they should be good, I hope.

      December 19, 2014
  17. Wonderful Photographs Leanne, Categories of Architecture, Nature, Portrait, Travel, Showcase your city, suburb, village or local areas, and perhaps just a random post day would be fun 🙂

    December 19, 2014
    • Thank you, good categories, and thanks for the ieas. I don’t know about the random post, but I will try. 😀

      December 19, 2014
  18. I’d loved to do a guest post, but I’d have to think about the topic. Travel posts are also nice, but maybe people could present their own cities? (maybe that’s what you thought about?).
    Locals know their cities and that way you could get some “inside information”.

    December 19, 2014
    • Email me with some ideas Cardinal, plenty of time to think about it, when you are ready. Yes, that is what I was thinking, finding people who live in a particular city that can start the ideas, like I would do Melbourne, and yes, inside information, find out from the locals, exactly. Thanks Cardinal.

      December 19, 2014
      • That sounds excellent Leanne. Sign me up for Oslo! I know tons of great places to get good shots and I can mark them off on a Google Map.
        I’ll think about a guest post and email you as soon as I come up with some decent ideas.

        December 19, 2014
      • I’m glad you think so too Cardinal, would be good to create a sort of information thing for people to use if they are travelling. I will do that.
        Yes, please do, we can discuss ideas too.

        December 19, 2014
  19. I like the idea of travel post and the best person to do that is a local who living around the area where they know the timing and places for a stunning and amazing beautiful photo to be taken. I love the research and introduction of different artists works which you have done in the past, it give insight of the works they do and the technical part is most important as for new photographers like me, I find it a great help and to learn from the expert that is good so that we can have a go on it later and create our new ideas and most important is a motivation to create new ideas. if you like any of my travel photos and happy to contribute.
    Thanks Leanne for sharing this with us.

    December 20, 2014
    • Yes, that is what I was thinking, if I can find out where people live and then we can do a different place and that person can start the conversation or discussion and then other people can join in. Quite a few people have told me how much they enjoy the introductions, so they will definitely continue next year, it is good to hear how many people enjoy those posts. I am always looking for people Cattan, so you never know.
      You’re welcome, thanks for all your support.

      December 20, 2014
  20. The travel post idea is fabulous! You’ve got so many followers from all over, interesting material would surely not be lacking.

    December 20, 2014
    • That is what I was hoping Freddy, that we could get people who know or live areas well giving us advice on where we can go to take photos, times, that sort of thing. Thanks.

      December 20, 2014
  21. Another one for next year’s discussion: “The Hand Your Are Dealt” – where a photographer picks an image and tells why they shot it the way they did…detailing what obstacles they had to overcome or what the thinking was for shooting/processing the way they did. This could give insight into both technique and vision.

    December 20, 2014
    • This is an interesting idea Robert, I like it, we should discuss it more, especially how we would go about it. Shall I email you?

      December 20, 2014
  22. A beautiful selection!!

    December 20, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, I like playing with Instagram at times.

      December 20, 2014
  23. I like the idea of the travel posts. Locals can provide input for their hometowns too. I’ve really liked the guest posts (the urban decay/abandoned buildings was my favorite) and the introductions are great too. I think photography blogs lend themselves to discussion of both blogging and photography, so feel free to do both!

    December 20, 2014
    • I think the travel posts is going to be a great idea, as so many have said the same Sabina, and having someone who lives in that place would be great to start the posts and then other can contribute. I like the guest posts as well, and I don’t think I could stop doing the introductions now, they do seem to be one of the ones that many people like. Thank you for sharing your thoughts Sabina, I appreciate them.

      December 20, 2014
  24. Hi Leanne,

    I enjoy your postings and the variety of your topics. I know it’s not easy. I’d be happy to do a guest post, we can discuss that offline.

    The idea of a growing travel blog sounds really interesting. If you pick the destination as a start and then any of us with relevant contributions can add to it, that could make for some very interesting reading. Hearing from locals as well as those who have travelled to a destination is a great way to learn about a location beyond what the guide books tell us. You might want to start with the locales you will be visiting when you come over here!

    December 20, 2014
    • Yes John, that would be great, we can email about it.
      Yes, that is what I was thinking too, if I can get someone from the city of country to start the discussion, then others can contribute, could be a great way to get some informative posts for photographers when they go away. I do think that photographers travel differently to the rest, so they could be great. I will start them in the new year. I thought I would start with Melbourne, so people can see what I mean, then we can go from there. I have a couple of people lined up to do some other cities as well. Thanks John.

      December 20, 2014
  25. Hi, Leanne: Great idea to get input from the readers. I see that travel seems to be leading the list with a number of folks suggesting a mix of local expertise and visitor experiences. I’d like to put in a plug for the Washington, DC area. I know there are several bloggers here with extensive knowledge (and who are followers of yours as well). I suspect a few of them could be persuaded to collaborate on a post, then opening it up for contributions from others who have visited and have insights to contribute. A second subject that I believe would be of considerable interest to fellow bloggers would be some topics on the subject of managing and improving one’s blog. Based on what I have seen from you, I think many of us could benefit greatly from some of the lessons you have learned.

    December 20, 2014
    • It seemed like a good idea Robin and it has been great to hear what people think and what they like. Now don’t worry, you were definitely on my list for Washington DC, I had intended to contact you about there. The response for this idea has been wonderful and quite a few have told me where they are so they can help on posts in their areas/cities. I thought that might come up, managing your blog, that is a possibility, and something I will put down for next year. Thanks Robin, it has been good to see what people want.

      December 20, 2014
      • Thanks Leanne. Looking forward to it.

        December 22, 2014
      • That’s great Robin, thanks.

        December 22, 2014
  26. I’ve mentioned it before, but I really like your ‘bits and bobs’ posts. This is obviously a photography blog and I love it the way it is, but it is nice to occasionally read up on random, well… bits and bobs. it’s a nice reminder that there’s life outside of photos 🙂

    It might be cool if you could write the occasional tutorial about how you edit some of your photos, unless you don’t want to divulge your secrets, which would be understandable. It might be a nice insight into an unseen part of your photos

    December 22, 2014
    • That’s great to hear David, I sometimes wonder if people like those posts, it would be good to build on them. No idea what it will be about tomorrow. 😀

      I tried writing tutorials a while back and I wasn’t really sure if people were interested in them. It is hard for me to do how I edit as it can be quite organic, and I never really know what I am going to do. Yes, some things I don’t want to divulge, but maybe other things I can. Food for thought David, thank you.

      December 22, 2014

Comments are closed.

