Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Christmas Through the Eyes of a Child

This last week I had an opportunity to go into the city and take photos of the Christmas decorations.  I wasn’t alone, there is a woman who does Social Snappers and her 5 year old daughter who keeps wanting to come with her camera and take photos as well.  I love to encourage anyone who wants to take photos, so I sent her a special invitation and last Wednesday I want into the city with Lola and her mum.

We had a great time wandering around taking photos of everything that we saw.  She was using a small Crayola camera that her parents had given her, one that could handle dropping.  I was so impressed with how she took photos, she would compose them carefully before taking them. It was obvious that she knew what she wanted to take.  Her mother has given me permission to show you her photos,

Lola’s images of Melbourne.

Didn’t I say she was good, when you consider the camera she was using and being five years old, the photos blew me away.  Certainly someone that I hope doesn’t stop taking them.  It was great fun seeing the Christmas Festival through the eyes of a five year old.  My daughter came as well, my eldest Briony, but she has grown out of this sort of thing.  It is always nice to see things like Christmas through the eyes of a child.

I took lots of photos as well, but no where near as many as Lola, mine are pretty boring compared to hers, but I will show them to you anyway. Christmas is very close now and we have a tree up and there are presents under it, so I guess Christmas is going to happen here this year, whether we are ready for it or not.  Here are my photos, I have kept a couple to myself for the MM splash of colour, is yours ready?

73 Comments
  1. I am Jewish but the decorations are nice.

    December 21, 2014
    • We aren’t really anything, but I like the colour and gives the end of year something, thank you.

      December 21, 2014
  2. wow! she did a great job. that’s adorable. my oldest was like that too. I love seeing kids follow their passion. go Lola!

    December 21, 2014
    • She did, and she was very passionate about it, she took more photos than I did. I agree, it is good and I think her parents would encourage it as well.

      December 21, 2014
  3. I just love the idea of Santa’s mailbox… 🙂 Melbourne is always fascinating!

    December 21, 2014
    • And apparently if you put your address on the letter Santa replies, how amazing is that. I think it is too, Thank you. 😀

      December 21, 2014
      • That is too cute.. I would be a child all over just for a reply from Santa Leanne!:)

        December 21, 2014
      • Same, I wish they did that sort of thing when I was a child.

        December 21, 2014
  4. Wow, the little lady has the magic touch for photography, I envy her skills! Wishing you and your family a wonderful Christmas, Leanne. 🙂

    December 21, 2014
    • She certainly does John. Thank you John, Merry Christmas to you too, Hope it’s a good one. 😀

      December 21, 2014
  5. Love this! I started taking photos at a young age (maybe 7 or so) with our family’s point and shoot and I remember dreaming of being a National Geographic photographer. I hope Lola never gives up!

    December 21, 2014
    • It is hard to know isn’t it, but I am fairly certain her parents would always encourage her, so who knows, maybe. Thanks Sabina.

      December 21, 2014
  6. A photographer in training for sure! At five, i could barely tie my shoes. 🙂

    December 21, 2014
    • I know, and you should see her with her camera, she gets it ready and is fairly certain what she wants. YOu should have seen her when she wanted to photograph some water and some girls got in the way, she has a familiar look on her face and then stood out of the way tapping her foot until they left. LOL.

      December 21, 2014
  7. She is very talented 😉
    Your photos are more about the Christmas and good as always Leanne

    December 21, 2014
    • She is Irene 😀
      Thank you, I was trying to get some shots for the MM splash of colour this week.

      December 21, 2014
  8. think it’s great what kids see what we have partially forgotten, a great series.

    December 21, 2014
    • It is great, I agree, there is something about seeing it through their eyes. Thanks.

      December 21, 2014
  9. My granddaughter started taking surprisingly good pictures around age 5 and now, at 18, takes VERY good pictures. Eyes for composition starts early! Kaity also liked to paint, but she took to photography like a duck to water and has never lost interest. Isn’t that great?

    December 21, 2014
    • That is great Marilyn, my girls never really seemed interested, but Lola, loves it, and the photos she takes are surprisingly good, especially considering the camera, I imagine if she had a better camera the photos would be amazing. It is great to hear your granddaughter still does it, love stories like that. Thanks Marilyn.

      December 21, 2014
  10. Lovely festive photos. I think it’s great when kids learn alongside their parents. My 7 year old is starting to art journal with me and all four boys love drawing. I am hoping to get them into photography at some point too. I have actually bought them a compact camera for Christmas, as they like to make stop-go animation movies by stitching photos together, so maybe I can get them photographing alongside me too.

    December 21, 2014
    • Thank you PA. I think that is the thing with my daughters, they both did a lot of drawing, because when they were that age that is what I was doing, I encouraged them to draw as well. I hope they love taking photos as well, though most kids do, it is whether they keep doing it I suppose. My girls liked taking photos and they still do, but not on the same level that I do. I hope your boys love it.

      December 21, 2014
  11. Lola’s photos are amazing! Wouldn’t it be fun to follow her through the years with her photography? Photos 7 and 8 are unbelievably fantastic!

    Tamara

    December 21, 2014
    • It would be fun Tamara, would love to get her a different camera and see what she does with it. Maybe her mum will let me do that. Thanks Tamara.

      December 21, 2014
  12. Wow! Glad she has the opportunity at that age!

    December 21, 2014
    • It is nice, it wasn’t something I could do, cameras were expensive and the film even more so.

      December 21, 2014
  13. Oh, it’s great as a decoration in Melbourne !! especially this node on this building !! pretty frames (j loves the big box in letters, excellent)

    December 21, 2014
    • Thank you, Melbourne does do a great job of decorating for Christmas.

      December 21, 2014
  14. @St-Manuel #

    What a great eye…and 5 years old. :o)

    December 21, 2014
    • I know, she is amazing. I loved being out with her and watching her.

      December 21, 2014
      • @St-Manuel #

        The one thing children have we adults can lose…or push back a bit…is freedom from thought and thinking. Sometimes…quite possibly…we need to set the child free…and then go from there.

        December 21, 2014
      • That is true, they are so willing to just do things and the results aren’t always so important to them. It is nice. That could be fun, though, I sort of do that, and digital allows me to do that, because I can just take lots and lots of photos without worrying too much, then again I am always looking for a good shot.

        December 21, 2014
  15. @St-Manuel #

    Reblogged this on A Thought…A Tune…An Image and commented:
    At five years old…and having such an incredible eye. ‘The Eyes of a Child’…indeed.

    December 21, 2014
  16. Oh man! I would gaze upwards in childlike wonder! Beautiful

    December 21, 2014
    • I think a lot of people do, it is quite amazing. Thank you.

      December 21, 2014
  17. How beautiful are both yours and Lola’s photos! She certainly has an eye for it .

    December 21, 2014
    • She certainly does Kaz, thank you.

      December 21, 2014
  18. That’s amazing what a good eye she has. Both a lovely Christmassy shots.

    December 21, 2014
    • Thank you Wendy, I thought she did too, great with composition too.

      December 21, 2014
  19. I am totally impressed with Lola’s photos. She has such a good eye for composition. Yours are pretty good too. 😀

    December 21, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, and I agree her shots are amazing, I think she does too. 😀

      December 21, 2014
  20. What a sweet post, with beautiful photos! 🙂 Thank you so much for visiting my site.
    Blessings to you and yours for a very Merry Christmas!
    ~ Crystal

    December 21, 2014
    • Thank you, and you are very welcome.
      Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you Crystal. 😀

      December 21, 2014
  21. Amy #

    Lola’s images, how impressive for a five-year old girl! I love it. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    December 21, 2014
    • You’re welcome Amy, I was really impressed with them as well. 😀

      December 21, 2014
      • Amy #

        I really enjoyed the tour of the beautiful Christmas decoration through your lens. Thank you, Leanne!

        December 21, 2014
      • Thank you Amy, that is wonderful and you’re so welcome.

        December 21, 2014
  22. The family and i are heading into the city on monday so ill get megan to take her little point and shoot camera. I love this idea of kids persoective!!

    December 21, 2014
    • It is quite fascinating, and what they see, she took so many photos. Please let me know how Megan goes!

      December 21, 2014
  23. Wow! Lola is a future snapper for sure! The decorations around town are stunning. New York glams it up but I love what Melbourne does. The Santa’s Mail Box slays me.. Love it. 🙂

    December 21, 2014
    • She is, for sure. Thanks Susan, Melbourne does put on a good show, I’m sure it is different too because it is summer here now. You know they have the Santa box and kids who put their address on the letters get a letter back from Santa, Australia Post make sure of it. 😉

      December 21, 2014
  24. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Wow! Those are awesome! I love the effect of the strings of lights over the street. 🙂

    December 21, 2014
    • Those lights look really good at night, they twinkle, well almost. Thanks Jackie. 😀

      December 21, 2014
  25. I really love your story Leanne! Thanks for encouraging children to take photos and showing us the images! Great job, you both!

    December 21, 2014
    • That’s wonderful to hear, thank you, it is wonderful to find children who love doing what you do, so it is easy to encourage them.

      December 21, 2014
      • Yes, this so true! I love cook A LOT and take photos of the food. Now my children do the same and I love seeing them taking pics as well!

        December 21, 2014
      • I wish my children liked doing what I do, and wanted to do it with me. You are lucky.

        December 21, 2014
  26. You’re right, Leanne. That girl definitely has an eye for photography. encourage her to develop her skills further. She’s on a good way!

    December 21, 2014
    • Glad you agree, I thought she was brilliant, and encouraging is good thing, I hope I can, but I know her mum will.

      December 22, 2014
  27. I am speechless. Lola is only 5 years? She is great and her parents are amazing to show her support in this way. I think many times parents hold their children down out of some silly fears, when we really need to let them fly.

    December 21, 2014
    • I agree Lore, many do, it is hard, but sometimes you do just have to let them fly and go for it.

      December 22, 2014
  28. The young lady has an eye for a story and hopefully will not grow out of it. Wish evsryone the best of the season.

    December 21, 2014
    • I hope she doesn’t as well Mitch. Merry Christmas to you too. Thank you.

      December 22, 2014
  29. Gosh she is so good! Lovely post Leanne .. Nice to see Melb dressed for Chrissy 🙂

    December 22, 2014
    • Oh yes, Melbourne is all dressed up for Christmas. Isn’t she great, I couldn’t believe how well composed her photos were, a natural, that’s for sure. 😀

      December 22, 2014
  30. Lola seems to have natural talent and how lucky is she to be able to go on a photo shoot with you Leanne. You could be her mentor and help her to develop her skills. I hope we get to see more of her work.

    December 22, 2014
    • I agree Carol, she does seem to have a natural talent. I don’t know about her being lucky, but I felt lucky, it was great watching her take photos, and then having to wait for her while she took her shots. The best thing was watching her get annoyed because two girls showed up while she was trying to take a photo, and got in her way, she walked away, then stood in the shade tapping her foot while she wait for them to leave. As soon as I saw her face when they first came, I knew, I knew that look.

      December 22, 2014
  31. Wow, that is very promising! Nikon is making a very kid-friendly camera, waterproof and drop-proof: the S31. My daughter loves hers 🙂

    January 6, 2015
    • It is, quite a talent. I like the look of that, I might have to get for my daughter, she wants a waterproof camera. could be fun. 😀

      January 6, 2015
      • I wouldn’t buy it for a teen though, Perfect for my 5 year old, but I would look at other competitors with maybe better image quality, for an older child.

        January 6, 2015
      • They have a new version of it, I think it will be fun to play with, my daughter is interested in the waterproof aspect. We ordered one.

        January 6, 2015

Comments are closed.

