Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Looking Forward to 2015

Usually when I do the Tuesday Bits and Bobs it is more a short term look at the week ahead and what I am going to be doing.  For this last one for 2014 I thought I could do one that was more about what I am hoping to achieve in the year ahead. Maybe in 12 months I can look back and see how much of this I achieved.

Newsletter

I have decided to start a newsletter.  At this stage it will be once a month, I think I could manage that and then I will see how I go.  The idea of the newsletter would be like a personal letter from me, I will have tutorials, tips, and links to things that I think will be good.  I will also include information on courses I am teaching and such.

I am going to start this next month, in January.  The newsletter, at this stage will be free, if it gets too big I might have to rethink things, but at this stage, I can’t see any problem with it being free.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you are interested in subscribing to my newsletter, I will put a contact from at the bottom of the post for you to send me you email address.

Classes

I have spent the last couple of years teaching photography, but I have now decided to add photo editing to my available classes. I am going to start offering classes to learn Lightroom and Photoshop CC. I feel fairly confident that I know enough about both programs that I can teach it, and domesticblissinvwhat I don’t know, I know how to find out.

At the moment I am waiting to hear back from a couple of places to see if they have somewhere available for me to use to teach them. Once I have a place I can then start organising dates. At this stage I am thinking of classes of around four weeks.

People will need to have laptops to do the classes and the software on them, hopefully it won’t be too hard to find up to 10 people who want to learn and have a laptop.

Book

Most of you know that I got that grant this year to produce a book on Banyule Flats. I will be working on that quite a bit next year. So more photos and then getting things ready for the book.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIn the short term decisions have to be made on exactly what the book will be about, and whether or not I need more money to produce it. If I need more money then I might have to look into some crowd funding, I’ve never done that, but I might be able to get help.

I will, of course, keep you up to date with what is happening with the book in these posts.

Trips

Now my biggest adventure is my planned trip to the USA. I am really looking forward to that, and pretty soon tickets will be booked and I will be getting every thing ready for it.

It is very exciting and very scary at the same time. I do plan on now making it a regular feature of the Tuesday Bits and Bobs posts. I just need to sort out my dates now.

Social Snappers

00221I am going to continue going the Social Snappers Excursions next year. Hopefully they will pick up a lot more. I need to look into my advertising a lot more and see what I can do. I have some plans.

Artwork

You may have noticed in this post that the images are a bit different to what I normally show. This work is what I started when I was at the Victorian College of the Arts doing my Fine Arts Degree. It was quite popular work, but it was hard to do and very expensive.

00207All the individual things are ceramic. I made molds of everyday items and then cast them in clay. They were then bisque fired and left. I liked the colour of them and I painted everything else in a colour to match. I had work in a few exhibitions, but in the end stopped applying for things.

Now I have boxes and boxes of those ceramic pieces under my house, and I think I know how to use them. I am going to do more environmental work with them, and I will be sure to show you the photos here.

2015

I think that is enough to try and achieve, of course I will continue visiting as many places as I can to take photos and finding more images to work on. None of that will change.

Here is a gallery with those images, and I hope you have some great plans for 2015. Don’t forget if you want to subscribe to the newsletter fill in the contact form at the bottom of this post.

59 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I like the all-white room. 🙂

    December 30, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, it certainly made a statement. 😀

      December 30, 2014
  2. Comment: I love those ceramic bits. The way you have them stacked so they are just shapes and shadows, very cool! And you are going to be busy this year, best of luck on everything

    December 30, 2014
    • Thank you, it is interesting how different they are to the real objects, in exhibitions it was amazing to see people pointing at things and how many wanted to touch them, as they they would disappear if they did. thanks, Happy New Year.

      December 30, 2014
  3. Busy schedule!! Enjoy working on it!

    December 30, 2014
    • I hope so, lots to do and hopefully it will be successful, thanks Chris.

      December 30, 2014
  4. Wonderful plans for 2015 Leanne! I wish you all the success with everything! 🙂 Your artwork and photos of it look really great! 🙂

    December 30, 2014
    • Thank you Elina, all the best to you too.

      December 30, 2014
  5. Wow! Leanne, this is an awesome post. Congrats on your book. I can’t wait to see that. That will take a lot of time, I guarantee you! 🙂

    December 30, 2014
    • Thank you Marsha, yes, I’m sure it will, I have to finish getting the photos for it as well, lots to do to keep me busy I hope. 😀

      December 30, 2014
      • You are always a busy bee! 🙂

        December 30, 2014
      • I try, being busy is good.

        December 30, 2014
  6. Wow… That’s organised. Very best wishes for all your exciting plans.

    December 30, 2014
    • Yes, so unlike me really, but I think it is time I got organised. Thanks Maxine and all the best to you in 2015.

      December 30, 2014
  7. it sounds like a busy year ahead for you so all the best for it. 😀

    December 30, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, I think busy is good, I just hope I can achieve it all. All the best to you too. 😀

      December 30, 2014
  8. Good ;luck with your plans for 2015

    December 30, 2014
    • Thank you Tootle, I hope your recent surgery doesn’t keep you from making the most of 2015.

      December 30, 2014
  9. This was so much more than bits and bobs! I can tell you will not be bored in 2015.

    December 30, 2014
    • That’s for sure Lois, a big year, hopefully, thank you.

      December 30, 2014
  10. white against white is very challenging to photograph !! You have clicked them so beautifully 🙂

    December 30, 2014
    • Thanks Andy, I used my first DSLR to photograph these, so it is good to hear you say that. 😀

      December 30, 2014
      • yayyy !!!! congrats !!! I am inspired !!
        Which camera Leanne ??

        December 30, 2014
      • I can’t really remember, it wasn’t mine, I think it was a Nikon D200.

        December 30, 2014
  11. Hey 🙂 I got my first DSLR today after nearly a year of saving up, and I’ve decided that a proper camera requires proper photoshop and lightroom (not just the photoshop app I had) and it is so difficult to work out. I had no idea where to start and got really overwhelmed with it, so I’m sure photoshop and lightroom classes will be a big hit. Its just a shame I don’t live close enough to attend.
    All the best for all your plans for 2015!

    December 30, 2014
    • That is wonderful, congratulations on getting your first DSLR, how exciting. You are right, I think, I would probably start with Lightroom and then work your way up to Photoshop. I do online classes, if you ever want to do some with me.
      Thank you and the same to you, Happy New Year and lots of clicking for you.

      December 30, 2014
  12. Good luck with all your amazing ventures Leanne! Are you still thinking of doing online Photoshop courses? I’m in for sure 🙂

    December 30, 2014
    • Thanks Julie, hopefully it will all be successfull. I don’t know, I do individual ones, but not sure how I would go with a group one.

      December 30, 2014
      • Perhaps we can touch base in the NY? I hope it is a magic year for you too Leanne .. 🙂

        December 30, 2014
      • Any time Julie, thanks Julie.

        December 30, 2014
  13. Hi Leanne, I think this is a great way to start the year, and it sounds like you have a wonderfully ambitious year head, so much to look forward to. Good Luck, and all the best to you.

    December 30, 2014
    • Thank you Janice, I hope so, I think it is all achievable, time will tell. All the best to you too Janice, hopefully a great year for both of us.

      December 30, 2014
  14. Link didnt seem to be working?. Love the change in artwork…looks great

    December 30, 2014
    • Which link Julie?
      Thank you, should be interesting to see how it turns out.

      December 30, 2014
  15. Sounds like you’ll be busy! I love your ceramic work – very appealing and tactile!

    December 30, 2014
    • Yes, I hope so, busy is good, thank you.

      December 31, 2014
  16. What an amazing year it has been …..my sincere thanks for all your effort …..it has been appreciated heaps! A fabulous new year to you and yours from Trees

    December 31, 2014
    • It has been a wonderful year Trees, and you’re welcome, thank you so much for all your support. Happy New Year to you too.

      December 31, 2014
  17. lmarea3070 #

    This year I want to get organized. Wish me luck on that one! Are you planning to stop in GA? 🙂

    January 3, 2015
    • I am trying to do the same Lisa, I have been sorting out lots of things in my house, getting ready for the year ahead. Where is GA?

      January 3, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        Georgia? It’s in the Southern part of the USA

        January 3, 2015
      • No I won’t be going there on this trip, only going to California and then New York. I hope I will get back another time.

        January 3, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        Have fun! I’m about to post some photos of NYC. I used to live there. Bring lots of money, NY is expensive!

        January 3, 2015
      • I will have to look out for them, can you send me a link, I would love to see them.

        January 3, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        ok

        January 4, 2015
      • 😀

        January 4, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        Don’t get too excited, they’re not that great 🙂

        January 4, 2015
      • I am sure they are wonderful. 😀

        January 4, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        No! I take the pics to blog about my travels. I like doing that. They’re not meant for anything else. Only for memories.

        January 4, 2015
      • That is a great reason Lisa, the best really, we should all do it for ourselves.

        January 4, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        I posted some on my FB recently of the family when we were in NY. You can look there.

        January 7, 2015
      • Are we friends on FB, I can’t find you.

        January 7, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        Yes!

        January 7, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        I just wrote on your FB and shared an album.

        January 7, 2015
      • I got it, the name stumped me, of course I know who you are now, LOL

        January 7, 2015

Comments are closed.

