Skip to content

Monochrome Madness in 2014

In February this year a challenge was started between myself and Laura Macky, and now here we are at the end of the year and it is still going.  At times it has been hard work, other times, frustrating, but always rewarding.  It has been wonderful to see all the images that people send me, and their trust that I will take care of their work.

On a personal level it has been wonderful because I have done 43 monochrome images that I may not have done otherwise.  I have met some amazing people along the way, and discovered new blogs to follow.  Many of my introductions posts have come from the people I have got to know through MM.  I used to always think in colour, but now I am often finding myself wondering if something would look good in monochrome, and what can I do with it.  I am also a lot more comfortable doing black and white now so MM has been fantastic for that.

For those who do it, some have been fantastic at sending an image every week, while others do it when they can.  I suppose, in some ways, I am the only one that can’t miss out, which has been good.  I hope you have enjoyed the MM posts each week and seen the wonderful, I also hope you will continue to enjoy it next year.

This week we are taking a week off, but will be back next week, entries have already started coming in.  I have gone over the last 43 weeks of MM and have a gallery for you looking at all the images I have taken for the Challenge.  It will be 2015 the next time I write, so Happy New Year to everyone too.

For those of you who missed yesterdays post, I am starting a newsletter and if you would like to subscribe to it then I will include a contact form at the bottom of this post.

If you want to receive my newsletter, then fill in the form below.

66 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on Gems favourite things.

    December 31, 2014
  2. thekellygeorge #

    These are stunning – couldn’t pick just one as a favorite; each one brings something unique (though capturing the moon now thats cool).

    December 31, 2014
    • Thank you, it was nice to look back at all the ones I’ve done.

      December 31, 2014
  3. Every single photo is exceptional. Well done on orchestrating this project. Although I do not participate through submission, I very much enjoy seeing each week’s MM photos. Thanks.

    December 31, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear Laura, it is great to hear how people enjoy it. Thank you.

      December 31, 2014
  4. I just started blogging in the fall so this is great to see a summary of your year’s MM pics! Happy New Year:)

    December 31, 2014
    • So new to blogging, I hope you hare thoroughly enjoying it? I’ve been here for just over 4 years and still love it. Thank you Nato, I think it is good to go back at times, nice to see the images you have forgotten about. Thank you and all the best for 2015 to you as well.

      December 31, 2014
  5. I honestly think some images are just better in monochrome. Makes you look at the shapes and the content without getting caught up in the colors.

    December 31, 2014
    • Some are, I agree, but I don’t always think monochrome makes images better. You do look at other things, I think, thank you Mary.

      December 31, 2014
  6. Your ambition keeps escalating. Maybe you’ve cloned yourself for the New Year. Warm wishes and keep surprising us.

    December 31, 2014
    • Yes, maybe too much, but I guess we will see, thank you Sally and all the best for the new year.

      December 31, 2014
  7. Beautiful gallery! The MM has been good for me too as I see the world in vivid color. Images that I would pass on making in the field are now being considered for black and white.

    Tamara

    December 31, 2014
    • I think my story is very similar Tamara, I liked the colour too much, so it has been good to force myself to do more monochrome work and I do like what I have done. Thank you.

      December 31, 2014
  8. I am so pleased to have discovered your blog. As someone who loves monochrome I have enjoyed some of your exceptional images. Thank you and best wishes for 2015

    December 31, 2014
    • I am pleased you discovered it too Alan, the monochrome madness has been wonderful, all round I think. You’re welcome and thank you as well, all the best for 2015.

      December 31, 2014
  9. beautifully captured 🙂

    December 31, 2014
  10. Reblogged this on JOURNAL LE COMMUN'ART.

    December 31, 2014
  11. @St-Manuel #

    Reblogged this on A Thought…A Tune…An Image and commented:
    Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY – Dramatic/Beautiful

    December 31, 2014
  12. Thank goodness I didn’t miss it. I’ve been so distracted this year end!! Great monochrome review Leanne. All the best for the New Year and thank you for Monochrome Madnesses!!

    December 31, 2014
    • I’m glad you didn’t miss it as well Cybele, have loved having your images in MM. Thank you and same to you, I hope 2015 is a year filled with creativity and laughter.

      December 31, 2014
  13. I have thoroughly enjoyed this series – thanks to both you and Laura. All the best for 2015!

    December 31, 2014
    • Thank you Noeline, that is wonderful to hear, Happy New Year to you too.

      December 31, 2014
  14. Happy New Year Leanne! I wish you all the best in 2015!

    December 31, 2014
    • Thank you, all the best to you in 2015 as well.

      December 31, 2014
  15. All the best to you for the New Year. 😀

    December 31, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, all the best to you too. 😀

      December 31, 2014
  16. Beautiful! And a very Happy new Year to you and your family Leanne 🙂

    December 31, 2014
    • Thank you Julie, and all the best to you and your family for 2015 as well. I am hoping for a brilliant year. 😀

      December 31, 2014
  17. lensaddiction #

    Such diversity both in subject matter and the way you processed them. I wanted to play but my workload and student stuff took up all my spare time, maybe 2015?

    December 31, 2014
    • Thank you Stacey, I hope you can find time to process and send some images for 2015, I’ve seen you have been experimenting and having fun with your new camera.

      December 31, 2014
  18. Monochrome madness is always a winner with me.

    December 31, 2014
    • That is fantastic to hear Tootle.

      December 31, 2014
  19. Christine wilson #

    Excellent set of mono images Leanne , for me the challenge is making every image I edit into mono and making it work , sometimes if takes weeks 🙂

    December 31, 2014
    • Thank you Chrisine, great challenge, I have personal ones too, though making them mono isn’t always what I have in mind. Your work is stunning. 😀

      December 31, 2014
  20. Les #

    Since I have just started my Blog, I have not Posted much in MM, but will do more as time goes by. The one under the abandoned Bridge and a few others are what I’ve shot so far. I have just purchased a new Nikon D7000 DSLR and am looking forward to shooting more in Monochrome. Have a great New Year, Leanne. See you in 2015.

    December 31, 2014
    • That sounds wonderful Les, would love to get more images from you for MM, it is a great challenge and many people seem to really enjoy it. Lots of people have just got new cameras, must be the time of year, 😉 I hope you fall in love with your Nikon, I love mine. Thank you and all the best to you in 2015, I look forward to it.

      December 31, 2014
  21. stunning shots

    December 31, 2014
  22. Oh I love seeing all your gorgeous images all together like this. I have learned so much from MMC! I can’t believe I was daring enough to send an image many months ago and now, I don’t know where I would be if I hadn’t done so. Your work is always inspiring, I am so grateful you continue to do things like the MMC. Happy New Year, Leanne. I hope this year is full of creativity, hope and enjoyment for you.

    December 31, 2014
    • Thank you Carrie. That is wonderful to hear, so glad to hear you talk about it like that. Thanks again, I wish you all the best for 2015 and hope you have the same sort of year.

      December 31, 2014
  23. Beautiful
    Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless handheld from Glo Mobile.

    December 31, 2014
  24. Wishing you and your family all the very best for 2015, Leanne, and looking forward to many more magical photos in the New Year. 🙂

    December 31, 2014
    • Thank you Joanne, and the same to you, I hope 2015 is an amazing year full of wonderful experiences. 😀

      December 31, 2014
  25. hutchphotography2020 #

    Leanne,
    Thanks for all you do. You are a great inspiration to me. I look forward to writing more “story telling” captions on your photos: ) Have a very Happy New Year.

    December 31, 2014
    • You’re welcome Hutch, and that is a wonderful thing to say, thank you. I love reading your captions, so I look forward to more, thank you again and Happy New Year to you too.

      January 1, 2015
  26. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I almost missed this one! These photographs are gorgeous, Leanne. ❤

    January 1, 2015
    • I’m you didn’t miss it Jackie, thank you. 😀

      January 1, 2015
  27. They are all stunning. Once I get back into some sort of routine I will no doubt continue. 🙂

    January 1, 2015
    • I hope so Suz, it is good fun, I did miss you. Thanks you.

      January 1, 2015
  28. Great photographs!

    January 2, 2015
  29. nzsnapper #

    I have really enjoyed following these posts over the year, thanks for your time and effort and the lovely images from everyone who took part.

    January 2, 2015
    • That is wonderful to hear, it has been a great challenge, will be great to see how the new year goes with it.

      January 2, 2015
  30. Still quite taken with your daughter’s portrait. You may be a better portrait photographer than you think.

    Happy 2015!

    January 2, 2015
    • Thank you David, she likes that one too, I don’t know, I think my biggest problem is lack of confidence, I am not comfortable doing them. Thanks again and all the best for 2015 for you too.

      January 2, 2015
  31. A beautiful collection of B&W shots Leanne.

    January 4, 2015
    • Thank you Cardinal, it was nice to see them altogether.

      January 4, 2015
  32. Hi Leanne, Happy New Year to you. Thank you for presenting such great photos, MM is a terrific forum, I’ve been exposed to many great works. Looking forward to seeing many more in 2015. Btw, all the photos above are simply stunning, it’s very inspiring to look at your great talent.

    January 5, 2015
    • Thank you Mark, and Happy New Year to you, hope it has started well. That is wonderful to hear from your thoughts how much you enjoy MM. Thank you again.

      January 5, 2015
  33. I’m so glad you girls started this challenge in ’14.
    It’s one of my faves and something I look forward to. It rekindled my love for BW as my firm favourite in Photography.
    Love your images from the year – always inspiring Leanne and thankyou for never taking a day off 😉

    January 11, 2015
    • That is great to hear Robyn, it has done the same for me.
      It seems weird that we have been doing it for nearly a year now. I do take days off, lol, I had a couple over Christmas. 😉

      January 11, 2015
      • 😃😃

        January 12, 2015
      • The year has gone by so fast – with many wonderful mono images along the way.

        January 12, 2015
      • It has gone fast and it has been a great year, I have really enjoyed it too Robyn.

        January 12, 2015

Comments are closed.

