Skip to content

A Lazy Day

geelong-batesford-dogs-rock-original (1)

It is going to be hot here today, and tomorrow, 39 today, already almost 36, then 41 tomorrow, the best thing to do on days like this is to close the house up, so it is dark inside, and keeping still.  I know it is all relative, while it gets hotter in some parts of the world, and it gets colder in other parts, it really does depend on what you are used to.  We get winters, and we get summers, and there is a difference.  Anyway, I don’t want to do too much, so I am taking it easy today.

Then comes the problem of what to post.  I am being lazy today, so I thought I would show you the images I did for Robyn’s One Four Challenge. I originally put them up on my other blog, but I can’t do polls there, so I thought I might show them again here and add a poll.

I will put the images into a gallery with a poll at the underneath.  All posts will return as normal from tomorrow, which also mean Monochrome Madness will be back next week, so if you have an image ready then remember to send it in.

89 Comments
  1. Stay cool there Leanne!!

    January 2, 2015
  2. lensaddiction #

    I like 3 and 4 equally, different process for each but both work very well, it was a good image choice for you 😊

    January 2, 2015
    • I think 3 is probably my favourite, each one done quite differently, thank you Stacey, I think it was a good one for me too.

      January 2, 2015
  3. Hey Leanne .. nice seeing these pics again. I really like the original too. Looking forward to monochrome madness 🙂

    January 2, 2015
    • Thanks Julie, I’m looking forward to Monochrome madness as well, should be good. 😀

      January 2, 2015
  4. Wow, amazing photos you got there!

    January 2, 2015
    • Thank you, good to hear you like them.

      January 2, 2015
  5. amazing images!!!! as usual!

    January 2, 2015
  6. I commented on each image separately.

    January 2, 2015
  7. This was a fun view, to see the same image in various ways. I voted for 3, but it was close. I really like the original. Comparing them is like apples and oranges. The Internet is interesting, in that it makes our world so small. It is hard to imagine it being oppressively hot in the summer at the same time I’m freezing in winter in New England. 🙂

    January 2, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, number 3 is my favourite as well. It does make our world small you are so right Laura, I can tell you that right now I wish I was somewhere cold, I am over the heat already and it has only just begun. 😀

      January 2, 2015
  8. Karen #

    Great images Leanne, stay cool. It’s pretty hot and humid in this neck of the woods too.

    January 2, 2015
    • Doing my best Karen, it is only just starting to get hot now, thankfully not humid here, it is quite dry. You keep cool too Karen.

      January 2, 2015
  9. I love seeing these photos again. I love Week 3 the best, looks like a painting. And I agree with a commentor in your previous post who said that it’s worthy of framing it on the wall 😀 Take it easy, Leanne. You are right, best to keep the house dark and sit still on hot days like these. Which is what I’m doing in my apartment. I don’t know why some people go to the beach to cool off, always thought it a bit silly 😀

    January 2, 2015
    • I like that one too Mabel. Thank you, I hadn’t thought of framing it, maybe one day. I have too, though if you don’t have air conditioning could be a good thing to do. I remember homes with no air conditioning growing up and how horrible it was. It always amazes me how tiring it it. Keep cool Mabel 😀

      January 2, 2015
  10. You could shoot low light inside your home.

    January 2, 2015
    • No energy for anything Gary, don’t you find it exhausting when it is this hot?

      January 2, 2015
      • My happy place is Darwin. I love warm and moist. The more humid the better. Canberra just sucks the life out of me. It’s either too hot or too cold and always dry. That said I don’t like dry heat. In Darwin one of my favourite things to do was to take my shirt off and lay on the cool tiles. It was the best way to cool down. I hope tomorrow’s weather in Melbourne isn’t as bad as it’s been forecast. I hope you can stay cool.

        January 2, 2015
      • Oh no, not humid, yuck, give me dry heat any day. The only thing I like about humidity is that it isn’t usually as hot. I grew up with the dry heat, so I am used to it, and really it doesn’t last for long really, a day or two, then crash thunder rain, well normally. I will let you keep your humidity, if that is okay.

        January 2, 2015
      • Fine by me Leanne 🙂
        I have Ichthyosis vulgaris (a genetic trait resulting in very dry skin) so I’ve always loved humidity.

        January 2, 2015
      • That would suck Gary, I hope you get all the humid days then and we get none. 😀

        January 3, 2015
  11. Its the same here 42º such a shock to the system….. : )) not to mention the garden!

    January 2, 2015
    • It certainly is a shock, always seem to forget how bad it is. I am watching things in the garden curling up. Keep cool Trees.

      January 2, 2015
  12. Stay in doors with air-conditions dear Leanne. Climates are going strange and seasons are being extreme… Thank you, you are one of my beautiful photographers in this world, and I love your photography. Happy New Year, love, nia

    January 2, 2015
    • Doing my best Nia, air conditioning doesn’t always cope with these temperatures. They are strange and getting stranger. What a beautiful thing to say, thank you so much Nia. Happy New Year to you too.

      January 2, 2015
  13. lmarea3070 #

    Stop teasing me with this awesome tree!

    January 2, 2015
    • Haha, too funny Lisa, you will have to see if you can do one yourself.

      January 2, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        Yes!

        January 3, 2015
      • 😀

        January 3, 2015
  14. move slowly!! I vote for #3!!! But love them all!

    January 2, 2015
    • Lovely, that’s my favourite. I am moving slowly and looking for anything that is cool. Thanks Cybele.

      January 2, 2015
  15. Funy
    Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless handheld from Glo Mobile.

    January 2, 2015
  16. A toss-up between Week 3 & 4. Week 4 gets the nod!

    January 2, 2015
    • Fantastic to hear your favourite, thank you.

      January 2, 2015
  17. for me week one is the strongest edit in my opinion, possibly I am just a sucker for black and white.

    January 2, 2015
    • Yes, possibly Ben, seems the third is the most popular.

      January 2, 2015
      • Well every one has different tastes, one of the reasons I like the one four challenge.

        January 2, 2015
      • They certainly do Ben, and yes, that is one thing that does make them great.

        January 2, 2015
  18. You must be talking 41C not 41F. 🙂 Actually the forecast here in Virgin1a is about the same but in farenheit. We need to stay warm. Love the tree.

    January 2, 2015
    • Yes, we do Celsius here, so 41C, I think that is about 105F. You stay warm and we will do our best to stay cool Marie. Thank you. 😀

      January 2, 2015
  19. Rather you than me, 25 is as hot as I like it.

    January 2, 2015
    • Thanks Bill, I am the same, hate it over 25, but it probably gets a lot colder there than it does here.

      January 2, 2015
  20. #3’s got that stormy weather look. One can almost taste the dust in the air. Nice variations.

    January 2, 2015
    • I think so too, glad you can almost taste the dust, that is what I was hoping for, dust storm look. Thank you.

      January 2, 2015
  21. Original. (It’s the real McCoy!)
    If you feel too warm… it was -14 degrees Celsius here in Illinois two days ago. Think of that! 🙂

    (And my friends in Canada – where I once lived for awhile – say it’s so warm there that the bears may come out of hibernation!)

    January 2, 2015
    • Fair enough Thomas, I like number 3 myself.
      That sounds good, 14C, would be nice, much prefer that kind of temperature to it being so hot. It is normal for here for this time of year, unfortunately.
      I hope the bears don’t come out too soon, it is getting warm everywhere, which isn’t good. Reports all over the news here today about fires everywhere, guess summer really is here now.

      January 2, 2015
  22. Love the number 3 version, Leanne, though you have to have a nice image anyway to start with . Keep cool – we rarely get to 30, let alone 41 here! Phew!

    BW
    Julian

    January 2, 2015
    • Thank you Julian, that one is my favourite as well. I think I would like that, never over 30, but you probably get much colder winters than we do, it is fairly mild here during winter.

      January 2, 2015
  23. Week 3 got the vote. Heavily manipulated photos are usually not my favourites, but the painting like style looks good. I also liked the colours in the original and the simple monochrome of week 1.

    January 2, 2015
    • Wonderful, that’s my favourite too. Glad you like it Jussi, thank you.

      January 2, 2015
  24. Stunning!

    January 2, 2015
  25. After a long fight I voted for #3 – I like the original as well,
    Ulli

    January 2, 2015
    • My favourite too, wonderful, I’m usually so off, and my favourite is not the one others like, so I am very happy this time. Thank you Ulli.

      January 2, 2015
  26. -19 Celsius here this morning but sunny

    January 3, 2015
    • Sounds good Ken, you going out to get some images?

      January 3, 2015
  27. I’ll add a vote for #3 as my favourite, but each one is beautiful. I really enjoy seeing the same photo with multiple treatments, I find it very inspiring.

    January 3, 2015
    • Thank you Jen, that is great to hear. It is an interesting process to do, quite challenging too. Maybe you could give it ago.

      January 3, 2015
  28. I was being lazy too yesterday – did not have any WP interaction aside from my posting. I went with #3 as this is very much a Leanne looking image – perhaps because when I first began following you, you were doing quite a bit of work with textures. Good series none the less. Keep coolish…

    January 3, 2015
    • Sometimes you just have to do that. It is going to be so hot here today that all we will want to do is sit around and veg. Thank you Robert, I love that one too, it was interesting to use textures to do something like that, I might try doing more I think. Thanks again, hope it isn’t too cold there.

      January 3, 2015
  29. Love them all.

    January 3, 2015
  30. Stay cool and stay safe Leanne. I hope the predictions of bushfires are not fulfilled over the next few days.

    January 3, 2015
    • Doing my best Carol, it is okay inside so far, hopefully won’t need to go anywhere today and maybe the cool change will come through soon. It isn’t looking good for the fires, I need to keep an eye on here too, we have always been safe, but it only takes an idiot to throw out a cigarette butt across the road, it is so dry now. How is it up there?

      January 3, 2015
  31. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    January 3, 2015
  32. Beautiful images! I went with Week 4, even though they are all fantastic, I think 4 just called to me more than the others, though 3 was in close second. I wish summer was here, but it’s a brisk and cold winter here in the US. Now that the new year is underway, I’m ready for warmer temperatures!

    January 3, 2015
    • That is great to hear Molly. You wouldn’t want our summer Molly, way too hot, and very windy and then we are all scared of fires. I hope you are keeping warm. While you are wanting it to be warmer, we are wanting cooler days. Cool change later today I hope. Thank you.

      January 3, 2015
      • I’m originally from very hot and humid Missouri. I did spend some time in Arizona, which was a more dry, arid heat, and they typically get wildfires every year. Thankfully we moved away before one did hit a few years ago. Gotta love the switch between Southern and Northern Hemispheres!

        January 3, 2015
      • We get quite a few fires around here, but we are sort of sheltered where we are and have always been lucky where we live, though that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t be vigilant. I don’t think any parts of Australia are immune to fires, there are fires every summer and each state seems to take it in turns. It is an amazing world we live in.

        January 3, 2015
  33. Week 4 is so dramatic. I love it.

    January 3, 2015
    • That is wonderful to hear, thank you.

      January 3, 2015
  34. joshiphotoeye #

    Nice pics.
    And wish u a very happy new year

    January 3, 2015
    • Thank you and all the best for 2015 to you too.

      January 3, 2015
  35. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Do what works, Leanne; no photograph is worth putting your health at risk. When it is hot or humid here, I do not go out and I keep the air conditioner on. If we lose power, which sometimes happens, I go in the basement.

    Global warming is throwing our weather into a tailspin. We are expecting the first snow today; normally we would have had snow as early as November.

    January 4, 2015
    • You do have to do that Jackie, we stay in, close all the curtains, keep the place dark and use the air conditioner, it works a treat.
      The weather is all over the place and you never quite seem to know what will happen. It looks like we will be having mild weather for the next week at least.

      January 4, 2015
  36. it’s interesting how processiing can dramatically change the mood of a shot… love the original and No. 3… the original seems both real and surreal, if that is even possible 🙂 and No. 3 is so artsy, like the cover of an antique book…

    wishing you all the best in the new year, Leanne 🙂

    January 4, 2015
    • I know just what you mean Alexandra, it is something I like about processing, you never quite know what you will get. Thank you and all the best to you for this new year too.

      January 4, 2015
  37. poppytump #

    Pffft Leanne that sounds SO hot … way to much for me Lol . I’m sure you’ve kept cool indoors and found a distraction from the heat in the form of post processing 🙂
    I do LOVE no 3 . Seems like a winner all round with everyone else too !

    January 4, 2015
    • It is hot Poppytump and the best thing to do is stay indoors, we also had a horrible hot wind with it, so indoors is really the best place to be. Thank you, I did spend time on the computer, but also watching the cricket, LOL
      I think so too, I love No 3 too, definitely my favourite, so it is good to see it is with others as well.

      January 4, 2015
  38. Sorry… you misunderstood my comment, Leanne. It was minus 14 degrees Celsius here… not 14 Celsius. (I sure wish it was 14!) 🙂

    January 4, 2015
    • Yes, it seems I did, no I wouldn’t like it to be that cold, I think my body would shut down, I’ve never experienced temperature like that.

      January 4, 2015
  39. 3! But the original is my fav!!! Here in Darwin we finally got the moonsoon relief…. I’m longing for my snowy slopes, crisp air and fire in the cheminey. Only a dream. Hello from Darwin😅🌴

    January 4, 2015
    • Quite a few people like the original too, it is coming third in the preferred images. That is great, glad you are getting some relief, I’ve never been to Darwin, but my husband lived there as a child. I was thinking the same thing yesterday, it would have been nice.

      January 4, 2015

Comments are closed.

