Skip to content

Weekend Wandering: Warburton and Lala Falls Part 1

warburton-lalafalls-rain-forest-macro--135

Can you believe it he waterfall is really called Lala Falls?  I was there yesterday, my first trip out for the new year.  I don’t know that I would call it a great trip, but it was nice to be taking photos again.  As I said yesterday the weather has been heating up and while it wasn’t really hot when we went to the waterfall, it was warm, and then walking to the waterfall was hard work, it was uphill all the way. It wouldn’t normally be considered a long walk, but when you are doing it in the middle of summer and the uphill is never level, or any down, it was hard.  I was so glad when I got there.

warburton-lalafalls-rain-forest-macro--115

I used the macro for most of the walk.  It was wonderful to keep looking for little things to photograph and I think I got quite a few things.  You do have to walk and look all around you.

warburton-lalafalls-rain-forest-macro--120

 

Then there were the things you didn’t expect to find in a rain forest, earrings growing from ferns.

warburton-lalafalls-rain-forest-macro--123

The walk was great to look at, and everywhere you looked it was so pretty.  I think I like rain forests.  They are so green and on a hot day they always seem to be so cool, you can feel the moisture in them.

warburton-lalafalls-rain-forest-macro--132

I even managed to get a dragonfly, I was excited when I got home and saw this.  I did find it hard to get many macro shots, perhaps because I was so tired and my heart was racing.  I really need to get fitter.

warburton-lalafalls-rain-forest-macro--142

The waterfall was lovely, and I put my ND 400 filter on and put the camera on the ground and got some long exposures.  It really didn’t look like this, but I like the effect.  We went to Warburton with the purpose of doing a few things, but in the end didn’t do a lot.  I would love to go back, maybe stay a couple of days.  It would be great to be there in winter I think, and I also think there would be a lot more to photograph in the rain forest during that time.

A map to show you where it is.

I have a gallery of more images for you now.  All these images were taken on the way to the falls, tomorrow I will show the photos on the walk back, and some that I took around the river at Warburton.  I hope you have had a chance to get out and some photos this year.

 

120 Comments
  1. Beautiful Leanne. I like the path shots with the lighting

    January 3, 2015
    • I really liked those as well, the lighting was gorgeous on it. Thanks Ken.

      January 3, 2015
  2. Another Wonderful post Thank you

    January 3, 2015
    • You’re welcome, great to hear you enjoyed it, thank you.

      January 3, 2015
  3. Happy New Year Leanne…lovely taking this peaceful walk with you in the rain forest ☺

    January 3, 2015
    • Thank you Julia, and Happy New Year to you too. It was a very peaceful walk, thank you.

      January 3, 2015
  4. Beautiful photos!

    January 3, 2015
  5. Beautiful! I do love that macro lens! The earring is a hoot. It was just hanging there like that? Amazing.

    January 3, 2015
    • I am really loving it too Laura, I know why you love it too now. It was, just hanging, I almost missed it. Thank you.

      January 3, 2015
      • How funny about the earring. I’m loving your macros!

        January 4, 2015
      • It is funny, not what we were expecting. I’m glad you like them.

        January 4, 2015
  6. Just beautiful!

    January 3, 2015
  7. Such beautiful shades of green!

    January 3, 2015
    • I agree, the greens are stunning, I loved them, so vibrant. Thank you.

      January 3, 2015
  8. Wow, so green and lush. What a beautiful area. We are in completely opposite places. Lush forest for you, dry desert for me.

    January 3, 2015
    • It is wonderful how the rest of the country goes golden but the rain forests are always green and lush. I might have to visit more. I hope the desert hot, but is beautiful. Thanks Mary

      January 3, 2015
  9. Leanne, these are just all so beautiful. Thank you for bringing into my life GREEN like this when I am looking at white and grey, drab days. How cool to find an earring on a fern …. you found treasure. LOL I have yet to use my ND 400 which I meant to do when I went to Niagara Falls, but that never did happen. Perhaps today I use it. I might just go on a photo shoot today with hubby, for yes, I have my itch back to use my Canon. I’ve been on camera vacation, using my Samsung so I don’t have to lug around heavy equipment. I understand it is hard work with about 25 pounds of equipment on your back, hiking uphill or hiking period. I again really thank you for bringing to us such beautiful photos. I LOVE the sparkle on the small flower you found. Have a great day!!! Love, Amy

    January 3, 2015
    • Thank you Amy, great to hear you like them. There is a bit of green left, but where I live it is all going golden, or brown. I am sure you will get to use it. I am starting to realise that there are many different applications for it, which I plan on exploring this year. When I am hiking I don’t carry a lot with me, that is easier. I am sure you will get back to your camera soon, I remember how depressing you can find your winter there.Take care Amy, I’ll try and keep cool and you try and stay warm.

      January 3, 2015
  10. Beautiful, Leanne!

    January 3, 2015
  11. Beautiful images of all that lush fauna. I especially like the fern close-ups.

    January 3, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, I probably did too many of them, but I couldn’t help myself.

      January 3, 2015
  12. Marvelous and stunning photos !

    January 3, 2015
  13. Lovely set of images.

    January 3, 2015
  14. Dragon flies, waterfalls AND earring growing ferns? Sounds, and looks, very magical! Next time, see if you can find the elusive unicorns that are surely there too. 🙂

    January 3, 2015
    • It was Nato, wasn’t wet enough for the mushrooms, so no fairies, I was keeping a sharp look out for anything magical. Thank you, big smile on my face. 😀

      January 3, 2015
  15. Beautiful work as usual. 🙂

    January 3, 2015
  16. Brilliant shots for a day out. I usually have to have my eyes open for Macro shots and then once I see one they all pop out in front of me.

    January 3, 2015
    • I have to admit I have been very bad in the past for not looking closely at things, but I am getting better, the friend I was with is very good at finding things. Thank you Ben.

      January 3, 2015
  17. The ferns are beautiful! Lovely pictures.

    January 3, 2015
    • Thank you, I couldn’t stop taking photos of them.

      January 3, 2015
  18. Gorgeous!! I have never seen ferns growing ear rings, Australia has some very unique plants! The trees in the rain forest, wow, so tall and beautiful. You are blessed with great places for photography.

    January 3, 2015
    • I haven’t either John, Australia certainly does, LOL. We are lucky, there is a lot more rain forest around here than I thought, I do like going into it. Thank you John.

      January 3, 2015
  19. Just amazing!! your photos make me miss summer but I`ll try to give the snow a chance again here

    January 3, 2015
    • Thank you, I think the snow photos make me miss winter. It is too hot here right now, and too hot to do anything. Please do, I love photos of snow.

      January 3, 2015
      • We had more snow before Christmas but it is getting cold again…just a veil of snow though.

        January 3, 2015
      • So is it colder or warmer when it snows? I know nothing about snow.

        January 3, 2015
      • Um, it has to be a bit warmer…just barely freezing point…but today was bittter cold. I am so glad my son got me Gortex gloves, mitts and socks…just the gloves are so warm at minus 15 C I can only imagine how I will be dancing home nights with the mitts too.

        January 3, 2015
      • So if it gets warmer then you look for snow? How amazing, I discovered what ice storms were 12 months ago, What we wear in winter would be no good where you are. My daughter and I did a drive to the snow a couple of years ago and we couldn’t believe how cold it was and how badly we had dressed for it.

        January 3, 2015
      • In from Quebec and live in the triangle where the I’ve storm of 1998.lasted 4 to 6 weeks no hydro

        January 3, 2015
      • OMG not sure how I would cope with that, too hard. I hope you don’t have to go through that again.

        January 3, 2015
      • Well now I would have to move in with a friend who has a generator or fireplace and no, don`t wnat that to happen…it is pretty the first 2 days and that is it.

        January 3, 2015
      • I would have to do the same. I’ve heard that too about snow, pretty first couple of days then it turns to sludge brown and yucky.

        January 3, 2015
      • only in the cities but no tin smaller towns…it is lovely…I come from a small town and driving on the snow is great as long as it is not too high

        January 3, 2015
      • I have never driven on snow, it does not snow here, in fact there are only a few places in Australia where it does snow.

        January 3, 2015
  20. The area is beautiful and your pictures capture it very well.

    January 3, 2015
    • Thank you, it is so easy to get good images when the area is full and spilling over with beauty.

      January 3, 2015
  21. What a beautiful place that must be to wander around. Gorgeous photos!

    January 3, 2015
    • It is, really stunning, it was beautiful everywhere you looked. Thank you.

      January 3, 2015
  22. Just beautiful macros. Love your ferns and that dragonfly is just amazing. Happy New Year to you. 😀

    January 3, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, I was happy to get that dragonfly and the ferns were amazing, I couldn’t stop photographing them. 😀

      January 3, 2015
  23. Hi Leanne,

    Thanks for visiting my blog http://suspendedmoment.wordpress.com/ from time to time….

    I’m enjoying your photographs here.

    Happy New Year!

    January 3, 2015
    • You’re welcome fencer, I try and get to many blogs.
      That is wonderful to hear, thank you and Happy New Year to you too.

      January 3, 2015
  24. Great shots, Leanne. Love the ferns and the little violets. Did you use your macro for the longer shots as well?

    January 3, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, Yes, I used the macro for everything except the shots of the waterfall. I love how it took the shots of the paths.

      January 3, 2015
  25. Cool in every sense of the word.

    January 3, 2015
  26. beautiful woodlands Leanne! and they look cool and refreshing!

    January 3, 2015
    • They are Cybele, I would like to go back at some stage. Thank you.

      January 3, 2015
  27. Gorgeous shots Leanne, its a bit of a hike in the heat,
    last time I WS there was probably 4-5 years ago time to go back 🙂

    January 3, 2015
    • that’s for sure Chris, a big hike when it is hot, would like to do it again, but when it is not so hot.
      Maybe I can go back with you, but not when it is so hot. 😀

      January 3, 2015
  28. Love the dragonfly 🙂

    January 3, 2015
    • That was a lovely surprise for when I got home, thought it hadn’t worked. 😀

      January 3, 2015
  29. Absolutely beautiful. We have a rainforest here in Washington State that I would love to go see in the summer!

    January 3, 2015
    • I hope you get to go and see it Molly, they are great to explore, just make sure you stick to the path, you don’t want to get lost. Thank you, I loved taking photos in it.

      January 3, 2015
  30. Luscious 🙂

    January 3, 2015
    • Great word for it Sarah, thank you. 😀

      January 3, 2015
      • My pleasure 🙂 It’s the word that springs to mind whenever I see such bountiful greenery.

        January 3, 2015
      • Great word and very apt for there. 😀

        January 4, 2015
      • I can see why my dad came back from Melbourne with a love of tree ferns 🙂

        January 4, 2015
      • They are all over the place in rain forests, and I never realised how much rain forest there actually was around here, and I’m looking forward to exploring it a lot more. 😀

        January 4, 2015
      • Oh I know, there’s lots of rain forest in your area 🙂 One day I’ll make it over there to see family and where we lived!

        January 5, 2015
      • LOL, I wish you had told me, haha, I’m blown away by it, never realised until just recently. I hope you do Sarah, would be lovely to meet you. 😀

        January 5, 2015
      • They must show more of it on telly here than there 😉 Yes, I’d love to meet up with you Leanne! I’m going to have to save for a round the world trip 🙂 It’s that or build a TARDIS!

        January 5, 2015
      • Or I haven’t been taking any notice, lol. I know what you mean. I am desperately trying to save enough money for my trip to the US in a few months. Hard to do sometimes. 😀

        January 5, 2015
      • It’s actually quite common for people to not be aware of everything in their local area! We’ve got to get everything paid for the wedding before we can start thinking of other travel. Are you going to meet up with Laura?

        January 6, 2015
      • Yes, I’ve heard that too, I’m trying to find out more, but it is nice to always be discovering wonderful new places. Weddings can be expensive, so I understand that. Yes, I will be spending a few days with her.

        January 6, 2015
  31. Reblogged this on Life after work and commented:
    Not all of Australia is arid! It has incredible diversity. These photos take us to places of luxuriant greenness and quiet beauty.

    January 3, 2015
    • That’s for sure, we do have a lot of areas that aren’t. Thank you for the reblog.

      January 3, 2015
  32. Just beautiful. The earring! And I’m partial to the dragonfly. Happy New Year, Leanne!

    January 3, 2015
    • Thank you Elen, the earring was a funny find. I was so happy to get the dragonfly. Thank you Elen and Happy New Year to you too.

      January 3, 2015
  33. leecleland #

    You have a very good ‘eye’ Leanne I have found taking fern shots quite challenging but here you have numerous beautiful ones. Sounds like a worthwhile day to me.

    January 3, 2015
    • Thank you Lee, I was looking for light, watching how the light caught the ferns. It was a great day, looking forward to coming back.

      January 3, 2015
  34. These photos look so cool and refreshing – it’s already 37C outside today, and the fire helicopters are flying over us again…I wish I was in a rainforest instead! Or just rain would be good.

    January 3, 2015
    • It is a lovely place to be on a hot day, well, except if you have to walk uphill a lot. It is up to 36 here now sukie. I hope you keep safe and watch out for fires. Rain is predicted tonight not sure how much we will get, probably not enough.

      January 3, 2015
      • We did get 5ml – enough to damp things down and for us to stop worrying, thankfully. Fire crews still busy, though. hope you got a share of rain, too!

        January 4, 2015
      • We got about 3ml Sukie, but it is definitely cooler, so hopefully that is good for the firefighters. I don’t know how they do it in this weather.

        January 4, 2015
  35. Hey leanne .. I just love all that green. It looks delightful. What a superb walk through the forest. 🙂

    January 3, 2015
    • How wonderful is it Julie, I loved how green it was. You must have some beautiful rain forests over there too. Thank you. 😀

      January 3, 2015
  36. Pat #

    Beautiful.

    January 3, 2015
  37. The paths look inviting. Nice captures.

    January 3, 2015
    • They were inviting, and then I regretted them, to much uphill, thank you Donna.

      January 3, 2015
  38. Oh my it is so so beautiful!! think I will put one of your photos as my background at work…what an oasis when I need to escape from the problems I hear on the phones.

    January 3, 2015
    • Glad you think it is beautiful, thank you.

      January 3, 2015
      • I always find your photos amazing…I am saving ot get a good camera to truly capture what I see.

        January 3, 2015
      • That is wonderful to hear, just remember that you have to learn how to use it as well, I hope that doesn’t sound patronising, but often people think a good camera will just take good photos and it has nothing to do with the photographer and their level of skill. I hope you have signed up for my newsletter, that might help.

        January 3, 2015
      • No I can appreciate th at. I have a Pentax 35 mm from the 70’s no automatic. With many lenses but I want to get digital. And prepared to take lessons.

        January 3, 2015
      • That is probably a good idea, though I am sure if you are from film it won’t take much for it to come back. It is pretty much the same, digital and film, the only difference really is the ISO is built in and you don’t need film anymore.

        January 3, 2015
      • When my ex and I purchased our camera,he went several times to get training from the photographer who sold the camera…best thing…I love how you can play with light…I can`t draw worth beans so I find pohotgraphy fascinating. My daughrer is artistic though and my aunt.

        January 3, 2015
      • It is good to learn how to take photos and how to use the camera, it is so worth it. Not very often now that I can’t work out why a photo won’t work. I love photoshop, that is where a lot of my playing comes into it. I don’t think you need to be able to draw, but it is good to learn to observe, that helps a lot. I am going to do a blog post on it soon.

        January 3, 2015
  39. joshiphotoeye #

    Amazing

    January 3, 2015
  40. lensaddiction #

    that first flower shot is so delicate, it looks like its made from glass or something similar 🙂

    I hear you on the fitness, so I have started walking the local hill tracks to get my walking and cardio fitness up for when I go to Tassie 🙂 This damn cold I’ve had for a week has put a dent in my exercise plans tho 😦

    I heard about the horrible temps you guys are having at the moment, stay safe and inside if its too hot 🙂

    January 3, 2015
    • It was a very tiny flower Stacey and very delicate.

      I have to get better and so much fitter for my trip to New York, I am going to be doing a lot of walking there. Never easy when you are sick. The weather here has been terrible, too hot and now it is raining, but I am going to start walking soon.

      It was just a couple of days, thank goodness, hopefully we will never get another week like we did last year. Thanks Stacey.

      January 4, 2015
  41. Beautiful and stunning macro photographs!!
    Very nice post prod!!

    January 3, 2015
    • Thank you, I think I like photographing rain forests through a macro, it is quite interesting what you find.

      January 4, 2015
  42. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The nature shots are superb; the hoop earring was a cool surprise. 🙂

    January 4, 2015
    • It was a funny surprise, I couldn’t believe it when I saw it. Thank you Jackie. 😀

      January 4, 2015
  43. The only photos that I have taken so far this year have been with my little point and shoot (and all just happy snaps). lol
    I need to get back out in the garden or somewhere. My son is apparently taking me away for the weekend soon to places where I can take lots of photos. I hope I don’t get frustrated with photos not turning out the way I want and then give up.

    January 7, 2015
    • I have to say I haven’t got back into it much yet, just a couple of times, it has been too hot here.
      Oh that will be nice, my best advice is, don’t have any expectations, then you can’t be disappointed, just have fun, and the images will follow.

      January 7, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wandering: Warburton and Lala Falls Part 1 | Donna's Blog
  2. Weekend Wandering: Warburton and Lala Falls Part 2 | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

Comments are closed.

