Skip to content

Weekend Wandering: Warburton and Lala Falls Part 2

warburton-lalafalls-rain-forest-macro--112

Back in Warburton today.  I thought we might have a look at the trip back from the waterfall and some images I took along the Yarra River in Warburton.  If you missed the trip to the waterfall and images of it then take a look at yesterday’s post, Weekend Wandering: Warburton and Lala Falls Part 1.

On the way back from the waterfall it was all downhill and we moved a lot faster than we did on the way up. I think moving a lot faster we didn’t see as much.

warburton-lalafalls-rain-forest-macro--146

This little guy was a fun find, though we had to move very quickly to get it.  I think this is a skink lizard, well that is what my husband said.  I got about 4 images and then it was over the other side of the log.

warburton-lalafalls-rain-forest-macro--151

I just love the images along the path, it looks so beautiful and peaceful.  I hope you can tell we were walking downhill.

warburton-lalafalls-rain-forest-macro--100

Warburton is on the Yarra River, but it looks so different to what you see of it in the city.  In Warburton it is barely more than a trickle and there are lots of places to take photos of the water running over rocks.  There is a big walk you can do along the river here, and I would like to do that one day, we just did a small part.  The weather wasn’t great, and we thought it would be better and cooler to walk through a rain forest, we were right.

warburton-lalafalls-rain-forest-macro--103

There were lots of flowers out along the river and we were enjoying taking photos of them.  As I said, it would be nice to go back and just spend a few hours wandering along the river, with my tripod as well.  Could get some magnificent photos, I can see them now, so I know I will be back.

I am just going to show the images in a gallery now. The first lot will be the walk back, the second part will be from the first image of the bridge, and then it will be photos from around the river. The cool change has come through and hopefully the temperatures will be much lower now, we will all be breathing a sigh of relief.  I also hope the rain that has come with the cool change will help put out all the fires that have been burning around the state.

 

68 Comments
  1. Beautiful place and would love to be there someday

    January 4, 2015
    • I hope you get to one day, I hope to get back there, it was a wonderful drive there as well.

      January 4, 2015
      • Oh absolutely Leanne..i have been in love with Australia since i was 16…:-)

        January 4, 2015
      • Wonderful, I hope you have been able to see it. Thank you.

        January 4, 2015
      • I did visit Australia for a 3 week trip in 2013… I want to just live there now 😀

        January 4, 2015
      • It is a great country, but if you live here you see all the problems. It was a great country once, but with a succession of stupid politicians, it is going down the toilet, sadly.

        January 4, 2015
      • Hmm that is true for most countries now..my love is for it’s lovely people and amazing nature:-)…

        January 4, 2015
      • Yes true, but I think what I am saying is the dream of a place is often much better than the reality.

        January 4, 2015
      • Hmm that could be true..i dream and realities of life tends to be different..

        January 4, 2015
      • Usually the way.

        January 4, 2015
  2. Susan Portnoy #

    Lovely images Leanne! Thanks for sharing.. I wish that warm weather was on this side of the planet. I keep meaning to go shoot and then I look at the temperature.. LOL

    January 4, 2015
    • Thank you Susan. I know what you mean, I see what the temperature is and think better to stay indoors, LOL.

      January 4, 2015
  3. Wonderful images. My favourites in this set are the delicate fungi, the leaves hit by light but surrounded by darkness and, of course, that delightful lizard.

    January 4, 2015
    • I like your favourites Laura, that fungi was so weird, I’ve never seen anything like that, thank you.

      January 4, 2015
  4. Nice to get a dose of still “green” as the wind whips snow around us here.

    January 4, 2015
    • It is the same for here, everything is dying off now for the summer, but it is nice that some areas stay nice, like the rain forests, I think they are always green. Thanks Maya, stay warm.

      January 4, 2015
  5. Just magical!!!

    January 4, 2015
  6. Beautiful collage, Leanne!

    January 4, 2015
  7. I love the flowers. Very beautiful! Looking forward to seeing more from the next time you visit!

    January 4, 2015
    • I was quite taken with them, so I am glad you enjoyed them as well, thank you so much Molly.

      January 4, 2015
  8. Beautiful! I would love to take that walk!

    January 4, 2015
    • I am sure you would enjoy it Joy. Thank you.

      January 4, 2015
  9. We have Colour shots here very impressive Thank you

    January 4, 2015
    • That is wonderful, you’re welcome, thank you.

      January 4, 2015
  10. I love the ferns especially, so soft and delicate. You are hoping for cool weather, and I am looking forward to the warming trend predicted here! Here’s to us both getting what we want.

    PS You have to take me to the Yarra River!

    January 4, 2015
    • I couldn’t stop photographing those ferns, they were so green and so lovely, the shapes. We have got some cooler weather today, hopefully it won’t turn humid. I hope you get some warm weather soon.
      Anytime Nia, if you come back to Australia, or Melbourne, I will take you to the Yarra River.

      January 4, 2015
  11. Love the light in the forest and the hints of blue 🙂

    January 4, 2015
    • I was really taken with the light in the forest as well, I wanted to capture it, I hope I did. Thanks Julie. 😀

      January 4, 2015
  12. Love the mix Leanne. Which lenses have you been using for these? The tall trees are impressive and the agapanthus beautiful! Chris

    January 4, 2015
    • Thanks Chris, I used the macro for almost all except the agapanthus and the bridge, I used my 24-70mm for those. I loved the trees too.

      January 4, 2015
      • On the strength of your response I took my macro only on a bush walk in the Royal National Park, south of Sydney where we are anchored. Didn’t like the narrow field of view for general shots, but was absolutely amazed at the detail you get to see and capture of plants and flowers! Will post shortly on my first macro foray!😊

        January 4, 2015
      • DoF should work like a normal lens when you are pointing it at something far away, but I also know what you mean too about the detail, how amazing is it, are you hooked already? I will look for your shots.

        January 4, 2015
      • Yes I am hooked! Just finished preparing a post – scheduled for Tuesday!

        January 4, 2015
      • It doesn’t take long, does it? I will look out for your post.

        January 4, 2015
  13. It looks a lot like an area along the river not far from here. Especially the bridge. It look just like that bridge over the Blackstone.

    January 4, 2015
    • I am sure the bridge isn’t original well not in design anyway. I think the bit along the river has been taken over and not much like it was originally, but still very beautiful, thank you Marilyn.

      January 4, 2015
  14. Great shots! Very Cretaceous looking!… except for the bridge one of course!

    January 4, 2015
    • Thank you Thomas, that’s great.

      January 4, 2015
  15. Lovely images of the agapanthus Leanne. Ours have finished blooming now so I will enjoy yours here instead.

    January 4, 2015
    • We have had a wonderful display of them down here, seems everywhere you look you are seeing flowwering agapanthus, it has been beautiful.

      January 4, 2015
  16. Lee #

    All great, but my favorite is the path through the forest. A birdwatchers delight!

    January 4, 2015
    • I love the photos of the path, especially the first on this post, something magical about it, thank you Lee. I have to say we didn’t see many birds, might have to look more next time, though I didn’t have the right lens with me for photographing birds.

      January 4, 2015
  17. These capture the quality of the air. Or what I’m imagining the air to be like. Warm, moist, soft the type of air that dampens noises. The moistness is from the plants and enclosed by the tree canopy, outside hot and dry. Close?

    January 4, 2015
    • I love what you have said there Laura, it is wonderful, and you have nailed the rain forest with your words, thank you so much.

      January 4, 2015
  18. Looks peaceful and very beautiful! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    January 4, 2015
  19. Beautiful landscapes and I love the Agapanthus. The woodland path is enchanting. I love the light and shadow at play and the bowing ferns!

    January 4, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, I love the agapanthus as well, you have to love a plant that is fun to pronounce. I have to say I loved that light and shadow too and it was what I was trying to get in the images.

      January 4, 2015
  20. She_Who_Hears #

    Love the shots. I live in Gippsland. You’ve just given me another place to check out. Stay safe from the fires and the heat.

    January 4, 2015
    • That is great, and not too far from there is it? Thank you.

      January 4, 2015
      • She_Who_Hears #

        A little over three hours. 🙂

        January 5, 2015
      • That’s not too bad maybe an overnight stay Somewhere.

        January 5, 2015
      • She_Who_Hears #

        Yeah I think so. Or two or three. 🙂
        Happy travels.

        January 5, 2015
      • Sounds like a plan, good luck, I hope you get there, 😀

        January 5, 2015
  21. Wow! It’s all just so fantastically beautiful, truly. I dream of visiting a similar place in the future.

    January 5, 2015
    • Thank you, I think I like rain forests. I hope you get to go to one soon, well worth the trip.

      January 5, 2015
  22. Amy #

    Breathtaking images! Thank you so much for sharing, Leanne!

    January 5, 2015
    • You’re welcome Amy, and thank you so much.

      January 5, 2015
  23. Lovely photos – those purple flowers are gorgeous

    January 5, 2015
    • Thank you Nova, no idea what they one, but I loved them as well.

      January 5, 2015
  24. Beautiful photos with light capture on it. Thanks for sharing

    January 5, 2015
    • The light was amazing through the trees, I love it. Thanks Cattan, and you’re welcome.

      January 5, 2015
  25. Very nice pictures!

    January 6, 2015
  26. LB #

    Happy New Year, Leanne!
    These photos are wonderful … especially the lizard! and that pathway … I’d love to walk down that path

    January 7, 2015
    • Happy New Year to you too LB, and thank you so much, it was a great walk to go on.

      January 7, 2015

Comments are closed.

