Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: The Year Begins

Last Tuesday I did a big post on what I am hoping to do this year, and really so far, not a lot has happened and nothing much has changed.  I don’t really know what to tell you about this week.

Newsletter

Just a reminder that I am going to start a newsletter.  I am still trying to work out what I will put into the first one, but plans are afoot.  I am hoping to get it out next week.  I am trying to work out how to put a link in the side bar for people to sign up to it, but so far, I am stumped.  So if anyone has done it, please, would love some ideas.  For now I am going to put the contact form at the end of the post for you to fill out.  I know some of you have left messages, and I’m sorry I haven’t responded, but the way they came out was a bit weird.

Monochrome Madness

Just a quick reminder that Monochrome Madness is back this week and you still have time to send in your images.

Wacom Tablets

I am very excited, I have ordered a new Wacom Tablet, the Intuos Pro Medium.  I have had one for a few years now, but a small one, so I thought it would be good to get a bigger one.  I have a brother in law who works in doing special effects for movies, and he suggested the medium.  It will, hopefully, arrive in the next couple of days.

That is about all the news I have really.  I thought I might use some photos that I did about 2 years ago, but I still look at them and love them.  They were of the Council Chambers in the Melbourne Town Hall.

Here is the form if you want to sign up for my Newsletter.

45 Comments
  1. I am not sure what I would do with out my pen and tablet, makes editing feel much more natural than with a mouse. I still have a small one and after ten years it probably needs to be changed.

    January 6, 2015
    • I don’t think I could work without it now, I’ve been using mine for must be about 4 years now. I want to start teaching editing, so I want to be able to use one for that, would prefer the old one to get ruined and still have one at home.

      January 6, 2015
  2. Lovely Old world decor of the town hall

    January 6, 2015
    • Yes, it was built during the gold rush, when Melbourne had a lot of money.

      January 6, 2015
      • I missed a lot of interesting places to see in Melbourne..had only 4-5 days

        January 6, 2015
      • Yeah, not really enough time, there is a lot here to see, though I guess it would be like that in any city.

        January 6, 2015
      • absolutely.. and to really see a city you need months and probably more.. 4-5 days are too short.

        January 6, 2015
      • We were in Copenhagen for about 7 months, we were living there, and I think that is sometimes the best way, you really get to experience a city or place when you have to try and live there.

        January 7, 2015
      • So true Leanne…best to live in a city to fully experience it

        January 7, 2015
      • Absolutely, you really get to know it too.

        January 7, 2015
  3. Reblogged this on Benji Martin Photography.

    January 6, 2015
  4. You have completed another amazing page for all your friends to enjoy Thank you

    January 6, 2015
    • Thank you, that is wonderful.

      January 6, 2015
  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    WordPress has support that can tell you how to do it or give you the code you need. They have always been patient and helpful with me.

    New tools are a blessing, congratulations:”Wacom Tablet, the Intuos Pro Medium”

    I don’t remember the Melbourne Town Hall; these images are gorgeous. 🙂

    January 6, 2015
    • Yes, I might have to try them, I have seen what I want, but don’t seem to be able to work out how to do it, though I think it is a problem with WP, more with Mail Chimp.
      Oh yes, new tools are great, though it shouldn’t be that much different to what I have now, just a little bigger, but still exciting.
      I did them about two years ago, so it was a while ago Jackie, it is a great place to take photos.
      Thanks Jackie.

      January 6, 2015
  6. Beautiful photos! 🙂

    January 6, 2015
  7. Sounds like you need a “mail-to” link with subject line already filled out. Use a text widget. Your html code would be like this:

    If you wish to subscribe to my newsletter, please click here.

    It’ll open the default email program.

    January 6, 2015
    • Seems like the html code didn’t show. Try again:

      “If you wish to subscribe to my newsletter, please click here.”

      If doesn’t show, send me an email.

      January 6, 2015
      • If I can’t get the other thing worked out, I might have to do this. Thanks David.

        January 6, 2015
    • What I was trying to do is to work out a way that people could sign up to the newsletter directly at Mail chimp, so I wouldn’t have to add everyone individually, they would just be added. Something you can do with Mail chimp, but I can’t work it out.
      Thanks for the help David.

      January 6, 2015
  8. Amazing. I love pictures of old architecture. You captured it beautifully. 🙂

    January 6, 2015
    • Thank you Classy, I love old architecture and I was so lucky to be given an opportunity to photograph this room. 😀

      January 6, 2015
  9. Beautiful set ….love the tonal quality of them…also have tried to subscribe to newsletter but am having no luck w the submit button : ( not sure why. Oh its less than a week lf the new year : .)

    January 6, 2015
  10. Such great texture and vivid colour.

    January 6, 2015
  11. Wow. Now THAT’s a town hall!

    January 6, 2015
    • Oh yeah, they wanted to show off how much money the city had during the gold rush. Thanks Laura.

      January 6, 2015
  12. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    January 6, 2015
  13. Beautiful town hall.

    January 6, 2015
  14. great photos!! I have a wacom too but have not attempted to use it yet!

    January 6, 2015
    • Perhaps you should give it a go Cybele, I love mine, you can do really fine work with it, it is great.

      January 6, 2015
  15. Truly beautiful pictures! Love how you managed to convey the different textures without losing any sharpness.

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you, it is something I love working on. It is a really amazing room.

      January 8, 2015
  16. pragnya #

    Brilliant stuff!

    January 8, 2015
  17. That are pretty amazing pictures. They are so wonderful and beautiful. Where is that?
    You give so much happiness when I see your posts.

    January 10, 2015
    • Thank you, these were taken in the council chambers of the Melbourne city council, they are in the Melbourne Town Hall.
      That is a lovely wonderful thing to say, thank you so much.

      January 10, 2015
  18. I have an old tablet that I still use with my laptop. I prefer it when working with digital scrapbooks layouts etc. I used to use it with Illustrator but haven’t used that program in quite some time. I actually won a Wacom Bamboo in a competition once but I’ve never opened it. I do love using mine and prefer it to a mouse at times.

    January 10, 2015
    • I love mine, I’ve had one for about 4 years, and it has been amazing, but it was a bit small, this new one does so many things, it so incredible. I am loving using it. Might have to chuck the mouse away. Maybe you should try the Bamboo one, see if it is better or worse, you might be surprised. I’ve been watching something online about using a Wacom Tablet and the guy said to throw away your mouse and only use it, really get used to it. The battery went dead on my mouse yesterday, so I am seeing how I find just using the tablet, getting used to typing with the pen in my hand, still make the same mistakes, so not to bad. LOL

      January 10, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: The Year Begins | Donna's Blog

Comments are closed.

