Skip to content

Quiet Thursday Following a Quiet Lunch

Yesterday was my 50th birthday, and I have to say I wasn’t sure about it.  Fifty does seem to be a defining age, half a century.  Something to be celebrated in cricket, an age that once a upon a time was considered very old, but in these times, it is sort of the new middle age.  I have a friend, a good friend who has decided that 50 is something to be definitely celebrated, and that we should revel in it.  Perhaps she is right.  I should think of it as being very positive and that my career is really going to get going this year, better and better.

Anyway yesterday was fantastic.  The friend, who I just told you about, and another took me to lunch in Williamstown at The Anchorage.  My friend, the first one, both love seafood, and seafood platters, so we had one of the best seafood platters I’ve ever had.  We looked at reviews for the

After the movie, while leaving IMAX I had to take a photo of the dome on the Royal Exhibition Building, it was so beautiful.

After the movie, while leaving IMAX I had to take a photo of the dome on the Royal Exhibition Building, it was so beautiful.

platters, or for the best ones in Melbourne and found out that The Anchorage was in the top 5, and it had the best views.  Though we were sort of seated in a funny place, so we couldn’t really take in the wonderful views of the marina and the city beyond.  The platter was fantastic, and lived up to our expectations.  The service was quite good too.  Someone said I should take photos, and I didn’t want to take my camera with me, but thought I could do what everyone else does, so I used my phone. I am not very good of thinking of photos though when I am out for other reasons.

After our very long lunch we went to the IMAX cinema and watched Interstellar, a fantastic film.  I think I like watching movies at IMAX, and I’m looking forward to seeing more there.

The only downside to the whole day was that the main present that was ordered for me didn’t arrive.  I had ordered my Wacom Tablet from Education Software, they usually have great prices.  I ordered it over a week ago, and thought, since it was only coming from Sydney it would be here in plenty of time for my birthday.  Apparently they were closed for Christmas, but if they had notices on their website, they weren’t obvious and I didn’t know.  Then when they rang on Monday because they thought I had made a mistake with my order, I found out, and they said it wouldn’t be sent until later in the week.  All I could think was that it wouldn’t be here for my birthday, that it had been stuffed up.  They did ring back and say it would be sent expressed post, but apparently that never happened.  So I am still waiting for my Wacom Intuos Pro Medium Tablet.  I do hope it will arrive one day.  I could’ve got it from overseas faster.

I have some photos for you, these are ones I took yesterday with my phone.  Not great, but the day was about other things than taking photos.

195 Comments
  1. Happy Birthday! Happy 50! It is a terrific age!

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Cate, I think you might be right.

      January 8, 2015
  2. Happy Birthday and I hope your gift is in your hands soon.

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you, I hope so too, I feel like I’ve been waiting for it for a long time.

      January 8, 2015
  3. Walter Hampson #

    Belated Happy Birthday Leanne. I’ve been told that 60 is the new 40 as life now apparently starts there. Based on that you are still a youngster 🙂 Nice blog, love the pictures.

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Walter, I have been suspecting that, and I think you could be right, I am definitely going to try it. Thanks again. 😀

      January 8, 2015
  4. Happy Birthday Leanne! Glad your special day was fun. 50 isn’t so bad, I’m 54 and still rockin’ 😎😁

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you John, I think you are right, yep still going.

      January 8, 2015
  5. You weren’t sure about it being 50, or you weren’t sure about celebrating it.

    The first would be cause for concern . . . as for the latter, I always remember all the people who don’t get to 20 or 30, let alone 50.

    These days, at 61, I celebrate every day. Well, I don’t go out and eat every day, or go to the movies, but I make sure I enjoy what I do, and like I said, not look at it as a burden, but as an accomplishment.

    Happy belated birthday.

    January 8, 2015
    • It was the first, I think because in my mind I’ve always thought it was old, and now that I am here, is it, I don’t feel old, and I think that is something I need to remember. I do think it is going to be a fabulous year, I had a lovely birthday and I enjoyed it so much.
      I think that is great, my grandmother, is still with us, and she is into her 90’s, I’m told I am just like her, so maybe I am only half way, time will tell.
      Thank you so much Disperser.

      January 8, 2015
  6. Happy Birthday! I’m right behind you and already have similar feelings about the number. But I agree that it’s going to be a great year!

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Tricia, glad I am not the only one that had or has apprehensions, but age is relative, and it is what we made of it, here’s a to a great year Tricia.

      January 8, 2015
  7. Awe, happy birthday! I am celebrating 4-0 in less than a month…I know what you mean in your hesitation of moving into a new decade. It sounds like you have wonderful friends, what an incredible place to celebrate in. That seafood platter looked delish and I love the 360 panorama too. Great to see you enjoying yourself and the views around you.

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Carrie, I remember that one, about 10 years ago. I do have wonderful friends, it was a great place, I really enjoyed it, I couldn’t go with my husband, he is a vegetarian and there would be much for him. It was amazing, the platter, too much, couldn’t eat it all. I am, thank you so much.

      January 8, 2015
  8. Congratulations and Happy Birthday–but you will get no sympathy from me (70!) 😉

    January 8, 2015
    • I don’t need any sympathy, really, I am okay with it all, thank you. 😀

      January 8, 2015
  9. Happy birthday Leanne. I’m 50 this year too 🙂

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Gary, must have been a good year, 1965! 😉

      January 8, 2015
  10. Happy birthday! I love the pictures of the swans but was wondering what’s round their necks?

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you, the swans were great, I think it was some sort of tagging, they all had different numbers.

      January 8, 2015
  11. Happy birthday to you!

    January 8, 2015
  12. It sounds like you had a magnificent birthday. I will be 60 this year and I can tell you that the last 10 years have completely flown by. I liked your phone photos.

    January 8, 2015
    • I did, it was fantastic and quite special. I don’t know that I want to know that, but I do know what you mean. I hope you have a wonderful beautiful birthday as well.

      January 8, 2015
  13. Happy 50th!! There is still life after 50, it gets better trust me 🙂 Looks like you had a nice day by your lovely photos.

    January 8, 2015
    • That is good to hear, I’ve heard that a lot, so I am looking forward to this year. I did have lovely day, thank you so much.

      January 8, 2015
  14. lensaddiction #

    Happy Birthday Leanne (Im only 5 years behind you!) and its a bummer about your tablet. Im having the same issue with my Lee Filters, they got stuck in Customs over the xmas break and then they had the backlog to clear so only got released today. Hopefully both yours and my parcels will arrive in the next day or so!

    Sounds like you had a lovely day out and a yummy lunch too 🙂

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Stacey, it creeps up. The tablet has now, finally, arrived and it is fantastic. Why did your filters get stuck in customs? We don’t seem to have that trouble here, I don’t think, never had it happen anyway. I just ordered my first Lee Filter, the big stopper.
      I had a wonderful day, it was the best.

      January 8, 2015
      • lensaddiction #

        If a parcel is over a certain value (around $200) you have to pay duty and GST when bringing it into the country and customs hold the goods hostage until you pay 😦 it added $214 onto my total cost but I got a bundle deal with all the nd grads and holder and a big stopper for a good price so I’m OK with that. Was cheaper than buying them all individually!

        Look forward to your big stopper images, while I live 10 min drive to the sea we have lots of sandy beaches but not a lot of interesting rocky places to play with long exposures 😦

        January 8, 2015
      • We are lucky, that only kicks in if it is over $1000, so never had to pay it. That’s a lot, but good to hear you got a bundle deal. I got the big stopper, but might start getting some more.
        I just tried some long exposures over Banyule Flats, might do a lot more there and other places, it is great to get clouds moving. I like that. I have to drive at least an hour and a half to get to the beach, bit of a drag really. 😦

        January 8, 2015
      • lensaddiction #

        Well I do have LOTS of sky and clouds, so will try for some of those shots over the sea and experiment 🙂

        January 8, 2015
      • Sounds like a plan Stacey. Good luck and have fun. 😀

        January 8, 2015
  15. Happy belated Birthday! Fifty was too long ago..I don’t remember lol!

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Mother Hen, I am sure if it was a long time ago then you are doing really well.

      January 8, 2015
  16. Happy, Happy Birthday! It only gets better from here!
    You have a delightful blog…..I look so forward to your photos. Keep up the great work!

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you so much, that is fantastic to hear.
      Thanks for what you said about my blog as well, that is so wonderful, I will do my best.

      January 8, 2015
  17. Maggie Beck #

    The day was for memory making, Leanne. Thanks for sharing some of them with us. I wish you the happiest of birthdays and all best wishes for the grandest of years ahead!

    January 8, 2015
    • It certainly was Maggie, you’re welcome, it was nice of you to join me, even if only in photos. Thank you so much.

      January 8, 2015
  18. Glad you had a wonderful seafood lunch and birthday, sans the non-delivery of the tablet. More birthday to look forward to in the near future!

    January 8, 2015
    • I did, it was so relaxing, and the lunch was so good. Yes, the tablet has now arrived, and it is so big, but looks fantastic. Yes, I think so too. Thank you so much Laura.

      January 8, 2015
  19. Happy Birthday………..glad you had a nice day :-). I have the same Tablet, its great. It will be worth the weight I am sure.

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, is was fantastic, we might have to have a social snappers over there in Williamstown. The tablet has arrived, it is amazing, can’t wait to start playing with it.

      January 8, 2015
  20. happy birthday Leanne! Definitely something to celebrate.

    January 8, 2015
    • Yes, a big birthday, thank you.

      January 8, 2015
  21. Happy Birthday! I am glad you had a lovely day. Your phone photos are better than most of my DSLR photos.

    January 8, 2015
    • I’m sure they aren’t Laura, thank you and it was a great day.

      January 8, 2015
  22. Your friend had the right idea Leanne. She planned a wonderful outing for you – one that you will remember for a long time.

    January 8, 2015
    • It was a wonderful outing, I enjoyed it so much, oh yes, I think so, I was thinking the same that I would remember it for a while.

      January 8, 2015
  23. sandlera #

    Happy 50th Leanne. This decade is the best. Enjoy it!

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Anne, I am looking forward to seeing what it brings.

      January 8, 2015
  24. The food looks yummy, the pictures are great, and happy birthday! Interstellar did look pretty interesting, but I haven’t been to a movie since Gone Girl. I have so many I would like to go see, but time and money typically tend to make the final call.

    January 8, 2015
    • It was Molly, very yummy. thank you, the movie was great, I like going but don’t go often. My back can be a bit of a problem when I go.

      January 8, 2015
  25. Thank you Leanne Happy Birthday belated your post are very wonderful Thank you

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you so much to you too.

      January 8, 2015
  26. Try as you may, you’ll never catch up to some of us 😉

    January 8, 2015
    • Should we make a bet on that Barry, LOL 😀

      January 8, 2015
  27. Lee #

    Happy 50th Birthday! That one didn’t bother me, it was my 60th. 2 months after it, I found out that I had shrunk an inch. That bothered me.
    Smile and enjoy your 50th.

    January 8, 2015
    • Oh dear if I shrink people won’t see me, LOL,Thank you, I think there are always going to be birthdays that are hard.

      January 8, 2015
    • Lee #

      Not to worry on this one. You are safe. (By the way, I have now shrunk 2 in so far, but am 71 now. Down to 4.10. Just call me the incredible shrinking birdwatcher. Soon I will be able to take photos at eye level with the birds.) 🙂

      January 9, 2015
      • I think my daughter is looking forward to me shrinking then she will finally be taller than me. Being short definitely has it’s advantages. 😉

        January 9, 2015
  28. Happy 50th birthday! I seem to remember when I turned 50. 🙂 Nowadays, I see that age in my rear view mirror. LOL

    January 8, 2015
    • I love that, what a great expression, thank you. 😀

      January 8, 2015
  29. Happy Birthday, and yes time seems to fly. It’s a cliche but unfortunately time seems to go faster when one is getting older – one more reason to indulge in white wine and chips :))

    January 8, 2015
    • Yes, I’ve been noticing how it seems to go much faster, but it is all relative, still seems to crawl when you are waiting for something to happen. Thank you.

      January 8, 2015
  30. Congratulations, Leanne, you made it to half a century. It sounds more than 50 when referred to in this way. Half a century!! Wow! What I wouldn’t give for that number. Everything in life is relative. Glad you had such a nice day with your friends.

    The photos aren’t bad at all. They are lovely. I especially love the dome and the BLACK swans. They are gorgeous!

    A healthy and happy new year to you and all. 🙂

    January 8, 2015
    • It does sound more, but that’s okay. It is all relative, thank you.
      I love the dome too, I did wish I had my good camera with me then though.
      thanks again and all the best to you for the year ahead. 😀

      January 8, 2015
  31. Susan Portnoy #

    Happy Happy Birthday!!!!

    January 8, 2015
  32. Happy Birthday Leanne! The best is yet to come 🙂

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Jodi, I think you might be right. 😀

      January 8, 2015
  33. Happy Birthday and welcome to the 50’s. I remember how excited I was to become thirty-something but fifty-something feels so much better!

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, seems to be like an exclusive club and now I’m a member. I think it is going to be an amazing year and time ahead.

      January 8, 2015
  34. Happy Birthday Leanne, Age is what you make of it – I know some old twenty-somethings and some young octogenarians – I’m very glad you are embracing the good things in your life and are not being bothered by something as trifling as a calendar. Each day we allowed to walk among our family and friends is a gift not afforded to everyone – Enjoy!

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Robert, very true too. Great way of looking at it. Thank you so much Robert, very good words.

      January 8, 2015
  35. Many happy returns of yesterday Leanne with warmest good wishes 🙂

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you so much Andrew. 😀

      January 8, 2015
  36. Happy birthday Leanne!

    January 8, 2015
  37. Happy Birthday, Leanne! Good to hear you had a good day at Williamstown and IMAX. The seafood platter sounds delicious. I must make time to try it when I’m there next time. These are really good photos, very good ones of the ducks with a phone. What app did you use for the panorama? I can never get a good one like that 😀

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, I did have a good, really good. I can highly recommend the seafood platter, it was amazing, everything was done perfectly. Thanks, not bad for the phone, I did play with them a little, but not a lot. I just used the camera in panorama mode, nothing special. It was done with the Note 4. 😀

      January 8, 2015
      • Thanks for that. Your phone is good. Panoramas are hard to do if you have many things moving in the frame. But you got lucky there 😀

        January 8, 2015
      • You’re welcome, it is meant to be a good camera, well for a phone. 😀

        January 8, 2015
  38. Happy Birthday! The Fifties aren’t bad at all. I’ve been having the time of my life. I’ve never been more fit, and free to do what I want when I want. I hope this decade is your best ever! 🙂

    January 8, 2015
    • That is fantastic to know, I think as my girls start being more independent, which is really starting to happen it will be much better. Thank you so much.

      January 8, 2015
  39. oh great, Leanne, now I’m hungry. 🙂 Happy belated birthday. I used to eat a lot of seafood, especially shrimp. Now shrimp gives me an allergic reaction. (Aww). Anyway, I also saw “Interstellar” not in IMAX, but “4K” My head hurt afterwards, lots of science terms lol. You’re already well into Thursday?! It’s not midnight here yet on Wednesday. Bizarre. And cool. You’ve traveled into THE FUTURE!

    January 8, 2015
    • You’re welcome Eric, LOL. Thank you for the birthday wishes. What a shame about the shrimp, or prawns to us. I don’t know what 4K is, we have extreme which is a really big screen, but not as big as IMAX. You know the way I look at it, I’m always ahead, you know how it, LOL. 😀

      January 8, 2015
  40. Dear Leanne, there is a small present for you waiting to be delivered… at the moment it is in a virtual form, but it could come into tactile existence if you share with me your postal address. Obviously not here but maybe in a private message on my Facebook page Evelyn Vedrana. Bonne Anniversaire and love from Evelyn and Muppetofaman ❤

    January 8, 2015
    • Wow, how amazing, sounds intriguing, I don’t really give out my address, but I do have a post box, so I can give you that address, would that work?

      January 8, 2015
      • yes please ❤

        January 9, 2015
      • Email sent.

        January 9, 2015
      • this is kind of like a teaser for your PO box surprise https://evelynthepuppy.wordpress.com/2015/01/09/love-in-lovran-in-2012/

        January 9, 2015
      • Your sending me a puppy? LOL, not sure it will get through customs.

        January 9, 2015
      • hehe puppy is sending you a package, she will stamp it with her paws 😉 and when you mention customs, it seems to be only real obstacle when to of us decide some day to hit the road around the world not just around Europe… interesting fact, Evelyn has been already to 13th countries in 2.5 years of her life 😉 and has featured in many places in many awesome photos hehehe… I think I will make one page of just photos of her life so far… story in pictures.. love from us from Dublin ❤

        January 9, 2015
      • Yes, coming to Australia with a puppy would be hard, they have to be in quarantine for a while, not sure how long. Must be wonderful to live where it isn’t too hard to visit other countries. sounds like a brilliant idea. I will watch the post box. 😀

        January 9, 2015
  41. Happy Birthday for yesterday Leanne!

    January 8, 2015
    • thanks Gypsy I had a great day.

      January 8, 2015
  42. Age just sneaks up on you. First you are 40 then 50 then 60 and you begin to realise just how finite life is. Make the most of it while you can!

    Lovely picture of the Royal Exhibition Building.

    January 8, 2015
    • I can relate to that Bill, it really does, I will do my best. Thank you, I really wished I had my other camera for those shots. I am going to have to go in again.

      January 8, 2015
  43. Happy Birthday Leanne! Hope your present arrives soon, then you can celebrate again! 🙂

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Katie, it has now arrived, so I have been playing with it. 😀 I’m a happy girl now.

      January 8, 2015
  44. Happy 50th birthday, Leanne – may you be able to enjoy every moment of the next decades, and be blessed with excellent health and as many exciting adventures (especially photographic ones) as you wish for!

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you so much Reggie, sounds like great wishes.

      January 8, 2015
  45. Belated Happy Birthday, Leanne! Now you are ready for more 50 years of healthy life. All the best!

    January 8, 2015
    • Sounds like a great plan Fabio, thank you so much.

      January 8, 2015
  46. poppytump #

    So glad you took some pictures Leanne 😉 What a magnificent seafood platter ! The dome does looks fantastic , I have a feeling you’ll be back with your Nikon camera for sure .
    And now I see now your tablet has arrived 🙂
    I concur with everyone else’s view on the over 50 mark it’s >>> ALL GOOD 😀 … happy days ..

    January 8, 2015
    • I have a feeling I will too Poppytump, can’t wait really, tonight would have been great, but it was too late by the time I realised.
      Yes, it did arrive, lots of fun ahead.
      Thank you so much, I think it must be all true, all good. 😀

      January 8, 2015
  47. Happy belated Birthday! The Photos look fantastic for Phone pictures! I love the Dome! 🙂 Good to know you enjoyed your day!

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Sarina, they didn’t turn out too bad, I love the dome too, I am going to have to go back I think. I did enjoy it, thanks again. 😀

      January 8, 2015
  48. Happy happy birthday lovely! I thought the pics were wonderful? Hope that tablet gets to you soon! 😀

    January 8, 2015
  49. happy birthday, welcome to fifty! It sounds like you had a wonderful day, too busy for that tablet anyway and when it does arrive you can celebrate your birthday all over again!

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Janice, I seem to have become part of the 50’s club, it would seem. It has now arrived, it is fantastic, does so much, it is going to be brilliant to work with.

      January 8, 2015
  50. Happy Birthday… 50 oh how I wish I was back there now being into the 60 + is not fun… the energy levels seem to have diminished… I know what it is like waiting for that parcel to arrive… when my Fairy Godmother sent me my new camera from the USA I could follow its movement all over the world… took 6 days to get to South Africa airport and then 21 days to get a further 60 km to me… frustrating….

    January 8, 2015
    • I understand how you feel about that, thank you for the birthday wishes. Oh yes it can be frustrating, I ordered the tablet Monday last week, it arrived today, I ordered a little Nikon Point and shoot on Tuesday and it also arrived today, both came from Sydney, too weird.

      January 8, 2015
  51. Happy birthday Leanne! You are 7 years younger than I am, so no pity for you. Have fun!

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, so we are basically the same age, no wonder we get along. 😀

      January 8, 2015
  52. Happy Birthday Leanne! By the way, never worry about the age as it’s what’s upstairs that matters as we sometimes let our inner self worry too much. Or at least that’s what I tell myself as 60 rapidly approaches. And please don’t leave your real camera at home. Your skills are way better than what your phone can achieve. Thanks for sharing. You’re a wonderful story teller and photographer.

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Duane, I like to that too, I’m still 28 in my head. It was one of those days where it was about being with friends, enjoying amazing food and I didn’t want to interrupt it with taking photos with my camera, my good one anyway. The only time I really wished I had it with me was when we came out of the movie and I saw the dome, but I will go back and try and get something like it again. Thank you so much for that, that is a lovely gift in itself.

      January 8, 2015
  53. Happy Birthday, Leanne!

    I’m 63. I will tell you this (and I really mean it):
    When we are young, we have immense innocence and we have an indelible, deep feeling of immortality. Never lose that! Most do lose it, unfortunately. (Most lose both… and the two are not really separate.)

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you so much Thomas, both for the birthday wishes, and the advice, it is wonderful, I will do my best.

      January 8, 2015
  54. Happy Birthday for yesterday Leanne. I turned 50 last January – and like you thought half a century sounded significant. In reality it’s no different from 49 and I’ve taken more interest in photography since turning 50 – so it’s not all bad.

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Rob, so your birthday must be soon, or been. I don’t feel different, and this year is shaping up to be quite a year, so I think it is good not to let age get the better of me.

      January 8, 2015
  55. Happy Birthday 🙂

    January 8, 2015
  56. Sounds like a fun day, minus the missing present. Glad you enjoyed the day. Now, you have to enjoy a birthday weekend. What the heck, make it a birthday week!

    January 8, 2015
    • Thank you Nato, it was a great day, my husband’s birthday is Sunday so it is like a long weekend with our birthdays. We will go for dinner then to celebrate both our birthdays.

      January 9, 2015
  57. Happy birthday Leanne 😉

    January 8, 2015
  58. Reblogged this on LIGHTOFCOUNTRY.

    January 8, 2015
  59. Happy Birthday

    January 8, 2015
  60. A very happy 50th birthday to you.

    January 9, 2015
  61. Happy Birthday Leanne! For me, fifty was quite a while ago, so I can definitely confirm that life does go on and that lots of good things are yet to come. I’m glad you had such a good time on your birthday and hope that the good times continue all year.

    January 9, 2015
    • Thank you John, I think I knew it would, but good to get confirmation, LOL. Thanks again, it was a great day.

      January 9, 2015
  62. Happy 50th Birthday! I turned 50 in 2014 so welcome to the club! Hard to believe I’m 50 as I don’t feel that age at least mentally….haha!

    Tamara

    January 9, 2015
    • I know what you mean, that is how I feel about it too, I still think I’m 28, haha. Thank you so much Tamara.

      January 9, 2015
  63. I love your photos and getting to be included in your special day this way! 50 is a great time of life. It’s really the start of “you” time. Look forward to sharing the journey with you.

    January 9, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, I have heard from so many who’ve said the same thing, so that is great, it feels like an exciting time in my life, I hope.

      January 9, 2015
  64. Happy birthday, Leanne!

    January 9, 2015
  65. Slainte and cheers Leanne!!

    January 9, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele. Cheers back.

      January 9, 2015
  66. Happy birthday!

    January 9, 2015
  67. Happy Happy Happy Birthday! Not too bad 50 (did it already) and they say 50 is the new 30! It will get better (the number) how it feels – and I often wonder myself how is it supposed to feel! Enjoy!

    January 9, 2015
    • Yes, I keep hearing that, about 50 being the new 30. I’m good with that, my kids have just about grown up and will be out on their own soon, well a couple of years time, so good times ahead. I don’t know how it is supposed to feel, but I don’t feel any differently than I did a week or a year ago, even 10 years ago. Thank you Debby.

      January 9, 2015
  68. Happy 50th Birthday Leanne. My wife turned 50 last year….and she had similar reservations, but there is nothing you can do about it so you just have to celebrate the milestone.

    January 9, 2015
    • So very true, it happens whether you want it too or not. Thank you Mark.

      January 9, 2015
  69. Happy Birthday, Leanne! Being the 5-0 isn’t so bad. Passed that mark awhile ago. I understand your wait for technology. It always seem to take forever for it to arrive.

    Quite excellent photos from your phone.

    January 9, 2015
    • Thank you so much David, I am starting to see it isn’t bad. It can be so hard waiting for things, especially when it is something you’ve wanted for a long time, and then you have waited for it to arrive.
      Thanks again, the phone takes fairly good photos, though I wouldn’t like to have to rely on it all the time.

      January 9, 2015
  70. Rich Proctor #

    Happy Birthday!

    January 9, 2015
  71. Happy birthday! 50?! Wow! That’s old! 😀

    January 9, 2015
    • Thanks a lot Cardinal, my tongue is sticking out at you, so I certainly don’t act my age, LOL, 😛
      Thank you.

      January 9, 2015
  72. Happy birthday, Leanne! It looks like you had a lot of fun. It’s a cliche but age really is just a number and having followed your blog for a while now I would have placed you in you late thirties 🙂 I too LOVE imax! Anne

    January 9, 2015
    • I did, thank you, it is just a number, I have to remember that. I don’t feel old, and in my head I’m not. Lovely compliment, thanks again Anne. I LOVE it too, how amazing is it, I saw the Hobbit there in 3D and HFR, amazing, a real adventure. 😀

      January 9, 2015
  73. I have nominated your blog for the Versatile Blogger Award because I find your photography really interesting. Here’s the link https://phiemyndz.wordpress.com/2015/01/08/nomination-for-the-versatile-blogger-award/

    January 9, 2015
    • Thank you so much for the nomination, what an honour, I don’t really do awards, but I have added a link to you and your blog on my awards page.

      January 9, 2015
  74. Happy b’day for yesterday Leanne welcome to the 50’s club Its going to be a great year 🙂

    January 9, 2015
    • I think so too, so many things planned, thank you Chris, looking forward to catching up. 😀

      January 9, 2015
  75. Hope you had a great time – as my birthdays make me so aware of passing time I make sure I have a birthday month!

    January 9, 2015
    • I did Diana, thank you. I love that idea, not sure I could do it, I think once my birthday is done I tend to just want to get on with things.

      January 10, 2015
  76. Happy Birthday!!!!!!! Nobody is too old to die right now. LOL.
    I mean this in a funny way but no offence. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

    January 9, 2015
    • No offence taken, I like to think I have a good sense of humour, so thank you so much. lol

      January 10, 2015
  77. Belated birthday wishes Leanne! And a very happy NEW year ahead for you. Good movie choice, especially in IMAX.

    January 10, 2015
    • Thank you and thank you Jo, and Happy New Year to you too. Yes, it was a great movie and great seeing it as it was intended to be seen.

      January 10, 2015
  78. a belated happy birthday wish, leanne.
    glad to hear you laid down the photographer hat, and just enjoyed the day’s celebrations with your close friends. priceless.
    have a good weekend.
    ken

    January 10, 2015
    • Thank you Ken.
      It was a good day to do that, and it was nice, it was only when I walked out of IMAX and saw the light on the dome that I really wished I had my camera with me. Oh well, I will be able to go back.
      Thank you and you have a great weekend too Ken.

      January 10, 2015
  79. Happy Birthday for the 7th. I would never have guessed you were 50. I would have said 30 something, you seem so full of life and enthusiasm. And when my son and I go to the cinema we go IMAX and 3D if available. So much more of a special experience.

    January 10, 2015
    • Thank you so much RJ, I have kept my age to myself, I don’t like giving out too information about myself, as I don’t want to give people any preconceived ideas about me, I have always wanted my photography to speak for me, which is also why I don’t have a photo of me up. I love IMAX and seeing movies, we saw the Hobbit there in 3D, OMG it was amazing. I think seeing it any other way would be disappointing now.

      January 10, 2015
  80. Happy be-lated Birthday Leanne! 50 is a great year and so is the rest of your life. There was something very liberating about turning 50 and now inching very close to 60, my body might feel it somewhat, but really the mind and energy level is still 30 something. All the best as you explore this milestone!

    January 10, 2015
    • Thank you Mary, I think you are right, it is time to just do things, go for it, nothing to lose. I know what you mean, in my head I’m still 28, but every now and then I can tell my body is getting older. I also don’t remember things like I used to.

      January 10, 2015
  81. A belated HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Leanne!! What a lovely way to celebrate. Good friends. Good food. Good view. I loved Interstellar, though did not have an IMAX experience. Sadly, I have vertigo issues.

    January 10, 2015
  82. Lovely colours and light on the Exhibition Building …. and belated Happy Birthday!

    January 10, 2015
    • Thank you Noeline, it was a great day, and the light on that building was like the icing on the cake.

      January 11, 2015
  83. Belated birthday wishes, Leanne, and glad you had a day to remember. I reckon 50 is the new 30, so you’ve decades more happy photography ahead of you. Look forward to it,
    BW
    Julian

    January 11, 2015
    • I’ve been hearing that a lot Julian, I like it a lot too, I think it is right, in my mind I haven’t aged. I think so too, decades. Thank you so much Julian.

      January 11, 2015
  84. Belated birthday greetings, Leanne! Don’t sweat the numbers…your fifties can be some of the best years of your life!

    January 11, 2015
    • I’ve been hearing that a lot, which is wonderful to hear, thank you Katrina.

      January 11, 2015
  85. Happy biryhday!!

    January 17, 2015

Comments are closed.

