Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Gaultier at the National Gallery of Victoria

Last Monday I went to see a major exhibition at the National Gallery of Victoria, it was an exhibition on Jean Paul Gaultier, well his costumes and I have to say it was one of the most amazing exhibitions I’ve seen.  The other thing  that made it wonderful was that photography was allowed.  I took so many photos and trying to narrow it down to under 40 to show you was hard, in fact I couldn’t do it, so I am going to show some here and then do a blog post on my other blog to show the rest.

National-gallery-victoria-gaultier-exhibition-104

All the mannequins had blank faces and then faces were projected onto them, but the faces moved.  The one in this image was talking as well, it was meant to be Jean Paul Gaultier, so he talked to us about his work and designs.  I have to say I was so amazed, I took some video and I might put it up on my other blog.

National-gallery-victoria-gaultier-exhibition-121

Some of the costumes are iconic and many of you would recognise the bra that was made famous by Madonna.

National-gallery-victoria-gaultier-exhibition-123

It was so well curated, and each room was done to a different style and different theme.  I think there were 8 different rooms altogether and you realised fairly quickly that the next room would be a wonderful surprise.

National-gallery-victoria-gaultier-exhibition-139

A man reflected in the glass of another man and each taking turns to speak.  I was hypnotised.

National-gallery-victoria-gaultier-exhibition-156

I just wanted to keep taking photos.  Some were of the whole room, some were individual designs and others were of small details.  The only thing I didn’t like was that it was dark and I was forced to use a high ISO to get the images.  I doubt I would have been allowed to use a tripod, it is a shame there isn’t a chance for photographers to try and get some shots with tripods.  It would be amazing, oh and with my macro lens.  I didn’t take the macro with me, didn’t really see the point.

The exhibition is on at the National Gallery of Victoria until the 8th of February, so if you are in Melbourne and haven’t seen it, “do yourself a favour” and go and see it.  It is $22 but you can spend as much time as you like in it.  Or if you want to become a member of the NGV then they will give you a ticket to it, I believe, that’s what we did.

I am going to put a heap of photos up in a gallery now, finishing off with a gallery of images for you.  I will have more images over on my other blog, Leanne Cole Art Blog if you want to check them out.

 

97 Comments
  1. Wild clothing, I like the projected faces and the two guys talking. Would love to see this!

    January 11, 2015
    • It was wild John, nothing you would wear down the street. The faces were amazing. I put a video up on my other blog of Gaultier face on one talking, did you see it?

      January 11, 2015
  2. He is one of my all time favorites! I would love to have seen this exhibit!

    January 11, 2015
    • Shame you can’t get to see it, especially as you like him, I hope you enjoy the exhibition virtually then.

      January 11, 2015
  3. You’re reminding me, Leanne, that it’s been a good long while since I’ve visited the Met here in NYC. I’m hearing field trip. Thank you!

    Wishing you a wonder-filled 2015, my friend! xoxoM

    January 11, 2015
    • I hope you go soon then Margarita, you never know what you find. I am hoping to visit the Met when I’m in NYC this year.
      Thank you so much, and all the best to you for the year ahead.

      January 11, 2015
  4. Amazing and great captures!

    January 11, 2015
  5. Mannequins creep me out lol, but yours were photographed nicely 😉

    January 11, 2015
    • LOL, thank you Laura, the faces were weird especially if you go on an odd angle. 😀

      January 11, 2015
      • Kinda like me looking in the mirror in the morning. scary!!! 😉

        January 11, 2015
      • Haha, now that would be scary, think I might see that. LOL

        January 11, 2015
      • 😀

        January 11, 2015
  6. Crazy. Wild. Cool. Great images. Thanks for posting more than a few; it gives a much better sense of the experience.

    January 11, 2015
    • Oh yes all of those Robin. You’re welcome, it was hard to choose which to post, but I hope I got a good number that gives a good idea of how it was. Thanks Robin.

      January 11, 2015
  7. I saw this too – amazing! (blog entry coming soon) . Great photos. Unfortunately I didn’t have my lovely new camera with me, just a rubbish old phone camera.

    January 11, 2015
    • How amazing was it, great to hear from someone else who has seen it. Shame you didn’t have you new camera, I was lucky, a friend of mine had been and she told me that I should take my camera. I am glad she did or I wouldn’t have had mine with me either.

      January 11, 2015
  8. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Whoa, those are some designs! Photographing these must have presented many challenges, the various lighting themes for one.

    Now I’m off to see your art page. 🙂

    January 11, 2015
    • They are Jackie, not really everyday wear!!! It is challenging, you have the low light and then lots of people as well, it was so crowded. Good that my camera is good at the high ISO’s.
      I hope you enjoy the rest of the photos Jackie.

      January 11, 2015
  9. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Weekend Wanderings: Gaultier at the National Gallery of Victoria

    January 11, 2015
  10. That is some exhibit. I love your photos. I can’t help but think that Warhol’s statement is even truer today.

    January 11, 2015
    • Thank you Mary, it was quite an exhibition, it was done so well. I thought the same about the statement, I liked it too.

      January 11, 2015
  11. leecleland #

    Looks like an amazing exhibition, Leanne and so well presented. Your shots are great even with the high ISO. Pity I can’t get to Melbourne to see it 😦

    January 11, 2015
    • It was Lee, very entertaining, I loved it. Thank you, it was so much fun just walking around and taking photos. It is a pity, but I hope you enjoyed it virtually. 😀

      January 11, 2015
      • leecleland #

        Indeed I did, thank you

        January 13, 2015
      • Wonderful.

        January 13, 2015
  12. This is a stunning exhibition and your photos are fabulous, thanks.

    January 11, 2015
    • Thank you so much Debra, it was a brilliant exhibition.

      January 11, 2015
  13. I love this! His clothes are wild….and to allow you to photograph in the museum..yes!! Great shots, Leanne.

    January 11, 2015
    • Wild is a great word, very theatrical. I know, we can take photos there normally, but not usually in exhibitions like this, so it was wonderful to be allowed to. Thank you Lois.

      January 11, 2015
  14. Hi Leanne – looks like an smazing and unusual exhibition! I have seen a couple of interviews of Jean Paul Gaultier and he seems such an affable, approachable, lovely man!

    January 11, 2015
    • It was Chris, if you get back in time you should go and see it, really wonderful. He does, doesn’t he, he looks like he would be fun with a good sense of humour.

      January 11, 2015
  15. Not my favourite designer but you make him look good.

    January 11, 2015
    • FAir enough, I think his work is fun, I don’t think I would like to wear any of it. Thank you.

      January 11, 2015
  16. Awesome! very inspiring; I’ve seen his styles but didn’t know about him.

    January 11, 2015
    • That is great, Ave, his work is quite amazing.

      January 11, 2015
  17. What a pleasant surprise to be allowed to take photos. They are fantastic.. I especially love Madonna’s corset with the photo in the background..

    January 11, 2015
    • It was Livonne, a friend had been and she told me about it and said I should go. I am glad you liked that little touch, I liked it too. Thank you Livonne.

      January 11, 2015
  18. Lee #

    What an array of clothes that I am thankful are NOT in MY closet. 🙂 Nice photos!

    January 11, 2015
    • Oh yes, not sure I would like wear them, but I did enjoy photographing them. Thank you Lee. 😀

      January 11, 2015
  19. Saw this at the Dallas Museum of Art when it was here, it was awesome. But photography wasn’t allowed there. So this is what I’ll be showing people when ever I want to explain how cool the exhibit was. 🙂

    January 11, 2015
    • Strange that you weren’t allowed to photograph it and we were. I thought it was because the clothes were quite famous already. Go ahead show people, and don’t forget the images on the other blog. Thank you. 😀

      January 11, 2015
  20. Wow amazing pictures! More interesting! 🙂

    January 11, 2015
    • Thank you, glad you enjoyed them. 😀

      January 11, 2015
  21. Wow. You are an amazing photographer and were lucky that photography was allowed in this place or you wouldn’t be sharing some historical artifacts of history here. Madonna’s corset, now that’s interesting.

    January 11, 2015
    • Thank you it was nice to be allowed to take photos of these costumes, I do love costumes, though these are on a whole different level to anything I get to see normally.

      January 11, 2015
  22. It must be an amazing exhibit!!

    January 11, 2015
    • It was Cybele, the costumes were so incredible, and different, what a mind he must have.

      January 11, 2015
  23. Great pictures. I still have a hard time getting pictures inside a building. You have done a great job. I’m glad you had such a fun time.

    January 11, 2015
    • Thanks Marsha, you do have to put your ISO up quite high unfortunately, especially when it is dark like some of these rooms were. I did have a lot of fun.

      January 11, 2015
      • That’s the difference, too. I walk into a darkened room, and feel dread, not fun1 🙂

        January 11, 2015
      • I am okay in dark rooms, they are strangely consoling.

        January 11, 2015
      • Yes, in normal situations. When I walk into a darkened room with a camera, someone is expecting a good picture of me, and it has people in it. When I can’t produce that, then I feel dread. 🙂 A nice dark room, warm fire, nice meal, great company, no expectations of good pictures… No dread! 🙂

        January 11, 2015
      • I hadn’t thought of it like that, I don’t think I have ever been to a party like that. I like the last description, lovely, cosy. 😀

        January 12, 2015
      • Actually, mine haven’t been parties exactly – more like awards’ dinners. And they haven’t been totally dark, but my pictures have been – well not totally. I can’t wait to actually get together with you and not be limited to just a few typed sentences! I think I’m going to put a countdown widget on my blog. 🙂

        January 12, 2015
      • That is good isn’t it, though maybe not when you aren’t getting one. It is going to be so much fun, I’m looking forward to it as well. Can you get one of those, I might have to get one for my phone. 😀

        January 13, 2015
      • I haven’t seen them for phones. 🙂

        January 14, 2015
      • That’s a shame, I’m sure there is one.

        January 14, 2015
      • I’ll leave that to you! 🙂 Let me know if you find one! 🙂

        January 14, 2015
      • I’ll let you know, lol 😀

        January 14, 2015
  24. I’ve had vague plans of seeing that exhibition, so I’d better get a move on! Thanks for the reminder and preview, Leanne.:)

    January 11, 2015
    • Oh yes do Sukie, if you love costumes you will love it, and it is so well designed and curated, just brilliant, don’t forget your camera.

      January 11, 2015
  25. poppytump #

    Some truly whacky designs here Leanne ! Great to see them in your gallery like this , what a surprise though being able to take photographs . You must have felt you were in a sweet shop with the choices before you 😉

    January 11, 2015
    • It was quite a surprise, I did, I took almost 300 photos while there, and I wasn’t bracketing, it was amazing. 😀 I was a happy girl.

      January 11, 2015
  26. Madonna’s iconic Cone shaped Corset . It would have been an amazing to see the work in person

    January 11, 2015
    • Yes, well I don’t know if she actually wore that one, but would be nice to think so. It was amazing, so inspiring. Thank you.

      January 11, 2015
      • Yes cannot be sure…whoever wore it was petite by the looks of it.. thank you for the wonderful post Leanne.

        January 11, 2015
      • You’re welcome.

        January 11, 2015
  27. It looks awesome

    January 11, 2015
  28. That’s a cool exhibition! Thanks for taking us along through so many great images, Leanne!

    January 12, 2015
    • You’re welcome Tiny, glad you enjoyed it virtually.

      January 12, 2015
  29. Such an amazing exhibition, is a shame here in Colombia we dont have that kind of things. Thank you for sharing. :D.

    January 12, 2015
    • That is a shame, do you get some good exhibitions coming your way at all? We get some, but nothing really amazing, so it was great for this to come. You’re welcome. 😀

      January 12, 2015
  30. Wow. That’s a pretty cool museum! And gotta love the technology, projecting faces onto the mannequins. That’s a pretty good idea!

    January 12, 2015
    • The faces on the mannequins was quite amazing and so surprising. It was a great exhibition. Thanks Molly.

      January 12, 2015
  31. This is an unusual outing for you, so thrilled that you explore things out of the ordinary and share them with us. Thanks Leanne!

    January 12, 2015
    • It is sort of, I used to go to exhibitions all the time, I should start going again. I joined up for membership, so I will have to now. You’re welcome Emily.

      January 12, 2015
  32. Wow what a fabulous exhibition! Your shots are wonderful! I think I would have gone mad shooting like crazy! LOL I can only imagine how much fun it must have been! I am excitied! LOL

    January 12, 2015
    • Thank you Debby, so glad you enjoy the exhibition virtually Debby. I did go mad shooting it, I went through it twice, LOL. It was, I loved it, great exhibition.

      January 12, 2015
  33. Oh what fun! Stunning 🙂

    January 12, 2015
    • It was Julie, lots of fun, great costumes. 😀

      January 12, 2015
  34. Fantastic shots Leanne I took some as well last week , an amazing exhibition

    January 12, 2015
    • It is an amazing exhibition, I hope you got some great shots as well. Thanks Christine.

      January 12, 2015
  35. Fabulous photos of an amazing exhibit. Isn’t it impressive how interactive and digital museums are becoming in general? Don’t know how you managed to take pictures of the simulated faces and make it all come out looking good. Well done!

    January 12, 2015
    • Thank you, it is amazing what they can do, makes you wonder if they will have light shows where you won’t even need the artworks one day. It was luck, believe me, some didn’t look good.

      January 12, 2015
  36. LB #

    The contrast between color and B&W in that second shot, and the costume and the photo, is just great! Sounds like a fascinating exhibit!

    January 12, 2015
    • It was LB, the exhibition was amazing. That has been a popular image, I like that Madonna and Gaultier is in the background. Thank you.

      January 12, 2015
  37. The curator should be given an oscar for this! Thx for sharing with your lens!

    January 12, 2015
    • I think so too, amazing isn’t it. You’re welcome.

      January 13, 2015
  38. How cool is that? Oh and #118… there are no words. Cheers!

    January 13, 2015
    • Very cool Elen, I know what you mean.

      January 13, 2015
  39. kleinedee #

    Wow – that is some fierce fashion! Love this. Thanks for sharing your pics with those of us who don’t live there and can’t see this in person!

    January 15, 2015
    • It is, very fierce. You’re welcome, nice that many of you could enjoy the post virtually. thank you.

      January 15, 2015

Comments are closed.

