Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Testing a Couple of Shots

black-white-city-lane-exhibition-1

Recently I was approached to see if I would like to participate in an exhibition for Street Photography in Melbourne, or really, Urban Photography, as they don’t have to be any people in the images.  It sounded good so I said yes.  We each get so much wall space and then we have to decide how many images we want to put up.  The works have to be framed, so I have four square frames, so I decided I would do four images.  That is enough.  I could go five, but then I would be short a frame.

On Monday I went into the city with a friend and we wandered around taking photos of things in Melbourne.  It was quite hot and the sun was very bright.  I did get some shots that I thought could work, so though I would show them to you and see what you think.  I have two here, they are black and white, the images have to be black and white I think, with minimal processing.

So I will put them both into a gallery, see what you think.  Enjoy your day.

 

39 Comments
  1. I like both of them. The one on the left has me trying to figure out exactly what it is. The image on the right has fantastic graffiti!

    Tamara

    January 15, 2015
    • It is some sort of drainage pipe Tamara, I think for the buildins. Thank you.

      January 15, 2015
  2. I am participating in the sydney exhibition with sydney street photographers. Really looking forward to it. I haven’t decided which photos to put in yet but we are having a workshop this Saturday to decide… or take new pics for the exhibition. Exciting isn’t it?

    January 15, 2015
    • I didn’t know they had one in sydney, I have to admit the first I heard of this one was when I was asked if I would be interested because people had dropped out. It sounds like great fun, and I’m interested in doing. Street photography not really my thing, but I’m always up for a challenge. It is Dave, I haven’t been in an exhibition for a few years, so I am looking forward to it.

      January 15, 2015
  3. A couple of interesting shots Leanne. They might benefit from a bit more time in PS, but they look really interesting. One of the hard things is to get a good feel for the full size print from the images we post on the web. I’m sure your part of the exhibit will be excellent!

    January 15, 2015
    • Nah, they are fine the way they are John, at least I think so. I am always amazed at how good images look when you enlarge them, love that part. thank you, I hope so, it has been a while since I was in anything like this, a couple of years anyway.

      January 15, 2015
  4. Personally im a big coward doing street photography. But love these static images. Great going thanks

    January 15, 2015
    • I am too, which is why there are no people in mine, LOL, I don’t like being photographed myself, so I think I think others feel the same way. Thank you.

      January 15, 2015
  5. Love this, Leanne.

    January 15, 2015
  6. Hi Leanne, I really like the one of the left, something slightly quirky about it and lots of interest in the lighting. Great shots, as always!

    January 15, 2015
    • I like that idea Julie, it being quirky, thank you, I think it is also because I was looking up at them.

      January 15, 2015
  7. I think they are great ! Also very interesting. They will be perfect.

    January 15, 2015
  8. kind of steampunk looking!! Love them!

    January 15, 2015
    • Oh I like that Cybele, thank you.

      January 15, 2015
  9. I really like the first one, a lovely mix of shapes and textures. Good luck with the exhibition and have fun choosing

    January 15, 2015
    • I think that one is the most popular Katie, which I don’t mind, good to know. Thank you.

      January 15, 2015
  10. Very moody and Melbourne, Leanne! They look great in black and white.

    January 15, 2015
    • Oh good, thank you Sukie, that is wonderful to hear.

      January 15, 2015
  11. That sounds great Leanne …. what gallery is it & when….. would like to take a peek 🙂

    January 15, 2015
    • I think it is on at the Victorian Artist’s Society, I have to find out more, I have read it, but it isn’t on until March, so more into what I will do for it now.

      January 15, 2015
  12. I particularly like the first one. I agree you don’t need to do any more in PS but I wonder what the second one would be like in colour.

    January 15, 2015
    • Well perhaps I will show it at some point, thank you.

      January 15, 2015
  13. love.

    January 15, 2015
  14. I ept wondering what the image was till i saw the ones after

    January 16, 2015
    • So it is a bit abstract, interesting, thank you.

      January 16, 2015
      • yes it is very interesting and love and Black and white composition

        January 16, 2015
      • Thank you so much.

        January 16, 2015
  15. To be asked to participate is exciting Leanne…the word is spreading!

    January 16, 2015
    • Thanks Carol, I think they were desperate, LOL.

      January 16, 2015
  16. You know I love those shots, Leanne! Best of luck.

    January 17, 2015
  17. Excellent urbans. Especially love the personality of fellow on the left. Really excited for you about the exhibition. I LOVE photography exhibitions and would be so honoured to see some of your work at a showing. Beautiful. As always, your work ever-inspires, thrills and engages. Looking forward seeing more about the exhibition in a future post when the showing occurs. CHEERS to you.

    smiling toad

    January 17, 2015
    • Thank you, it should be fun, not expecting great things to happen from it, but it is nice to be getting work ready for an exhibition again. Thank you so much for that, maybe you will one day. 😀

      January 17, 2015
  18. Reblogged this on ArtEdutech and commented:
    Photography – Black and White Industrial

    January 18, 2015
  19. Great to see B&W from you Leanne. I think both the shots are great!

    January 19, 2015
    • Thank you, I’m doing a lot more these days, I think MM has helped me with that a lot.

      January 19, 2015

Comments are closed.

