Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Phillip Island, and a Couple of Places Along the Way

pinnacles-phillip-island-victoria-576

On Friday I went out again with Christine Wilson, only this time she took me down to a couple of places that she wanted to visit while she was on holidays.  We went to Phillip Island, then to Tenby Point and finished in Corinella.  It was a big day, I left home at 8am and got home at 8.30pm.  When I got home my back was hurting, my feet were hurting, I was sunburnt, and my legs felt like lead, but it was a good day.  I got so many great images, and I’m looking forward to sharing them with you.

pinnacles-phillip-island-victoria-574

Part of the goal for the day was to take some long exposures.  So first we headed to Cape Woolamai on Phillip Island.  I have heard of this place before, but never been, and it has been on my list of places to visit.  I have to say I was so glad Chris had been before and knew how to get there, otherwise, I probably wouldn’t have worked it out.  I know if she hadn’t been there I wouldn’t have walked/climbed down the cliff to get these photos.  It was not that bad getting down, we slid on our backsides, but coming up was another thing, it was harder, and I need to get fitter.  My quads have been hurting ever since, but so worth it.

pinnacles-phillip-island-victoria-580

This was the view from the top, so you can see how far we had to go down.  Amazing rock formations.  I was thinking it was a shame that they hadn’t built some steps down to it, then again, if they had and it was easier to get to, more people would be down there and it would be harder to take photos. It is an amazing rock formation, and somewhere I hope I will feel like going to again, right now my legs are saying “are you crazy”, but I’m sure once they stop hurting!  I would like to  photograph them again, but maybe in winter, or when it isn’t so hot.

tenbypoint-low-tide-tree-woody-582

Our next point of call was Tenby Point, and it is a place I have heard about a lot, but never been too.  The idea was to do some more long exposures, and we tried, but it was too windy here.  It was windy everywhere, but for here it meant the tree was blowing too much, so the photos didn’t really come out.  It is a catch 22 thing, you want the wind to be moving the clouds, but you don’t want the wind to be blowing the tree. The light was not great for photos, but for me it was about scouting the place out, and I know about it now and can plan other trips there.

corinella-barge-ramp-victoria-565

We went to Corinella and down to the boat ramp.  Chris thought there was a place where the barge from French Island came in, though she thought it had changed from where it used to be.  We went down to this spot to do some more photos, and as we were just starting, in came the barge.  It still comes to the same spot.  Quite amazing watching it, now we know what the poles are for, to guide the barge in.

corinella-barge-ramp-victoria-569

Those are the poles I was talking about.  When we first got to this spot, I thought, I’m done, I was so tired, but I had to get my gear out and do some long exposures.  They are great to do, but can be a lot of mucking around, especially if you are stacking, you have to take everything off to see to focus, though I heard the other day if you open up your aperture to f2.8 then you can see through the ND400, and I could, not well, but enough to be able to focus, still have to take off the filters I stacked though.

I tried to get the map to show the different places, but couldn’t seem to do it, but it gives you a rough idea of where we were.

Anyway, I think I have talked enough today, time to just show the gallery and go and make a coffee.  I’m having a very relaxing weekend, which is nice before, what looks like, a very full week.  I hope you have had some opportunities to get out and take some photos, or are having a lovely weekend, me and my sore legs will be taking it easy today.

111 Comments
  1. finally.. something I have seen.. Was at Penguin Parade.. It was the most beautiful sight -to see so many little birds wading back ashore..:D

    Sadly could take photos

    January 18, 2015
    • I have never seen the penguins, if you can believe it, LOL, I’ve heard it is very good, though very commercial these days, I should have gone years ago.

      January 18, 2015
      • It is rather commercial..but to watch penguins without lots of people around and in their natural habitat is probably difficult..unless we go to Antartica:-)… i wished i had photos ir was allowed photos of the island..the atstour bus directly took us to the venue else would have missed it

        January 18, 2015
      • Yes, I had heard that, it was really good many years ago, but there is too much money now. I thought you could take photos as long as you didn’t use a flash.

        January 18, 2015
      • Now they wont even allow even without flash. I so dearly wanted to take a few but they want you to instead buy a few superimposed ones .

        January 18, 2015
      • They must have stopped photography because would let flashes off saying they didn’t realise it was on or they didn’t know how to turn it off, people like spoil it for everyone.

        January 18, 2015
      • true. They did say that flash lights damage the eyes of the penguins.

        January 18, 2015
      • I don’t know why, but so many people have cameras and no idea how to use them, or how to turn the flash off.

        January 19, 2015
      • simple button on it but very few bother

        January 19, 2015
      • I know what you mean.

        January 19, 2015
      • oops sorry for the typos..I am all thumbs on a mobile:(

        January 18, 2015
      • That’s okay, I got what you were talking about.

        January 18, 2015
      • 🙂

        January 18, 2015
  2. Beautiful!!

    January 18, 2015
  3. Great and most impressive impressions!

    January 18, 2015
  4. Your long exposures worked well.

    January 18, 2015
    • Thank you, I’m looking forward to doing more.

      January 18, 2015
  5. Really great photos Leanne! I admire your ability to capture those images considering it does not look like it was easy.. I have a question for you. I have just recently started a flickr account and I am not understanding to to post here at my blog? Maybe you can clarify it for me,,,simple like…lol!

    January 18, 2015
    • It wasn’t easy, though only the first place was really hard, the others weren’t do bad. I am not quite sure what you mean about the Flickr account, and posting to where. Would you mind telling me what you are trying to do and if I can help I will, but I am fairly new to flickr, so not sure if I will be able to.

      January 18, 2015
      • I did not explain to you at all, I just want to do as you are doing with the logo or to add as a widget. I tried yesterday and it told me to go to my flickr page and locate the rss feed something or other..Sorry I am not very savy in certain areas. ps I have begun a Zumba class and for this granny I am loving it. I have areas that need help and it is non stop fun.. I have been twice now and look forward to the classes.. This hen is going to get in shape..lol!

        January 18, 2015
      • Oh the Flickr Widget, I didn’t use the one that WordPress have, I just download one from the net, then I added it a image widget and then put the link to my flickr account. I couldn’t get the flickr widget to work for me. I hope that is what you mean. I’ve heard of Zumba classes, never done one but they look fun.

        January 18, 2015
      • Thanks Leanne! It wasn’t working for me either or I may not have done it right..

        January 18, 2015
      • I don’t think it works very well, just do a save image from my blog and use the one I have.

        January 18, 2015
  6. great photos! I think I want to check out Phillip Island if get over to Australia.

    January 18, 2015
    • It is quite a place, I haven’t been there many times, but when I have it has been great. The penguins are there too. Thank you.

      January 18, 2015
  7. I particularly love the moody, foreboding skies in a few of these images. I was also quite taken with the images of the old pier.

    January 18, 2015
    • That sky was great and perfect for the long exposures. I would like to go back and do some more of the old pier, I liked it as well. Thanks Laura.

      January 18, 2015
  8. The things you do for the love of it! Great photos of the rock formations. I like the way the little reed (?) beds created the vertical spiky textures in the Tenby Point photos. The barge was a bonus. Glad you had a terrific outing.

    January 18, 2015
    • I know, what you put yourself through too, it was all worth it, but I am sore now. I loved the photos and would like to spend more time down at the Pinnacles, next time I will make sure I have some water and a little food with me. Thank you Christine.

      January 18, 2015
      • Oh no, one of those ‘water as far as the eye can see, but not a drop to drink!’ moments. It would be hot down near those rocks. It’s extra to carry, but worth it. Take care.

        January 18, 2015
      • You got Christine, so I will take my water bottle with me next time. It was hot, but more so from the climb down and then trying to get back up. thank you, I will.

        January 18, 2015
  9. Nic #

    Gorgeous! I love the second photo with the long exposure on the water over the rocks (the one of Cape Woolamai on Phillip Island)… just gorgeous! 🙂

    January 18, 2015
    • Thank you Nic, I wish I had got more down there, it was a great place for photos. I think the next time I go I will make sure I have water and a bit of food with me, so I can stay a while. 😀

      January 18, 2015
  10. love the first two exposures

    January 18, 2015
    • Thanks Rob for letting me know.

      January 18, 2015
  11. Beautiful shots??

    January 18, 2015
  12. So well worth it Leanne, every shot wonderful. I like the long exposures and the way the clouds streaked which added to the intensity of the shots. Can I ask how long your exposures were. They say “no pain, no gain” and it is so true, these are fantastic 🙂

    January 18, 2015
    • Oh yes Kaz, I think so. I love those long exposure too. The ones at the pinnacles were 3 minutes, I had the ND400 on and then stacked them with the ND8 as well, I might have two ND8 on actually. Oh yes, nice to know that many people wouldn’t be able to do those shots. Thank you. 😀

      January 18, 2015
  13. We went at that way a few weeks ago…but never got to woolamai….Beautiful

    January 18, 2015
  14. nodwikphotography #

    Reblogged this on nodwikphotography.

    January 18, 2015
  15. Lita Pixel #

    Wow, girl. these are amazing. I have so much to learn… . 🙂

    January 18, 2015
    • Thank you, I think we all do, this is all new for me, still trying to get my head around it.

      January 18, 2015
  16. Stunning work!

    January 18, 2015
  17. Lovely light on the first shot!

    January 18, 2015
  18. Love the long exposure shots – stunning and so worth the effort! Well done Ms Walker Extraordinaire!😀

    January 18, 2015
    • Are they amazing, I knew I should say that about my own work, but I think I like long exposures, we will have to do some. when will you be back, haha, I can’t wait. Thank you Chris.

      January 18, 2015
      • Back at work on 2/2/15 – yuk! But goodie goodie for photos with you!

        January 18, 2015
      • Oh yuck, I can understand that, but then on the weekends we will be able to take photos. LOL

        January 18, 2015
  19. Reblogged this on Tracey in Maine.

    January 18, 2015
  20. What an adventure! You two saw a lot of interesting things. Those long exposures really work, the monochrome of the rock and water is so incredible. They are all very interesting, what a collection for one day of exploring. Awesome!

    January 18, 2015
    • It was an adventure and we did see a lot Carrie, it was fantastic. They do work, they are so amazing, I can’t wait to do a lot more. Thank you Carrie.

      January 18, 2015
  21. Not much more to add than the others, but that first photo is…stunningly brilliant. I’ve never thought of taking long shots of clouds–wonderful dynamic. Was it sunny (you got sunburned) but most shots appear as though overcast? I’m not a pro, but I love taking photographs–it’s as though I “have” to take photos. But here’s some advice: do yoga. To keeps those legs and back strong. 🙂

    January 18, 2015
    • Thank you, that’s great to hear. I think there are so many ways to use ND filter for long exposures, I really like experimenting with it. It was very sunny, very bright, not too hot, but sunny. There were some clouds moving, which is what I got in the photos. I am the same, I have to take photos too. Haha, I tried yoga once and couldn’t move after it. Thanks. 😀

      January 18, 2015
  22. really a gorgeous collection of images. i love the poles and posts… fascinating lines.

    January 18, 2015
    • Thank you, the poles and posts were great.

      January 18, 2015
  23. Stunning photos, Leanne. Certainly well worth all the effort, very lovely clouds above. If you’re by the sea, it will always be windy 😀 I don’t know about this, but did you manage to catch any penguins? Very good to hear you’re having a relaxing weekend after this adventure. Rest well and looking forward to more photos 🙂

    January 18, 2015
    • Oh yes, it was well worth it. I have noticed that about the wind and the coast, which I guess is why it is nice to be seaside on a hot day. No, we didn’t go anywhere near where the penguins are, and by the time they come in we were long gone. Thank you Mabel. 😀

      January 18, 2015
  24. THESE are MAGNIFICENT!!!! Sharing!

    January 18, 2015
  25. She_Who_Hears #

    I love Philip Island. Awesome shots 🙂

    January 18, 2015
    • thank you, I need to visit it more. 😀

      January 18, 2015
  26. Johann Briffa #

    What a fantastic place! I really like what you’re doing with the long exposures, has your ‘signature’ all over. I also like the one with the lone tree: it really screams Australian summer 🙂

    January 18, 2015
    • Thank you Johann, a friend of mine said the same thing. Oh yes, definitely Australian summer, bloody hot. LOL 😀

      January 18, 2015
  27. Mind bogglingly beautiful, Leanne!

    January 18, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, can’t wait to do more.

      January 18, 2015
  28. Reblogged this on Art & Design without Frontiers.

    January 18, 2015
  29. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    January 18, 2015
  30. Really, such fantastic images, Leanne! Very exciting.

    January 18, 2015
  31. So beautiful!

    January 18, 2015
  32. Fantastic images as always, Leanne. Especially the long exposure ones

    January 18, 2015
    • Thank you Solaner, I love the long exposures, I really want to do more now.

      January 19, 2015
  33. A wonderful narrative and collection of photographs. I particularly like the long exposure shots because as well as looking moody and dramatic, the softness of the sky and water really highlights the ruggedness of the rocks. Excellent!

    January 18, 2015
    • Thank you Dave, the long exposures worked so well, can’t wait to get out and do more.

      January 19, 2015
  34. Another interesting place for you to explore Leanne. I love the tree photo. It has a heat and intensity which is typical of summer.

    January 19, 2015
    • Oh yes, I’m looking forward to going back there. Thank you, I wasn’t sure about the tree, thought the light was too harsh, but you are the second person who has said that.

      January 19, 2015
  35. Karen #

    Beautiful images Leanne, well worth the effort.

    January 19, 2015
    • Thank you Karen, my legs are feeling better, so I think it was worth the effort now.

      January 19, 2015
  36. poppytump #

    Ah these are so lovely Leanne am a real fan of long exposures . I love those chunks of baked split rocks … it’s like nature’s architecture .Thinking about it … I’m reminded of some of the building stone in your cityscapes now …
    OH don’t we suffer for our Art as they say 😉 glad the aches are on the way out .

    January 19, 2015
    • Thank you Poppy, I think I am now too. Can’t wait to see where else I can do them. I love that idea of nature’s architecture, so true.
      We do, we can be a bit silly at times haha. 😉

      January 19, 2015
  37. Great set Leanne wonderful shots ,glad you got the tree , certainly worth another visit 3 places in one day was pretty ambitious wasn’t it 🙂 but also good scouting trip too , it was a great day looking forward to the next day out 🙂

    January 19, 2015
    • It was, but it was good to see the different places and now I need to some planning for some other photos there, so it was good in that respect. Me too. Thanks Chris.

      January 19, 2015
  38. loving those skies!!

    January 19, 2015
    • You have to love what a long exposure does to a sky. thanks Cybele.

      January 19, 2015
  39. Marvellous shots, and worth all that effort. I especially like the long exposures with streaky clouds and silky sea.

    January 19, 2015
    • I am thinking it was today Elizabeth, I am so glad I have those photos now. I loved doing the long exposures, can’t wait to do more. Thank you.

      January 19, 2015
  40. Such fantastic landscapes Leanne!

    January 19, 2015
    • Thank you Emily, I might become a landscape photography yet.

      January 19, 2015
  41. LB #

    Gorgeous! I especially like the last ones, of the posts in the water.

    January 19, 2015
    • The guides for the barge, they were great too. Thanks Laurie.

      January 19, 2015
  42. Loved Phillip Island when I went there. Although I went for the Blue Penguins. Still have the plush toy… 9 years later 😀

    January 19, 2015
    • I’ve never seen the penguins, LOL, it has become a big commercial thing now, but Phillip Island does have some spectacular spots for photography. 😀

      January 20, 2015
  43. Loved Phillip Island on visit last March so much so, am travelling all the way from the IoM to see it again in under a month’s time. Oh, we are going to other AUS places as well, just loved it.

    January 20, 2015
    • I haven’t explored it enough, but I am looking forward to seeing more in the future. That’s great, make sure you bring lots of sunscreen.

      January 20, 2015
  44. Lovely pictures as always. I’ve got a picture of the pinnacles at Cape Woolamai also featuring my husband in his ‘bushy beard’ phase. Shame really, because whenever I see that photo, I don’t look at the scenery – I look at the facial hair! It was very dull and cloudy the day we were there, almost British. In fact, I think he is wearing a rain coat in the picture.

    January 24, 2015
    • So can you go again some time RAchael and get a shot without the bush man in the foreground 😉 The scenery there is so cool, shame about the climb down, but I would like to try it again sometime. Thank you.

      January 24, 2015
      • Only in my dreams…

        January 24, 2015
      • That’s a shame Rachael, well dreams can come true, so who knows.

        January 24, 2015

Comments are closed.

