Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Catching Up

This Thursday is all about catching up for me and getting things sorted out. I have posters to do for upcoming workshops, and I am putting the final touches on my newsletter, so that will go out later today.  If you want to get the newsletter and haven’t let me yet, I have put a sign up widget in the margin, here on the left.  If you click on that it will take you to a page where you can sign up for it.

I thought today I would show an image that I took with my phone, it is one I took on my birthday, then I played around with it and made it monochrome.  You lose the lovely soft colours of the sky, but I think the monochrome is still very soft.

exhibition-building-twilight-monochrome

This is the dome at the top of the Royal Exhibition Building.  I really am going to have to start going in there to take some photos, it seems like this would be a good time of night to do it as well. Soon.

I hope you are having a relaxing day, I feel like I’ve been everywhere, and there is so much to do here, well, back to work I go.

53 Comments
  1. I like this in monochrome..seems a bit more interesting and makes you focus on the shadows 🙂 have a fun day n keep cool ! Bev x

    January 22, 2015
    • I do too, I like the way the surroundings highlight the dome too. Thanks Bev, you stay cool too, I do think the air con will be on today. 😉

      January 22, 2015
      • That’s what my eye was drawn to as well 🙂 yep overhead fans here and then in the pool…:)

        January 22, 2015
      • Oh the pool, that sounds nice, I will have to turn on the air con I think, not sure when, the house hasn’t heated up yet. 😀

        January 22, 2015
      • Yep not to bad here atm…but I know the moment I go out it will make me hotter for the rest of the day ..it’s 27 inside 38.4 outside urghhhh:)

        January 22, 2015
      • That’s true, I’m staying in for as long as I can, actually I don’t think I have to go out at all.

        January 22, 2015
      • Sounds good to me! I am washing floors and vacuuming..nuts..

        January 22, 2015
      • OMG, too hot for that, good day to clean the bathroom with lots of colo water.

        January 22, 2015
      • Hahaha nearly finished..then gave up..urghh

        January 22, 2015
      • Haha, definitely not the day for it.

        January 22, 2015
      • No ….much the same tomorrow too..

        January 22, 2015
      • I hope not, I want some rain.

        January 22, 2015
      • Same here..does not look like it though 😦

        January 22, 2015
      • No, it doesn’t, doesn’t look like we will get any rain for so long.

        January 22, 2015
      • Over it..we really need rain here…urghh

        January 22, 2015
      • Same down here, a bloody good drowning is what we need. Something to wash away the humidity.

        January 22, 2015
      • I agree it’s foul! I am going nuts with the humidity urghhhhh…

        January 22, 2015
      • I am grateful we have refrigerated air conditioning, gets rid of the humidity from inside the house.

        January 22, 2015
      • Yep..nothing worse than evap cooling in humidity…yikes!

        January 22, 2015
      • We have a flat roof, so it was never an option for us.

        January 22, 2015
      • Yuk no way..had a flat roof at Warburton..was a killer! have never found anyone happy with evap anyway 🙂

        January 22, 2015
      • Yeah, so in one way the flat roof was fantastic, otherwise we probably would have put it in because it was a lot cheaper. 😀

        January 23, 2015
  2. The building stands out really well here in a way that I can’t imagine it would if it was in colour. I really like it 🙂

    January 22, 2015
    • Thank you, glad you think that, it is different in colour, but this is nice, I hope. 😀

      January 22, 2015
  3. Looks stormy. I prefer Black and white photography. I’m a big fan of the contrast you can get from it.

    January 22, 2015
    • It had been raining, so lots of cloud from that. Thank you.

      January 22, 2015
  4. The highlight on the dome is brilliant.

    January 22, 2015
  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The Royal Exhibition Building is beautiful. 🙂

    January 22, 2015
    • It is a beautiful building Jackie, really stunning. 😀

      January 22, 2015
  6. I thought the sky looks quite menacing at the top, because of the very dark hues. Still, I like it, especially how the REB building still stands out very brightly. Always fun playing around with images. Good luck with the posters and the workshop, maybe you’ll get a breather over the long weekend. It’s hectic my end here too, but I like it 🙂

    January 22, 2015
    • I thought it was getting dark, which it was, being twilight. It is fun playing with images, I think it is one thing I really love doing. Thank you, got nearly everything sorted, the newsletter has been sent out, so I got everything done that I was hoping too, now for tomorrow. Thanks Mabel. 😀

      January 22, 2015
  7. I love the composition of this photo and the monochrome is just brilliant….

    January 22, 2015
    • Thank you, it was a lucky find, I hope I can get it another time with my DSLR.

      January 22, 2015
  8. You are always so busy .. Top shot Leanne .. As always 😊

    January 22, 2015
    • Too much at the moment, it is driving me crazy. No time to relax, but hopefully soon. Thanks Julie.

      January 22, 2015
  9. Good luck getting caught up Leanne…I’m behind on so many things here.

    January 23, 2015
    • Thanks Robert, the problem is everyone is on holidays and wants to go out and take photos. I’m behind too, feel like I’m constantly chasing my tale.

      January 23, 2015
  10. I love the highlight of this photo – on the dome!! Take time for yourself to breathe Leanne!!

    January 23, 2015
    • The dome really is the star in this one, I just hope I can get a good one one day with my DSLR. thanks Cybele, got a lot done yesterday, so breathing easier today.

      January 23, 2015
  11. Another wonderful post by Leanne Cole

    January 23, 2015
  12. Very nice.

    Glad to see you were able to work out your newsletter sign-up form. Better than using a “mailto” link.

    January 23, 2015
    • Thanks David,
      Yes, got it worked out, I agree, this way I don’t have to do anything when people sign up, they just do it, so much better.

      January 23, 2015
  13. The softness contrasts well with the strong lines of the dome. Beautiful. 😀

    January 23, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, I like that. 😀

      January 23, 2015
  14. Hi Leanne, As you know, I love monochrome. This shot looks nice in the blog. I’ll bet in a larger format it is really awesome!

    January 23, 2015
    • Thank you John, not sure it would work in larger format, it was taken with my phone and it upped the ISO so it was really grainy and not very nice, you might see all that if it were blown up. I really hope to get a similar shot with my DSLR one day and a tripod.

      January 23, 2015
  15. Congratulations on your first newsletter Leanne. I thought it was great. One day I am going to go to your Social Snappers afternoon.

    January 23, 2015
    • Thank you Carol, good to get some feedback, will start working on the next one soon. I think that would be fantastic, would love to have you along.

      January 23, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Quiet Thursdays: Catching Up | Donna's Blog

Comments are closed.

