Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Macro View at the Aquarium

melbourne-aquarium-fish-turtles-penguins-125

As you would have gathered I’ve been going out and taking lots of photos.  It is unusual for me to go out this much, but I do seem to be going out and getting something every second day, and it looks like this next week will be the same.  It is good, gives me lots of photos to work on, and lots of photos for Weekend Wanderings, and so today I thought we would look at the photos I took this last Wednesday when I went to visit the Aquarium.

It has been a couple of years since I was at the aquarium, but it has changed quite a bit.  Everyone now has to go in reverse order, well you don’t have to, but that seems to be what people do.  I found it a bit confusing, but hey, I’m getting old.  They have changed some of the exhibits, which is also nice, though the jelly fish room seems to be gone, and there are almost no jellyfish. I was really disappointed with that, I really wanted to try and photograph them. I also thought I would take my macro and 50mm with me, but the 50 wouldn’t focus close enough, so I stuck the macro on and got some interesting shots, I think.

melbourne-aquarium-fish-turtles-penguins-111

It was interesting using the macro, for those that don’t know I have a Nikon 105mm Micro, or macro lens.  I haven’t had it very long, but I am enjoying seeing what I can do with it.  I wasn’t sure what I would get at the aquarium, it is a very difficult place to shoot, but I managed to get some shots.

melbourne-aquarium-fish-turtles-penguins-112

There is a crocodile there now, and he/she is big.  There is a little bubble thing you can go up and see it, and when I went into it the croc was climbing over it so all I could see were teeth.  I have another photo which gives you some idea of the size, it will be in the gallery.

melbourne-aquarium-fish-turtles-penguins-116

I loved the stingrays and enjoyed taking photos of those as they went past.  I was especially proud of this image, I thought I did good, and the macro did too.  Not all my shots were very good, in fact there are only a few that I was really proud of, but it was fun trying.

melbourne-aquarium-fish-turtles-penguins-122

I gotta say, I think this one is a cracka, can you tell I’ve been watching the cricket.  I thought this was a great shot and I was so pleased with myself.  The turtle looks like it is so in focus.  It wasn’t an easy thing to do there.  The only thing I don’t like is the light bit behind its head, I’m sure I could get rid of that if I really wanted to, but will leave it there now.

melbourne-aquarium-fish-turtles-penguins-130

I debated with myself as to whether or not I would show this one, but the colours are so pretty.  I know it is a blurred cuttlefish, but it looked interesting.  I hope you don’t mind that I showed it to you!

melbourne-aquarium-fish-turtles-penguins-135

The penguins, the big draw card to the aquarium I think. They stand around behind the glass and just look at us looking at them.  They have snow, and they do interact with one another, but my friend said, “they look so bored”.  I don’t know if they are, but I do know, or seem to remember something about how they only stay there for a short time, and they are rotated with other penguins.  There was a big swimming tank down one end and I loved the way the penguins would stop near the top and stare at us, it was great, and also good for getting photos.

I know many people don’t agree with Zoos or Aquariums, but I have to say, I think they do much better work now than they used to.  They do help with the survival of many species, but I think one thing that we all forget is that we go and see them, we fall in love with the species, we make a connection with them, then we want to ensure their survival.  If you feel something towards them you get that, so I think many animals, birds etc, are taking one for the team, and they bring their plight to the attention of the world.  I also think zoos are doing a much better job these days with making sure that the animals are treated humanly, and give them environments as close to their natural habitat as possible, well I am sure the Melbourne ones do.

Anyway enough of that, I will step off my pedestal now. I have so many photos for you now, I hope you don’t get too bored looking at them, but I’m sure you know how it is, so many images didn’t work, that I really wanted to show the ones that did.  I have a semi busy weekend planned, it is Australia Day here on Monday, so a long weekend, lots of people will be out and about, so hopefully a nice weekend weather wise.  I hope you have a good one planned.

 

 

84 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Leanne, you got some really good shots! I never would have thought about going to an aquarium. 🙂 The colors are amazing, especially on the cuttlefish.

    January 24, 2015
    • Thank you Jackie, oh yes, the aquarium is great for photos, but they are very hard to get. 🙂

      January 24, 2015
  2. Nice article. I know where I’m going as soon as I get my own macro lens! 😉

    January 24, 2015
    • That’s great to hear, I hope you get some great shots when you get yours. thank you. 🙂

      January 24, 2015
      • Should be getting it tomorrow! I’m brainstorming ideas now.

        February 24, 2015
      • Fantastic, I must get mine out and do some photos. What are you getting?

        February 24, 2015
      • Nikon 105mm f2.8 vr

        February 24, 2015
      • That is the one I got, beautiful.

        February 24, 2015
      • I can’t friggin wait 😀

        February 24, 2015
      • I know that feeling, I had to wait what seemed an eternity for mine. 😀

        February 24, 2015
  3. I like the cuttlefish image, makes for a fantastic colorful abstract image!

    Tamara

    January 24, 2015
    • Thank you Tamara, what is what I was thinking, I really liked it as well.

      January 24, 2015
  4. Interesting use of the macro.

    January 24, 2015
    • Something different, thanks tootle.

      January 24, 2015
  5. Pat #

    Beautiful shots.

    January 24, 2015
  6. Excellent series of pictures as I ‘like to do, even if it is not always easy with the windows!

    January 24, 2015
    • Thank you, the glass is so hard and then the low light on top of it, makes for interesting photography.

      January 24, 2015
  7. Stunning photos. Love the macros. The colours are incredible too. 😀

    January 24, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, I was really happy with the way the colours came out. 😀

      January 24, 2015
  8. Some lovely shots here, I must say I prefer your other turtle head, with the unfocussed background to the one with the green light behind its head (although I kinda like the green blob ;P ) My favourite would have to be the penguins under water thoguh, I love how you’ve captured the lighting!

    January 24, 2015
    • I really liked the one I posted because it all seemed in focus, the whole turtle and I wasn’t quite prepared for that. Thank you, it was a lot of fun there, I love the challenges photography gives us from time to time.

      January 24, 2015
  9. The crocodile’s teeth shot is just superb. 🙂

    January 24, 2015
    • Thank you, glad there was lots of glass between me and them. 😉

      January 24, 2015
  10. Penguins!!!! XD I love them Leanne! 😀

    January 24, 2015
    • I love them too, they are so beautiful, so much fun to watch, almost like watching children. 😀 Thank you.

      January 24, 2015
  11. Just to let you know you are coming in as span do you have your whitelisted so I do not miss you.

    January 24, 2015
    • No sure what you mean Donna.

      January 24, 2015
  12. Wow. Please take this as the compliment it is intended… I feel like I just opened up a National Geographic website and am viewing their photos.

    January 24, 2015
    • Wow, I definitely take that as a compliment Laura, thank you so much, so very much, you just made my day.

      January 24, 2015
  13. Hope this help Leanne Cole I may need also to add you to my Contacts

    January 24, 2015
  14. I really love these shots. They are really beautiful! Thanks for showing them to us. Umm…cracka? Don’t say that too loudly here lol.

    January 24, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, it was a great day. You’re welcome, LOL, yes the different words have different meanings in different countries. you have to be carefully using the words fanny and root here, they don’t have good meaning in a colloquial sense.

      January 24, 2015
      • You’re welcome 🙂 I love that there are different words. It’s so funny sometimes. That conference I’m going to in September with Dave is in Monterey. There is a fabulous aquarium there. I think I’ll try some photography there too.

        January 24, 2015
      • My Dave has been to Monterey, he went there with my BIL and just raved about it, I think he is hoping his brother will take me to see it as well.

        January 24, 2015
      • Oh definitely! It is amazing! I go there almost every year but I’ve never taken photos there. Go figure. You will love it.

        January 24, 2015
      • I would love to go, sounds incredible. I hope you do take photos, aquariums are fun, challenging, but fun.

        January 24, 2015
  15. These are amazing and they make me want to check out my local zoo and aquarium so much to see what I can get. I’m big into animal welfare and my view on zoos and aquariums is that it depends a lot on the individual place. There’s one near me that I won’t go to because they give them a decent environment but not a lot to do. I research where I’m going first to make sure they have top animal welfare standards.

    January 24, 2015
    • That is wonderful, I hope you do. That is a good thing too, I know at the one in Melbourne they give them toys and things they would find in their natural habitat to keep them occupied. They also have a philosophy that if you can’t see them, bad luck, really. Sometimes the animals hide, and they also do things so they aren’t on show all the time, they rotate them between a couple of places here. Which is nice.
      Thanks for your views, I like the way you view it.

      January 24, 2015
  16. Wow! Lots of fab photos. I have never had much success with aquarium shots because of low light, glass and moving targets. You’ve inspired me to know that it can be done. I will try harder next time I go to try and secure some good photos.

    January 24, 2015
    • It is definitely a challenge, I had to turn my ISO all the way up to get the shots. Try that and see how you go, does create a bit of noise, but not much you can do about it really. Even if you were allowed to use a tripod, it wouldn’t work, you can’t stop the fish from moving. Thank you Laura, I like how you include you name in the signature bit now.

      January 24, 2015
      • Yes. I was originally intent on full anonymity but then I gave my name away anyway so I finally figured out how to change my signature.

        January 24, 2015
      • I think it is nice if you have at least a first name, makes it more personal, I understand that people don’t want to give away their identity, but I think even if you make up a name, it makes it nicer. So I am so glad you did Laura.

        January 24, 2015
      • That is exactly why I gave away my first name early on. It was weird not being personal on a blog that is all about my life. I am only anonymous to keep my kids anonymous anyway. I added my name to my about page but I can be a blogging dunce at times and only just realised how easy it was to change my signature.

        January 24, 2015
      • I understand that, it wasn’t something I needed to worry about because my kids are adults now. It takes a while to sort things out sometimes. I’ve been a blogging dunce about some things too.

        January 24, 2015
  17. This was so much fun!

    January 24, 2015
    • That is wonderful to hear, thank you.

      January 24, 2015
  18. Love the penguin photos.

    January 24, 2015
    • They are so cute Colline and so big.

      January 24, 2015
      • I would love to see these penguins in reality. I don’t think pictures give the full experience.

        January 25, 2015
      • I would love to see them in their natural environment, I think, how cool would that be? I think seeing them in a glass room doesn’t either Colline, thanks.

        January 25, 2015
  19. I love the close ups and the penguins!!

    January 24, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, how cute are the penguins?

      January 24, 2015
  20. The turtle photo is certainly a cracka one 😀 Looks like you captured it smiling, in mid-thought. Very lovely. Same goes for the other photos. It does look like there are lots of fish and marine life at the aquarium, many more than I remember more than five years ago. I’ve been meaning to go but am waiting until the school holidays are over. I went to the zoo recently and it was swarming with people. Happy long weekend, Leanne. Enjoy it 🙂

    January 24, 2015
    • Thanks Mabel, it was a great catch, I like to think. It is much the same, I just photographed many in the same tanks. It really isn’t a big aquarium. Go early if you want to go once schools go back, otherwise you get the school groups, I think they can be worse, they travel in packs. I am off to the zoo this Thursday for Social Snappers, so that should be good. You have a good long weekend too Mabel. 😀

      January 24, 2015
      • Thanks for that, Leanne. I really hope I avoid the school crowd…always so energetic. Judging from your photos, there looks like there’s a lot to see in the aquarium, and you combed out the entire place 😀 Have fun at the zoo. Looking forward to seeing your animal photos especially the monkeys if you see them 😉

        January 24, 2015
      • Oh yes, I hate them, kids can be so loud and rude, and not much respect for others who are there as well. There is a lot, but really you still only need a hour or two to see it all. Thanks, I’m sure I will, no idea yet what we will be photographing. 😀

        January 24, 2015
  21. Wow, the colours are fantastic Leanne. I’ve been practising macro with my new camera and I’m getting better at taking them. My favourite in this collection has to be the last one. Penguins are so cute.

    January 24, 2015
    • Thank you Carol, that is great that you’ve been practicing, I think I love macro, it is so much fun and you see some things with the macro. Penguins are, I love watching them going up, and down, that slippery slope.

      January 24, 2015
  22. Great shots! I used to visit the Shedd Aquarium in Chicago all the time when I attended college in Chicago. We still go there now and then! 🙂

    January 24, 2015
    • They can be great, I like them, but so hard to take photos in. I love seeing all the weird creatures that I wouldn’t see otherwise. Thanks Thomas, I hope you take photos when you go.

      January 25, 2015
  23. poppytump #

    Oh penguins are so comical aren’t they Leanne ! Super pictures .. yes can imagine it Is hard getting these shots . Love that cuttle fish … you’ve given him a bit of saturday night fever out in the tank feel Lol
    Have a great day 🙂

    January 24, 2015
    • I agree Poppy, they are, love the way they walk. Thank you, I know the cuttlefish didn’t work, but yes a definite Saturday night fever look. LOL. 😀
      You too, I hope you are having a good weekend. 😀

      January 25, 2015
      • poppytump #

        Yes .. it’s all good Leanne. Thank you !

        January 25, 2015
      • Wonderful, 🙂

        January 25, 2015
  24. Reblogged this on Benji Martin Photography.

    January 25, 2015
  25. love the Penguins and that photo of the crocodile’s teeth is seriously scary 🙂

    January 25, 2015
    • Thank you, I know what you mean about the crocs teeth, glad there was a lot of glass between us. 😉

      January 25, 2015
      • hahaha true.. i now appreciate those unbreakable glass more

        January 25, 2015
      • Hahaha, would be nice if it was always there when danger was around.

        January 25, 2015
      • Haha truth…. there was some cage of death i saw online where people dive with some giant croc..cannot remember the place..i think i would avoid that

        January 25, 2015
      • I would avoid it as well.

        January 25, 2015
  26. These are brilliant, Leanne. I agree the stingray is stunning. I love the croc teeth. I couldn’t guess what it was until you told me. I also love the second photo. That fish is beautiful and the composition is stunning.

    That’s great they rotate the penguins. Aquariums and zoos have their place, and they are good if done properly. I’ve seen some animals in distress, even in the US, though. I can never get that out of my mind, this one sad seal was swimming in circles in a water pen at a dolphin aquarium I went to in Florida. He was miserable, while all the dolphins were treated royally. I don’t know why they even kept that seal there. I hope they let him out. But I went to the Living Museum in Tucson, and there I felt all the creatures were happy. The Giant Pandas in Beijing looked like they were trying to escape. It broke my heart. Like you said, who knows what the animals are feeling? But sometimes it is pretty obvious.

    One thing is that the cuttlefish is so beautiful. They all are. Seeing living fish makes me not want to eat them! So I guess the aquarium is saving a few fish, at least from my fork!

    Great work. I’m inspired by how much you’ve been going out and getting shots.

    January 25, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, it was fun seeing what I could get with the macro lens.
      It is good, I agree, you can tell when animals aren’t happy, and as far I know they have spend a lot of time here trying to make sure that the animals have good places for them, at least that is the impression they give.
      Thanks again, I have been going out a lot and I do love that, I am really enjoying it.

      January 25, 2015
  27. Challenging but lots of fun doing aquarium shooting. Sone nice images, especially the teeth.

    January 25, 2015
    • Yes, and yes Tim, thank you, how cool are those teeth, never want to be that close to them without anything inbetween.

      January 25, 2015
  28. Gorgeous pictures, Leanne! Lot of unusual ones, and great focus, especially given the conditions. Thanks for sharing.

    January 25, 2015
    • Thank you, it was nice seeing the fish with the macro lens. You’re welcome.

      January 25, 2015
  29. Amazing pictures, Leanne! Macro – underwater – through the glass combination is a challenging one, but you really did it well. The teeth are impressive 🙂

    January 27, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, it was a challenge, a big challenge, I was happy with what I got. oh yeah, those teeth!!! 😀

      January 27, 2015
  30. Some great pictures. I did some trials on this subject, but came to the conclusion that a point and shoot, even combined with an enormous amount of patience, is just not good enough. For a strat, I’d need some filters to get rid of the reflections. I never tried cutting one out for the pocket camera. I suppose this can be done. Next, what the eye sees unfiltered comes out as a lot of mirky water between camera and subject, hours later. 🙂 Great experiments.

    January 28, 2015
    • I haven’t tried it with a point and shoot, I know that you have to get as close to the glass as you can. I agree, the water does come out quite murky, though you can get rid of that somewhat in post, somewhat. Thanks, it is always fun to try new challenges.

      January 29, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wanderings – Macro View at the Aquarium | Donna's Blog

Comments are closed.

