Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Exploring the Bay Between Seaford and Edithvale

seaford-edithvale-beach-piers-water-118

Recently I’ve been asked to do a job for someone, they want some photos of the beach front along the edge of Port Phillip Bay.  The bay is the entrance to Melbourne, and many people live around it.  It is salt water, but you don’t get the waves like you get out on the unprotected beaches.  The area I have been asked to do is between Seaford and Mordiallic, an area I am not familiar with it all, well not the beach side.  So the other day I did my first scouting trip down there to see what I could find.

seaford-edithvale-beach-piers-water-103

There are a few different piers along there. Some are older and made of wood, which are so much nicer.  We found one that was all concrete, and it just didn’t have an character. I still took photos of it and there are images in the gallery of it.

It was the perfect summer day and we noticed lots and lots of people heading to the beach.  We were there in the morning.  I am going to have to go back a few times, but think now I will wait until school goes back in a weeks time. Look at how gorgeous the water was, beautiful colour.

seaford-edithvale-beach-piers-water-110

There are lots of grassy areas along this stretch, and I like how the grass comes out through the sand.  Great contrast with the sand, the grass and blue sky.  Summer is definitely here.

seaford-edithvale-beach-piers-water-117

It was quite windy so I thought I would try a long exposure with the beach boxes in the foreground, but really, the wind was going in the wrong direction, and I don’t like this that much.  I think the normal exposure looks better.  This is something I have to start working out with the long exposures, the direction of the wind.

seaford-edithvale-beach-piers-water-122

There was also some surprising things along the water edge as well.  There flowers were everywhere in one spot.

seaford-edithvale-beach-piers-water-123

Different walkways for getting to the beach, we liked this one.  Very rustic and grassy.

It was a lovely walk along the beach, we didn’t cover the whole area, but I have time.  It was good to go down and check the area out, and see what is down there.  I haven’t done much to these images, just basic editing, but I know when I do the images for the job there will an expectation that I will give them my signature style.

It is a long weekend here, did I tell you that already, and as this publishes I will be travelling again, and will be away for most of the day. So please leave your comments and I will respond to them when I get back.  Enjoy your day.

53 Comments
  1. Beautiful pictures!!!!

    January 25, 2015
  2. Very much like the shots underneath the pier, excellent.

    January 25, 2015
    • Thank you, it is great when you can get under them to take photos.

      January 25, 2015
  3. I love all the striped houses! Very pretty, indeed.

    January 25, 2015
    • They are beach boxes Lois, for people, who have lots of money, to get ready for the beach and not have to be with others. they are very cool.

      January 25, 2015
  4. I see lots of great potential for some amazing photographs. I look forward to seeing what images you create on the formal photoshoot.

    January 25, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, I do too, now that I have been along there I am rather excited at what I might get.

      January 25, 2015
  5. Loved looking at a bit of summer Leanne

    January 25, 2015
    • That’s wonderful Colline, I will try and arrange more.

      January 25, 2015
  6. There is nothing better than being near the water! So soothing and peaceful 🙂 Great captures!

    January 25, 2015
    • I think exactly the same, I love being by it, not so much in it. thank you. 🙂

      January 25, 2015
  7. Very nice. Sort of reminds me of where we were this past weekend–at the beach in Florida exploring dunes and historic sites.

    January 25, 2015
    • Thank you, sounds like you have been having lots of fun too, I hope you got some great photos.

      January 25, 2015
  8. Wonderful stretch of coastline Leanne and a great collection … I could spend a day around those boat-sheds. Wes

    January 25, 2015
    • Thank you Wes, the beach boxes are great and all along the coast there, some people go to a lot of trouble decorating them. I’m looking forward to exploring more along there.

      January 25, 2015
  9. Nice bright day for a change. It’s snowing here and the weather guys can’t decide if we are about to have Armagedden (of the snowy kind) … or six inches and cold temperatures.

    January 25, 2015
    • Oh yes, the weather was lovely, very summery. I hope whatever you get is not too bad Marilyn, though I would love to see photos, I love snowy photos.

      January 25, 2015
  10. Ahh the beach! I want to go there. 🙂

    January 25, 2015
    • It was lovely, only an hour from here. 😀

      January 25, 2015
  11. Reblogged this on Gh0stpupp3t's Realm and commented:
    Ahhhh.. nice!

    January 25, 2015
  12. Great shots. They remind me of going to the beach as a child. 😀

    January 25, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, I hope the memories are happy ones. 😀

      January 25, 2015
  13. Lots of beautiful photo today they are wonderful Hope your day is going well. Thank you

    January 25, 2015
    • Thank you Donna, I have had a lovely day, back down to the coast this morning for more photos. Brilliant.

      January 25, 2015
  14. Beautiful beach photos

    January 25, 2015
  15. Thank you for stopping by and liking my post. I popped in to see your photos and love your eye. Your photos are beautiful and capture the rustic natural quality of the beach. It looks like a lovely place to play. Kindest Regards Cheryle

    January 25, 2015
    • Thank you Cheryle, and you are very welcome, glad you enjoyed my visit to the beach, and I like what you said about the rustic nature, exactly what I was going for.

      January 25, 2015
  16. It’s really beautiful there!

    January 25, 2015
  17. What a wonderfully photogenic place!

    January 25, 2015
    • It is Gypsy, I am looking forward to exploring it a lot more.

      January 25, 2015
  18. beautiful and I agree wooden pier has more character and looks beautiful

    January 26, 2015
    • Thank you, I think the old wooden piers are amazing.

      January 26, 2015
  19. Very summery photos.

    January 26, 2015
    • It was a very nice summery day, not too hot and not too cold, beautiful by the water Carol.

      January 26, 2015
  20. I like the streaky clouds over the bathing boxes. Ots different from bormal fluffy clouds😄

    January 26, 2015
    • Thanks Linda, I just wished they were going in a different direction, problem is that I can’t really see it on the back of the camera. Oh well, will have to keep trying.

      January 26, 2015
  21. Stephen James #

    Good stuff. You’ve got to check out Aspendale Beach too ( I might be biased:)).

    January 26, 2015
    • Oh yes, I plan too Stephen, if you can give me some tips, would love to hear them. I don’t know the area very well.

      January 26, 2015
  22. I really like the long exposure of the beach houses one. Very nice images!

    January 26, 2015
    • Thank you, I think i might have to try doing more of these.

      January 26, 2015
  23. Great selection of images,Leanne. I wonder what you will select for the commission?

    January 27, 2015
    • I probably won’t choose these, these were more to see what was there, still have more exploring to do. It should be fun.

      January 27, 2015
  24. Lovely clicks

    January 27, 2015
  25. I love traveling through your photographs. You are able to capture such a “sense of place”….thank you!

    January 28, 2015
    • Thank you, that is a lovely compliment.

      January 28, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wanderings: Exploring the Bay Between Seaford and Edithvale | Donna's Blog

Comments are closed.

