Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Giving the Sky More, Something

Last week I sent out the first LCP Newsletter and in it I had a video for replacing the sky, it was something that was important to me last week as well. I went out to take photos to a place I had never been before, saw some amazing things, but the sky was so horrible, that all I got were great photos with a white sky.  I had intended to use the images for a Weekend Wanderings post, but I couldn’t put up photos that had terrible skies.

So yesterday I decided to convert one to Black and White, replace the sky and see what I could come up with.

emu-flats-school-house-abandoned

I did other things to it as well, but the main thing I wanted to do was give it a better sky.  Usually when there are this many trees I tend to put it in the too hard basket, but I had to try with this one,  and it was a good lesson for me.  It took a bit of effort, but I get there in the end.

I also did the reverse processing thing and have put the original image and the colour version of the above image on my other blog.  There is also more information over there on where the image was taken.  If you are interested in that, then please go to, When the Sky Gives you Blah.

I’m off to the Melbourne Zoo today for Social Snappers, the weather is looking perfect for it.  I will try and get some Instagram photos as well. I hope you have a quiet Thursday planned.

 

51 Comments
  1. Getting a good sky makes all the difference in outdoor photos, and so often, there is no “good” sky. This is a great post.

    January 29, 2015
    • It really does, it can ruin a great image if you have a crappy one, thankfully there is Photoshop and the ability to change them. Thank you.

      January 29, 2015
  2. Reblogged this on Crash Course.

    January 29, 2015
  3. Look forward to seeing your zoo pictures.

    January 29, 2015
    • Thank you Colline, I’m really excited about going, hopefully will see the parts I missed last time.

      January 29, 2015
  4. gorgeous!

    January 29, 2015
  5. I really love what you’ve done , very similar to what I was thinking for this shot it’s so dark and moody love love it 🙂

    January 29, 2015
    • Yes, dark and moody, I love images like that too. thank you Christine.

      January 29, 2015
  6. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Good job, Leanne. 🙂

    January 29, 2015
  7. Really like the colour image as well very strong image 🙂

    January 29, 2015
    • Thank you, it was an interesting process. 🙂

      January 29, 2015
  8. The new sky really adds so much to the image. Great composition and I love the processing and composition! Have fun at the zoo.

    January 29, 2015
    • Thank you, I think the new sky really added to it as well, a big improvement. I had a lot of fun at the zoo.

      January 29, 2015
  9. Great work. I love the final result.

    January 29, 2015
    • That’s great Raewyn, thank you.

      January 29, 2015
  10. lensaddiction #

    Hey Leanne, any chance of a link to that tutorial, I would be interested to see it, as I have an image with that exact problem I need to work on.

    January 29, 2015
    • I would have to find it Stacey, but it is quite an advanced one, so lots of masks and such. If you are still finding your way in photoshop I would recommend you wait to try it. there are other ways of doing it.

      January 29, 2015
  11. Congratulations on the newsletter – very informative. Well done with the processing here – yes, sometimes the sky needs help – it’s not really faking it as the day you are at a site you have no control over for the most part…

    January 29, 2015
    • Thanks for the feedback Robert, I’ve lots of good things from people about it, so that is great. I agree, sometimes you do have to help the sky. That is so true, you don’t always have control, well none really, so you get what you can.

      January 29, 2015
  12. fantastic work!! The sky is great!!

    January 29, 2015
  13. I like it. It has a real spooky look.

    January 29, 2015
  14. I couldn’t get my comment to post on the other blog, Leanne. But I loved the saturation!

    January 29, 2015
    • It did post Elen, it just seems like it doesn’t, I have to look into it, I might have to look at getting another theme over there. Thank you, I am quite partial to the saturation as well.

      January 29, 2015
  15. Very beautiful, Leanne! The sky makes such a difference. I like the color version, but am partial to the black and white.

    January 29, 2015
    • Thanks Pam, I think the same, it was important to replace the sky I think. I don’t know which I prefer, but thanks for telling me what you like.

      January 29, 2015
  16. Wow, love the b&w version Leanne! Loads of impact 😊

    January 29, 2015
    • Thanks Julie, it is the type of scene that calls to be done in b&w I think.

      January 29, 2015
  17. Amazing photos Leanne! Derelict/run-down buildings have such a beauty…

    January 29, 2015
    • They certainly do and lend themselves so well to being worked on. thank you.

      January 29, 2015
  18. Amazing, Leanne! When I saw all those trees, I also thought “no way.” But the end result looks so unretouched, one would never know. Just beautiful. I have your newsletter in my inbox and am slowly working my way through all my post notifications today, so I’m looking forward to seeing your new project 🙂

    January 30, 2015
    • I think I would have said the same thing a month ago, though I still would have had a go, I think I know another way of doing it too, I will have to try that on another image, I have plenty from that day. I hope the newsletter is useful Stacy, though you have already seen the video on how to do the sky, I am going to do something new for the next one. Thank you. 🙂

      January 30, 2015
  19. Close to 300 “Likes” on this post but only 34 or so comments? And half of them are probably your responses? I hope all those likes are out practicing putting skies into their photos. I have recently found that you are able to do this with Perfect Effects 9 and I’m in heaven. So to speak. Out here in the SW desert we usually get clear skies. So my wife and I would run (OK, jump in the car) whenever the forecast was for clouds or rain. We got some great atmospheric skies in my images. but now I don’t have to wait for the weather to get drama. This is an effect every photographer should master. Thanks, Leanne, Now I’m off to see “Blah”.

    January 30, 2015
    • Yes they probably are half my responses. Funny how some posts generate more conversation than others. I don’t know, do you think they are, or maybe they are out collecting sky images for their sky file. I haven’t used that software, don’t really know it, but I’ve heard good things about it. Absolutely, use whatever sky you like now. I think it is a great effect for the tool kit. Thanks Emilio.

      January 30, 2015
  20. Reblogged this on Ilhadosolguaraparies.

    January 30, 2015
  21. It’s not just the sky that makes this image more dramatic, but the highlights and processing you’ve done, too. You’ve followed through, not just stopping at improving the sky. I just found out you can replace skies in Perfect Effects 9 and am in the process of going through my archives to see what I can improve upon. Thanks, Leanne!

    January 30, 2015
    • Thank you Emilio, I did a lot of work to it, well tried to.

      January 30, 2015
  22. I love the moodiness of this image! 🙂

    January 30, 2015
    • That is wonderful to hear, thank you.

      January 30, 2015
  23. Stunning results!

    January 30, 2015
  24. Jimmy Lem #

    Forgive me if I have missed something…I see you mentioned a newsletter…perhaps that is it…where is the tutorial for replacing the sky or any other processing you did here?

    I like both of these (color and BW) – very nice!

    April 12, 2015
    • Oh yes, I sort of started one, but not sure if I will keep it going, I have a video on youtube about how to replace the sky.
      Thank you.

      April 12, 2015
      • Jimmy Lem #

        Thanks!

        April 12, 2015
      • 🙂

        April 12, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. When the Sky Gives you Blah
  2. Overlooking the lake | Ryan Photography

Comments are closed.

