Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Early Morning Trip to Point Lonsdale

point-lonsdale-pier-lighthouse-ocean-103

This past Tuesday Christine Wilson and I headed out again to take photos. This time we decided to go to Point Lonsdale, she hadn’t been there before, but I had on a few occasions. Then we thought, hey let’s get there before sunrise, which for right now meant getting up at 3am to be out of the house by 4am. I’m not the type of person who likes to rush, I like to have time to get ready, to make sure I have everything.  So when 4am came around off I left. I met Chris just over the Westgate Bridge and then we took my car to Point Lonsdale, stopping for a coffee along the way.

point-lonsdale-pier-lighthouse-ocean-100

We knew as we were getting closer that we weren’t going to get much of sunrise, you could tell, there just weren’t enough clouds and really not enough colour.  As we were arriving a massive ship was going through the heads to Port Melbourne.  I love seeing the big ships going in and out.  We saw three the time we were there.

point-lonsdale-pier-lighthouse-ocean-102

There was some colour but the main reason we were there were to do some long exposures.  I got a Lee Big Stopper and was experimenting with it.  It seemed to work fine, but it doesn’t really fit the Cokin Filter holder properly, so I might have to get a proper Lee Holder, am searching for that now.  I’ve been getting stuff from the B&H, but it can take such a long time to get here, just over 3 weeks.  You can get stuff from the UK in a week, but from the US 5 weeks is nothing.  I might have to do some internet searching.  The Cokin one would be fine if the little nodules it has at the bottom could be pressed in so the front of the filter was flat, but you can only put filters in a certain distance and they get stuck.

point-lonsdale-pier-lighthouse-ocean-107

The early morning light is so lovely to work with.  I love how it hits everything, and we are almost at the time of year where a nice early morning will give some beautiful golden light here.  I think it happens around Autumn.  There was some on this morning, but not much.

I had to take photos of the lighthouse too.  It is something I really enjoy about Point Lonsdale is that there are a few things to photograph, you can do the pier, the lighthouse and then there are lots of rocks as well.

point-lonsdale-pier-lighthouse-ocean-116

I have been here a few times to take photos, but never when the tide was so far out.  It was incredible what was revealed when it went out.  Rocks everywhere.  I switched to my wide angle and tried getting some shots from different angles.  It really was getting too late in the day here, the sun was bright and the light was really bright, but it was fun.  We got there at 6am, left at around 1pm, though we did go into town for breakfast for an hour and half, so you can see there is a lot there to photograph.

point-lonsdale-pier-lighthouse-ocean-115

My long exposures were disappointing, I found out too late that my lens was dirty, I got some horrible light marks on my images and so had to convert to black and white.  I was kicking myself, especially after that post on mistakes we make, well, here is one for me, I must remember to clean my gear more often.  I was so particular about keeping the filters clean, I didn’t even think to check my camera.

For those that don’t know where Point Lonsdale is, here is a map for you.

We had a great morning, the weather was gorgeous, the only real problem we had were other people.  There were lots of people around, which was natural considering what a gorgeous summer day it was.  People were swimming, but I think it was too cold for that, still, it was sunny.  The clouds weren’t really moving enough for long exposures, still, we both know what is there, and I’m sure we will go back.  Maybe next time spend the night, so it is easier to get up early.

I have a gallery of the images, I hope you can see what a beautiful day it was. I hope you have plans for the weekend.  I have Social Snappers tomorrow, we are doing one end of Bourke Street to the other, which should be quite interesting, lots of architecture.

 

77 Comments
  1. Great photos. I love both piers and lighthouses. I am sorry you did not get the sunrise you were hoping for but you did get great lighting.

    January 31, 2015
    • They are very popular themes and subjects Laura. Thank you, but there is always going to be a chance of that happening, unfortunately. I did. 🙂

      January 31, 2015
  2. Nice virtual tour! Thanks for sharing 🙂 Bye. Kamila

    January 31, 2015
    • You’re welcome Kamila, thank you. 🙂

      January 31, 2015
  3. A fantastic post, Leanne!

    January 31, 2015
    • Thank you Fabio, glad you enjoyed it.

      January 31, 2015
  4. Awesome shot! 🙂

    January 31, 2015
  5. Some great images of Pt Lony Leanne… Really like the different angles you have taken.

    January 31, 2015
    • Such a great place for photos Chris, I’m sure you’ve done shots there. Thank you.

      January 31, 2015
  6. Beautiful shots, you’ve captured the landscape wonderfully ^.^ Love it.

    January 31, 2015
    • That is wonderful to hear, thank you.

      January 31, 2015
  7. You may have been disappointed but I think the shots are still beautiful! What a gorgeous day!

    January 31, 2015
    • Thank you Sabina, it was a great day, the weather was perfect, though, I still got sunburnt.

      January 31, 2015
  8. Love these. Are you using a polarizer? Some HDR? Love the setting and image quality. M 🙂

    January 31, 2015
    • Thank you, polarizer no, the sky really is that colour, 3 HDR images. It is a fantastic place to take photos. 🙂

      January 31, 2015
  9. good reminder to clean lenses…I often find that a huff of breath and a swipe of my cotton t-shirt isn’t enough. I guess that’s one more reason why I am, and will always be, a hobby shooter and not a pro.

    January 31, 2015
    • Oh I know, I felt so stupid when I realised that was the problem. I usually have lens cleaners with me, and I was using one for the filters, but forgot to clean the lens, will have to keep an eye on that in the future. Thank you Luke.

      January 31, 2015
  10. Lovely, melancholy (in the case of the B&W) shots, Leanne!

    January 31, 2015
  11. Love these Leanne they look so good really shows of the area beautifully.

    January 31, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, how did yours come out?

      January 31, 2015
  12. Some gorgeous photos.

    January 31, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, so nice to go to a place where you keep seeing photos.

      January 31, 2015
  13. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    These shots prove you had a great trip! ❤

    January 31, 2015
    • It was a great trip Jackie, thank you. 😀

      January 31, 2015
  14. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Weekend Wanderings: Early Morning Trip to Point Lonsdale
    by Leanne Cole on January 31, 2015

    January 31, 2015
  15. It’s looks like a great spot to visit. No wonder there were too many people there.

    January 31, 2015
    • Lots of people to swim, it was too cold for me, you could see them coming out of the water and they would be freezing. It was lovely if you weren’t going in the water.

      January 31, 2015
  16. Again with the gorgeous lighthouses, looks like such a lovely place to be.

    January 31, 2015
    • We have quite a few lighthouses around here, the coastline is quite rocky. It is a lovely place, thank you.

      January 31, 2015
  17. I love lighthouses! They are the best 😀

    January 31, 2015
    • I don’t think you are alone there, thank you. 😀

      January 31, 2015
  18. beautiful and I love lighthouses!! Your angles are always superb and I love the light shining through the rock arch!! It’s like a path of light leading into another dimension which of course it is.

    January 31, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, this is one is nice because you can around it in lots of ways. I like that idea of the light through the rock, you have such a great imagination.

      January 31, 2015
  19. Gorgeous photos. Those sunrises are hard to predict. I admire your dedication and getting up so early. Thanks for sharing your lovely work with us.

    January 31, 2015
    • They really are, I am getting better at working them out and I pretty much knew that we weren’t going to get much from what the weather was going to do that day, but you just never know. It was still a great trip. You’re very welcome, thank you for taking a look.

      January 31, 2015
  20. Seaside pictures are some of my favorites. I love the ones with the long pier shots

    January 31, 2015
    • Same Nora, I love taking photos at the ocean, actually anywhere near water. Thank you, that pier is fantastic, I love going there.

      January 31, 2015
  21. Beautiful Leanne .. pt Lonsdale has never looked so good 🙂

    January 31, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, I’m sure it has, but I like that. 😉

      January 31, 2015
  22. As disappointed as you were with having to do black and white conversions, for someone not knowing what the colour versions may have looked like, i think they look really great!

    January 31, 2015
    • thank you, it would have been nice to have the choice of either, but it is okay, I will get other opportunities.

      January 31, 2015
  23. Gorgeous set, Leanne.

    January 31, 2015
  24. She_Who_Hears #

    Incredible. Enjoy Bourke St. I want to do a couple of the “Little” streets.

    January 31, 2015
    • Thank you. I’m sure we will, yes, I would like to get to those eventually as well, especially Little Collins, I might put that on the list for next term.

      January 31, 2015
  25. You da man…once again. Very nicely done, words and pics. Can I ask a question…how did you get that map into your post? I can get one into the sidebar, but…the post?

    January 31, 2015
    • Thank you. Oh, you go to Google Maps, get the area you want, go to settings at the bottom, click on it and then click embed map, then cut and paste the link, there’s your map. I just worked that out.

      January 31, 2015
  26. This looks like a great place for photographs! Love those shots of the piers, you certainly had great light

    January 31, 2015
    • It is Sue, and it was the perfect day for it as well, thank you, I love that pier, and taking photos of it.

      January 31, 2015
  27. What a beautiful way to spend a day!!!!

    January 31, 2015
    • It was Jodi, just stunning.

      February 1, 2015
  28. Wonderful set! Well worth the early start! I wish I gad that sort of dedication sometime! I love my bed too much!

    February 1, 2015
    • Thank you, it was worth it, I don’t know that i have the dedication,but I can manage it from time to time, a couple of times a year, haha.

      February 1, 2015
  29. Reblogged this on طبيب حر الى آخر العمر.

    February 1, 2015
  30. BEAUTIFUL collection, Leanne!! You sure could’ve fooled me about mistakes. These are superb! I especially love the lighthouse ones. Nice!

    February 2, 2015
    • Thank you, you would see the mistakes more in the colour versions. I love the lighthouse as well.

      February 2, 2015
  31. I loved the Photos my Nephew Theo is a photographer and hoping to be a film maker he is travelling through Europe in a camper van with his girlfriend great way to see Life he has photographed some excellent photos of the Aurora at daybreak in Denmark and Norway to great effect

    February 2, 2015
    • That is wonderful, it is great when you can do things like that, I would love to travel and take photos, I hope I will get a chance one day.

      February 2, 2015
  32. Love the pictures, particularly of the lighthouse!

    February 2, 2015
    • That is great to hear Tiny, thank you.

      February 2, 2015
  33. I hope you enjoy your Big Stopper; they can take a little getting used to but they open up a whole new world of creativity.
    One thing you might want to consider (other than cleaning your lens! 🙂 ) is to take some time out to ‘calibrate’ it, or rather, the settings needed to get the best results – i.e. is it really a 10 stop increase (mine is a little more) and what WB setting gives a neutral colour?

    February 2, 2015
    • I have been having fun with it, and experimenting quite a bit, I think once I get the proper filter holder for it, it will be better, and I just discovered there is an app to help you find the right exposure, woohoo, there will be nothing stopping me now. I will just have to keep trying things, thanks Noeline, I’m sure you will see the experiments here.

      February 3, 2015
  34. Beautiful images. I do love a good lighthouse!

    February 3, 2015
    • Same, this one is still very much used, and has lots of updated equipment attached to it.

      February 3, 2015
  35. simply amazing!

    February 3, 2015
  36. Hi Leanne, once again — wonderful images and an inspiring post! You give me more confidence for my own wanderings in my local areas. Thanx!

    February 3, 2015
    • That is wonderful to hear, it has been something that I have really tried hard to do, to get good photos where I am. good luck and thank you.

      February 3, 2015
  37. How funny… our neighbourhood is called Lonsdale. It is quite nice, but not nearly as spectacular as the area you photographed, however.

    February 3, 2015
    • It is funny when you hear the same names, but they are for somewhere else. Thank you, it is quite a special area.

      February 3, 2015
  38. Did you know there is supposed to be a cave under the lighthouse there? I read about it in a magazine. Apparently it is linked to the phrase “Buckleys and none” because a William Buckley escaped from a penal colony and hid out there. He was rescued by local aboriginals and he lived with them for quite some time until he was spotted by white settlers at some point. He became a translator of some type. Not sure how the rest though. 🙂

    February 5, 2015
    • Now I’ve heard of Buckley, but not that he hid out there, I will have to investigate, I will let you know what I find Suz. 🙂

      February 5, 2015

Comments are closed.

