Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: The Pier at Flinders

flinders-pier-water-boats-rocks-128

Last weekend a friend and I had planned on doing some hiking at Cape Schanck, but when we got there it was raining, so change of plans.  The forecast didn’t look great and since we have only just started this, we weren’t so keen to start a walk and then get a certain point where it started raining and we couldn’t get back.  There were other places around there and we thought we might go and check them out.  One was in Flinders.  We had been to Flinders before, but found nothing there, then another friend asked if I knew about the pier there, so we went hunting for it.

flinders-pier-water-boats-rocks-100

As you can see I have another pier for you today, though this one was taken on the other side of the bay and there is no light house here.  It is a much different one to the one at Point Lonsdale, this seem more serious, with all the boats and there were a lot of people around around.  I really liked the way the sun was hitting the water and ground.

flinders-pier-water-boats-rocks-105

Here is the boat ramp again that I did the image of for Monochrome Madness this last week. I am fairly certainly it is really a relic now, but it makes a great subject for photos.

flinders-pier-water-boats-rocks-108

You have to love a pier you can walk under and take photos.  This one is so large, and with the old next to the new, it was an interesting one.  I love all the wooden posts and the marks that different tides make on them

flinders-pier-water-boats-rocks-112

One of the things that got us were the patterns in the sand. They were so beautiful and we kept taking photos of them.  It is not often that I see a shore line with sand that I just want to take photos, but here I did.  They were so sculptured and textual, just beautiful.  There will be lots more to see in the gallery.

flinders-pier-water-boats-rocks-118

There were some unusual rocks there as well, like this round one.  I know this would have made a great long exposure, but I had left my tripod in the car, next time.

flinders-pier-water-boats-rocks-126

We went for a walk along the pier too and photographed some of the boats.  It was so calm there, the water was beautiful, I seem to use that word a lot, but it was.

We walked around quite a bit, and though the area isn’t that big, when you divide the place up into smaller parts, and then the whole, you can end up with quite a lot of photos.  I was so surprised at how many I got, and the early morning light was just brilliant.  I think I like shooting early morning, such a shame these places are so far away to get photos.

I have got another map for you so you can see where we were.

Here is another gallery, lots of photos from around the pier.  After taking photos we headed into Flinders for breakfast, we found a lovely spot that was very busy, but had great food. I hope you are out and about this weekend.  It is raining here this morning, hopefully it will clear before I head into the city this afternoon for the first Sunday Social Snappers Excursion for the year. Take care.

46 Comments
  1. Love the sand patterns

    February 1, 2015
    • I loved the too Rob, so strange.

      February 1, 2015
  2. leecleland #

    Great light, great shots Leanne. I love how some of the sand shots look like aerial shots of outback river systems. Nature is always surprising.

    February 1, 2015
    • We were thinking along the same lines Lee, nature is wonderful that way.

      February 1, 2015
  3. The sand photos remind me of lighting bolts, but these last longer. 😊

    February 1, 2015
    • these do, but only until the tide comes in again, they were so beautiful, glad I got photos. Thanks John.

      February 1, 2015
  4. Great shotsLeanne! Love the dinghy, patterns in the sand, and the close up under the wharf. 🙂

    February 1, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, took me ages to get that shot of the dinghy, well to get the right angle. I loved the patterns in the water as well. 🙂

      February 1, 2015
  5. You made good use of the day in spite of not being your first choice.

    February 1, 2015
    • Sometimes they are the best days, don’t you think?

      February 1, 2015
  6. What a gorgeous place! You captured it so beautifully 🙂 I love the designs that the water makes in the sand.

    February 1, 2015
    • Thank you Lauren, it is always so easy when a place is just there and beautiful to start with, I just photographed it. The sand was so great, I loved those too. They would be different everyday. 🙂

      February 1, 2015
  7. Great post Leanne 😀
    I can’t see photo no 4, but the rest are beautiful as always.

    February 1, 2015
    • Thank you Irene, I wonder why you can see no 4, strange.

      February 1, 2015
      • I don’t know. I use my tablet now and all other came through, only no 4 was empty with a ? Inside

        February 1, 2015
      • So weird, I don’t know what to say Irene, but I am sorry you can’t see it.

        February 1, 2015
      • I would just tell you, maybe other had same problem. Take it easy, all your photos use to be great 😀

        February 1, 2015
      • 😀 I haven’t heard from anyone else, but you never know.

        February 1, 2015
  8. Karen #

    Beautiful images, I love the way the sea makes patterns in the sand as well. Have a lovely Sunday.

    February 1, 2015
    • I do as well Karen, so wonderful lines, thank you, you have a great day as well.

      February 1, 2015
  9. Excellent series!

    February 1, 2015
  10. Oh wow, the last one is soo pretty Leanne! 😀

    February 1, 2015
  11. You are truly amazing with your energetic outings. What a wonderful place this is.

    February 1, 2015
    • Oh I don’t know about that, it has been more that I have had lots of opportunities just recently, I’m sure that will stop soon. It is a great place Emily, one I know I will visit again.

      February 1, 2015
  12. It’s so cold, and snowy, and WINTER here–I love seeing your photos. It’s a mini-vacation.

    February 1, 2015
    • I was hoping that some of you would find them like that. I am so glad, and I hope they warmed you up a little.

      February 1, 2015
  13. So much movement and texture and feeling in your photos. Wonderful!

    February 1, 2015
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you, I like hearing that.

      February 1, 2015
  14. Wonderful photos. Looks like you made the most of a great subject. It was a pleasure to read your word and look at your pictures. 🙂

    February 1, 2015
    • Thank you, I tried my best, it is good when you can do that. Thank you so much. 🙂

      February 1, 2015
  15. Great portfolio of shots Leanne.

    February 1, 2015
  16. Awesome Leanne! Great photos: the pier, is resembling the Seal Beach Pier we have here, in Southern California, where I enjoy being, even more in winter than in summer. Thanks for the enchanting visual treat!

    February 1, 2015
    • I love the ocean more in winter as well, so much better, more moody and not so many people around. Thank you so much George and you’re welcome.

      February 1, 2015
  17. nodwikphotography #

    Reblogged this on nodwikphotography.

    February 2, 2015
  18. Great shots. So many contrasting textures – the sand, old wood, rocks and the sea. Love them all.

    February 2, 2015
    • Oh yes Raewyn, there are there, they are great. Thank you. 😀

      February 2, 2015
  19. Really like the wet sand shots. Very nice.

    February 2, 2015
    • I really like those as well, so sculptural. Thanks Disperser.

      February 2, 2015
  20. Those sand patterns are amazing, Leanne. Thanks for sharing.

    February 3, 2015
    • You’re welcome Elen, I took some many photos of them, I might have to try layering them on other images. Thank you.

      February 3, 2015
  21. I especially enjoy the photos of the patterns in the sand! I could shoot those all day long…haha!

    February 4, 2015
    • Thank you Tamara, I could shoot them all day too, they are so cool.

      February 4, 2015

Comments are closed.

