Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Things Moving Along

Here we are another Tuesday and I’m trying to figure out what I’ve been doing or what is coming up.  It seems like nothing much, yet it is a great deal as well, or it seems to be.  I do have news, so I will just get on with it, shall I?

Exhibition

I told you recently that I had been asked to participate in an exhibition, and I have got more information about it now.  The exhibition is called SITHOM and is a group show of quite a few Melbourne based photographers.  I thought it had to be black and white, but it can be colour as well, though I have decided to do black and white, it is amazing how much Monochrome Madness has changed my workflow. We all get allocated a certain amount of wall space and we can decide how many images we what to put up in that space, I decided four would be enough for me.

SITHOM will be open from the 19th of March to the 30th.  The opening night is Friday the 20th of March.  It will be held at the Victorian Artist’s Society, 430 Albert Street, East Melbourne, so I hope some of you will be able to scparliament-3hpm7188make it to the opening or just to go and see the exhibition.

Social Snappers Starts for the Year

We had the first two Social Snappers Photography Excursions last week.  The one on Thursday was to the Melbourne Zoo and we had a great day for it.  The weather was just perfect for the zoo.  We tried to find some things we hadn’t seen before, or not for a while.  We watched the Seal show, which was great.  I also became a Member, that way I can go anytime I like, which I did again on Saturday.

On Sunday we went into the city.  Collins Street had been so good to photograph, and I thought that Bourke Street would be great, and parts of it were, but not nearly as good as Collins Street.  I think Bourke Street has a lot more new architecture, and it doesn’t always lend itself well to photos.

scparliament-3hpm6927I’m going to start planning some new trips as well, more for second term, but also some special ones, like a weekend away,  or some night photography.

New York

There have been some changes to my trip to New York, looks like now I will be going in September.  Unfortunately not in my control, and since this is a sponsored trip I have to go when I’m told to, that sound terrible, and I don’t mean  it to be.  I am just so happy to have this opportunity, so I don’t mind.  Also gives me a little more time to save more money for the trip.  It has meant that people I was going to visit are now no longer available, but we are hoping to work it out.  Seems September is a busy month for everyone.

We are still working out dates, but it looks likely that I will be arriving in San Francisco on the 1st of September, staying there until around the 15th, then off to New York, where I will be until the 24th before heading home again.

I applied for my passport just over three weeks ago, and it should have been here by now, but yesterday I got an email to tell me it was ready to be delivered, so now I just have to wait for that, which could take another week yet. Just as well my trip was postponed, it might take until May to get here.

LCP Newsletter

Reminder about the LCP Newsletter, the next week will hopefully go out in about 2 weeks.  If you haven’t signed up for it and would like to, follow this link, LCP Newsletter, or there is a widget in the side panel for it as well.scparliament-3hpm7062

Monochrome Madness

I will be working on Monochrome Madness today, so if you haven’t got your image in, there is still a little bit of time.  It is looking like another great week.  I just need to find my image now.

I am going to leave you today with some images I took a couple of years ago of the inside of Parliament House here in Melbourne.  I took these on a tour of the building and I was reminded of them on Sunday when we started Social Snappers on the steps of Parliament House.

 

41 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Looking at those beautiful images I know they picked the right person for the job.

    About the trip… I think it may be better in September because is will not be as scorching hot as it is earlier in the year. Kids will be back in school and that may mean less street and sky traffic. It may also give you more time to plan and save money for the trip. I am very excited for you and for New York! ❤

    February 3, 2015
    • It wasn’t so much a job, but a tour, but I did really enjoy it. Might have to do it again sometime.
      I think you could be right, at first I was disappointed, having to wait even longer, but I know it will be better, I am sure. thanks Jackie. 😀

      February 3, 2015
  2. Busy as every Leanne! Keep it up! I admire your energy! 🙂

    February 3, 2015
    • Or doing a good impression of it Adrian, LOL, thank you.

      February 3, 2015
  3. Some more wonderful images Leanne. I hope you’ll forgive me not being able to attend SITHOM, it’s a REALLY long drive!

    February 3, 2015
    • Thank you John, and of course I will forgive you, LOL, thanks for even considering it though.

      February 3, 2015
  4. The parliment house is stunning Leanne.
    And i wish you all the best for your exhibition. How exciting.

    February 3, 2015
    • It is a very impressive building, built with gold rush money, we really benefitted from that.
      Thank you, it will be nice being in an exhibition again, I’m looking forward to it.

      February 3, 2015
  5. Do you know what you will be doing in NYC? When you are sure of the dates and plans, let us know.

    February 3, 2015
    • No not at this stage Sally, we are going to have something like a photowalk so people who want to meet me can, we just need to work out a date for it, probably on the weekend. I will keep everyone updated through the blog, hoping to make it a weekly thing for the Tuesday post.

      February 3, 2015
  6. Will try and get to the exhibition if I am not interstate with work. What time does it start?

    February 3, 2015
    • It starts at 7pm Chris, so if you can make it that would be great, but don’t stress if you can’t.

      February 3, 2015
  7. Great images and the gold on that floor just shines!!

    February 3, 2015
    • I wonder if they keep applying the gold so it never wears out. Thanks Cybele.

      February 3, 2015
  8. Very happy that your work is going to be showcased in the exhibition. I might go check it out if I can, not too far from where I am. Congratulations, very happy for you 😀 I didn’t know you could do tours of the Parliament House. It looks very interesting, I didn’t know it would be that white or light coloured inside. Hope your week is going well. Keep busy 🙂

    February 3, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, it will be fun to be in a exhibition again, haven’t been in one for a while. Yeah, you can do tours, there are two types, ones that are general and happen most days and they do special architectural ones as well. We went on one of the first ones they did, it was fantastic, but you have to book for that one. It is so nice inside. Thanks, a new computer just arrived, so I am very happy. I hope you are having a good week too. 🙂

      February 3, 2015
  9. The exhibition is great news, I wish I’d be there to see it. But you’ll post your photos at some point afterwards, I hope.

    February 3, 2015
    • Thanks Tiny should be fun, I will show the images and take some photos of them on the walls too, so you can see it virtually, I hope that is okay.

      February 3, 2015
  10. Hi Leanne, wonderful images of the Parliament Building. I always wonder the best way to get great images of building like this. Your shots are a great primer on showing both the grand scale and the detail beauty. Wonderful images!

    February 3, 2015
    • Thank you, I don’t really know the answer to that, I just photograph everything and hope I get something great, of course it is so easy when the building is gorgeous.

      February 3, 2015
  11. She_Who_Hears #

    Good luck with your exhibition! Hope it goes smoothly. I keep seeing things in relation to Monochrome Madness. Is that something you do? If so how do I get involved? Thanks

    February 3, 2015
    • Thank you, it should. Yes, I do Monochrome Madness, it is on this blog every Wednesday, or tomorrow. People send in their images and links to their blogs. Take a look at tomorrow’s blog, there is information in the post on how to be in it.

      February 3, 2015
      • She_Who_Hears #

        Ok, thanks. I will do that. 🙂

        February 4, 2015
      • I hope you saw the post it is up now and up each week.

        February 5, 2015
      • She_Who_Hears #

        Yup. Thanks 🙂

        February 8, 2015
      • 😀

        February 8, 2015
  12. Oh darn! We will be in Melbourne for that wedding on 14th March. I would love to have seen the exhibition.

    February 3, 2015
  13. Kudos to you for SITHOM, Leanne, and enjoyed reading the update about NYC 🙂

    February 3, 2015
    • Thank you Stacy, should be good. I hope we will still be able to hook up Stacy while I’m in NYC 🙂

      February 3, 2015
  14. Wonderful photos! Great interials:)

    February 3, 2015
  15. Inspiring …

    February 4, 2015
  16. September is a beautiful month – it is starting to go into Autumn so if you can get out of the city you might find some fantastic places for photos. Plus school will be back and it should be a bit quieter.

    February 4, 2015
    • I hope so Raewyn, though I think I will be a little to early for the colours of Autumn. It will be really nice, I am looking forward to it.

      February 4, 2015
  17. I love those Parliament photos, especially the one of the huge chandelier from below.

    February 5, 2015
    • How amazing is that chandelier, it really says money, maybe made from the gold they mined here, that would be amazing. Thanks Sabina.

      February 5, 2015

Comments are closed.

